Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Lose yourself in the clouds

Sleeps2
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Space 850 sq. ft.
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Overview

About the property

1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps ONLY 2

We are sharing our unique space that we use to unplug and re-charge, essential in today's hectic environment. We only rent to adults, NO children, smoking or pets please. We cater to couples with our wonderful one bedroom (queen bed), one bath, simple and elegant hideaway in Maggie Valley. Grab the person you want to unplug with and head up our mountain (the road is an easy access for those who worry about driving in the mountains). Put down your bags, pour some wine, light a fire in the wood burning fireplace and snuggle into the comfortable couch. Or, sit out on the covered porch, gazing at the mountains, and watch the clouds surround you. Stay in for dinner (fully stocked kitchen, just bring your groceries) enjoy a cup of coffee, tea, or hot chocolate from the Keurig and rock on the double glider. Or eat out at one of our favorite places, we have a list for you to make an easy decision. Internet and a smart TV is provided if you need to plug in for a bit, and we have a large DVD library for a movie night. The mountains in North Carolina are, we think, some of the most beautiful we have seen, and the surrounding towns are filled with lovely people and locally owned shops and restaurants. We love it here and hope you will feel the same after your visit!


Owner
Dan Frizsell
Member since: 2006
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
July 27, 2017

About Dan Frizsell

We are Dan and Susan Frizsell, and we live in Music City, Nashville TN. We have 2 incredible children, (a little biased) a recording studio, an art career, a condo in FL (VRBO 94321) and now a Cabin in Maggie Valley! We hope to use it to actually relax (not easy to do with 2 young kids) but as the studio keeps us busy (Thankful for that) we are hoping to help OTHER people like you relax! We love art, food, and peace we find in the mountains which leads you answers below....

Dan Frizsell purchased this cabin in 2013

Why Dan Frizsell chose Smoky Mountains

We both have ties to the area, Dan grew up in Leicester, and Susan used to teach in Haywood county. We are in Nashville for the business, but our hearts belong to Maggie Valley! You cannot help but let go and allow the nature around you take over your thoughts in this house! It's like camping, but in MUCH more comfortable surroundings!

What makes this cabin unique

The large covered porch and the location of our house cannot be beat. For as high up as we are,(3400 elevation) the roads are really easy to drive, and we love watching the weather change hourly from the porch, clouds moving in and around the mountains, quiet rain on the trees, sunlight peeking through the branches....

Amenities

Maggie Valley Cabin Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cabin
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 850 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 2
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • not suitable for children
  • pets not allowed ...
  • non smoking only ...
Location Type:
  • Mountain View ...
  • Rural ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
General:
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
  • Clean comfortable bath.
Bedrooms:
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 2
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
  • Nicely furnished with large dresser and plenty of closet space.
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Balcony ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • eco tourism
  • gambling casinos
  • miniature golf
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water tubing
  • whitewater rafting

Reviews

Excellent! 4.3/5 -
(12 traveler reviews)

41% Complete
41% Complete
16% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Lose yourself in the clouds
average rating of 4.25 based on 12 reviews
3

Excellent arrangement for two. Appropriate amenities and the like.

  • 3 of 5

Excellent arrangement for two. Appropriate amenities and the like. There is only access to Netflix, no TV. Internet connection simply did not happen, unfortunately. The drive up to the cabin is quite steep and curvy.

  • Submitted: Jun 23, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I'm sorry you did not enjoy your time in the beautiful peaceful mountains without cable television. I walked you through the Netflix and it was working. I never heard back from you again. It is in our listing that we do not provide cable. Who would need it in such a beautiful place. As far as steep and curvy, the cabin is at 3500 feet altitude is the mountains. Compared to many places ours is very easy access.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Well appointed and attractive without being cloying

  • 4 of 5

The house is near to needed stores and restaurants and yet feels isolated. We enjoyed a sense of being alone and away. It was completely adequate for just the two of us. Fire-wood was available but much of it was in very large pieces so I was glad that I had brought my own kindling and smaller pieces of wood. The bed was very comfortable, we appreciated the firm foam mattress. The front porch was delightful to sit out on. We appreciated the advice of places to eat and hike. The Keurig machine was nice to have and we were glad that we knew ahead of time to bring sufficient coffee for it. We would return given the opportunity.

  • Submitted: Oct 9, 2016
  • Stayed: Oct 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

North Carolina vacation/anniversary trip

  • 3 of 5

We did not really like the fact that we had to transport our own trash to the trash center which was at least 10 miles away from the cabin. Had a hard time finding the trash/recycling center to dispose of our trash because the directions given were really vague and there was no sign at the trash center.

  • Submitted: Oct 24, 2015
  • Stayed: Oct 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We understand that the trash situation can be frustrating, as we have to deal with it as well when we are in town! We do wish we had trash pick up, however, it is not provided where our cabin is, and it isn't advised for us to leave it outside in a can for wild animals to get into. We are making sure to printout maps for much clearer directions to the trash dumps, as well as hours of operation. Thank you for your comment so that we can make things easier for our guests!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Very Relaxing!

  • 4 of 5

We had a great time at Lose Yourself in the Clouds! The weather was nice and cool. I really enjoyed the porch views. The cabin was clean and had everything we needed. It was close to town but made you feel like you were all by yourself. Thanks for the great time.

  • Submitted: Oct 14, 2015
  • Stayed: Oct 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: So happy you had a nice time! We love the weather there during the summer as well as fall. Thank you for staying at our cabin and for the kind review.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Plantation, Florida
5

Our week in the Smoky Mtns.

  • 5 of 5

My wife and I rented this cabin/chalet located on a ridge above Maggie Valley for the week.

The cabin was very comfortable and very well cared for & clean, with all the amenities. It is far enough from town to be considered secluded, yet close enough for a quick run in to town for dinner or shopping. We enjoyed the peace and quiet. Thanks for not having a hot tub on the front porch! We spent many hours enjoying that nice porch. Exactly what we were looking for!

  • Submitted: May 29, 2015
  • Stayed: May 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are so glad you enjoyed our cabin! We love it there too, no where else is quite like the Western NC mountains. Thank you for your stay and for the kind review!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Orlando, Florida
4

Nice Cabin!

  • 4 of 5

This was a really cute cabin right on top of the mountain! We really enjoyed our stay there and would have given it 5 stars except for a few things. First, in the semi darkness, it was hard to find. We went by it twice without realizing it because we knew it must be on the left, but didn't realize the address marker would be on the right side of the road. Would be better if the address marker was at the end of the driveway.

When we got in and went to hang our clothes in the closet, there were no hangers! We ended up putting them all in drawers, which was ok, but would have been nice to have some hangers.

We had been told there would be firewood on the front porch, but when we went to build a fire, there was one small piece of wood. It wasn't that cold, but it was chilly and we're from Florida and were really looking forward to a fire for the ambiance.

There was supposed to be a hair dryer and a toaster, but neither was there. A new hair dryer was brought up for us, which I really appreciated, but no toaster. Not a huge deal, just a minor inconvenience.

Having said all this, it really is a nice place, well furnished, with a very nice view and a great balcony! The kitchen is well furnished with the exception of the missing toaster.

We had a great time!

I would only suggest that the unit be checked between renters to be sure items are not missing.

Would I stay here again? Absolutely!

  • Submitted: May 28, 2015
  • Stayed: May 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your comments, and we have addressed the problems you have brought up. There is a brand new toaster, we added numbers that are reflective on the post at the end of the driveway, put hangers in the closet (which we hope will stay there!) and we have firewood. That being said, its difficult to keep up with how much wood people use, so we cannot promise wood for a fire, but luckily there are many places you can purchase a bundle or two, gas stations, super markets and hardware stores. We appreciate you chose our cabin and for the suggestions that help us make it a better rental!
Did you find this review helpful?
1 1

Map

Nearest Airport
30 Miles
Asheville International Airport
Nearest Barpub
0.5 Miles
J Arthors
Nearest Golf
2 Miles
Maggie Valley Club
Nearest Motorway
7 Miles
I40
Nearest Restaurant
0.5 Miles
J Arthors
Nearest Ski
8 Miles
Catloochee Ski resorst

Minutes from the Blue Ridge Parkway, Wheels Through Time Museum from the TV show 'What's in the Barn?' Newly re-opened Ghost Town, Cataloochee ski resort, Historic downtown Waynesville, 30 minutes to Asheville including the word famous Biltmore estate.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Maggie Valley Cabin Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
Normal rate
Nov 1 2016 - Sep 30 2017
3 night minimum stay
$130
$750
$1,300
 
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
$125
$700
$1,200
 

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $50 + Tax
Tax Rate 12.0%

We require an authorized credit card to be held for damage deposit. Nothing is charged to the card unless there is damages or additional charges as defined in the rental agreement. We have a lost key charge of $25.00.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Contact Owner
Available
Unavailable

You might like these similar properties