Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Panoramic MT Hood And Willamette River View Minutes From City Center

Sleeps2
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Space 500 sq. ft.
Property type apartment
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Overview

About the property

One Bedroom, One Bath And Covered Deck With Mt Hood And Willamette River Views

This large bedroom suite (18' x 24') with a private bath is located in a private home in a quiet neighborhood on a ridge overlooking the Johns Landing area of near southwest Portland. It has a smashing view of the year round snow capped Mt. Hood (10,000+ feet), the Willamette River, east Portland and surrounds through a 24' long wall of windows and adjoining 32' long covered deck. The unit was recently remodeled and is elegantly appointed. It is air conditioned and has its own controlled heating system. It has a queen sized bed and a 39" TV on cable. The unit has a microwave, a mini refrigerator, a comfortable chair, a table and two chairs in the unit and a similar set on the deck. An optional adjoining private full kitchen is available for an additional $25 a night. We collect local lodging taxes but do not charge any other cleaning or damage fees. We rent to responsible people. We trust them and are almost always pleased. The fireplace shown in photos is decorative only. It is not functional.

The unit has an off street parking space and a private entrance. It is a ten minute drive to downtown Portland and a ten minute walk to three different bus stops going to and from the city center and the suburbs. Light rail (Metro) serves the city and goes directly to the Portland International Airport terminal.

From the unit and deck one can spot bald eagles, hawks, osprey, great blue herons and Canadian geese flying by and commercial airline flight paths to the airport. One can also watch the Christmas Boats Parades on the Willamette River and the Fourth of July fireworks at Oaks Amusement Park, immediately across the river one-half a mile away.

More Details

Owner
Robb and Linda Haskins
Member since: 2013
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
July 18, 2017

About Robb and Linda Haskins

The owners are a retired Oregon Assistant Attorney General and retired Art and Home Economics teacher. The Resident Manager is a retired Landscape Architect.

Robb and Linda Haskins purchased this apartment in 1990

Why Robb and Linda Haskins chose Portland

The owners fell in love with the view of Mt Hood and the location (easy access to all parts of the metropolitan area). Over time they have remodeled all parts of the house to make it very livable.

What makes this apartment unique

The owners fell in love with the view of Mt Hood and the location (easy access to all parts of the metropolitan area). Over time they have remodeled all parts of the house to make it very livable.

Guestbook comments from the owner

Thank you for sharing your comfy and bright space. Loved the view from the window out to the river & mountains. So close to our daughter @ school. Just nice'
Apr 2017
  • 1 of 34

Amenities

Lair Hill Apartment Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • apartment
  • floor 1
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 500 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 2
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • not suitable for children
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Mountain View ...
  • Water View ...
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator ...
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 2 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower
  • Large shower, designer sink and commode
Bedrooms:
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 2
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
  • Large room (16' x 24'), queen size bed, table and chairs, TV, microwave, mini refrigerator
Entertainment:
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television ...
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Deck / Patio
Suitability:
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • arboretum
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • synagogues
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • ice skating
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • pier fishing
  • racquetball
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing

Reviews

Excellent! 4.5/5 -
(79 traveler reviews)

Panoramic MT Hood And Willamette River View Minutes From City Center
average rating of 4.468354 based on 113 reviews
4

What a View

  • 4 of 5

Very clean, modern walkout basement efficient apartment with lots of interesting artwork and a row of windows looking out on the suburbs and river below and to snow covered Mt. Hood in the distance. We had a great stay here just enjoying the view from the room or out on the patio; we didn't want to leave. The only downsides were: owner footsteps upstairs, front door bell that also rang down in the apartment, hot water that can scald you, and very slick tiles on the shower floor. But did I mention the view???

  • Submitted: Jun 29, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear John Thank you for your review of your June 25-27 visit. We are glad you enjoyed the decorations and view. Sorry about the foot steps. We will correct the doorbell, hot water and tiles. We hope to host you again Robb and Linda Owners
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

Fab Views!

  • 3 of 5

Eccentric little studio with awesome views of the river and sometimes of Mt Hood. Lots of art also make it fun. Unfortunately, you have to rent the kitchen as an add-on which is a source of confusion. Also neither studio nor kitchen had been adequately cleaned.

  • Submitted: Jun 22, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Irwin Thank you for your review of your June 15-22, 2017 visit. We are glad that you enjoyed the view from the unit and the decorations in the apartment. Sorry that you were confused about the availability of the kitchen. We clearly stated in the website description that the full kitchen was optional. We have brought your comment about the cleaning to the attention of our Resident Manager for action. Thanks again for your helpful comments. Robb and Linda Owners
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Burbank, CA
4

Portland at its Finest!

  • 4 of 5

We had an amazing two nights at this lovely get away. The view from the porch was unparalleled and we even saw Mt. Hood the morning of our departure. We looked forward to coffee on the porch in the morning and a cocktail in the evening. The interior of this wonderful room was highlighted by the art work. My only complaint was that I couldn't buy any of it! The only reason I did not give this a 5 star rating was the mattress. Too soft for both of us. Bob, our host was lovely, interesting and had some wonderful suggestions. Thank you everyone!

  • Submitted: Jun 21, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Elizabeth Thank you for your kind review. We hope to host you again. Robb and Linda Owners
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
1

You get what you paid for

  • 1 of 5

This property is owned by a very nice couple. We were intrigued by the fascinating pictures of the view from our balcony only to find the place was less than expected. The minute we walked into the place, we immediately regretted not choosing to stay at a hotel. Firstly, we were greeted by a very strong musty, wet wood smell right when we walked in. The view is gorgeous for the price you pay. However, it is a second level balcony that’s beneath another balcony, which gives it a claustrophobic feel that overshadows the view. The balcony is also not very inviting as it is very narrow and the furniture is very dusty and appears to be dirty (we didn't use it at all).

Secondly, we were not able to sleep at all during the duration of our stay because we were up all night itching and scratching, despite having showered twice! We were convinced the bedding (especially the down comforter) was the cause because it looked very dirty and old. We went and purchased two fleece throws to use as sheets and blankets for the next night. Although we were not itching the second night, were still wakeful because the walls were paper thin and we could hear the TV playing upstairs like it was in our living room. This went on till almost midnight. We could also hear the people upstairs talking, not to mention when they walk upstairs, our ceiling shook. The place has central heat and air but the air is controlled by the people living upstairs. We were freezing but couldn't turn off the cool air or turn on the heat to balance it, so we just layered up and suffered through yet another night.

Finally, the furniture arrangement was very peculiar and unconventional. Our bed was in the middle of the room and was resting on an uneven floor, so the bed rocked as we tossed and turned. The mini-fridge was behind the bed and was very loud at night. There were blinds but it doesn’t work against the bright, beaming, morning ray at 5:45 am! We were going in and out of consciousness when the morning beam was just too bright to ignore.

In summary, we wished we had stayed in a hotel for this mini vacation. We thought for a moment of sleeping in the car. Before we decided on this place, we saw one negative review and thought maybe that tenant was just being picky. But after our experience, we cannot, in good conscious, leave our experience unsaid and unknown. Needless to say, we're probably never going to come back to this place again or recommend it to our friends.

  • Submitted: May 30, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are so sorry that you did not have a pleasant stay. The vast majority of our guests have had positive experiences. Only about 3% of over 100 guests have provided any negative comments. Our home is mid century and has be been remodeled extensively, much of it recently, but it is not the Marriott! The deck is open air but it is covered. It is about 50' by 5' which you might consider small, but it probably is a lot larger than the Marriot's. There always is some dust in the air unless there is a rain storm in which case the cover provides protection. We try to keep it swept and dusted but the wind can occasionally play havoc on our best plans and preparations. We are sorry that you itched. You attributed that to the bedding. The comforter is not old and is professionally cleaned regularly. None of our other guests have made such a comment. Your comment sounds as though you might be hyper sensitive. We suggest that you might consult an allergist. As a matter of perhaps over caution we have obtained hypo allergenic laundry detergents and pillow covers. You complained about hearing noise from the upstairs unit. As we said, this is a mid century home. It does not have 21st century sound muffling features. We can't eliminate all noise out side your unit but we plan to be more sensitive to that in the future and move our indoor activities after dinner to interior parts of the house that are not directly above your unit. We apologize for the excessive noise that you experienced. You complained about the air conditioning. Our Resident Manager always points out the thermostat for the electric baseboard heating unit that can be used to balance the AC. Apparently you over looked that feature. Also you could have opened the sliding glass door to the private deck to help balance the AC. We have adjusted the AC to a warmer temperature setting. We are sorry that you experienced that inconvenience. We are sorry that you found that "the furniture arrangement was very peculiar and unconventional." No-one else has made such a comment! Finally, the shades are satisfactory and block the direct sun rays which we do not always wake up to in Portland. 'They are not blackout curtains. Hardly anyone else has complained. Most people just turn over and count their blessings for the beginning of a sunny day in Portland.
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
4

Beautiful view; comfortable room.

  • 4 of 5

An excellent stay. The view was beautiful and the room very comfortable.

It would be nice to have a little bit more in the way of cutlery for eating take-out food we brought in.

A detail - overall, it was great and I'd certainly stay there again.

  • Submitted: Apr 16, 2017
  • Stayed: Apr 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Beautiful view in quiet neighborhood

  • 5 of 5

We rented this home for two nights, and we enjoyed a very peaceful and relaxing stay in Portland. The unit was very beautiful, with a stunning view to wake up to in the morning, a great neighborhood, and quiet neighbors. We did notice that the kitchen, which we rented, could have been a bit cleaner. Otherwise, we thoroughly enjoyed the beautiful unit, and we would definitely rent it again!

  • Submitted: Apr 11, 2017
  • Stayed: Feb 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Kristen Thank you for your kind review. We will pay more attention to the kitchen. We look forward to hosting you again. Robb and Linda Owners
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Map

Nearest Airport
16 Miles
Portland International Airport
Nearest Barpub
1 Miles
Fulton Pub
Nearest Golf
3 Miles
Eastmoreland
Nearest Train
5 Miles
Portland Union Station
Nearest Motorway
2 Miles
Interstate 5
Nearest Restaurant
1 Miles
Corbett Fish House
Nearest Ski
50 Miles
Timberline
Nearest Beach
80 Miles
Seaside, Oregon
Car: recommended

The property is five minutes from a super market (Fred Meyer) and a gourmet grocery (Zupans). Several restaurants are within a ten minute walk and numerous restaurants are within a ten minute drive.

The property is ten minutes from four major universities--Portland State University, Oregon Health Sciences University, Reed College and Lewis and Clark College.

The property is surrounded by beautiful flower gardens and is less than 20 minutes from the world class Washington Park Japanese Gardens, the Test Rhododendron Gardens and Childrens' Garden, the Lan Su Chinese Garden, the Eastmoreland Rhododendron Test Garden, and the Oregon Museum of Science and Industry (OMSI).

Portland has many hiking and bike trails. The property is on one of the hiking trails and is within a ten minute walk to the Willamette River Greenway bike and hiking trails. The largest city park in the country (Forest Park) is 15 minutes away. It is full of hiking trails.

There are many public golf courses in and near Portland. Eastmoreland is ten minutes away. It hosted the 19__ National Public Links tournament finals. Portland hosts the annual Rose Festival Parade and associated activities (Fun Center and Dragon Boat Races) in downtown Portland (ten minutes away) in June. The city also is home to professional sports teams: the Portland Trailblazers (NBA basketball); and the Portland Timbers (Major League Soccer). The Blazers play at the Rose Garden arena and the Timbers play at Jeld-Wen Stadium, each about ten minutes away.

The Oregon Zoo is first class (15 minutes away). It hosts summer concerts. Portland is a pioneer in establishing brew pubs. One of the first, the Fulton Pub, is a five minute walk away. Good brew pubs are everywhere. Portland also is the home of Powell's Bookstore (15 minutes away) which has a world wide reputation. It is huge. It sells new and used. If you can't find a book there, it might not exist!

Portland has an active music scene. It hosts the Waterfromt Blues Festival downtown on the shore of the Willamette River (ten minutes away) in early July each year. The Northwest Chamber Music organization hosts a series of chamber music concerts at various local venues each summer. Numerous bars throughout the city have regular live music. During the summer many local parks host free concerts in a variety of genres.

All of Portland's major hospitals are within 20 minutes away: OHSU Hospital, St Vincent's, Good Samaritan, and Providence.

The owners own a condo in Maui which they offer through VRBO (#484443)

Photos

Rates & Availability

Lair Hill Apartment Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$124
$799
$3,199
 

Additional information about rental rates

No additional fees $0
Tax Rate 11.5%

KITCHEN IS NOT INCLUDED IN STANDARD PRICING---HOWEVER AN ADJOINING PRIVATE FULL KITCHEN IS AVAILABLE FOR AN ADDITIONAL $25.00 A NIGHT. We have no additional damage fees, cleaning fees or other fees--we trust our visitors.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Contact Owner
Available
Unavailable

You might like these similar properties