check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag

Ranch home retreat with panoramic views of the ocean, islands and mountains.

Sleeps6
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Half Baths1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 30 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the VRBO checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview


Details
Property
house
Sleeps
6
Bedrooms
3
Bathrooms
2
Half Baths
1
Minimum Stay
30 nights

Description

Foothill House Rental Photos and Description

3 Bedrooms, 2.5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6

3 Bedrooms, 2.5 Bathrooms.

This property is located in the foothills of San Roque in Santa Barbara. Situated on 4 acres of land the main house has an overview of Santa Barbara, the ocean, the islands and the mountain range. This home is a semi circle house which gives you the circular area for outdoor BBQ, star gazing or nice family and friends time.

The owner is located on the property in a smaller house inset and below on the hillside in front of the main house. There are 3 acres of avocados planted around the home as well as fruit trees, grapes and a waterfall which is part of the reservoir to the right hand side of the house across the street. This is the first house on the block so there are no neighbors in front (except owner below view from main house) and no one to either side of the house so view from home is unobstructed.

The location could not be better as you are only 7 minutes or less from downtown Santa Barbara and close to everything, museums, theaters, shopping, beaches, parks, trails and fine dinning but when you reach home you feel as if you are away from the city. 500 yards away from the house and down the road is Jesusita trail one of the most popular trails in Santa Barbara to hike. If you are a cyclist Foothill road is just .7 miles down the road and stretches for miles in both directions along the Santa Barbara foothills or along the Goleta foothills.

Open floor living room with gas fireplace, dinning room, kitchen and breakfast table. Den with TV and gas fireplace with french doors that open to front lawn and view of city. Large outdoor seating area for BBQing and star gazing.

One master bedroom with private balcony, King size bed with large master bathroom including a tub and shower. Two bedrooms with Queen size beds next to bathroom with shower. Laundry room with washer and dyer.

Beautiful large outdoor seating and lawn area with views of Santa Barbara, ocean and islands then wraps around to the front of the house to reveal the mountain views. There is a private studio downstairs in the rental house and it has it's own driveway and entrance and is attached to but not shared with the rental property so privacy is insured.

More Details
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair accessible

Owner
John Morosin
Member since: 2013
Speaks: english, italian
Response time:
Within a few days
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
September 20, 2016
Call Owner

Guestbook comments from the owner

Hi John



Hello from Sydney, Australia



Graham and I stayed at your place for 4 nights from 26Dec (with Gary).



I just wanted to let you know how much we enjoyed it. It was just

perfect...the house and setting, as well as the town of Santa Barbara

and environs. For us from so far away, it was like a fantasy of what we

imagine the California good life to be!



I also had a nice chat with your charming mother, Sofia. Passarci le mie

piu cordiale saluti!!!!



We also had a great evening at Trattoria Vittoria, bellissimo!



Thanks for a really wonderful stay.



Best Regards

Michael



Michael went on to add in another email,



Also, here's what I wrote to my friends...



On Boxing Day we flew to LAX and spent 4 very relaxing days in Santa

Barbara with our friends Gary and David from Philadelphia. We stayed in

a vacation rental set in an orchard of orange, avocado and pomegranate

trees, with a view to the Channel Islands and the Pacific Ocean. The

house was kind of American ranch meets Mediterranean Villa, perfect for

this, the so-called American riviera. The owner, Sofia was close by and

shared stories of her 40 years in America , having emigrated from the

Veneto as a young woman. There was a lovely garden, walking trails right

by the door, and lots to explore nearby. I love the California missions,

and Mission Santa Barbara was one of the finest. A really wonderful way

to end the year.
Dec 2014
  • 1 of 1

Reviews

Excellent! 4.7/5 -
(31 traveler reviews)

Ranch home retreat with panoramic views of the ocean, islands and mountains.
average rating of 4.709677 based on 32 reviews
5

Fantastic place to stay

  • 5 of 5

My siblings and I (4 of us total), with full families, descended on Santa Barbara (different properties) and this location was fantastic for the cousins to get together and play in the yard or go off hiking or hunker down to watch a movie together.

The house is kept in good shape, the kitchen allowed us to cook large dinners on those evenings we stayed in, and the location was fantastic. The views were beautiful and evenings were cool and quiet.

We would definitely rent here again.

  • Submitted: Sep 18, 2016
  • Stayed: Dec 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Incredible home!

  • 5 of 5

House was a perfect location with great outdoor amenities and spectacular views of ocean, Santa Barbara, and surrounding hills. Owner was very cordial, helpful, and easy to work with. House was well cared for and immaculate. A pleasant and relaxing place to stay—would definitely rent again!

  • Submitted: Nov 18, 2015
  • Stayed: Nov 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Lovely getaway

  • 4 of 5

This is the second time that we have stayed at this property, so right away that is telling. Spacious,comfortable, quiet, and great location. Beautiful views embellish the experience.

The property is a bit dated albeit well cared for. There were a few things lacking as far as kitchen tools go.

  • Submitted: Oct 13, 2015
  • Stayed: Oct 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

amazing view but not clean

  • 3 of 5

The property was beautiful, the view was amazing. I feel if you have someone staying under you, you should be informed not by the music playing, not by the strange noises you hear or the smell, but by the owner of the property. I also would have like to have seen the home cleaned it was dirty. The bathrooms and bedrooms where clean, but the kitchen was not. We also had a physical therapist come twice asking for the person who lives there, insisting they where there the day before we arrived. On the good note when called they where there to help.

  • Submitted: Oct 9, 2015
  • Stayed: Sep 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Kathy, I'm very sorry for the condition of the kitchen and wished you had let me know when we talked through out your stay and I would have sent the cleaning crew up to correct that mistake while you were away. The therapist you speak of was for the last renter who had knee surgery the week before and was recuperating at the house prior to go back home, I had no control over that. There is a private studio downstairs. It is stated in the last paragraph of the description and this is the very first complaint of him I have ever received. I will speak to him about being quieter when there are renters at the house. Future renters, please contact me if you have any of these or other issue when you arrive and stay at the house. I can only correct them if I am notify of the problem. After the stay I can only apologize and say how sorry I am.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
New jersey
5

Nice house. Great for family.

  • 5 of 5

Nice house. Very clean, dated but clean. Great views and outdoor setting. Had everything we needed.

  • Submitted: Aug 29, 2015
  • Stayed: Aug 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Sacramento
4

Girls get away

  • 4 of 5

During our stay here, it was enjoyable with the house. It had everything we needed and it feel like home. The house had such a gorgeous view. The owner and the handy man was awesome and great help when there was a problem. Definitely will recommend this place to others and will return as well. We had a wonderful stay and great experience.

  • Submitted: Aug 17, 2015
  • Stayed: Jul 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
8 Miles
Santa Barbara Airport
Nearest Golf
1 Miles
Santa Barbara Municipal Golf Course
Nearest Train
5 Miles
Santa Barbara Train Station
Nearest Motorway
2 Miles
HWY 101
Nearest Restaurant
1.5 Miles
'Famous' Harry's Plaza or Tee Off Restaurant
Nearest Beach
4 Miles
Arroyo Burro Beach (Hendry's Beach)
Car: necessary

Photos

Rates & Availability

Foothill House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
My Standard Rate
30 night minimum stay
$6,000
 

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $500
Cleaning fee $150

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Contact Me Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Foothill House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 3100 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Mountain View
  • Ocean View
General:
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace ...
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Linens Provided
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Master bathroom - toilet , tub , shower
    Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Master bedroom - 1 king , With master bathroom
    Bedroom #2 - 1 queen
    Bedroom #3 - 1 queen
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television ...
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill ...
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed ...
  • wheelchair accessible
Leisure Activities:
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • sailing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties