Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Luxury Living in Harlem

Sleeps6
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Space 1,100 sq. ft.
Property type townhome
Minimum Stay 4 nights

Overview

About the property

2BR/1bath in historic Harlem brownstone

Full floor apartment in historic Harlem brownstone. Master BR with 1 king-size bed, second BR w/full-size bed; living and dining area. Sofabed in living room sleeps two; custom mattress. Complete kitchen; cable TV and WiFi; one full bath. All newly renovated. Within walking distance of express and local subways; 20 minutes from midtown Manhattan.


Owner
Carolann Greenup
Member since: 2013
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
June 23, 2017

About Carolann Greenup

I was born and raised in NYC and have lived here almost my entire life. My dad's old office was literally right next door to the world-famous Apollo Theatre, so my love affair with Harlem began early. I love the diversity and excitement of NYC! I think it is one of the best places in the world to live, especially if you cannot afford to travel. There are so many different cultures on display in NYC. And Harlem is in the midst of a second (third? fourth? twelfth?) renaissance which makes every day an adventure. Since I've lived in this neighborhood, I don't think I've ever been bored a day in my life.

Why Carolann Greenup chose Manhattan

The patterned tile floor of the vestibule, the spectacular woodwork which distinguishes the hallway and staircase; the fireplace with its pillars and tile work; the bay windows in the master bedroom - a brownstone is more than a building; it is a historical snapshot, a beautiful example of the elegance of a bygone era. This property is a living, vibrant museum. We manage and maintain it with a great deal of love.

What makes this townhome unique

While I would never want to be bored, I also appreciate peace and serenity. The stately beauty of this building has a very calming effect on its residents which makes it very easy to relax after an exciting day of life in the big city.

Guestbook comments from the owner

We know how much you looked forward to your trip, and we did our best to make things nice for you as we do for all our guests. I am sorry if it is not ending in a way you would like, but we bear no responsibility whatsoever for that. We give FULL disclosure to the utmost degree to all our guests. Not one of our guests has ever come to harm while in our building. We are particularly proud of this part of our reputation, we intend to maintain it, and we cannot do so if we do not enforce our own rules. So to reiterate, yes, I am withholding your deposit.



Sincerely,



Carolann Greenup

Harlem Comfort
Dec 2015
  • 1 of 4

Amenities

Upper Manhattan Townhome Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • townhome
  • floor 2
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1100 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Fireplace
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Towels Provided
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower , renovated with new sink, toilet, showerhead, tub
  • 1 full bathroom; renovated w/ new sink, toilet and floor.
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king
    Bedroom 2 - 1 double
  • 1 Master BR w/ brand new king-size bed and mattress; 1 smaller BR w/brand new full-size bed and mattress.
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
Suitability:
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • museums
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • synagogues
  • theme parks
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • gambling casinos
  • horseback riding
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • ice skating
  • pier fishing
  • roller blading
  • tennis

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(77 traveler reviews)

Luxury Living in Harlem
average rating of 4.844156 based on 81 reviews
5

What Wonderful Hosts

  • 5 of 5

Staying at this property was simply splendid. Carolann made our grand-daughter's 10th birthday very special with a host of tailored touches just for her. We were treated to some of her fine cooking as well, which was welcome, indeed, after our long flight. The home itself is clean and spacious - much larger than any other property we have stayed in whilst in New York. Between that and the generous food left for us, this is an incredible value. The home is located in a very safe and clean neighborhood. We love staying in Harlem; for us, the advantages of quiet outweigh being in Midtown. There is much to explore in Harlem itself, but it is only a few easy blocks from the Metro station, so access elsewhere in Manhattan is easy. Carolann acted as a true hostess, not merely a landlord. She checked in with us to make sure that all was well, and made it clear that we could contact her any time. She takes pride in catering to each individual. Who knows what special touches await you? You should find out. Thank you, Carolann and Anthony!

  • Submitted: May 24, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hello Mona, We are glad you had a good time, especially Sofia! I kept the picture and note that she left. I'm going to frame it and hang it. Once I do, I'll send you a shot. The very best to you and Charles. Sincerely, Carolann and Anthony
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Do Not Hesitate to Stay Here!

  • 5 of 5

If you are like me, you may be a bit apprehensive when booking a property online. It can be daunting to make a selection without having seen the place in person. However, if you are staying in NYC and considering Carolann's place--have no fear. You will be treated well in a comfortable apartment, in a safe and convenient location, with all the amenities you will need on your trip. Carolann and her property manager, Anthony, are attentive yet inobtrusive hosts who have thought of everything.

My family and I came to town for my daughter's graduation from Columbia University, and it was a perfect choice. Our party included elderly grandparents and college aged cousins, and everyone was comfortable. In addition, before we arrived Carolann decorated the place with my daughter's school colors, pennants, banners, balloons, flowers, and more! And, you will NOT believe the delicious treats she will likely have awaiting for you upon your arrival--totally gourmet!!

This is an excellent place to stay, owned by a kind, professional, and classy lady. When we return to NYC, I hope that Carolann has a room for us!

  • Submitted: May 18, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Melissa, We really enjoyed you and are so glad that everything worked out well. Graduations are special! You are welcome back any time. Just let us know. Thanks again, Carolann and Anthony
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Wonderful guests providing a wonderful warm and delicious welcome and support!

  • 5 of 5

We spent 10 days with our kids in NYC and it was wundeful due to this amazing home and the warm support by Carolann and Anthony:

Our stay started with a very warm and delicious welcome: Based on questions which Carolann had asked us many weeks before, Carolann and Anthony had prepared everything according to our dreams - inlusive some sepcific meals for our kids. Besides all these wunderful dishes, Carolann had filled the pantry with everything - or even more - that we could need for having an extra nice stay in NYC.

However, Carolann's support did not just focus on food: When arriving in the apartment, we got a folder with variuous specific information, covering everything that we had mentioned in our mails we had written in preparation for our trip to NYC. The information covered the well known famous sights as well as some hints for specific music bars or on churches to participate in worship. It was an excellent base for discovering NYC.

During our stay in NYC Carolann was always reachable in case that we would need some help. She took care to be sure that we had everything, that we needed - or above that: everythin, that could be helpful. Thus, when I needed some tickets to be printed, she and Anthony took time to help me.

There is much, that we appreciated: The clean and large apartment, the nice and friendly neighborhood and the short distances to the subway and to shops.

But most I appreciate the nice and warm welcome and support: We just had the feeling of visiting friends in their home. And although we did not face any problems - we always were sure, that if there would be any problem, we would have an safe support.

Whenever we will return to NYC, we will contact Carolann, Anthony and Anthony to be sure, that we can stay in their apartment again.

Guenther & Christine & Family (Austria, Europe)

  • Submitted: Apr 25, 2017
  • Stayed: Apr 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Guenther, Christine, Paul and Lea, We are SO glad that your trip was a success! And you were lovely guests. We look forward to seeing you again. Come back anytime. Sincerely, Carolann, Anthony and Anthony
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Spring Break in the Big Apple

  • 4 of 5

Decided to spend Spring Break with the family in New York. The house offered plenty of room for the four of us, was close to the subways and provided a true experience of a New York lifestyle. The owner was great to work with, provided food for when we arrived and had the refrigerator stocked. Overall was a good experience!!!

And per my son, everyone should try Krispy Krunchy Chicken down the street....delicious!!!!

  • Submitted: Apr 11, 2017
  • Stayed: Apr 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

An Amazing HOME away from HOME!

  • 5 of 5

From the moment we arrived we felt like we were home. We had traveled in on Christmas day & we were immediately spoiled by Carolann. Besides being super nice she is an amazing cook. We loved her banana bread, the pecan bunt cake, the brownie treats, and let's not forget the homemade mac/cheese, chicken and beef stew! The pantry was full along with the basics in the refrigerator to get us started. The apartment is so comfortable, it was super clean and what a treat to have a real 2 bedroom apartment in NYC with plenty of closet and drawer space in each. Oh let's not forgot to mention how great it was to have a king bed in one of the rooms. Everything was so convenient to get to, from the food stores to the subway. We love the craziness and fun of the city, but what we loved most is leaving that all behind and traveling back up to this apartment. We enjoyed the apartment as much as we enjoyed exploring the city. We found the neighborhood to be very friendly and we were pleasantly surprised how quiet it was at night. It was pretty cold the week we were in the city and this place was nice and warm. I also loved all of the personal touches that were around for the holidays. It is really nice to have people care about you and that is exactly what Carolann, Anthony and Anthony did. They would just check in once an a while with us to make sure everything was working and that we had everything we need. They made this trip in to the city one of the best ones he have had in 5 years... we have a worry free stay! We go into NYC several times during the year with our daughter and hope that we will be lucky to stay here again this summer. This home is #1 on our list.

  • Submitted: Jan 8, 2017
  • Stayed: Dec 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Lee, We're delighted that you had a good time, and it was a pleasure to host you. Happy 2017! We hope to see you again soon. Sincerely, Carolann, Anthony & Anthony
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
5

Great Vacation!

  • 5 of 5

Our family members of 4 females decided to take a NYC trip and instead of staying in a hotel as we usually do we decided to try HomeAway. We were not disappointed. The apartment is very spacious and there was plenty of room for all of us.

Carolann met us at the apartment when we arrived and went over details about the apartment and the neighborhood. We were also surprised and delighted with a delicious homemade meal that she had prepared for us. The refrigerator and pantry were fully stocked with everything that we needed. There was milk, orange juice, fruit, butter, muffins, and the same brand of Greek yogurt that my aunt eats for breakfast every morning. She was so surprised by that! As a result we did not have to get any groceries during our 4 day stay. Also we loved the banana bread! Could we please have the recipe?

Getting around in NYC from the apartment was very convenient because the subway entrances are only a few blocks away. We also used the "Via" app on our phones for transportation which worked out well for us. Carolann is a wonderful hostess! She responded to all of our questions either by phone or text. Staying at her apartment was an amazing experience and we are now sold on this way to vacation! We will definitely do this again. However, we were sorry that we did not get to meet Anthony. We usually left the apartment in the morning and did not get back until late that evening.

  • Submitted: Dec 8, 2016
  • Stayed: Dec 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Denise, I just sent you the banana bread recipe. Let me know that you have received it. We are sorry that you didn't get to meet Anthony. Maybe next time. And we're glad you all had a good time. Have a wonderful holiday season and a happy, healthy and prosperous 2017. Sincerely, Carolann
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Map

Nearest Airport
12 Miles
La Guardia
Nearest Ferry
12 Miles
Staten Island
Nearest Train
0.2 Miles
#2 and 3 subway...B and C subway
Nearest Motorway
1 Miles
FDR Drive
Nearest Beach
16 Miles
Coney Island

Property is located on a quiet, lovely, tree-lined block. Subway and bus transportation within walking distance. Various restaurants within walking distance. Grocery stores, fast-food restaurants and Laundromats within walking distance.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Upper Manhattan Townhome Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
XMAS
Dec 22 2017 - Jan 2 2018
4 night minimum stay
$275
 
 
My Standard Rate
4 night minimum stay
$225
 
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add $50 per night, per additional guest

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $500
cleaning $100

Rates are non-negotiable and will not be lowered. If you are unwilling to pay them, please do not contact us.
We do not give full or partial refunds for late arrivals or early departures under any circumstances.
We cannot accommodate smokers. We appreciate your interest and are sorry to lose your business, but please do not contact us if you smoke.
Entrance and common areas of this building are under 24-hour camera surveillance.
Apartment is not child-proofed. Not recommended for infants, toddlers or children below the age of 6.

Our website says that "This Owner Accepts Fewer Booking Requests Than Average." This is not accurate. We often have to cancel a guest's initial booking request and then redo it in order to lower the deposit amount. VRBO's system defaults to a large initial deposit, and we do not want to take a lot of money from our guests who may be booking several months in advance. You never know what can happen, and we do not refund deposits. We do not want to see anyone spend a lot of money up front which is non-refundable and then have to cancel their trip and lose a big deposit. So while it appears that we reject a lot of booking requests, we do not. We REDO a lot of booking requests.
For longer-term stay options, please see our sister property, Harlem Comfort II, under listing 1064276.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Canceled bookings will not receive a refund
Contact Owner
Available
Unavailable

You might like these similar properties