About the property
- House Boat1280 sqft
- Half Baths0
- Minimum Stay2 - 3 nights
PET FRIENDLY-1080 Sf Free Standing Houseboat-DOCK SPACE AVAILABLE
---Unique LARGE floating condo which is stationary--quiet and on the intracoastal waterway where you can sit on the front porch and watch pleasure boats and commercial fishing boats go by.Bring your fish pole=BRING YOUR BOAT!!! and cook what you catch on the grill or that favorite steak---Visit historic Beaufort only minutes away or spend time at the Beach only 20 minutes --the aquarium or one of the many eateries in town but you will enjoy the floating home on the tranquil Intracoastal when you get back.Relaxing and very different -not the usual motel room.
Dock Space available with reservation for a small fee..
- Response rate:
- Response time:
- within a few hours
- Calendar last updated:
- Apr 18, 2018
Local Services & Businesses
Sports & Adventure Activities
Check-in: 2:00 PM
Check-out: 11:00 AM
100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date. 50% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date. You must contact the owner directly to request cancellation.
PEACEFUL CLEAN WELL MAINTAINED
I thoroughly enjoyed my stay the boat was clean and well maintained and i enjoyed watching the endless parade of boats (and even saw some porpoises go by. i would like to come back here next year.
Mike =thanks for the review --you were a very good guest and hope you do come back to decompress again.
I could see that when you came and when you left you were a more relaxed person although you were not happy to leave and get back to work.
Hope you had a nice trip home and all is well at work.
Have a good rest of the summer.
Long awaited vacation
This was our 1st time staying on a boat house and it was wonderful. We loved all the shrimp boats going by, along with the other fishing boats, luxury ones too. But the one we loved the most was the Army's landing craft that went by that was a big wow factor for us. Fishing was great too, caught a couple of toadfish, mullet and black drum which sounded like it was growling at us as we took the hook out to throw back since all were too small to keep. I think with all the storms they've had over the last few years there is a lot of trash there too; since we caught a lot of trash along with it all, broke plenty of lines and hooks to boot. I lost so many I started fishing with a float, lost one of those on the poles the boat was tied too. The pier in the picture has been replaced with a new one which was finished just before we left. Richard was a great host, though he may need to update the boats amenities, since the washer & dryer is no longer in the boat. So for now this was one of our best vacations ever and would do it again when we can save up to do so.
Shelby--thanks for finding the time for this great review---you were great guest and hope you come back soon.
This review along with others gives great credibility to the advertised facts and pictures--we will be adding the new fishing pier to the gallery soon.
Enjoy the rest of the summer.
Great weekend get away
The boat was as described...clean, well maintained, in a quiet area. The one thing we didn't anticipate was the adiitional $25/day dock fee for our boat. We assumed the dock came with the rental. You do have to drive to get to shopping or restaurants, but this was expected. Enjoyed this relaxing Anniversary weekend!
Thanks for the review and I am sorry about the docking fee but the marina is separate from the vacation rentals and usually discussed prior to arrival as the marina slips are per reservation only--
Bringing your boat is an excellent way to see the area as there is a lot to see in Beaufort or Morehead City and a nice day trip is to Oriental nc.
Your were excellent guest and hope you return with your boat if possible --
Thanks again for making the time to comment.
Filthy and Not Safe
We were in town for a few days and this seemed like the perfect getaway until we arrived. The owner said for us to call when we got there but when we did no answer. Someone came out saying they worked for him and would call. Right away he was able to reach him and he said the owner was on his way, he would let us in. To begin the dock was unstable. I could feel the boards sinking as I walked on the dock. The man flipped down a wooden walkway or should I say board, sort of to let us onto a boat with no side rails all the way around the boat. We had a 7 year old with us and this immediately felt unsafe. We walked into the cabin which immediately smelled of mold and was very musty. The furniture looked dirty and there were stains (looked like dog pee stains) all over the floor. My family and I are asthmatic and we new right away we were not going to be able to stay, nor did we want to. We were on a time limit and needed to find a place to stay quickly so we had to leave, the owner never showed. I spoke with the owner immediately over the phone and expressed my discontent politely and the owner said he understood and would be happy to refund our money. That was until it was time to refund the money and he retracted his earlier promise saying he was not returning our money because his worker said we expressed how beautiful the boat was, which is simply not truthful. We would have stayed if it was beautiful. The boat was not well maintained and certainly not worth the money being asked. Don't make the same mistake we did with this rental! Not ethical practices!
Sorry for the delay in the response as we had to mediate with the payee [amex] and was resolved in our favor.
This type of review is never appreciated however in the rental business there will be people you could never satisfy and such was the case here.
We aim to please everyone and usually do as you can see in the other MANY reviews so you can come to your own conclusions.
We hope these comments in the response will urge you to take a broad look at our floating condo as It has made many many people unwind -relax and enjoy this popular vacation rental
Thanks to vrbo support team for your assistance.
Weekend water getaway!
Loved staying on the houseboat! Our only regret was we didn't book a week. We will definitely be going back next year! We had fun crabbing and fishing off the front deck. Dinner, our second night were the nice size croakers we caught! The crabs got a second chance to be someones dinner later. They were nice size, just not enough to cook. The sunsets were beautiful as we set on the deck and watched the sun slowly disappear!
Very spacious, the beds were comfortable, bathroom was nice and spacious. We enjoyed the living room for sitting around talking about the day and plans for tomorrow. I think the TV came on for a few minutes the night we cooked in. A good bar for playing games as well.
Richard walked us down to the houseboat and showed us where everything was and said to let him know if we had any needs or questions. He supplied us with extra chairs for sitting outside and a good place to eat in Beaufort.
We liked the fact that no one was around us and that it was quiet and relaxing. Because you are on the intercoastal waterway, there are boats going back and forth. It was neat to see some of the different boats going by. There is some construction going on beside the boat but we didn't have any while we were there.
WELL this could be the best review anyone could wish for.
Very accurate and a great reference for future guest to see it really is a unique vacation rental.
Sure hope to have you all as guest next year or possibly sooner and maybe some of the friends you spoke of will visit also.
Hope you have a nice trip to the mountains you spoke of and let me know when you want to schedule a return visit.
House boat was comfortable, roomy and filled all needs required
Grounds are not the most appealing, a work in progress
a board broke on the dock and I almost fell thru, caught myself, dock needs new boarding as a whole
Breakfast restrauant was nice and offered a lot of choices
There is a wealth of history and enjoyable activities surrounding us. Enjoy walking the quaint historical streets of Beaufort, NC and take in the grand views of gracious century old homes that sit nestled on the banks of the ICW. There are numerous boutiques, antiques shops, and delicious restaurants to select from. If you love the water you will not be disappointed in the activities available. Here are just a few of the things you can do while visiting with us: swim, sail, boat, charter a tour, a cruise, snorkel, dive, paddle-board, kayak, jet ski, fly fish, deep sea fish, secure a pirate boat, treasure hunt, take a moon light cruise of the harbor, tour light houses, pick up sea shells, visit an aquarium, museums, libraries, go to the out banks, see the wild horses playing in the ocean, ride a trolley, ride a double-Decker bus, hire a stretch limo, hire 'The Twisted Trolley', go dancing, go surfing, golf, shop, eat, relax, camp on the barrier islands, tan, play volley ball on the beach, enjoy a murder mystery dinner theater production, explore great dive sites, walk the piers, kite board, fly a kite, have a picnic, walk the boardwalk, droll over yachts and sailboats docked at the marinas, experience wonderful photo opportunities, visit old graveyards, tours historic homes, dig for clams, gig flounder, take a pirate's tour of downtown, rent bikes, go shark fishing, site seeing, book an eco tour, look for dolphins, listen to local musicians, visit Fort Macon, go para-sailing, take a ferry, visit the 9 mile long island of Shackleford Banks, take a shelling safari, rent a pontoon boat, go Megaladon tooth diving, visit Harkers Island, learn a lost trade through the historic society of Beaufort like tatting, watch local artist paint, relax at a tiki bar, set on the outside deck of a local restaurant and have a wonderful dinner and meet the locals, take your dog for a walk, tour ship wrecks while scuba diving, buy a new surf board, visit Cape Lookout National Seashore, Bear Island, Shark Tooth Island, or Huggins Island and if all else fails, we recommend you just take time to relax and spend time with those you love in our friendly little town. You can't get lost here, and no matter where you go, you'll find plenty to do.
Rates & Availability
Additional information about rental rates
Holiday Weekdays same as weekend rates. Damage protection can be purchased in lieu of damage deposit. Pet fee is $25 per pet per day or $100 per week. Please contact me for an accurate quote if you are bringing pets. We are not responsible for lost items or personal injury. Sofa sleeper available so as to sleep 6.