Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Family-Friendly Three Story Cabin Sleeps 12

Sleeps14
Bedrooms 5
Bathrooms2
Half Baths1
Space 3,000 sq. ft.
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Overview

About the property

4 Bedroom Plus Loft With 2 And Half Bathrooms With A View Of Pike Peak

This cabin has pool table and ping pong table with all types of games and movie room. Has 60 inch TV and computer with wireless access. Has washer and dryer and a full kitchen. There is 2 king size beds and 3 full size and 4 single size beds. Dirt road for your ATV and mountain bikes. Close to the Florissant fossil beds and wolf refuge center. There is gambling in Cripple creek with live old town theater.


Property Manager
Katherine Rice
Member since: 2013
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
90%
Calendar last updated:
July 11, 2017

About Katherine Rice

We bought this property about 10 yrs ago and lived in Colorado Springs and we enjoyed the beauty of this area. We moved out to Rapid City South Dakota. We wanted others to enjoy this beautiful area so were renting it out with VRBO.

Katherine Rice purchased this cabin in 2005

Why Katherine Rice chose South Central

This is a beautiful property on the top of the mountain with views of the Sangre de Cristo mountains and Pikes Peak. Close to a lot of 14000 foot mountains if you like to hike those. Very peaceful with no electric poles and wires, it is an off grid cabin so it runs on solar and generator power.

Not far from Woodland Park with movie theaters and grocery stores and Cripple Creek with trains, gold mines and many attractions of the old west.

What makes this cabin unique

The stars are amazing with the Milky Way right there. It is remote enough so there is very little light pollution and it has 4 acre's for privacy and lots of good hiking.

Amenities

Florissant Cabin Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cabin
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 3000 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 14
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • pets considered ...
  • Events Allowed
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Monument View ...
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
General:
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 3 - toilet
Bedrooms:
  • 5 Bedrooms, Sleeps 14
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king
    Bedroom 3 - 1 double , 2 twin/ single
    Bedroom 4 - 1 double , 2 twin/ single
    Bedroom 5 - 1 double
    Bedroom 2 - 1 king , it is a loft room missing a door and a wall
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Foosball
  • Game Room
  • Games
  • Ping Pong Table
  • Pool Table
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Toys
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Deck / Patio
  • Outdoor Grill ...
Suitability:
  • wheelchair inaccessible ...
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • library
  • live theater
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • ruins
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • gambling casinos
  • horseback riding
  • miniature golf
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • ice skating
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • sailing
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • snowmobiling
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • whitewater rafting
Notes:
There is a llama farm that we visit down the road

Reviews

Very Good! 4.1/5 -
(26 traveler reviews)

Family-Friendly Three Story Cabin Sleeps 12
average rating of 4.1153846 based on 26 reviews
5

Franklin family

  • 5 of 5

This was a wonderful home... Owner was awesome as well... We even saw a freaking bear lol... This is our 4 year to this area and first time to see a bear it was awesome. Thank you so much for sharing your home with us.. Fridge in kitchen small so ask to use other one if u have big family or plan on buying alot of food.... Thanks again

  • Submitted: Jul 18, 2017
  • Stayed: Jul 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Breathtaking!

  • 5 of 5

Our family stayed in this fantastic home for five (5) nights. Everything was provided that we were promised - no hassles! We felt like this was our home and prayed before we left that the next family coming after us would have the same experiences. Only one suggestion: Some direction as to what land actually belongs to the property. We love to hike and didn't want to trespass on another's property. It was hard to tell for sure where one property ended and another began. THANK YOU for blessing our family with the sharing your home!

  • Submitted: Jun 20, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are glad you had a great time. We hike behind the cabin and we have about 4 acres. If a 'No "Tresspassing" sign is not posted, I wouldn't worry about going for a hike.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
4

Good times in Colorado

  • 4 of 5

The place was very nice. The owner and jim were very helpful and on top of the issues. The place could use some updates like a different fridge. But overall we were very satisfied with our stay.

  • Submitted: Apr 19, 2017
  • Stayed: Apr 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are glad you had a good time, The refrigerator is a restored antique propane unit which does not use any electricity which is important for an off grid cabin. There is a modern refrigerator available for larger groups, but to conserve electricity we only plug it in when needed.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Great place!

  • 5 of 5

Had an excellent time at this cabin in the middle winter. Spacious, sleeps plenty comfortably, and has great amenities. Would recommend for anyone interested in hiking, camping, or simply want to escape for a bit year around.

  • Submitted: Dec 13, 2016
  • Stayed: Dec 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your review and we are glad you had a great time.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Best Vacation Ever!

  • 5 of 5

Wonderful stay for our family of 8. Ages 19-60 and all could not say enough good things about our stay in this beautiful home. We were fortunate enough to be there during the meteor shower last month. What a joy to just sit on the deck with our six kids and marvel at the stars. Lots of opportunities for outdoor activities and sightseeing, so much so that we ran out of time. Already planning to return next year!

  • Submitted: Sep 7, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
2

Disappointed

  • 2 of 5

The wow factor was very disappointing. There are some problems. Not enough towels for a family, the ones that were there were old and very thin. Had to find them not even in bathrooms.Bed linen old and dingy. The basement was full of spiders and my family would not even sleep down there. The house needs a good cleaning !! First time my family ever rented a cabin and we were so dissatisfied.

  • Submitted: Sep 6, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We have had nine 5 star reviews in a row. We did not hear from you during your stay, nor did you call our caretaker who could have addressed your concerns. You did ask for a partial refund, which may be the motive for your complaints. Our caretaker and I want everyone to have a wonderful stay at the cabin. All guests are invited to call right away if necessary, and we will do everything we can to ensure your vacation is all you hoped it would be.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 1

Map

Nearest Airport
50 Miles
colorado springs airport
Nearest Golf
25 Miles
woodland park
Nearest Train
20 Miles
train ride in cripple creek
Nearest Ski
50 Miles
Brakenridge
Nearest Beach
15 Miles
eleven mile lake
Car: necessary

Photos

Rates & Availability

Florissant Cabin Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
$189
From
$210
Fri,Sat
$1,300
$4,000
 
Notes: Rates are based on 10 guests; add $20 per night, per additional guest

Additional information about rental rates

cleaning fee $150 + Tax
Pet Fee $25 + Tax
Refundable damage deposit $150
Tax Rate 3.5%

This property is off grid and runs on solar and battery power with a pro-pane generator. Have to be careful with the electronics not to over load the system.

Manager's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Contact Manager
Available
Unavailable

You might like these similar properties