check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit

Family-Friendly Three Story Cabin Sleeps 12

Sleeps14
Bedrooms 5
Bathrooms2
Half Baths1
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the VRBO checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview


Details
Property
cabin
Sleeps
14
Bedrooms
5
Bathrooms
2
Half Baths
1
Minimum Stay
3 nights

About the property

4 Bedroom Plus Loft With 2 And Half Bathrooms With A View Of Pike Peak

This cabin has pool table and ping pong table with all types of games and movie room. Has 60 inch TV and computer with wireless access. Has washer and dryer and a full kitchen. There is 2 king size beds and 3 full size and 4 single size beds. Dirt road for your ATV and mountain bikes. Close to the Florissant fossil beds and wolf refuge center. There is gambling in Cripple creek with live old town theater.


Property Manager
Katherine Rice
Member since: 2013
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
January 17, 2017

About Katherine Rice

We bought this property about 10 yrs ago and lived in Colorado Springs and we enjoyed the beauty of this area. We moved out to Rapid City South Dakota. We wanted others to enjoy this beautiful area so were renting it out with VRBO.

Katherine Rice purchased this cabin in 2005

Why Katherine Rice chose South Central

This is a beautiful property on the top of the mountain with views of the Sangre de Cristo mountains and Pikes Peak. Close to a lot of 14000 foot mountains if you like to hike those. Very peaceful with no electric poles and wires, it is an off grid cabin so it runs on solar and generator power.

Not far from Woodland Park with movie theaters and grocery stores and Cripple Creek with trains, gold mines and many attractions of the old west.

What makes this cabin unique

The stars are amazing with the Milky Way right there. It is remote enough so there is very little light pollution and it has 4 acre's for privacy and lots of good hiking.

Reviews

Very Good! 4/5 -
(23 traveler reviews)

Family-Friendly Three Story Cabin Sleeps 12
average rating of 4.0434785 based on 23 reviews
5

Great place!

  • 5 of 5

Had an excellent time at this cabin in the middle winter. Spacious, sleeps plenty comfortably, and has great amenities. Would recommend for anyone interested in hiking, camping, or simply want to escape for a bit year around.

  • Submitted: Dec 13, 2016
  • Stayed: Dec 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your review and we are glad you had a great time.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Best Vacation Ever!

  • 5 of 5

Wonderful stay for our family of 8. Ages 19-60 and all could not say enough good things about our stay in this beautiful home. We were fortunate enough to be there during the meteor shower last month. What a joy to just sit on the deck with our six kids and marvel at the stars. Lots of opportunities for outdoor activities and sightseeing, so much so that we ran out of time. Already planning to return next year!

  • Submitted: Sep 7, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
2

Disappointed

  • 2 of 5

The wow factor was very disappointing. There are some problems. Not enough towels for a family, the ones that were there were old and very thin. Had to find them not even in bathrooms.Bed linen old and dingy. The basement was full of spiders and my family would not even sleep down there. The house needs a good cleaning !! First time my family ever rented a cabin and we were so dissatisfied.

  • Submitted: Sep 6, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We have had nine 5 star reviews in a row. We did not hear from you during your stay, nor did you call our caretaker who could have addressed your concerns. You did ask for a partial refund, which may be the motive for your complaints. Our caretaker and I want everyone to have a wonderful stay at the cabin. All guests are invited to call right away if necessary, and we will do everything we can to ensure your vacation is all you hoped it would be.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

AMAZINGLY BEAUTIFUL!!!

  • 5 of 5

Breath taking views along with abundant wildlife to gaze at. Nature at it's finest. Would highly recommend this property.

Joe Texas.

  • Submitted: Aug 22, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Wonderful and relaxing

  • 5 of 5

This is a late entry but I wanted to make sure to write a review because we loved the cabin. We had a total of 10 people that stayed in the cabin so it was perfect for us. The kids loved all the variety of games we could play. Because we went in the winter there was a sled hill that was perfect to go on. We loved how it wasn't too far from city limits but also far enough to feel excluded as if we did drive far to get away. The house stayed warm with no concerns of problems at all. The outside area was well kept and shoveled. The cabin had extra supplies if needed as well. The only thing I questioned was having to clean the whole house. I would understand maybe sweeping the floors and wiping down the countertops and making sure used dishes were cleaned but I felt cleaning the toilets and vacuuming were a little too much. But I still would like to give our stay 5 stars because it was a nice stay and we wanted to make sure we respected what was expected of us.

  • Submitted: Jul 5, 2016
  • Stayed: Jan 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your review. The caretakers clean and sanitize the bathrooms and kitchen. They also change all the bedding and provide fresh towels. We don't expect the guests to clean toilets so I am sorry there was this miscommunication. We are very glad you had a good time.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

The Perfect Getaway for a large group!

  • 5 of 5

We spent a week at the Rice cabin, it was just right for our group of 13. The property was just as described in the listing, clean, well maintained and beautiful! Ms. Rice was responsive from the get go and has always been quick to reply to any requests. The house has a great set up and worked out well for our group. I wish we had spent more time there exploring the acreage. The beds were comfortable, the kitchen was stocked well with all we needed to cook breakfast daily before we headed out exploring Colorado. Just a note that the coffee maker is a percolator. It worked perfectly for us. The grill is very small and would be time consuming for a large group to use to cook a meal.

The view of the stars was amazing! I have not seen that many stars in many years, stunning! I was a little concerned with being off the grid with a group our size, but we never had any problems with the hot water or electricity. The hot water heater pilot went out one day, but that was easily fixed. the caretaker was immediately available and helpful. Oh, the well water tastes great too!

Thank you for the opportunity to stay at your house, it was a blessing for all of us! We had a great time and would highly recommend this house to anyone! Part of our group hopes to come back and stay at the house again in the future.

  • Submitted: May 31, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for the review. We are looking at getting a bigger grill for larger groups. We are very glad you had a good time!
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Map

Nearest Airport
50 Miles
colorado springs airport
Nearest Golf
25 Miles
woodland park
Nearest Train
20 Miles
train ride in cripple creek
Nearest Ski
50 Miles
Brakenridge
Nearest Beach
15 Miles
eleven mile lake
Car: necessary

Photos

Rates & Availability

Florissant Cabin Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
$189
From
$210
Fri,Sat
$1,300
$4,000
 
Notes: Rates are based on 10 guests; add $20 per night, per additional guest

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $100
cleaning fee $100 + Tax
Pet Fee $25 + Tax
Tax Rate 3.5%

This property is off grid and runs on solar and battery power with a pro-pane generator. Have to be careful with the electronics not to over load the system.

Manager's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Contact Me Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Florissant Cabin Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cabin
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 3000 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Monument View ...
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
General:
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 3 - toilet
Bedrooms:
  • 5 Bedrooms, Sleeps 14
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king
    Bedroom 3 - 1 double , 2 twin/ single
    Bedroom 4 - 1 double , 2 twin/ single
    Bedroom 5 - 1 double
    Bedroom 2 - 1 king , it is a loft room missing a door and a wall
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Foosball
  • Game Room
  • Games
  • Ping Pong Table
  • Pool Table
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Toys
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Deck / Patio
  • Outdoor Grill ...
Suitability:
  • Events Allowed
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered ...
  • wheelchair inaccessible ...
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • library
  • live theater
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • ruins
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • gambling casinos
  • horseback riding
  • miniature golf
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • ice skating
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • sailing
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • snowmobiling
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • whitewater rafting
Notes:
There is a llama farm that we visit down the road

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties