Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

FAMILY FRENDLY - QUIET RETREAT - GREAT VALUE !

Sleeps8
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms1
Space 1,200 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 4 nights

Overview

About the property

3 Bedroom Lake Home Near Winter, Wi

The Yellow Bird on Barber has something for all ages. Our three bedroom, roomy home is located at the end of a private drive and sits on the east shore of a quiet lake and offers spectacular sunsets. Barber Lake and offers over 200 acres of water fun for all. Fantastic lake for fishing, water skiing, tubing, canoeing, swimming, or to enjoy the peace and quiet.

The Yellow Bird is approximately 75 feet from the waters edge with a gradual sloped lawn to the private sandy beach and dock. Our home has three bedrooms, one with and queen bed, one with a queen and a full bed and one with a king (as well as two twin cots, 2 youth mattresses and a sofa). One large bathroom with a shower, tub and vanity. A fully equipped kitchen with lake view from the kitchen sink.

Beautiful one acre yard with a fire pit and even a kick ball field. Some Firewood is included with your stay. A row boat, canoe and swim raft come with the property.

The property is located five minutes from the town of Winter with all your shopping needs and approximately twenty five minutes from Hayward with even more. This region is widely considered to be the fat tire (mountain biking) capital of the Midwest. 20 minutes to Stone Lake and their famous cranberry festival. Very close to A.T.V. And snowmobiling trails. The Tascobia trail! Kayaking ! Class A Muskie lakes all over the area ! Dozens of fine restaurants, bars and up north joints.

We hope you will give us a chance to share this wonderful retreat with your family and know that you will want to come back year after year.

More Details

Owner
Patrick McGuire
Member since: 2013
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
July 20, 2017

About Patrick McGuire

Hello, we are Patrick and Roxy McGuire. We live in the Hayward lakes area at a resort that Patrick manages. We have owned our Barber Lake home for ten years and when it is not being rented we use it as a retreat for our family and friends, including our five daughters and five grandchildren.

Patrick McGuire purchased this house in 2004

Why Patrick McGuire chose Northwest

We spent two years searching for the perfect lake home while living near the Twin Cities. We focused on an large area, all the way from Alexandra, MN to Park Falls, WI. When we found the Winter/Hayward area we knew that we had found our spot. Quiet, but not to quiet, small, but not to small, close to Minneapolis, Madison, etc, but not to close. We love it and so will you. We take care of the property personally and will do our best to see that you have a memorable vacation experience.

What makes this house unique

Our unique property is great for a large family, with lots of room to breathe but also wonderful for small groups who enjoy the peace and quiet. The Yellow Bird is comfortably furnished and tastefully decorated. Our home is situated on South Barber Lake which is very private and calm with wonderful sunsets. If you crave a little more action, hop over to Barber lake via the channel for more room to explore.

Amenities

Winter House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1200 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 10:00
  • /
  • Check-out: 14:00
  • Max. occupancy: 8
  • Min. age of primary renter: 21
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets considered ...
  • Non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Lakefront
  • Rural
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 10 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower , Spacious Vanity
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king
    Bedroom 2 - 2 queen
    Bedroom 3 - 2 twin/ single , 2 child bed , 2 youth mattresses and 2 cots
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player ...
  • Games
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Toys
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Boat ...
  • Deck / Patio
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill ...
Attractions:
  • churches
  • library
  • playground
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • gambling casinos
  • horseback riding
  • horseshoes
  • miniature golf
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • sailing
  • snowmobiling
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • water tubing

Reviews

Excellent! 4.3/5 -
(16 traveler reviews)

43% Complete
43% Complete
6% Complete
6% Complete
0% Complete
FAMILY FRENDLY - QUIET RETREAT - GREAT VALUE !
average rating of 4.25 based on 16 reviews
4

Well-stocked house with most everything needed. Beautiful location.

  • 4 of 5

Unfortunately, the weather did not cooperate the week we were there, so we got to spend plenty of time in the house. Large selection of movies, thankfully. Was expecting a "15 ft sandy beach", but that may be a bit of an exaggeration.overall a nice place to stay.

  • Submitted: Jul 2, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Jodi, Thank you for staying at our home and we are glad you made the best of it with all the rain we had. As for the beach, it was about half under water as the lake was up about a foot from a very wet June, Thanks again, Pat and Roxy
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great getaway cabin!

  • 5 of 5

I was very impressed with this cabin and the lake it was on. Very clean unit with a nice backyard and lake access for the kids to run around in. We didn't fish,. but saw others pull a few huge northern out of the lake, so next time I am bringing my pole! With 5 kids all sleeping comfortably in the cabin, they spent every day swimming and jumping off the floating platform off the shore. The pontoon even had a ladder so the kids could jump off and climb back on. I would recommend this stay for any family, as it is a super quiet, clean area. Fun was had by all. We will be coming back again! Thanks Pat!

Justin Schaller

  • Submitted: Aug 8, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Family Vacation 2016

  • 5 of 5

We were all very pleased with our stay and the property.Very roomy and clean,well equipped with all we needed.The deck/porch was super nice and provided great views,the yard was pretty and secluded.Hayward was a 45 minute ride but enjoyed it.Owners were good people and easy to work with.Overall an A+ rating and would stay again.

  • Submitted: Aug 3, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Peggy, it was nice meeting you and your family. You where great and we would love to have you back again. Pat and Roxy
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
4

Nice time in the North Woods

  • 4 of 5

Home was well-stocked with just about everything we needed for a lake house (absent the bug spray of course). Kitchen was spacious, rooms were clean and we had the opportunity to accommodate more guests if needed (rollout beds, etc.). We were close to town and miracle of miracles, actually had cell phone service. Other members of family were just a few miles away and phones were all dead. All-in-all, a very comfortable stay. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Submitted: Jul 20, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks George, Pat and Roxy
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
4

Quaint, clean, amazing view from the back deck with beautiful sunsets

  • 4 of 5

This was our first time renting a lake home for vacation. We didn't know quite what to expect, coming from an area where lakes are few, and green with algae. The lake isn't so huge that it was a good starting point for us, not overwhelming. And the water is clean. It was really nice just to spend the week here enjoying the water instead of chasing museums and attractions. Kids enjoyed swimming, and the swimming platform was really nice to have. We took rowboat out the most, and tried our hand at fishing, and the pontoon a time or 2. We caught mostly Crappie. The dock is not shared with anyone nor the swimming platform, which was nice as well. The sunsets are beautiful as well as the sound of the loons. Kids even saw an otter or two. The home is spacious and clean, enough room for the 8 of us comfortably. The kitchen had pretty much everything you need to cook, serve, and clean. There are plenty of movies to choose from for down time, and the neighborhood is quiet. The owners were very friendly and helpful to answer any questions we had, and easy to contact. They brought us a highchair to help make our week easier with a little one, much appreciated. The owners were also very reasonable and accommodating in renting the pontoon.

A little general information on the area: it is a beautiful area. The town of Winter is small. The grocery store closes at 7pm. There is a gas station, a library with WiFi, and a hardware store, and a café or 2. The people there we found to be friendly. Hayward is about a half hour away if you want to take an afternoon and walk the shops, there are some neat ones there, and we also found a couple neat antique shops too.

It was a pleasure to meet you Pat. We would recommend this home. The view from the kitchen window and back patio was really hard to leave behind.

M & C Waldner

South Dakota

  • Submitted: Jul 17, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are glad you guys had an enjoyable trip. We hope to see you again. You have a wonderful family, good people. Thanks , Pat & Roxy
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Comfortable home on a beautiful lake in Paradise.

  • 5 of 5

This was our second stay at Yellow Bird. Our first with our 9 month old twins. Our friends joined us from their home in D.C. and instantly fell in love with Winter, Wisconsin. Barber Lake is beautiful and absolutely picturesque from dawn to dusk. The house is clean and cozy. Plenty of room for us and our friends' little family. The house is so warm and welcoming, we were able to just relax and enjoy each others' company as if we had always lived there. The kitchen is amazingly well stocked with things we never expected to find, ready to cook big communal meals or just a cup of coffee. Anything you could need or forgot to pack is a short 10 minute drive into town. The fishing was great, whether from out on the lake or just from the dock. My 5 year old godson caught his first fish on the dock, and I caught the biggest muskie of my life from the pontoon boat. Great memories that will last all our lives. We hope to make this a family tradition. We will be back to this home for sure!

  • Submitted: Jul 17, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Marx, Thanks for the kind words, and nice fish! thanks for the pics. We look forward to seeing you again. You have a wonderful family. Pat & Roxy
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Map

Car: necessary

Photos

Rates & Availability

Winter House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
summer
Jun 10 2017 - Sep 9 2017
4 night minimum stay
$180
$1,200
 
 
off peak
Sep 10 2017 - Jun 9 2018
2 night minimum stay
$150
$900
 
 
My Standard Rate
4 night minimum stay
$180
$1,250
 

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $500
cleaning fee $60 + Tax
Pet Fee $25
Tax Rate 5.5%

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Contact Owner
Available
Unavailable