Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Stunning & Peaceful Mountain Chalet

Sleeps10
Bedrooms 5
Bathrooms3
Space 3,500 sq. ft.
Property type chalet
Minimum Stay 2 - 4 nights

Overview

About the property

5 bedroom, 3 bathroom with Mountain Views

Get away from it all at Kismet! This beautiful chalet home features an open floor plan which allows for quality time with your family or group—whether preparing a meal in the modern, well-equipped kitchen or enjoying the magnificent views from the floor to ceiling windows in the vaulted living area.

With 5 bedrooms, Kismet comfortably accommodates up to 10 guests. There are three bedrooms on the main level, two with queen beds and one with two twin beds. The lower level offers two bedrooms, with twin beds, including one bunk bed. There is an additional den with seating and a card table. House amenities include wifi internet and cable television programming, with apple tv, on two flat screen televisions. You can breathe in the fresh mountain air and listen to the sounds of nature from the expansive deck and screened in porch.

As a part of the award-winning Coolfont Mountainside community, Kismet provides the perfect balance of seclusion and convenience. The community offers a swimming pool and hot tub (open Memorial Day to Labor Day), as well as tennis courts and a playground area for the little ones. Hop on one of the community’s hiking trails to enjoy the view from the top of Cacapon Mountain. Just 5 miles from downtown Berkeley Springs, where you can enjoy fine dining, shopping, and the renowned mineral spring spas. Less than 15 minutes to beautiful Cacapon State Park with swimming, golf course, horseback riding, hiking trails and many other activities.

More Details

Property Manager
Sarah Bax
Member since: 2013
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
November 24, 2017

About Sarah Bax

From The Owners:

We purchased this property in November 2012 to have a place outside of our home in Washington, DC, to enjoy some outdoor activities with our two young boys, and other friends and family. We love spending time at this house and are pleased to be able to share it with others.

Sarah Bax purchased this chalet in 2012

Amenities

Berkeley Springs Chalet Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • chalet
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 3500 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 10
  • Min. age of primary renter: 25
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets not allowed ...
  • Non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Mountain View
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Spa
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 10 people
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , tub , shower , main level, attached to Master Bedroom
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower , main level
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , combination tub/shower , lower level
Bedrooms:
  • 5 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen , main level, attached bathroom with separate tub and shower
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen , main level, shared bathroom with tub/ shower combination
    Bedroom 3 - 2 twin/ single , main level, shared bathroom with tub/ shower combination
    Bedroom 4 - 2 twin/ single , lower level, shared bathroom with tub/ shower combination
    Bedroom 5 - 1 twin/ single , 1 bunk bed , lower level, shared bathroom with tub/ shower combination
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television ...
  • Toys
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Tennis ...
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
  • Hot Tub ...
Attractions:
  • cinemas
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • horseback riding
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • kayaking
  • mountaineering
  • snowboarding
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water tubing
  • whitewater rafting

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(57 traveler reviews)

78% Complete
21% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Stunning & Peaceful Mountain Chalet
average rating of 4.7894735 based on 57 reviews
4

Another wonderful stay!

  • 4 of 5

Wonderful girls weekend in Berkeley Springs.. Plenty of room for everyone in this beautiful home tucked away in the woods. We celebrated Friendsgiving with a full turkey dinner with all the trimmings. Would recommend for a weekend getaway.

One complaint it that there is limited glassware and mugs for a larger group. Would be nice to have full set of water glasses , barware and mugs. We seemed to spend a lot of time washing glasses throughout the stay.

  • Submitted: Nov 7, 2017
  • Stayed: November 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Sue, We are so happy you were able to enjoy another great visit to Kismet! Thanks for the information about glassware-- I have ordered new sets of drinking glasses, coffee mugs, and wine glasses (red and white!) which will be delivered within the next couple of weeks.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Kismet review

  • 4 of 5

The fireplace wasn't working I contacted the property management company to have someone out to assist but I never heard from property management company about scheduling a time to come out to fix it.I emailed 3 times we exchanged them but with no resolutionso on a cold weekend we had no fireplace.

The place was beautiful ,had broken screens and window so that was disappointing but we still enjoyed ourself.

  • Submitted: Oct 30, 2017
  • Stayed: October 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Kristi, We're glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Kismet! We did get a message that something wasn't working for you on Friday evening and on Saturday afternoon you let us know it was the fireplace key. Unfortunately, we were not able to have someone come inspect the situation before you left the next morning. When the handyman did look at the fireplace on Sunday afternoon, it was working fine and was not a problem for our next guests. We have ordered a replacement for the window with the crack. We hope you will make a return trip to Kismet so you may enjoy all of its amenities!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Clean, comfortable, and fantastic for our group of 9 adults!

  • 5 of 5

We had a wonderful time and plan on coming back again! The proximity to town as well as Capacon state park made it even better. Our group also enjoyed the open layout of the main floor in the house. Tremendous fall views!

  • Submitted: Oct 17, 2017
  • Stayed: October 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Family Fun and Relaxtion

  • 5 of 5

My family and I (7 adults and 2 kids) stayed at the lovely Kismet home at the beginning of August. The home was set in a peaceful community in Berkeley Springs. We were very happy with our stay. The home was exactly as it was described! Our favorite part was the main room with those beautiful large windows. It fit our family very well and was extremely comfortable. The home had everything we needed to make several meals and we also used the grill which worked great! We spent time at the community pool, and hanging out/relaxing at the home for some good quality family time. The home was centrally located and was close to everything. We explored the town of Berkeley Springs which had some nice shops, good restaurants, and a nice outside market on Sunday. We thoroughly enjoyed Cacapon State Park where we had a good time at the lake, beach, kayaking/paddle boarding, and hiking. Sarah was great to work with and made the whole process super easy for us. No complaints here! We'd definitely recommend this home for anyone looking for a peaceful/relaxing get away with family/friends!

  • Submitted: Aug 9, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Mountain retreat

  • 5 of 5

Enjoyed our stay at the property. Nicely appointed, clean and spacious. Would definitely consider staying here again.

  • Submitted: Jul 7, 2017
  • Stayed: June 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

The only issue we had us two of the four days we were there, the pool was not opened when it should

  • 4 of 5

Wonderful! We has everything we needed, and the house was so spacious and well-appointed.

  • Submitted: Jun 21, 2017
  • Stayed: June 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

The surrounding area provides a wealth of activities. Cacapon State Park is less than 15 minutes away and offers horseback riding, boating and swimming in the lake, hiking, playgrounds, picnic areas and a golf course. Enjoy float trips, swimming, fishing, and boating on the nearby Cacapon River. Bike on the C&O Canal Towpath Rails To Trails path on the banks of the Potomac River in nearby Hancock, MD. Winter skiing and snowboarding are available at White Tail resort 45 minutes away. Historic Harper's Ferry is not far, featuring Civil War museums as well as outdoor adventures including whitewater rafting and tubing on the Shenandoah and Potomac Rivers.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $150 + Tax
Refundable damage deposit $300
Tax Rate 10.0%

Rent 6 nights and get the 7th night FREE!

Holiday rates may vary and require a 3 night minimum stay.

We rent to guests 25 years of age and older.

Standard check-in time is 4 pm and standard check-out time is 11 am. We are happy to allow early check-in/ late check-out if our schedule allows it-- just ask!

Manager's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.

You might like these similar properties