Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call VRBO Booking Assistance: 888-829-7076
Book Online or call VRBO Booking Assistance: 888-829-7076

Soma studio, minutes from Union Square, Moscone, ballpark, & best restaurants!

Bedrooms Studio
Space 550 sq. ft.
Property type apartment
Minimum Stay 180 nights


About the property

Studio, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5

MAX 5 PEOPLE * THANK YOU! Welcome to my home! Studio is available for a 6 month lease minimum with no exceptions. The longer the lease request the better!

Price INCLUDES water, garbage, high speed internet, and utilities (within reason)! Everyone renter has been very respectful of the water and utilities and we have records of regular rates over the years. Given that the rates are within 10% of the normal range there will be no additional charge. If the usage stays over after 1 month warning the renter agrees to pay the difference.


Each guest is welcomed with a complimentary gift basket. It is nice to have a warm welcome coming into your new home away from home after a long trip. It is our goal to make your stay special and to let you know how much we enjoy each unique guest. Providing you with some delicious treats is one way that we show our appreciation. You can take them with you to snack on during your adventures throughout the city.

Perfect clean, nice space for a single or couple who will be out in the city day/night and needs a super convenient, easy lovely home in a CENTRAL area.

In 550 sq feet you get a studio complete with; one queen size bed, one twin bed, desk, large sectional 10 foot couch, one queen size airbed, long wood coffee table, small new fridge, new Breville convection oven, new hot plate , dish ware, flat ware, pots & pans, new vacuum cleaner and full bathroom with a bath tub.

This lovely, modern, and clean home also provides you with.


Hair dryer, and flat iron, regular iron


-50mbps wireless internet (highest speed internet available in the area)

-new Samsung large flat screen TV with HD TV

-Apple TV, Netflix, HULU, basic cable

-Apple 22' monitor to plug your laptop or Ipad

Amazing location

Centrally located between the Moscone center and the Yerba Buena center for the arts (7-10 minute walk), the SF Giant's AT&T Park (12-15 minute walk), the China Basin Waterfront (15-20 minute walk) and the Westfield Mall (5-8 minute walk), all within a 5 block radius. A 20 minute scenic walk along the Embarcadero's famous waterfront also gets you to the historic ferry building where local, organic produce and delicious fare are sold and weekly farmers' markets are held.

Nightlife & restaurants

Dozen's of renowned restaurants, bars and clubs are all just minutes away as is world-class shopping in union square. Top restaurants such as Chez Spencer, Oola and Lulu's are all within a one block radius.

Public transportation

Including the Muni Light Rail, bus system and zipcar are within a 3 block radius. Cabs can be hailed on the street or booked in advance. You can call the cab dispatcher directly or try and application like taxi magic.

Uber (car service) is also an option.


There is also 2 hour free street parking and/or metered parking on 5th street. Please note that there is no parking available on-site. There is a parking garage on 5th and Mission for overnight parking.


Yes, there are homeless in SOMA (South of Market Street) as well as other parts of SF. The homeless are pretty harmless. They usually will not engage in conversation with you while you walk by. It is hard to see the homeless sometimes. It has gotten much better in the last 15 years I have lived in my home that you will be renting. Seeing homeless people in reality is a part of living or staying in SOMA and experiencing San Francisco. I do not give them money personally but I do say hello and acknowledge them with goodwill in my heart. This seems to be well received. I have had my nieces and nephews stay with me and walk to Union Square. There have been hundreds of guests with babies and children over the years without any problems. Welcome to SOMA San Francisco. It could be helpful to know that apartments on this block can sell for a million dollars, so you are in good company with well educated professionals. I welcome you into my home and have done my best to paint the scene so you can make an educated decision about your stay.


This means any smoking inside the home or common areas in the building as well as leaning out the window and smoking. In the event that smoke is detected the full deposit will be withheld. Thank you!


Walkability rating in SOMA is 97% = Walkers Paradise.

Due to the schedule for deep cleaning between each guest early check-in and late check-out is not an option for guests or bags.

Check out the CUSTOM GUIDEBOOK we created with the best local spots near the studio. If you find any new gems please let me know and I will add them.

P.S. If the price seems a bit steep for such a small space, welcome to SF! But honestly, its hard to find a place in the city that is so easily accessible and convenient, car or no car. It's all about location, location, location!

Arguably the most exciting neighborhood in SF, with new restaurants and bars popping up weekly. This is the apartment you want to stay in when you come to San Francisco!

More Details

Karina Diaz
Member since: 2013
Speaks: english, french, spanish, norwegian, A little French! I try :)
Response time:
Within a few days
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
December 28, 2015

About Karina Diaz

I enjoy speaking foreign languages, helping others to be their best, exercise, decorating, spending time with my family and travel.

I grew up visiting my family in Norway during the summers and have duel citizenship with Norway. Thankfully my relatives enjoy visiting often. I hope to be able to visit them more in 2014. The more guests I have the easier it will be to make that a reality :) SO stay at my place!!

I love to share my home with vacation rental guests. I have met so many kind and thoughtful people from all over the world. I grew up traveling frequently so now hosting brings the world to my door. YAY! It brings me great joy to have the opportunity to open my cherished home, and to share it with others. They can enjoy the space I have created and get to know San Francisco from the South of Market (SOMA) perspective. Right now SOMA really is the pulse of the city of San Francisco with all of the new restaurants, start ups, and wine bars. Not to mention SOMA is central to San Francisco highlights such as: Union Square, the Ball Park, the Cable Car ride, Westfield Mall and Market Street. It's even better to be one block from the Moscone Center, considering many of my guests are attending conferences during their stay! It is a pleasure to be able to offer everything at your fingers tips just steps away from my home and your home away from home.

I have had a photography business for over 14 years where I support women to be their best. It is an honor and privilege to have photographed over 2,500 exceptional and inspirational women. As well as incredibly fun and heartwarming.

This coming semester I am studying Anatomy!

I hope to have the chance to host you here in the loft or studio. Although I am not there during guests stay's I am easily reached to answer any questions. :)

Guestbook comments from the owner

We stayed at Karina's place for about 3 months. Karina was very responsive and quickly addressed any problem we had during the stay. Would definitely recommend. She even bought us a new more powerful vacuum cleaner upon request!
Jul 2014
  • 1 of 29


Riding a Cable Car
"A must if you are a first time visitor to SF."
San Francisco Caltrain
"Direct transit to San Jose and Silicon Valley"
Union Square
"Major famous shopping area downtown."
Moscone Center
"Walking distance to the biggest conference center in San Francisco. (only a couple blocks away)"
Moscone Center
"Walking distance to the biggest conference center in San Francisco. (only a couple blocks away)"
Trader Joe's
"Reasonably priced healthy food."
Chez Spencer Restaurant & Bar -- CLOSED
"It's a cool space. Interior has as a great blend of urban and upscale Mexican beach resort. ..."
Children's Creativity Museum
"The Children's Creative Carousel is 107 years old and for over 50 years, it was a main attra..."
AT&T Park
"Baseball anyone?"
"Cool decor and pool."
Hubba Hubba Revue
"San Francisco’s BIGGEST & wildest burlesque show! Fri 9 pm - 2 am http://www.hubbahubbarevue..."
Bar Agricole
"Best lighting fixtures in town. Love the high ceilings. Also, nice outdoor seating."
San Francisco Tennis Club
"Nice tennis courts indoor and outdoor."
Cat Club
"Fun dancing on Wednesdays = 80's night"
Fondue Cowboy
"Quaint hip and yummy."
The Vortex Room
"About the only real old-school warehouse/speakeasy style place left in this town. A truly un..."
"Excellent decor and delicious food."
Whole foods Market
"One block away and it's just awesome to have it so close!"
Twenty Five Lusk
"Good for a drink and some people watching. They also have a nice restaurant upstairs. "
Mizu Spa
"Best and most expensive manicure in SF."
San Francisco Museum of Modern Art
"Art is good. "
Yerba Buena Ice Skating & Bowling Center
"Good clean FUN."
Yerba Buena Gardens
"The crown jewel of San Francisco."
Samovar Tea Lounge - Yerba Buena Gardens
"Love the JOOK with Duck and 2 eggs."
Fifth & Mission Parking Garage
"Do not leave anything in your car. This is the closest parking."
AMC Metreon 16
"Great 3D movie theatre a couple blocks away."
111 Minna St
"Bar, art, events, and sometimes dancing"
Peets Coffee & Tea
"One block away!"
Brainwash Cafe
"Great place to do laundry and have a good meal."
Golden Gate Bridge
Alcatraz Island
Golden Gate Park
Fisherman's Wharf
"Local attraction."
San Francisco Zoo
Ferry Plaza Farmers Market
de Young Museum
Blue Bottle Coffee
Foreign Cinema
Osha Thai Restaurant
Mrs. Field's Cookies - Westfield San Francisco Centre
Supperclub San Francisco -- CLOSED
Car: not necessary


South of Market Apartment Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • apartment
  • floor 1
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 550 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM / Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 5
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • pets considered
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Toaster
  • Dining Area
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , tub , shower
  • The bathroom is very clean and mostly white. There is a full bath tub, sink and mirrors.
  • Studio, Sleeps 5
  • The bedroom is separated by a wall that almost reaches the ceiling so it is not an enclosed room with a door. Instead of a door there is a sheer curtain. A private area is created within the space. There is a mirrored two door closet where you can hang your clothes, place folded clothing and store some carry on baggage. The iron is located in this closet.
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television ...
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • wheelchair inaccessible
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • boating
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • kayaking
  • pier fishing
  • rock climbing
  • sound/bay fishing
  • tennis
  • wind-surfing


3.8/5 -
(5 traveler reviews)

40% Complete
40% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
20% Complete
Soma studio, minutes from Union Square, Moscone, ballpark, & best restaurants!
average rating of 3.8 based on 34 reviews
Franklin, TN

San Francisco Medical Conference

  • 5 of 5

Karina's SOMA Loft Studio was great. I was in town for a medical conference at Moscone Center. The studio was a couple blocks walk to convention center. Very clean, lots of room. Karina was a great host....made my stay very comfortable. If visiting San Francisco again I'd stay here without question.

  • Submitted: Oct 19, 2013
  • Stayed: October 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Lane could not have been a more wonderful guest! He was a delight and I was thrilled to have the opportunity to meet him. He is the kind of guest that hosts dream about. It was like having a family friend over. He is extremely conscientious and so thoughtful. He could not have been more pleasant or wonderful to communicate with. A true delight. Thank you! Come back!! :)
Did you find this review helpful?
10 0

Cozy accommodation

  • 5 of 5

Karina was very hospitable during our stay. She allowed our dog to come with us which very convenient and everything is within walking distance. Definitely recommend this place to others.

Note: if you drive and have a car make sure to park your car in a paid spot. My girlfriend's brother had his truck broken into and had all his things inside stolen. This had nothing todo with the accommodation so I didn't take anything away from the unit.

  • Submitted: May 23, 2014
  • Stayed: May 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Gerald was a wonderful guest and very easy to communicate with. In San Francisco always remember to remove everything from you car before parking it anywhere. Whether it is in a paid parking garage or not. Below is the information I email to guests now in case it is helpful for anyone traveling to San Francisco. (I email guests the link to the list below. Vrbo does not allow links so I just removed them from this post). I am going to add the tip about not leaving anything in your car. I won't even leave a pen out in my car in San Francisco when parking in a parking lot or not. Better safe than sorry. I have guests from all over the world so it's helpful for them to have all of this information at their fingertips. It can be tricky to locate even when you speak the language :) I had one guest waiting for a cab that didn't showed up and they tried another one from the list after texting me for any ideas and made their flight just in time! They had the information but didn't think to reference it at the time. I recommend super shuttle for flights but it does require some planning and an earlier departure time than with a taxi. The benefit is that it is usually less expensive than a cab depending on how many people you have. It's good to know your options. Thanks for being a great guest and best to you both! HOW TO AVOID PARKING TICKETS: DOWNLOAD FREE APP FOR SOMA, SF PARKING APP TO LOCATE STREET & GARAGE PARKING: 3 SOMA PARKING GARAGE LOTS: TRANSPORTATION: MUNI - Bus, Metro light rail, cable car BART - Subway system The nearest BART station is at Market and Powell Street - (essentially Market at 5th Street.) The BART system does not travel west of Market and 11th Street. YELLOW CAB - 415-333-3333 UBER CAB - 866-576-1039 SUPER SHUTTLE - 800-258-3826 (group shuttle to AIRPORTS) RIDE SHARE OPTIONS:
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Soma Studio

  • 4 of 5

We enjoyed our stay at this property. Walking distance to most places which we enjoyed!

  • Submitted: Oct 30, 2013
  • Stayed: October 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
9 0

Disappointing experience

  • 1 of 5

If you want to feel overlooked and ripped off, then stay here. I booked this apartment 2 months in advance, to stay with my parents during our visit to San Francisco. The owner was originally very responsive to my emails. However, when I sent her an email one week prior to check everything was in order before we arrived, I never had a response. When I called her on the day we arrived, she was not on site and seemed to have no idea we were coming. She couldn't even remember which apartment I had booked.

She didn't email me any instructions on how to enter the apartment prior to arrival, and wanted me to find an internet cafe so she could email them to me. Meanwhile we're standing out the front of the apartment, with no idea where to find a cafe, so I asked for instructions over the phone. This took 10 minutes as she couldn't remember the code to her own apartment.

When we finally got in, the apartment had not been cleaned. We agreed to leave for 2 hours so a cleaner could come and clean it. When we arrived back, the apartment had been cleaned, but only 2 towels were provided, despite 3 of us staying there. We were given no instruction on where things were kept in the apartment, like spare towels, with most cupboards locked. And I'm 99% sure my pillow case was not clean. An outside patio light was kept on for the entire duration of our stay, which managed to keep my mother awake most nights. We couldn't find the switch to turn it off. I'm not sure who was staying in the upstairs apartment, but they were very noisy and clearly had no regard for the people staying below them. Oh, and the TV didn't work.

There was no information provided on how to access the wifi (luckily I had asked the owner over the phone earlier), no local restaurant recommendations, no directions on how to get to the main parts of town. Nothing. It just felt like a money grab, not somebody who cared about our experience visiting San Francisco. What was most disappointing is that the owner didn't check in at all during our stay to make sure everything was OK, despite her own admission that she had screwed up our booking. Overall, we got the impression she was using VRBO to cover her mortgage, rather than provide a great B&B experience for visitors.

To top it off, my security deposit took over 1 month to be refunded as she had some issues with her VRBO account. This would have been fine if she'd simply sent me an email to inform me of the issues. Instead, I had to chase her up.

  • Submitted: Oct 16, 2013
  • Stayed: September 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
13 5

Spacious SOMA Studio

  • 4 of 5

Karina was a good host, and studio was large enough for a couple. Location convenient to BART and Muni Bus, as well as nearby restaurants.

  • Submitted: Oct 13, 2013
  • Stayed: September 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks so much Hansen! I am glad you enjoyed the studio. It was great to have you and you are welcome back anytime.
Did you find this review helpful?
11 1


Rates & Availability

Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $150
Refundable damage deposit $400

Rates are subject to change until reservation is confirmed.

Late check outs charged $75 flat fee plus $50 per hour the guest/or their baggage is in the apartment.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.

You might like these similar properties