Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled

Walk to Beach and Warf...Great Monthly Rates!

Sleeps4
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 29 nights

Overview

About the property

2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4

Vacation at the picturesque coastal neighborhood of Santa Barbara’s West Beach! Enjoy and relax at this perfectly located and cozy beach vacation rental.

This private, comfortable and bright home offers all that you need! On the second floor, enjoy a sun-lit living room, kitchen, and 1 bedroom with queen size bed and full bathroom. Downstairs includes a large quiet room with queen size sleeper sofa, second bathroom, and double French doors opening to the private garden and outdoor patio. View the mountains while sipping coffee from the terrace and BBQ in the backyard patio with friends and family. Also included in this wonderful home is a washer and dryer, free wifi, cable TV and off street parking for one car. Sorry, no dishwasher nor garbage disposal.

Location! Location! Location!-- Easy 5 minute walk to breathtaking beaches, Stearns Wharf, the harbor, train station, public swimming pool, tennis courts, restaurants etc. Again, a 5 minute walk to the 50 cent State Street trolley which takes you within blocks to Historic downtown, Court House, Mission Santa Barbara (Queen of the Missions), museums, parks, farmers’ markets, and world class dining, downtown shops, etc. Enjoy a stroll on the urban wine trail, or, on Sunday, wander down Cabrillo Street and enjoy the diverse and first-rate art vendors and exhibits. For sports enthusiasts, West Beach is your spot! Sailing, parasailing, jogging, biking and even whale watching are also within the 5 minute walk. A short ½ hour driving excursion will bring you to the beautiful and world-renowned vineyards and farm lands of the Santa Santa Ynez Valley where you can enjoy some of California’s best wine tasting. Train Station is 3 minutes from this perfect location just in case you were thinking about taking the train!

More Details

Property Manager
Clare Lombardi
Member since: 2013
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few days
Response rate:
70%
Calendar last updated:
August 20, 2017

Guestbook comments from the manager

Quintessential Santa Barbara! This was a wonderful ...so Santa Barbara relaxed week. The house was so homey and very well kept. It is a great bang for your buck and it's a fantastic area, close to all Santa Barbara has to offer...we will defiantly be returning!
Nov 2013
  • 1 of 1

Amenities

Lower State House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 4
  • pets considered
  • children welcome
Location Type:
  • Resort ...
Theme:
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Spa
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine
  • Free Wifi
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower , This bathroom is on the main floor upstairs.
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower , This bathroom is downstairs in the den/ 2 bedroom.
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 4
  • Master - 1 queen , Has walk-in closet and TV
    Bedroom 2 - 1 sleep sofa /futon , Double Sofa Sleeper w bathroom and TV
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television ...
Outside:
  • Balcony ...
  • Bicycles ...
  • Boat ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Tennis ...
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
Attractions:
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • winery tours
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • gambling casinos
  • horseback riding
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • pier fishing
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • wind-surfing

Reviews

Excellent! 4.3/5 -
(11 traveler reviews)

54% Complete
36% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
9% Complete
Walk to Beach and Warf...Great Monthly Rates!
average rating of 4.2727275 based on 12 reviews
Colorado
1

Nice yard but house rundown

  • 1 of 5

Stayed in this house for 6 weeks. What a disappointment! The house is very dated but that could be livable if it was simply taken care of... Instead, the house is run down and dirty. Called the property manager about the lack of cleaning and she immediately sent a cleaning crew over. They tried their best but there is only so much they can do... Concerns I had were: permanently stained and chipped kitchen sink, (which never looks clean), chipped and mildew bathtub, mildew bath curtain, no window shades in living room (sun is blinding), very poorly stocked with linen and towels (the manager rectified), chipped tiles in both bath and kitchen and dirty lawn chair pads. The neighborhood is also very noisy, in the evening you hear highway and train noise, the daytime construction and neighbor noise. The yard is quite nice, especially if you have a dog, but you will have to weigh it out with the lack of personal comfort.

  • Submitted: Dec 26, 2016
  • Stayed: Oct 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
5

Great location!

  • 5 of 5

A very comfortable home... Easy to walk to State Street, the Funk Zone, Harbor, wharf, etc.! A nice private backyard with chairs and a gas grill... Definitely recommend!

  • Submitted: Jun 28, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Unique and unforgettable experience

  • 5 of 5

I have been in this house for 45 days and I have to say that the house was great. I was there as a visitor student at UCSB along with another person. There is a previous review with a great description of the house. In fact it helped me a lot in my final decision about the rental. So I am not going to repeat all excellences and inconveniences. I just want to say that for 2 people the space is great. The outside garden is nice when the weather allows having lunch or dinner there. The furniture is good and things in the kitchen are ok (although the stove was a bit old). Since we did the cleaning of the house we missed a big vacuum cleaner. Location is great for the beach (just 5 minutes) and near to the main street with a lot of restaurants (5-10 minutes walking). The bus station is 20 minutes walking and in front there is a Ralph’s supermarket. And there is also a car rental place 10 minutes walking. The property manager helped us when an issued occurred during our stay. She was very efficient. I loved the time that we had in Santa Barbara and I also loved this house.

  • Submitted: Mar 28, 2016
  • Stayed: Jan 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for taking the time to say such wonderful things...we loved having you. Come back and stay anytime!
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Granger Indiana
4

Great location Great value

  • 4 of 5

Location, location, location! If you want to walk on the beach every day and you want to walk to State Street this offers both. The house is on the edge of a light industrial area and near the RR station but neither is a problem and being able to walk to the beach is wonderful. Can you hear the trains at the RR station? Yes. Is it an intrusive or irritating noise problem? Not at all. The house is comfortable. We enjoyed breakfast on the upstairs porch; it felt like you were sitting in the tree tops. We spent a month here visiting family in the area. The owner is very responsive to any problems. We only had one minor problem with the heat (it was December) and the owner had a service man there immediately. We really enjoyed walking to the movie theaters on State Street and to places in the Funk Zone. I used the downstairs studio space as an office. It was great to have a washer and dryer in the house. The bed is very comfortable. We found the listing description accurate. We would definitely return.

  • Submitted: Jan 15, 2016
  • Stayed: Nov 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
4

Location is not everything

  • 4 of 5

The property is exactly as described and the location is ideal to beach, restaurants and shopping. The property manager did not respond to a phone call the morning after our arrival during which concerns were expressed about full trash cans outside. The patio furniture and the screens on windows were very dirty and this was similarly reported without a response. It is not apparent how a $150 assessed cleaning fee can be justified. The internet connection was intermittent. Attending to the cleanliness concerns of his property would raise the rating.

  • Submitted: Oct 24, 2015
  • Stayed: Oct 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I am so sorry that you did not experience a nicer stay, however I never received a message from you on my cell or via email regarding anything or I would have responded and done anything I could have to rectify whatever it was that caused you not to enjoy yourself 100%. I would greatly appreciate knowing what the problems were regarding the cleaning so I could address it with the cleaning company and would gladly refund your cleaning deposit with no further hassle. Thank you for addressing me, Clare Lombardi
Did you find this review helpful?
5 0
5

A tree house near the beach!

  • 5 of 5

This small single family home is 3 blocks from the beach and an easy walk to State Street or the Funk Zone. The main living area is on the 2nd floor and there are so many trees you feel like you are living in a tree house. We loved it. We hung a humming bird feeder and enjoyed them up close.

There’s a very large, private yard for this area.

As you walk up the steps to enter the house you have a nice balcony right off the main door where we enjoyed many hours out with coffee or wine.

There are many windows thru out the house that offer great a light-filled feeling and lots of ocean breezes. The queen bed was very comfy and it was so nice to have a walk in closet with a dresser in our room. The other rooms upstairs: a full bath, kitchen, living-dining area and small library nook. The steps in the living area lead downstairs to a big area with some comfy chairs, a queen sofa sleeper, some tables, a TV, storage, book shelves and a piano. There's a door to the beautiful backyard and large saltillo tile patio plus a door to the large side yard. There’s also a laundry room and ¾ bath.

The large patio has a bistro dining set for 4, two comfy chairs and a chaise I fell in love with. It's on wheels so you can roll it into the sun or into the shade and read all day. There is also a propane gas grill.

Even though this is an older home without a dishwasher, the kitchen was well stocked including a blender which was nice to whip up smoothies from all the fresh produce we got a the farmers’ markets on Tuesday and Saturday in Santa Barbara.

There are some great back-pack beach chairs, personal umbrellas and beach towels. Fill up the pockets in the chairs with drinks and snacks, put on the chairs and bike or walk to the beach, parks, parades, any where. We pedaled or walked all over this beautiful town with wonderful restaurants, lots of activities, cultural events. The weekly free “Independent” magazine will give you many ideas of fun things to do and places to go.

There is off street parking which is a plus on this car & truck filled street. The only draw back is the house is near the Amtrack station and you can hear the whistles and bells. Sometimes we heard the announcements. ;-( No matter, we will return again because of the location, light-filled tree house and comfy feeling in this wonderful little house.

  • Submitted: Sep 24, 2015
  • Stayed: Jun 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Wow...you really saw the property for all it's fantastic Character! Thank you very much for sharing...greatly appreciated.
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Map

Nearest Airport
5 Miles
Santa Barbara
Nearest Train
1 Miles
Santa Barbara State Street
Nearest Motorway
1 Miles
101
Nearest Beach
West Beach
Car: not necessary

Santa Barbara's Main Street, State Street in 2 blocks from your front door. The Santa Barbara Wharf and Marina 1 block. Shopping, Antiquing, Eating, Wine Tasting... all within walking distance!

Photos

Rates & Availability

Lower State House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
My Standard Rate
29 night minimum stay
$3,400
 

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $150
Damage Insurance $59

Pet Deposit: The pet deposit is $500 and $50 will be kept for additional cleaning after every pet has stayed at the property. The reaming $450 will be refunded if there is no damage upon vacating the property.

Manager's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 90 days before arrival date.
Available
Unavailable

You might like these similar properties