check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag

Great Fishing And Hunting, Little Sand Lake , Newly Constructed 1800 Sq Ft

Bedrooms 3
Property type house
Minimum Stay 5 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the VRBO checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more


Minimum Stay
5 nights


Marcell House Rental Photos and Description

3 Bedroom, 2 Baths , Sand Beach, 3 Acres , Private , Beautiful View

This is newly constructed 1800 square foot home located within 100 feet of the lake with sand beach, all amenities including cable TV and Wi-Fi , large master bedroom with large master bath with Jacuzzi , two other guest bedrooms. Great views of lake , located on sheltered cove with privacy.

Bedroom 1 Master Bedroom has a king bed and its own bathroom with Jacuzzi tub

Bedroom 2 has bathroom right beside entrance with bathtub , shower and toilet

Bedroom 3 is upstairs and has its own bathroom with shower and toilet

There is also a queen size futon in the living room

Bathroom 1 Master: toilet, combination tub/shower, shower, jetted tub

Bathroom 2 Guest Bathroom: toilet, combination tub/shower

Bathroom 3 upstairs: toilet, shower

Kitchen: Gourmet Kitchen with maple cabinets

Refrigerator: two door stainless steel with large freezer

Stove: Solid surface glass cooktop

Oven: Stainless steel over

Microwave: large stainless steel


Dishes & Utensils: Full set of dishes and utensils included

Coffee Maker

Lakefront: The cabin is located on 3 acres on Little Sand Lake

Television Satellite / Cable

Outdoor Grill

Deck / Patio

Pontoon Boat: 21 foot Pontoon with 40 HP engine for rent with cabin (optional)

Boat: Two 14 foot aluminum boats provided , no engines or gas tanks , bring your own

Kayak / Canoe: 18' Canoe provided with paddles

More Details
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • wheelchair accessible

Jerry Horton
Member since: 2013
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few days
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
March 16, 2016
Call Owner

About Jerry Horton

Jerry is a retired electrical engineer spending most of the year in Sarasota, Florida. Jerry is married to Cynthia Horton and together they have three children and four grandchildren.

Jerry has been vacationing in this area for the last 20 years. Jerry has since rebuilt the cabin since he bought it in 2007. He bought the cabin because of its great fishing location.

Jerry Horton purchased this house in 2007

Why Jerry Horton chose

This property is a great vacation spot if you like fishing and hunting or just enjoying the Minnesota north woods. It is located on a sheltered private cove on Little Sand Lake which is connected to Big Sand Lake and Bowstring River. Great Walleye fishing , bass fishing and northern. The rental is available all year round.

What makes this house unique

Great Walleye , Pristine secluded location , easy access to miles and miles of waterways , close to several towns. Great fall hunting and winter ice fishing.


4/5 -
(3 traveler reviews)

Great Fishing And Hunting, Little Sand Lake , Newly Constructed 1800 Sq Ft
average rating of 4.0 based on 3 reviews
Rochester, MN

Family vacation

  • 4 of 5

We had a wonderful time and the cabin served well for our family vacation. We had two families in the cabin (7 people) and room to spare for more.

The cabin was very clean and had modern appliances. The wifi worked well and allowed for social media sharing of all the fun everyone was having.

The cabin is located on quiet and secluded Little Sand Lake, which is big enough for waterskiing and wake boarding.

The fishing was great. We would take a short boat ride through the channel to Big Sand Lake to do walleye fishing.

The owner is very nice and easy to rent from.

I would highly recommend this rental for those who want experience a nice relaxing northern Minnesota vacation.

  • Submitted: Nov 25, 2014
  • Stayed: Aug 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Grand Forks

Good vacation

  • 4 of 5

We had a great time at this lake home. And it felt like a home. We had 7 adults, 3 kids and 2 dogs and had plenty of room for all. The lake was good and the grand children enjoyed swimming by the dock. I am not much of a fisherman but the kids did well and enjoyed that part of the stay. Every evening was a campfire and enjoying the outdoors, except for the Minnesota birds that are called mosquitoes. Well stocked kitchen and everything you need to cook. All in all a good time had by all.

  • Submitted: Nov 24, 2014
  • Stayed: Aug 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

5 Family Review

  • 4 of 5

We have rented cabins for the past 20 years. This is a beautiful cabin. Nicely decorated. Moderately clean: our white socks turned black, ceiling fans dirty ( had to clean before we used them), mass of cobwebs behind water cooler. Well-water had slight odor. Appreciated the water cooler. Sewer odor off & on. Nice outdoor grill. The 3rd bedroom is an open loft. The firewood is rotted-lots of smoke, glad we brought our own. Nice hammocks & patio furniture. Would have liked more chairs to use around the campfire. Our biggest disappointment was " the sand beach". We did see about 5 feet x 3 feet of sand- the rest was thick weeds. Fishing for us was just ok- best luck by highway bridge. Did hear pack of wolves & owl.

  • Submitted: Sep 3, 2014
  • Stayed: Aug 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Addelle , I am glad you had a good time at my cabin. The next time you visit I will try to address all the items you listed. The reason we have a water cooler is because our well water does have a slight odor from the minerals - the cabin is in the wilderness and does not have city water. And I left the firewood there for any one to use , I do not advertise free firewood with the cabin and actually it is my firewood although I do not mind renters using it. You rented the cabin in the slow part of the season as far as fishing goes , it is much better earlier in the season and it is one of the premier places to catch walleye and northern, perhaps you were using the wrong bait for that time of the year. As far as the dusting of the ceiling fans yes we forgot this since they are located so high in the high ceilings of the cabin. And because you had so many people (5 family) then for sure the floors are going to get dirty quickly with the hardwood floors. I know our cleaning people cleaned the floors before your arrival , I will have them check the ceiling fans each time they clean. I hope you rent from us next year as you can see it is really pretty place and the house is a great place to stay.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0


This owner has not provided a specific location. If you would like more information, please contact the owner.
Nearest Airport
120 Miles
Duluth International Airport
Nearest Barpub
7 Miles
The Crow Bar
Nearest Golf
30 Miles
Blueberry Hill
Nearest Motorway
0.5 Miles
Hwy 4
Nearest Restaurant
8 Miles
The Hill
Car: necessary

The cabin is located on Little Sand Lake which is connected to Big Sand Lake and the Bowstring River. This chain of lakes and rivers extend for 20 miles of great fishing and water activities surrounding by a beautiful northern outdoor setting. This is also a great location for hunting in the fall and snowmobiling and cross country skiing in the Winter. The cabin is nearby several golf courses and is close to a number of small towns with gift shops and antiques.


Rates & Availability

Marcell House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
My Standard Rate
5 night minimum stay
Notes: Rates are based on 5 guests; add $20 per night, per additional guest

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $200
Pet Fee $75

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Contact Me Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)


Marcell House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1800 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Lakefront ...
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 Master - toilet , combination tub/shower , shower , jetted tub
    Bathroom 2 Guest Bathroom - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 3 upstairs - toilet , shower
  • Bathroom 1 has a large Jacuzzi tub
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
  • Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 1 - 1 king
    Bedroom 3 - 2 twin/ single , 2 sleep sofa /futon , two twin beds are a trundle bed
  • Bedroom 1 Master Bedroom has a king bed and its own bathroom with Jacuzzi tub Bedroom 2 has bathroom right beside entrance with bathtub , shower and toilet Bedroom 3 is upstairs and has its own bathroom with shower and toilet There is also a queen size futon in the living room
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
  • Boat ...
  • Deck / Patio
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Outdoor Grill
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • wheelchair accessible
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • kayaking
  • snowmobiling
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • water tubing

Partner Offers