Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call VRBO Booking Assistance: 888-829-7076
Book Online or call VRBO Booking Assistance: 888-829-7076

Lose yourself in the clouds! Newly renovated couples get away.

Bedrooms 1
Space 850 sq ft
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 3 nights


About the property

1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps ONLY 2

We are sharing our unique space that we use to unplug and re-charge, essential in today's hectic environment. Come enjoy our newly renovated cabin. It is rare to find a 1 bedroom rental that is this big and well appointed. We only rent to adults, NO children, smoking or pets please. We cater to couples with our wonderful one bedroom (queen bed), one bath elegant hideaway in Maggie Valley. Grab the person you want to unplug with and head up our mountain (the road is an easy access for those who worry about driving in the mountains). Put down your bags, pour some wine, light a fire in the wood burning fireplace and snuggle into the comfortable couch. Or, sit out on the covered porch, gazing at the mountains, and watch the clouds surround you. Stay in for dinner and cook in our fully stocked updated kitchen with new appliances and granite countertops, just bring your groceries. Speaking of carrying groceries, we have one of the most desirable feature in a cabin, NO STAIRS!! Only one small step separates your car from your bed. Be sure to enjoy a cup of coffee, tea, or hot chocolate from the Keurig and rock on the double glider. We love to eat out at one of our favorite places, we have a list for you in our book of knowledge to make an easy decision. Internet and a smart TV is provided if you need to plug in for a bit, and we have a large DVD library for a movie night. The mountains in North Carolina are, we think, some of the most beautiful we have seen, and the surrounding towns are filled with lovely people and locally owned shops and restaurants. We love it here and hope you will feel the same after your visit!

Dan Frizsell
Member since: 2006
Premier Partner

This VRBO partner has demonstrated and is committed to fast response times, the best rates, and a great guest experience.

Speaks: english
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
September 20, 2018

About Dan Frizsell

We are Dan and Susan Frizsell, and we live in Music City, Nashville TN. We have 2 incredible children, (a little biased) a recording studio, an art career, condos in FL (VRBO 94321 and 1021249) and now a Cabin in Maggie Valley! We hope to use it to actually relax (not easy to do with 2 young kids) but as the studio keeps us busy (Thankful for that) we are hoping to help OTHER people like you relax! We love art, food, and peace we find in the mountains which leads you answers below....

Dan Frizsell purchased this cabin in 2013

Why Dan Frizsell chose Maggie Valley

We both have ties to the area, Dan grew up in Leicester, and Susan used to teach in Haywood county. We are in Nashville for the business, but our hearts belong to Maggie Valley! You cannot help but let go and allow the nature around you take over your thoughts in this house! It's like camping, but in MUCH more comfortable surroundings!

What makes this cabin unique

The large covered porch and the location of our house cannot be beat. For as high up as we are,(3400 elevation) the roads are really easy to drive, and we love watching the weather change hourly from the porch, clouds moving in and around the mountains, quiet rain on the trees, sunlight peeking through the branches....


Maggie Valley Cabin Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cabin
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 850 sq ft
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 3:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 10:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 2
  • Max. adults: 2
  • Min. age of primary renter: 25
  • Not suitable for children
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets not allowed ...
  • Non smoking only ...
  • Absolutely no pets allowed. Any evidence of a pet on the property will result in forfeiture of $300 deposit.
  • No smoking allowed inside the cabin.
Location Type:
  • Mountain View ...
  • Rural ...
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet
  • Wood Stove
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 10 people
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
  • Clean comfortable bath.
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 2
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
  • Nicely furnished with large dresser and plenty of closet space.
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Television
  • Video Library
  • Balcony ...
  • Deck / Patio
  • Outdoor Grill ...
Onsite Services:
  • Concierge
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • eco tourism
  • gambling casinos
  • miniature golf
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water tubing
  • whitewater rafting
We encourage use of concierge service from Magnolia Concierge.( They offer services from pre-grocery shopping to meal preparations. Anything you need they can help you with it. *Additional charges will apply. Services are provided by Magnolia Concierge. All charges are arranged and paid directly to them*


Excellent! 4.3/5 -
(15 traveler reviews)

46% Complete
40% Complete
13% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Lose yourself in the clouds! Newly renovated couples get away.
average rating of 4.3333335 based on 15 reviews
Syracuse, IN

Great location, lots to do nearby.

  • 4 of 5

It was unusually cold during our stay but the cabin was nice and cozy. The fireplace really adds to the cabin feel.

The view from the front deck is fantastic.

We had a very minor concern and the owner went above and beyond our expectations. You can rent this cabin with the confidence you will be treated fair.

  • Submitted: Jan 1, 2018
  • Stayed: December 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Cabin was very clean and we had access to what we needed!!

  • 5 of 5

We came to North Carolina for a friends wedding in Waynesville. We decided to stay in a cabin. We stayed at the cabin for 4 nights and 5 days. Glad we did, view was absolutely beautiful. Weather was amazing until Saturday, when it rained all day. When we left on Sunday, there was some snow flurries. The only thing I didn't like was the steep and curvy driveway, but that comes with being in the mountains.

  • Submitted: Nov 12, 2017
  • Stayed: October 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Amazing stay and relaxing get away

  • 5 of 5

Thanks so much to Dan, who was easily available and very helpful with questions by text message. The two of us loved working and reading on the patio with a view, and had a great road trip to Clingmans Dome!

  • Submitted: Oct 28, 2017
  • Stayed: October 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Excellent arrangement for two. Appropriate amenities and the like.

  • 3 of 5

Excellent arrangement for two. Appropriate amenities and the like. There is only access to Netflix, no TV. Internet connection simply did not happen, unfortunately. The drive up to the cabin is quite steep and curvy.

  • Submitted: Jun 23, 2017
  • Stayed: June 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I'm sorry you did not enjoy your time in the beautiful peaceful mountains without cable television. I walked you through the Netflix and it was working. I never heard back from you again. It is in our listing that we do not provide cable. Who would need it in such a beautiful place. As far as steep and curvy, the cabin is at 3500 feet altitude is the mountains. Compared to many places ours is very easy access.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Well appointed and attractive without being cloying

  • 4 of 5

The house is near to needed stores and restaurants and yet feels isolated. We enjoyed a sense of being alone and away. It was completely adequate for just the two of us. Fire-wood was available but much of it was in very large pieces so I was glad that I had brought my own kindling and smaller pieces of wood. The bed was very comfortable, we appreciated the firm foam mattress. The front porch was delightful to sit out on. We appreciated the advice of places to eat and hike. The Keurig machine was nice to have and we were glad that we knew ahead of time to bring sufficient coffee for it. We would return given the opportunity.

  • Submitted: Oct 9, 2016
  • Stayed: October 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

North Carolina vacation/anniversary trip

  • 3 of 5

We did not really like the fact that we had to transport our own trash to the trash center which was at least 10 miles away from the cabin. Had a hard time finding the trash/recycling center to dispose of our trash because the directions given were really vague and there was no sign at the trash center.

  • Submitted: Oct 24, 2015
  • Stayed: October 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We understand that the trash situation can be frustrating, as we have to deal with it as well when we are in town! We do wish we had trash pick up, however, it is not provided where our cabin is, and it isn't advised for us to leave it outside in a can for wild animals to get into. We are making sure to printout maps for much clearer directions to the trash dumps, as well as hours of operation. Thank you for your comment so that we can make things easier for our guests!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Nearest Airport
30 Miles
Asheville International Airport
Nearest Barpub
0.5 Miles
J Arthors
Nearest Golf
2 Miles
Maggie Valley Club
Nearest Motorway
7 Miles
Nearest Restaurant
0.5 Miles
J Arthors
Nearest Ski
8 Miles
Catloochee Ski resorst
Car: recommended

Minutes from the Blue Ridge Parkway, Wheels Through Time Museum from the TV show 'What's in the Barn?' Newly re-opened Ghost Town, Cataloochee ski resort, Historic downtown Waynesville, 30 minutes to Asheville including the word famous Biltmore estate.


Rates & Availability

Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $60

Absolutely no pets or non-human animals allowed in the cabin. Any violation will result in $300 fine. We have a lost key charge of $25.00.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.

You might like these similar properties