check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit

Shepherds Hill... A Place To Relax, Revive, Restore

Bedrooms 5
Property type chateau / country house
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the VRBO checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more


chateau / country house
Minimum Stay
2 nights

About the property

Country Victorian Charm, Spectacular Views, Tranquil Setting, Beautiful Grounds

A charming, Victorian setting with all the warmth and friendliness of Grandma's house... wrap-a-round porch and porch swing give view to the Sierra foothills and look off to the distance toward Yosemite. Beautiful grounds, trees and flowers, a fish pond, gazebo, grape arbor, even a pomegranate tree... The MAIN HOUSE offers nearly 3500 sq ft of room to relax, play games, watch TV... whatever takes you away from the bustle of the everyday. (Sleeps 8)

The GUEST HOUSE (optional - additional pricing) is next door and affords accommodation for larger groups. (Sleeps 16).

The homes sit on 10 nicely wooded acres which means you won't see or hear the nearest neighbors. You'll have all the peace and privacy you like. Make yourself comfortable in the family room, the parlor or the Great Room. 3 family rooms in the MAIN HOUSE. The MAIN HOUSE offers 3 bedrooms, 2 with queen beds, 1 with a full size and 3 bathrooms. A day bed and trundle provide additional sleeping in the Great Room which is a great space for large gatherings or meetings.

The GUEST HOUSE has 2 large sleeping rooms and can sleep 16. 2 bathrooms, small kitchen and family room. The last 3 photos show the guest house.

Enjoy the pool in the warm months (June 1 to October 1), tennis court with basketball hoops and night lighting, BBQ, and fire pit-great for roasting marshmallows.

You'll find everything you need to refresh, revive and restore.

More Details

Sonda Iser
Member since: 2012
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
January 16, 2017

About Sonda Iser

I purchased Shepherd's Hill the end of 1999. For many years I operated a group home for developmentally delayed women. Upon retiring, I decided to offer my home as a vacation home. I also offer a Guest House (retreat) on the same property separated by the patio and the pool. Each home rents separately but guests often rent both to accommodate their group needs.

Sonda Iser purchased this chateau / country house in 1999

Why Sonda Iser chose Gold Country & High Sierra

I am surrounded by vacation wonderland on every side... lakes, rivers, ski slopes, golf courses, caverns, casino... Enjoy Yosemite National Park, Columbia State Park, Railtown 1897 State Historic Park, Stanislaus National Forest, Big Trees State Park, Whitewater rafting, Horseback riding, Black Oak Casino, Ironstone Vineyards, Mercer Caverns, Moaning Caverns, Mountain Springs Golf, New Melones Lake, Pinecrest Lake, Cover's Apple Ranch, and yes, there's more...

What makes this chateau / country house unique

I love the look and feel of the home. It looks like it might belong in another era. It has an antique woodburning stove in the kitchen - might remind you of what your grandmother used, and a beautiful antique woodburning stove in the wood beamed Great Room - can warm right to your heart. A single Virginia Creeper vine covers half of the tennis court, lovely all summer but brilliant amber and burgundy leaves in the fall. Deer wander through the property especially in late summer when their favorite foods become scarce and they love to eat my flowers (to my dismay), but they are beautiful. The sky is crystal clear at night, a million stars come out (well, actually, I never counted... but I'm sure I am close). It's quiet every day; can hear the woodpeckers doing what they do best, and the frogs in the pond singing (well, croaking) all night, and the wind chimes, and the little waterfall running into the fish pond. They're good restoring sounds. If you are careful you might even hear yourself think. What a concept in this age of media that never stops inputting.


Excellent! 4.7/5 -
(24 traveler reviews)

Shepherds Hill... A Place To Relax, Revive, Restore
average rating of 4.6666665 based on 24 reviews

Perfect for our 11 folks and 4 dogs!

  • 5 of 5

We had such a good time in Sondra's place; plenty of space, good beds and bedding, kitchen stocked, beautiful views of valleys and mountains, half an hour from terrific snow adventures - and an hour and a half from Yosemite :) Thanks so much!

  • Submitted: Jan 2, 2017
  • Stayed: Dec 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you and thanks so much for coming. Blessings on this new year.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Lincoln, California

Please be warned about change in circumstances

  • 2 of 5

Due to serious illness, the owner of this property no longer resides locally. So for our stay she had to totally rely on her housekeeping provider for information about the way we left the property. We learned that due to that report, none of our security deposit would be returned. The report was mostly claims I know to be absolutely false but because we were a party of 13, I was not sure of a couple of the complaints and could not deny them. Most of the charges made against our security deposit led to increased payments to the housekeeping provider. The most ludicrous was the accusation that we had a cat with us and left cat food scattered in a sleeping area. We don't own a cat - never have. I was so sorry that we had not taken before and after photos of our arrival and departure that would clearly demonstrate that we left the property in better condition than we found it! I strongly suggest that any future renters take photos. We have been renting through VRBO for 7 years and never before had a problem - two owners even remarked that we took such excellent care of their property.

It is not advisable to rent during the summer since the central air conditioning does not suffice at all. There were individual units in two of the bedrooms but one was acknowledged as broken and the other did not suffice. The 10 acre property was a lure but we were disappointed to find it was not possible to walk through most of the area - no paths and thorny overgrowth.

It was obvious that the house was once a beautiful place to stay but the generally poor upkeep made it less than comfortable. The pool was fabulous but we were accused of leaving a sharp object in it that caused damage we were charged for. We were very attentive to the pool because it was what was making our stay fun despite the drawbacks. I know we were not responsible for damage. All of our contacts with the owner before our rental were so pleasant, and her response to our inquiry about why we had not received our security deposit refund was so apologetic and sincere. It is clear that she was just having to take the word of long term employees over strangers, but I wish there had been some better way to resolve this.

  • Submitted: Sep 30, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We apologize that you were not fully satisfied with your stay. Unfortunately, we had to keep your deposit as there were multiple items damaged which is our policy that's outlined in the information book that's left in our home.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Large home and guest house with lots of fun activities.

  • 4 of 5

We just celebrated our 60th wedding anniversary at Shepherds Hill. This was the first time in 14 years that all of our 8 children were together. We had a wonderful time with children and grandchildren. There was plenty to keep us busy but the highlight for the grandchildren was the swimming pool. They started swimming early in the morning and would have continued well past dark if allowed. The location was wonderful for us; close to Yosemite and just an hour's drive from a daughter's home in Modesto. We couldn't have enjoyed our stay more.

  • Submitted: Aug 11, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Giant house, Giant property, great for large families!

  • 4 of 5

The pictures online do not do this house justice; it is huge!!! My family and I stayed here for a wedding at Union Hill one weekend. The kitchen was large enough for all of us to prepare food and not even bump elbows. There was plenty of silverware, tupperware, and other little amenities to make our stay worthwhile. We used the BBQ by the pool and stayed in the pool until late one night; it was very nice and relaxing with the warm weather. We brought our two little dogs with us as well and there was plenty of land for them to roam around; although I would be careful if you have larger animals because there are a few plants that have "stickers" that became stuck in one of our dog's hair. Also plenty of bathrooms and sleeping areas which was nice since everyone seemed to have their own little space. Some downsides...half the outside pool lights and the light in the pool didn't work which was a downer because we would have spent more time out there had we been able to see better once the sun went down. We stayed during a very hot weekend and while the downstairs stayed at a comfortable temperature, only one room upstairs was cold. There was no A/C in one of the room which made it way too hot to sleep in but the master bedroom and bathroom was humongous. A word of advice to open the windows at night which does help keep it cool. Be aware the house is old and we did experience some ants and bugs but that was expected; we had a baby scorpion in one bathroom which was a little startling so be aware if traveling with children to check out the house first. We never actually got to meet Sondra but she texted a few times to try and help us out when we needed it. Also a big plus, all the directions and rules for the house were laid out and very clear in a binder which we read through carefully and found very helpful. We did blow a circuit upstairs while using a hand-held steamer and tried to reset it without success but once again the house is old. Overall our experience at the house was great and just what we needed it for. Both our littles dogs and our humans loved it and its homey-like feel. If we ever had another event that brought us to the area we would no doubt stay here again.

As a side note there was a basketball/tennis court with equipment but we never got a chance to use it since we spent most of our time at the wedding. Another word of advice leave the porch light on at night if you are coming back late since it gets pretty dark outside.

  • Submitted: Jul 7, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Perfect Spot

  • 5 of 5

Great stay - house is beautiful, clean, and very well kept up. Pool is great, view is wonderful. Endless things to do in the area. It was the perfect spot for our family reunion.

  • Submitted: Jul 7, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Dublin, CA

Fabulous property!

  • 5 of 5

Fabulous house, gorgeous property, plenty of space and Sonda is wonderful to work with!

  • Submitted: Jun 30, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you very much, Kim. Pleasure to have you. Sonda
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Nearest Airport
10 Miles
Columbia Airport
Nearest Barpub
2 Miles
Black Oak Casino
Nearest Golf
6 Miles
Mountain Springs Golf Course
Nearest Motorway
3 Miles
Hwy 108
Nearest Restaurant
2 Miles
Black Oak Casino
Nearest Ski
23 Miles
Dodge Ridge Ski Resort
Nearest Beach
23 Miles
Pinecrest Lake
Car: necessary

I am surrounded by vacation wonderland on every side... lakes, rivers, ski slopes, golf courses, caverns, casino... Enjoy Yosemite National Park, Columbia State Park, Railtown 1897 State Historic Park, Stanislaus National Forest, Big Trees State Park, Whitewater rafting, Horseback riding, Black Oak Casino, Ironstone Vineyards, Mercer Caverns, Moaning Caverns, Mountain Springs Golf, New Melones Lake, Pinecrest Lake, Cover's Apple Ranch, and yes, there's more...


Rates & Availability

Tuolumne Chateau / Country House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
Notes: Rates are based on 8 guests; add $20 per night, per additional guest

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $400
Pet Fee $50
linen/cleaning-per home $135 + Tax
Tax Rate 10.0%

Guest house is optional (separate pricing) and charged at the same rate as the Main house ($250. per night for 8 persons with an additional charge of $20 per person per night above 8). Can rent either or both. Hosting an event will assess additional charges including $10 day use fee per person per day. Damage protection will be required ($400 refundable deposit returned post departure if no damage is incurred and homes(s) are left clean and in good order.
Master suite available for additional $75./night. includes large master with queen bed, additional sitting/TV room, large bathroom making for 4 bedrooms (plus overflow), 4 bathrooms, and 4 family/sitting rooms - a total of 4000 sq ft.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Contact Me Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)


Tuolumne Chateau / Country House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • chateau / country house
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 6000 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Mountain View
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Fitness Room / Equipment ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Wood Stove ...
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster ...
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
  • 5 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , tub
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 4 (guest hse) - toilet , shower , jetted tub
    Bathroom 5 (guest hse) - toilet , shower
  • MAIN HOUSE has 3 bathrooms: 2 with a shower, 1 with a tub. GUEST HOUSE has 2 bathrooms each with a shower.
  • 5 Bedrooms, Sleeps 24
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 3 - 1 double
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 4 - 2 twin/ single
    Bedroom 5 - 1 double , 5 twin/ single
    Bedroom 6 - 1 double , 7 twin/ single
  • MAIN HOUSE has 3 bedrooms. GREAT ROOM has 2 twin beds (day bed and trundle) in main house. (private with bathroom). GUEST HOUSE sleeps 16 in 14 beds (2 large sleeping rooms)
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Music Library
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television
  • Toys
  • Video Library ...
  • Balcony
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Lanai / Gazebo
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Tennis ...
  • Events Allowed
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome ...
  • pets considered ...
  • smoking allowed ...
Pool / Spa:
  • Private Pool
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • library
  • live theater
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • gambling casinos
  • horseback riding
  • horseshoes
  • miniature golf
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • ice skating
  • jet skiing
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • parasailing
  • pier fishing
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • sailing
  • ski lift privileges
  • ski privileges optional
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • snowmobiling
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • whitewater rafting
  • wind-surfing

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties