check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag

Linens included when you rent this peaceful retreat. 3 night stay available!

Sleeps8
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms3
Half Baths1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the VRBO checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview


Details
Property
house
Sleeps
8
Bedrooms
4
Bathrooms
3
Half Baths
1
Minimum Stay
2 nights

Description

Huddleston House Rental Photos and Description

4 bedroom 3 1/2 bath getaway boasting 3 spacious decks overlooking a quiet cove

We would like to invite you into our SML retreat. It is a 3 story home with contemporary great room offering floor to ceiling windows overlooking the water, stone fireplace, flat screen tv, dishwasher, and access to a large and shaded deck. Entry level master suite with queen bed. Lower level has second tv and a DVD player, bedroom with a queen bed, full bathroom, and access to wraparound deck and firepit. Upper level includes a full bathroom, a reading nook with futon overlooking the great room, a bedroom with a twin bed, and a second bedroom with a full bed and private, tree top balcony.

There for you to use is a washer and dryer, coffee pot, pots and pans, crockpot, dishes, glassware, silverware, charcoal grill, and some cooking utensils

Conveniently located down over the hill, behind the house you will find community walking trails, boat launch, and day dock. If you don't come with your own watercraft there are boat rentals available less than 2 miles from the property.

If you find yourself looking beyond the lake for entertainment the area offers wineries, hiking, lakeside dining, and golf.

More Details
Suitability:
  • Events Allowed
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • smoking allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible

Owner
Heather Turner
Member since: 2014
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
90%
Calendar last updated:
November 6, 2016
Call Owner

About Heather Turner

My husband, originally from virginia, and I, raised in Pennsylvania, met during our college years and married just after graduation. We purchased this home in 2010. Our growing family and changes in employment have caused us to choose a home closer to work in Roanoke.

Heather Turner purchased this house in 2010

Why Heather Turner chose Smith Mountain Lake

When looking for a home to call ours we needed to find something in between Lynchburg and Roanoke since he and I worked in those cities respectively. When I saw this house I fell in love with its charm. I knew I wanted to call it home. Now we can't part with it.

What makes this house unique

We love our home because of its tranquil feel both inside and out. The windows are so large that you feel like you're outside while you're sitting on the couch.

Reviews

Excellent! 4.7/5 -
(15 traveler reviews)

Linens included when you rent this peaceful retreat. 3 night stay available!
average rating of 4.733333 based on 15 reviews
4

Great Thanksgiving getaway!

  • 4 of 5

We had a great time at this SML home. The house is well equipped and we found plenty to do. Lots of great places to walk and enjoy the scenery, had a fire and made S'mores with the kids and made a Thanksgiving meal for the family. I'd recommend being prepared with your groceries and necessities as the store is a bit of a drive. Friendly neighbors too.

  • Submitted: Nov 29, 2016
  • Stayed: Nov 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Glad you enjoyed your stay! I agree, it is pretty secluded in the way of stores.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Beautiful home

  • 5 of 5

Absolutely beautiful home - spacious enough to hold 7 adults, but with a homey feel. The house is equipped with games, tv's, a kayak and much more.

The bedrooms are large and there are plenty of bathrooms. A deck overlooks a wooded area.

The only negative was the mattress was lumpy in the upstairs bedroom.

  • Submitted: Oct 11, 2016
  • Stayed: Oct 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Beautiful house and property

  • 5 of 5

We had a great experience with the property and the owners. The home was beautiful and ready for us. It had everything we needed and was the perfect setting for our retreat. We look forward to staying at the house again in the future!

  • Submitted: Aug 30, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Glad the experience was a good one. We hope you decide to come back.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

The Perfect getaway or retreat!!!

  • 5 of 5

We had an AMAZING stay. The house was extremely spacious and accommodating for all of us. The owners were extremely nice and very responsive... We are thinking of making this a yearly tradition! Thank you for sharing your home with us.

-The Tiedemann's

  • Submitted: Aug 28, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We're so glad you had a great experience and hope you come back again!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

Needs better cleaning

  • 3 of 5

The house is cute, on a steep hill. Disappointed in no toilet paper (was included), no towels in bathrooms because they were in the washer and dryer. One bathroom wasn't cleaned and another half done. We won't rent again due to cleanilness.

  • Submitted: Aug 15, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are sorry for your bad experience. That was the first time a cleaning service had prepared the house for a guest. We won't use them again. Thank you for your feedback.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Outstanding!! Exceeded expectations!

  • 5 of 5

This house was perfect and exceeded expectations! The owner was wonderful to deal with and the property has a great layout! I would rent this place again in a second. The listing description was accurate. Upon arrival the property was clean and ready to go. There is a boat access that you can walk to and swim. At first I was worried because I thought it might be busy, but it was not at all. It was perfect for swimming and there was no traffic. A great get-a-way!

  • Submitted: Aug 9, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Barpub
1 Miles
Mitchell's Point Cafe
Nearest Golf
7 Miles
Mariners landing
Nearest Restaurant
1 Miles
Mitchell's point cafe
Nearest Beach
8 Miles
Smith mountain lake state park

Photos

Rates & Availability

Huddleston House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$269
$1,800
 

Additional information about rental rates

Pet Fee $25
Refundable damage deposit $250

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Contact Me Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Huddleston House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 2500 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Lake View ...
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Heating
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 7 people
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Masterbath - toilet , shower
    upstairs Bathroom - toilet , combination tub/shower
    half off of kitchen - toilet
    Lower level bathroom - toilet , shower
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Lower level bedroom - 1 queen
    Upstairs bedroom with tree-top balcony - 1 double
    Master suite - 1 queen , attached bath and laundry. Slidingdoor onto entry level deck
    2nd upstairs bedroom - 1 twin/ single
    Loft overlooking living area - 1 sleep sofa /futon
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television ...
  • Video Games ...
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Balcony ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
Suitability:
  • Events Allowed
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome ...
  • smoking allowed ...
  • wheelchair inaccessible ...
Attractions:
  • restaurants
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • boating
  • scenic drives
  • walking
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • kayaking

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties