Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Luxury Living in Harlem

Sleeps6
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Space 1,100 sq. ft.
Property type townhome
Minimum Stay 4 nights

Overview

About the property

2BR/1bath in historic Harlem brownstone

Full floor apartment in historic Harlem brownstone. Master BR with 1 king-size bed, second BR w/full-size bed; living and dining area. Sofabed in living room sleeps two; custom mattress. Complete kitchen; cable TV and WiFi; one full bath. All newly renovated. Within walking distance of express and local subways; 20 minutes from midtown Manhattan.


Owner
Carolann Greenup
Member since: 2013
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
November 12, 2017

About Carolann Greenup

I was born and raised in NYC and have lived here almost my entire life. My dad's old office was literally right next door to the world-famous Apollo Theatre, so my love affair with Harlem began early. I love the diversity and excitement of NYC! I think it is one of the best places in the world to live, especially if you cannot afford to travel. There are so many different cultures on display in NYC. And Harlem is in the midst of a second (third? fourth? twelfth?) renaissance which makes every day an adventure. Since I've lived in this neighborhood, I don't think I've ever been bored a day in my life.

Why Carolann Greenup chose Harlem

The patterned tile floor of the vestibule, the spectacular woodwork which distinguishes the hallway and staircase; the fireplace with its pillars and tile work; the bay windows in the master bedroom - a brownstone is more than a building; it is a historical snapshot, a beautiful example of the elegance of a bygone era. This property is a living, vibrant museum. We manage and maintain it with a great deal of love.

What makes this townhome unique

While I would never want to be bored, I also appreciate peace and serenity. The stately beauty of this building has a very calming effect on its residents which makes it very easy to relax after an exciting day of life in the big city.

Guestbook comments from the owner

We know how much you looked forward to your trip, and we did our best to make things nice for you as we do for all our guests. I am sorry if it is not ending in a way you would like, but we bear no responsibility whatsoever for that. We give FULL disclosure to the utmost degree to all our guests. Not one of our guests has ever come to harm while in our building. We are particularly proud of this part of our reputation, we intend to maintain it, and we cannot do so if we do not enforce our own rules. So to reiterate, yes, I am withholding your deposit.



Sincerely,



Carolann Greenup

Harlem Comfort
Dec 2015
  • 1 of 4

Amenities

Harlem Townhome Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • townhome
  • floor 2
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1100 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Fireplace
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Towels Provided
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower , renovated with new sink, toilet, showerhead, tub
  • 1 full bathroom; renovated w/ new sink, toilet and floor.
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king
    Bedroom 2 - 1 double
  • 1 Master BR w/ brand new king-size bed and mattress; 1 smaller BR w/brand new full-size bed and mattress.
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
Suitability:
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • museums
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • synagogues
  • theme parks
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • gambling casinos
  • horseback riding
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • ice skating
  • pier fishing
  • roller blading
  • tennis

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(87 traveler reviews)

83% Complete
16% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Luxury Living in Harlem
average rating of 4.8390803 based on 91 reviews
5

Fabulous New York getaway!

  • 5 of 5

Carolann's cozy apartment in Harlem was the perfect place to celebrate a reunion with our German friends! The apartment was very clean, roomy, and the well stocked fridge and cupboards made the vacation all the more special! What a treat! We felt spoiled! The full chicken dinner that she prepared for us provided more than one meal! Delicious!

The Harlem location was perfect for our metro travels to all parts of the city and we always felt safe in the area. We would definitely stay here again!

Carolann was an excellent communicator and no questions were left unanswered. She went up and beyond to make us feel comfortable and

informed . We highly recommend! Our experience was wonderful!

  • Submitted: Nov 5, 2017
  • Stayed: October 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks, Diane. We were glad to have you. Please come back any time. Also, thank you for the lovely pictures! We are going to keep them and figure out a place where we can display them. Sincerely, Carolann and Anthony
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Nice spacious place great for family with kids

  • 4 of 5

Great location, nice place I will definitely come again with my family.

If you are looking for the spacious place to stay in the NYC I would say this is a best choice.

Reason why I am giving only four stars is because the doors are difficult to open and close and it need to be fixed. Building hallway and stairs need renovation or at last some paint job and new carpet and floor in the apartment was not so clean.

Jan

  • Submitted: Oct 21, 2017
  • Stayed: October 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hello Jan, This is the comment you left in our guest book: "It was such a pleasant stay. We appreciate your hospitality. The apartment was perfect for a family vacation. We would love to come back here again. Again, thank you very much! See you again." And you put a smiley face next to your last sentence. I also still have our text exchange, and when I checked on you the night after you checked in to see how everyone was doing and if there was anything you needed, your response was as follows: "Hello, Carolann. Everything is good thank you. Specially for the cake kids love it. Thank you very much. Jan." In short, we were in regular contact with you, and you made not one complaint about either the space or the service throughout your stay. As for the floor being "not so clean,' for that I do apologize. Yours was a last-minute booking request, and we normally do not accept those as we know how much time we need to properly clean the apartment. You will recall that we initially declined your request to book with us as we did not feel our space was the right fit for you, and we explained why. However, after you urgently explained why you hoped we would reverse our decision, we did so and did our best to give you the same level of service we try to give all of our other guests. Carolann
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Very happy with stay

  • 5 of 5

We were happy with everything. Carolann went above and beyond to make sure we had everything we needed. She made some amazing food and felt terrible we weren’t able to eat it all.

We had a group of 6 so it was nice to have separate space for everyone, something you won’t get in a hotel room.

It was a bit noisy (compared to where we come from-we are country folk) but we adjusted just fine. Carolann even had ear plugs if the noise really bothers you.

Subway was easy once you get the hang of it. We used an app called Citymapper which was extremely helpful.

If coming from Canada-helpful hint is to buy New York Explorer pass from Costco. $110 Canadian and you can download to your phone.

No complaints! Really happy with our stay

Thanks so much Carolann and Anthony!!

  • Submitted: Oct 9, 2017
  • Stayed: October 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Kacy, We're really glad you enjoyed yourselves. Come back anytime, and have a wonderful holiday season. Carolann and Anthony
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Hospitable owner

  • 5 of 5

Our family of 4 went to NY for fall break and had a great time sightseeing in the city that never sleeps. Carolann (the owner) and I corresponded multiple times via email after booking the trip. She used the email correspondence to assist with providing brochures/directions to various events. She also had a stocked fridge and an amazing cake waiting when we arrived! This was such a sweet gesture & so hospitable. There weren't any issues while we were there, but she did check in to ensure that we didn't need anything. As far as returning the refundable insurance deposit it was immediately after our departure. She mentioned that it would be 5-7 days to be returned, but was credited within 2-3 days. If you are looking for a clean, safe, and welcoming vacation with a hospitable owner this is the location for you. We definitely would stay at Carolann's home again if we were to visit NY again! Thank you for everything Carolann!

  • Submitted: Oct 9, 2017
  • Stayed: September 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Meredith, We were glad to have you and glad that you enjoyed your stay. Please come back and visit us again anytime. Sincerely, Carolann
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Richfield, MN
4

Quiet and Comfortable!

  • 4 of 5

We would return, because Carolann and her crew were responsive, the unit was clean, and the neghborhood quiet and close to the subway. We have stayed at many VRBO and this is the first time the fridge was stocked, and there was cake on the table!! Wendy

  • Submitted: Oct 2, 2017
  • Stayed: September 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Home away from home

  • 5 of 5

We stayed at Carolann's for 9 days and absolutely loved it. The house was clean, well stocked and very well located. We could easily walk to the main shopping precinct of Harlem, a range of restaurants, Yankee stadium and the train station. Carolann was an excellent host. She even had food for us which was greatly appreciated, particularly just after we arrived from Australia. We were collected at the airport by a vehicle arranged and paid for by Carolann. We weren't expecting those extras. We would happily recommend Harlem comfort to anyone looking for a taste of the real New York.

  • Submitted: Sep 17, 2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks so much! You're welcome back anytime. Carolann
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
12 Miles
La Guardia
Nearest Ferry
12 Miles
Staten Island
Nearest Train
0.2 Miles
#2 and 3 subway...B and C subway
Nearest Motorway
1 Miles
FDR Drive
Nearest Beach
16 Miles
Coney Island

Property is located on a quiet, lovely, tree-lined block. Subway and bus transportation within walking distance. Various restaurants within walking distance. Grocery stores, fast-food restaurants and Laundromats within walking distance.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $500
cleaning $100

Rates are non-negotiable and will not be lowered. If you are unwilling to pay them, please do not contact us.
We do not give full or partial refunds for late arrivals or early departures under any circumstances.
We cannot accommodate smokers. We appreciate your interest and are sorry to lose your business, but please do not contact us if you smoke.
Entrance and common areas of this building are under 24-hour camera surveillance.
Apartment is not child-proofed. Not recommended for infants, toddlers or children below the age of 6.

Our website says that "This Owner Accepts Fewer Booking Requests Than Average." This is not accurate. We often have to cancel a guest's initial booking request and then redo it in order to lower the deposit amount. VRBO's system defaults to a large initial deposit, and we do not want to take a lot of money from our guests who may be booking several months in advance. You never know what can happen, and we do not refund deposits. We do not want to see anyone spend a lot of money up front which is non-refundable and then have to cancel their trip and lose a big deposit. So while it appears that we reject a lot of booking requests, we do not. We REDO a lot of booking requests.
For longer-term stay options, please see our sister property, Harlem Comfort II, under listing 1064276.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Canceled bookings will not receive a refund

You might like these similar properties