check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag

Plenty of room for your family and friends!

Bedrooms 4
Property type house
Minimum Stay 1 - 3 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the VRBO checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more


Minimum Stay
1 - 3 nights


Big Bear House Rental Photos and Description

2 rooms with multiple beds, 2 private rooms and a den!

Welcome to our home away from home. Three bedrooms upstairs, one has one has a full with two twins, the second has a full and a twin with a trundle. lastly master has a queen bed. Living room down stairs has a pellet stove along with a TV. Smaller living room upstairs has a daybed with trundle. Large kitchen very well stocked with your everyday needs. The backyard has a large deck area with BBQ grill and hot-tub.

  • Events Allowed
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered

Sara & David Peterson
Member since: 2013
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
December 7, 2016
Call Owner

About Sara & David Peterson

David and Sara are originally from Sturgis, South Dakota. To some of you that may sound a bit familiar, it is home of the Sturgis Motorcycle Rally! David moved to San Diego for the military and six years later Sara moved for a nursing career. Sara is a Nurse at Scripps Green and David still works for the military on Coronado Island. Sara and David got married in September 2013 back in South Dakota. They had their first baby boy this April 2014! Big Bear is their home away from home!

Sara & David Peterson purchased this house in 2013

Why Sara & David Peterson chose Big Bear

We love coming up to visit Big Bear. Feels like home to us! The scenery, less traffic and less people. It is much more relaxing. We searched for about 6 months, made four different offers on houses and the third one was not the charm! The fourth fit just right. We have made this our home and would love for you to enjoy it as much as we do!

What makes this house unique

This house is a 'homey' home. We first fell in love with the back yard. We are used to growing up with a lot of room to play and that is something we do not have in San Diego. We have a big lot outdoors for games and a hot-tub for relaxation! As well as a big kitchen for enjoyment and entertainment!


Wonderful! 4.9/5 -
(31 traveler reviews)

Plenty of room for your family and friends!
average rating of 4.870968 based on 31 reviews

The property was great.

  • 5 of 5

The house is in great location, it's about 5 minutes from the downtown place. The house itself is very great, except the full size beds should be replaced with a queen size beds. Also the master bedroom and a bedroom on the first floor doesn't get enough heat so it was a little bit chilly. But over all it's a great house looking forward to rent it again.

  • Submitted: Dec 2, 2016
  • Stayed: Nov 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Just Right

  • 5 of 5

This place was so beautiful and relaxing!! Very spacious but also cozy!!! We really enjoyed our time here and appreciate you guys for letting us enjoy your home!!

  • Submitted: Nov 15, 2016
  • Stayed: Nov 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Not bad but could have been better.

  • 3 of 5

Enjoyed the week I was here, big Bear always is fun and the home was pretty nice and spacious for me and my family..however there were some things that would have made it 5 the hot tub wasn't cleaned it has a slight green tint and just didn't seem all that clean which was a disappointment, another was that the house didn't seem all to clean, the sheets didn't seem clean either or the detergent was to much for my skin with gave me a rash but not no one else so it might have been me. Also the little heating stove that is for a fireplace in the living room didn't seem to work all well either we all tried but it never actually functioned like it's supposed to that was annoying. Also the drains in the tubs didn't work well either they were clogged and everytime someone showered the water would be up to our calfs Wich isn't sanitary. However we still enjoyed the stay it would have been much nicer if those things I mentioned were fixed maybe for the next people that rent it it will be fixed. Also had one other issue but I called and they got it resolved so I won't mention it here. Overall descent stay but for the price and the problems I wouldn't say it was worth the money still had a good time will say just hope those issues are resolved for the next guests.

  • Submitted: Oct 24, 2016
  • Stayed: Oct 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Sorry the issues you had, I did mention we had been having problems with the hottub. I appolizige about the sheets I will make sure to follow up with the cleaning lady, I wish we had known while you were staying and could have handled the situation while you were there.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Santa Ana, CA

Beautiful and Spacious Cabin

  • 5 of 5

Our stay at this cabin was a wonderful experience. The living room was nicely decorated and comfortable. Looking out the large living room window at the beautiful trees is like sitting in a tree house. The kitchen is large and updated with nice appliances. The backyard deck is large and surrounded by more trees. The bedrooms were spacious and the beds were comfortable. Our family of 6 was very comfortable and there was room for many more if needed. We had a great time. Thanks for sharing your cabin with us.

  • Submitted: Oct 3, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Absolutely calming

  • 5 of 5

For starters, the pictures do not do the listing justice. As we pulled up we were in awe. Loved exploring the cabin. Very comfy beds such a nice quiet neighborhood. Great vibes running through home. Only upsetting part was how long the tub took to heat!

  • Submitted: Aug 31, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much! I love hearing our guests enjoyed our cabin! Love to have you back!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

The perfect cabin to leave the city life behind.

  • 5 of 5

This cabin is wonderful, we stayed for 6 days and my family didn't want to leave. I loved the distance from the lake, close to everything you might want to do or see. The night view from upper deck is wonderful for star gazing, the lower deck was fun to entertain with the jacuzzi and the space was just great. My wife loved the kitchen space. You don't feel crowded in the Peter Pan very spacious. The owners of the property David and Sara are great they respond to any concern or issue which I'm glad to say we didn't encounter any. So if you're looking for a great place to stay I highly recommend this families property you won't be disappointed. Thank you again David and Sara for the great memories we will have of our stay at you're cabin.

  • Submitted: Aug 16, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for the kind review! Glad you enjoyed your stay and would love you have you back!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Nearest Airport
0.9 Miles
Big Bear Airport
Nearest Barpub
0.4 Miles
Nearest Golf
4.4 Miles
Bear Mountain Golf Course
Nearest Motorway
0.1 Miles
Hwy 18
Nearest Restaurant
0.4 Miles
Nearest Ski
4.7 Miles
Bear Mountain
Nearest Beach
4.9 Miles
Meadow Park

Come enjoy our home as much as do! We are located just minutes from the downtown village, Bowling Barn, Big Bear Mountain and Snow Summit. Rental equipment is available about every corner store along Big Bear Blvd. Also helicopter tours are offered just a short distance away. The sledding hill is less than 2 miles away, great for all ages!


Rates & Availability

Big Bear House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
Christmas Season
Dec 2 2016 - Dec 22 2016
2 night minimum stay
Dec 24 2016 - Dec 25 2016
1 night minimum stay
Post Christmas
Dec 26 2016 - Dec 29 2016
2 night minimum stay
Dec 30 2016 - Jan 1 2017
3 night minimum stay
Jan 3 2017 - Feb 26 2017
2 night minimum stay
Jan 13 2017 - Jan 15 2017
3 night minimum stay
Flat fee
Feb 17 2017 - Feb 19 2017
3 night minimum stay
Flat fee
Post Winter
Feb 27 2017 - Apr 3 2017
2 night minimum stay
Apr 4 2017 - May 25 2017
2 night minimum stay
Summer 2
May 26 2017 - Jun 1 2017
2 night minimum stay
4th of July
Jul 1 2017 - Jul 4 2017
3 night minimum stay
Summer 3
Jul 5 2017 - Aug 31 2017
2 night minimum stay
Labor Day
Sep 1 2017 - Sep 4 2017
3 night minimum stay
Sep 5 2017 - Oct 31 2017
2 night minimum stay
Dec 29 2017 - Jan 1 2018
3 night minimum stay
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning $142 + Tax
Refundable damage deposit $250
Tax Rate 10.0%

Rates are subject to change until reservation has been made and 25% down payment has been received. Deposit is not refunded if cancelled. CHECK OUT TIME FOR RENTERS is 11AM, CHECK IN TIME is 4PM. Please ask about Late Check-outs and Early Check-ins (permission is based on availability)

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Contact Me Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)


Big Bear House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1900 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Mountain View ...
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Garage ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wood Stove ...
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 7 people
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower , Stocked: towels, blow dryer, straightener & curling iron
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower , Stocked: Towels
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
  • Bedroom 2 - 2 bunk bed , (2) Full beds and (3) twin beds
    Bedroom 1 - 2 bunk bed , (2) full beds & (3) twin beds
    Bedroom 3 - 1 queen , Master Bedroom access to private balcony and master bath
    Bedroom 4 - 1 double , Located main floor, private from other bedrooms
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Television ...
  • Video Library
  • Balcony
  • Deck / Patio
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Events Allowed
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only ...
  • pets considered ...
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub ...
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • marina
  • restaurants
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • boating
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • pier fishing
  • roller blading
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • swimming
  • water skiing

Partner Offers