check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit

Luxury Living in Harlem

Sleeps6
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Property type townhome
Minimum Stay 4 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the VRBO checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview


Details
Property
townhome
Sleeps
6
Bedrooms
2
Bathrooms
1
Minimum Stay
4 nights

About the property

2BR/1bath in historic Harlem brownstone

Full floor apartment in historic Harlem brownstone. Master BR with 1 king-size bed, second BR w/full-size bed; living and dining area. Sofabed in living room sleeps two; custom mattress. Complete kitchen; cable TV and WiFi; one full bath. All newly renovated. Within walking distance of express and local subways; 20 minutes from midtown Manhattan.


Owner
Carolann Greenup
Member since: 2013
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
January 19, 2017

About Carolann Greenup

I was born and raised in NYC and have lived here almost my entire life. My dad's old office was literally right next door to the world-famous Apollo Theatre, so my love affair with Harlem began early. I love the diversity and excitement of NYC! I think it is one of the best places in the world to live, especially if you cannot afford to travel. There are so many different cultures on display in NYC. And Harlem is in the midst of a second (third? fourth? twelfth?) renaissance which makes every day an adventure. Since I've lived in this neighborhood, I don't think I've ever been bored a day in my life.

Why Carolann Greenup chose Manhattan

The patterned tile floor of the vestibule, the spectacular woodwork which distinguishes the hallway and staircase; the fireplace with its pillars and tile work; the bay windows in the master bedroom - a brownstone is more than a building; it is a historical snapshot, a beautiful example of the elegance of a bygone era. This property is a living, vibrant museum. We manage and maintain it with a great deal of love.

What makes this townhome unique

While I would never want to be bored, I also appreciate peace and serenity. The stately beauty of this building has a very calming effect on its residents which makes it very easy to relax after an exciting day of life in the big city.

Guestbook comments from the owner

We know how much you looked forward to your trip, and we did our best to make things nice for you as we do for all our guests. I am sorry if it is not ending in a way you would like, but we bear no responsibility whatsoever for that. We give FULL disclosure to the utmost degree to all our guests. Not one of our guests has ever come to harm while in our building. We are particularly proud of this part of our reputation, we intend to maintain it, and we cannot do so if we do not enforce our own rules. So to reiterate, yes, I am withholding your deposit.



Sincerely,



Carolann Greenup

Harlem Comfort
Dec 2015
  • 1 of 4

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(73 traveler reviews)

Luxury Living in Harlem
average rating of 4.849315 based on 77 reviews
5

An Amazing HOME away from HOME!

  • 5 of 5

From the moment we arrived we felt like we were home. We had traveled in on Christmas day & we were immediately spoiled by Carolann. Besides being super nice she is an amazing cook. We loved her banana bread, the pecan bunt cake, the brownie treats, and let's not forget the homemade mac/cheese, chicken and beef stew! The pantry was full along with the basics in the refrigerator to get us started. The apartment is so comfortable, it was super clean and what a treat to have a real 2 bedroom apartment in NYC with plenty of closet and drawer space in each. Oh let's not forgot to mention how great it was to have a king bed in one of the rooms. Everything was so convenient to get to, from the food stores to the subway. We love the craziness and fun of the city, but what we loved most is leaving that all behind and traveling back up to this apartment. We enjoyed the apartment as much as we enjoyed exploring the city. We found the neighborhood to be very friendly and we were pleasantly surprised how quiet it was at night. It was pretty cold the week we were in the city and this place was nice and warm. I also loved all of the personal touches that were around for the holidays. It is really nice to have people care about you and that is exactly what Carolann, Anthony and Anthony did. They would just check in once an a while with us to make sure everything was working and that we had everything we need. They made this trip in to the city one of the best ones he have had in 5 years... we have a worry free stay! We go into NYC several times during the year with our daughter and hope that we will be lucky to stay here again this summer. This home is #1 on our list.

  • Submitted: Jan 8, 2017
  • Stayed: Dec 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Lee, We're delighted that you had a good time, and it was a pleasure to host you. Happy 2017! We hope to see you again soon. Sincerely, Carolann, Anthony & Anthony
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Great Vacation!

  • 5 of 5

Our family members of 4 females decided to take a NYC trip and instead of staying in a hotel as we usually do we decided to try HomeAway. We were not disappointed. The apartment is very spacious and there was plenty of room for all of us.

Carolann met us at the apartment when we arrived and went over details about the apartment and the neighborhood. We were also surprised and delighted with a delicious homemade meal that she had prepared for us. The refrigerator and pantry were fully stocked with everything that we needed. There was milk, orange juice, fruit, butter, muffins, and the same brand of Greek yogurt that my aunt eats for breakfast every morning. She was so surprised by that! As a result we did not have to get any groceries during our 4 day stay. Also we loved the banana bread! Could we please have the recipe?

Getting around in NYC from the apartment was very convenient because the subway entrances are only a few blocks away. We also used the "Via" app on our phones for transportation which worked out well for us. Carolann is a wonderful hostess! She responded to all of our questions either by phone or text. Staying at her apartment was an amazing experience and we are now sold on this way to vacation! We will definitely do this again. However, we were sorry that we did not get to meet Anthony. We usually left the apartment in the morning and did not get back until late that evening.

  • Submitted: Dec 8, 2016
  • Stayed: Dec 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Denise, I just sent you the banana bread recipe. Let me know that you have received it. We are sorry that you didn't get to meet Anthony. Maybe next time. And we're glad you all had a good time. Have a wonderful holiday season and a happy, healthy and prosperous 2017. Sincerely, Carolann
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Prince Alberts, Sask, Canada
4

Great location, spacious and clean!

  • 4 of 5

We enjoyed our stay in Harlem. It was easy access to all destinations in NYC, the apartment is spacious for 4 people and clean. Carolann works tirelessly making sure your stay is comfortable even to the point of providing a meal, home baking and groceries upon arrival. Thank you! After travelling for the day, it is nice to arrive at a place and NOT have to run out and get groceries or look for a place to eat. The only downside is the street noise during the night but I think this would be a challenge anywhere in NYC. My advice - get a white noise app on your phone or bring a fan! Carolann did buy us earplugs -- thank you! My only regret is that we didn't do a walking tour of Harlem; there is a lot of history there and alot of great local food to enjoy!

  • Submitted: Nov 25, 2016
  • Stayed: Nov 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Sharon and Rob, We're sorry that the street noise was a problem. I don't think you would have noticed it as much if it had been cold enough outside to keep the windows closed. October and November can be tricky in NYC weather-wise. As we explained, we are required by law to have the heat on between Oct 15 and April 15. And we can't afford to pay for heat and A/C simultaneously. So an Indian summer temperature rise can be a problem - all our guests can do is open the windows - and let the noise in with the breeze. However, you seem to have had a good time overall, and we're glad about that. We're also glad the earplugs helped. Thanks for staying with us, and come back anytime. Sincerely, Carolann and Anthony
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Heidelberg
5

Really absolutely great - felt like being home

  • 5 of 5

Carolann and Anthony,

you cared so much about us - right from the beginning after having arrived unvoluntarily that late in Newark.

You had cooked for us and everything was so tasty.

You made us welcome in a way that we really felt overwhelmed by your hospitality.

The apartment was big enough for us, a family of 4, and would be also for 5 or 6. It´s close to walk to the metro station of two different lines which goes straight downtown.

It was very clean and the kitchen was well sorted with everything needed. We felt really like coming home with our aching feet after being in the city during the whole day.

We would love to come back one day.

Thank you so much for everything,

Claudia, Paul, Daniel and Charlotte

  • Submitted: Nov 6, 2016
  • Stayed: Oct 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Claudia, It was wonderful having you, and you are certainly welcome back any time. We're glad you had a good stay. Have a great holiday season and a happy and healthy 2017! I sent you the banana bread recipe. Let me know if you got it. Sincerely, Carolann and Anthony
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great place to stay, very helpful owner, great local restaurants nearby, convenient to the subway.

  • 5 of 5

We were greeted by freshly baked chicken, pasta salad, cake and breakfast items which were amazing after a long trip. We enjoyed two nearby restaurants, Ponty Bistro and Hyacinth Haven. The subway was nearby and only 20 minutes to most tourist destinations. We will stay here again in the future.

  • Submitted: Oct 29, 2016
  • Stayed: Oct 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Sarah, We're glad you had a good time. Thanks for staying with us. Sincerely, Carolann and Anthony
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

A Home in New York

  • 5 of 5

This place was great! It truly was a home away from home. Carolann and Anthony were very welcoming and personable. Upon our arrival they ensured we were comfortable and had what we needed.

We had an awesome suprise in the refrigerator too! Delicious chicken, pasta, and more. This was plenty for my party of 3 and provided us with meals for a few days.

The description to this place was accurate and the location worked well for us. The only issue I had was trying to get the street door open on our first day. Sadly, I had to call Anthony in the late hours to let us in. He was wonderful and got up. Thank you again! After that he closed the door and had me open it and I got it. I mastered opening that door ha ha ha. I would definitely recommend this place, accurate description and with owners who go above and beyond. Thank you for a wonderful stay.

  • Submitted: Oct 12, 2016
  • Stayed: Oct 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Carolina, I spend a lot of time explaining and demonstrating the keys and doors to our guests. Anthony laughs at me about it. (Of course, HE never has any problems with the doors. Me? Not so lucky.) We're glad you had a good time. Thanks for staying with us, and come back soon. Carolann
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
12 Miles
La Guardia
Nearest Ferry
12 Miles
Staten Island
Nearest Train
0.2 Miles
#2 and 3 subway...B and C subway
Nearest Motorway
1 Miles
FDR Drive
Nearest Beach
16 Miles
Coney Island

Property is located on a quiet, lovely, tree-lined block. Subway and bus transportation within walking distance. Various restaurants within walking distance. Grocery stores, fast-food restaurants and Laundromats within walking distance.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Upper Manhattan Townhome Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
My Standard Rate
4 night minimum stay
$225
 
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add $50 per night, per additional guest

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $500
cleaning $100

Rates are non-negotiable and will not be lowered. If you are unwilling to pay them, please do not contact us.
We do not give full or partial refunds for late arrivals or early departures under any circumstances.
We cannot accommodate smokers. We appreciate your interest and are sorry to lose your business, but please do not contact us if you smoke.
Entrance and common areas of this building are under 24-hour camera surveillance.
Apartment is not child-proofed. Not recommended for infants, toddlers or children below the age of 6.

Our website says that "This Owner Accepts Fewer Booking Requests Than Average." This is not accurate. We often have to cancel a guest's initial booking request and then redo it in order to lower the deposit amount. VRBO's system defaults to a large initial deposit, and we do not want to take a lot of money from our guests who may be booking several months in advance. You never know what can happen, and we do not refund deposits. We do not want to see anyone spend a lot of money up front which is non-refundable and then have to cancel their trip and lose a big deposit. So while it appears that we reject a lot of booking requests, we do not. We REDO a lot of booking requests.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Cancelled bookings will not receive a refund
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Contact Me Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Upper Manhattan Townhome Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • townhome
  • floor 2
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1100 sq. ft.
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Fireplace
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Towels Provided
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower , renovated with new sink, toilet, showerhead, reglazed tub
  • 1 full bathroom; renovated w/ new sink, toilet and floor.
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king
    Bedroom 2 - 1 double
  • 1 Master BR w/ brand new king-size bed and mattress; 1 smaller BR w/brand new full-size bed and mattress.
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • museums
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • synagogues
  • theme parks
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • gambling casinos
  • horseback riding
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • ice skating
  • pier fishing
  • roller blading
  • tennis

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties