Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Steps from the beach,5 bedrooms,$600/night

Bedrooms 2
Space 2,050 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 4 - 274 nights


About the property

duplex 5 bed, 2 bed/1 bath downstairs unit, 3 bed/1 bath upstairs unit, sleeps 1

Great for family reunion. This duplex has 2 large units in prime beach area -Rent one or both units. This recently remodeled two floor duplex sits on the ocean side of the best court south-facing in Central Mission Beach just 3 blocks north of Belmont Park.

The floor plans in both units are spacious and superior to most cottage floor plans or condos. You will never feel crowded in either unit. The lower unit is 2 Br 1 bathroom 950 sq ft and the upper unit is 3 Br and 1 bathroom and 1050 sq ft. Spacious Living Room areas in both Units so family and friends can be comfortable. Front patio is large and has seperate space for single unit rental or the entire space if both units rented. Outdoor fire ring to gather around with plenty of seating to cook smores or just enjoy a drink and conversation. The patio is fenced, perfect for little ones etc. This property perfect for multiple families etc.

The ground floor unit has queen bed in one room; the second bedroom has 2 sets of bunk beds plus trundle. Top unit has queen bed in one room, 2nd bedroom has double-wide bunk bed and futon; third bedroom has bunk bed with single on top and double on bottom. sleeper sofa in Living room. Bottom can sleep 8 and top can sleep 8 on beds; sleeper sofa and futons can accommodate 4 more. Each unit comes with a full kitchen, laundry room and a bathroom.

Rental includes the use of 4 bikes, 1 surfboard, 2 boogie boards , 4 beach chairs and 1 beach umbrella.

More Details

Violette Jackson
Member since: 2013
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
March 7, 2018

About Violette Jackson

This is your chance to get in on this new vacation rental. We have decided to open it up to vacation rentals this summer. We are longtime San Diego residents with our kids now in college and would love to rent to families. When we are away there is not a day we do not wish we were sitting on the patio with friends and family relaxing, riding bikes along the boardwalk, paddle boarding in the bay, swimming or surfing in the ocean. This is Nirvana.

Violette Jackson purchased this house in 2012

Why Violette Jackson chose Mission Beach

We purchased this property due to our attraction to location, spacious and homie feel. Our son moved to Mission Beach while attending University of San Diego and we fell in love with the area. Our property has a bit of the old and new ambiance and exudes happiness and peacefulness. We are on a quiet street, a short walk just steps to the boardwalk on the Ocean side; few steps to the Ocean and 2 blocks from the Bay. You can experience best of both worlds. Kids can be easily entertained with all the fun rides at Balboa Park or just making smore's on the patio. Spacious open living rooms make for great relaxing but the key piece is the marvelous large open patio with fire ring for great entertaining and relaxing.

What makes this house unique

The location of the property is ideal on a quiet walkway just 80 steps to the ocean. Large and open front patio to entertain and hangout. Patio built to accommodate large groups and entertain.


Mission Beach House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 2050 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 18
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only ...
Location Type:
  • Ocean View
  • Family
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Garage ...
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower
  • downstairs newly remodeled walk-in shower with rain shower head, upstairs shower/bath combo
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 18
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen , Downstairs bedroom queen bed
    Bedroom 2 - 2 double , 3 twin/ single , Downstairs bedroom, 2 double beds,twin bunk bed and trundle
  • Master Br downstairs; 2nd bedroom sleeps 6-8 in two bunks with pull out trundle Upstairs unit master bedroom with Queen ; loft room sleeps 2 in bunk bed, @ 2nd bedroom sleeps 3 in bunk and full size bed
  • Books
  • Game Room ...
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
  • Toys
  • Video Games
  • Bicycles ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Water Sports Gear ...
  • 1 bicycles
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • marina
  • museums
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • boating
  • miniature golf
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • laundromat
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • hot air ballooning
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • parasailing
  • pier fishing
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • wind-surfing
You cant go wrong at this property. Superior location, newly remodeled, large open patio for entertaining.


Very Good! 4.2/5 -
(6 traveler reviews)

66% Complete
16% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
16% Complete
Steps from the beach,5 bedrooms,$600/night
average rating of 4.1666665 based on 6 reviews

Great house for college students

  • 4 of 5

While there were some small issues with the house, it was overall a great place for a group of female college students. We lived there for nine months and every problem was handled by the landlord and her team. The house is small, charming and exactly what we needed, not to mention it's less than 100 steps from the sand!

  • Submitted: Jul 12, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you Emily, you ladies were very responsible and helpful. It was a pleasure renting to you and your roommates. Thank you for being great tenants.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Great Family Vacation Beach Home

  • 5 of 5

The Best family vacation! The accommodations were perfect, the location is amazing. Morning coffee on the beach, and nightly sunsets. We BBQ'd every night, the house was fully equipped with everything we needed. Our family made lifetime memories, thanks so much for sharing your great beach house. I highly recommend this beach house rental.

  • Submitted: Jul 18, 2017
  • Stayed: June 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you Cindy for your review. We are very glad you had a great time. Hope to see you again in the future.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Old, falling apart

  • 1 of 5

Terrible experience.

I rented this property for 9 months during the school year. It was 3 other young ladies and myself, all very clean, tidy and professional. During our first couple of weeks we had so many problems. The window popped out of its frame, the mattress was torn, the decorations were dusty and there was sand EVERYWHERE.

The problems continued throughout our stay, the worst ones being only ONE light in the main area that broke. We went two weeks without any light in our family room. Then, our old, noisy washing machine broke. We spent our last SIX WEEKS in the unit with no washer or dryer. The landlord purposely did not fix it until we left the unit. Then, she charged us almost $400 to replace the old washing machine! She also dinged us for an old bed frame that broke, scratches on the tub (it was an old tub with scratches on it from previous tenants), and rust on their grill (my unit NEVER used the grill, and we did not PUT rust on it).

This house was built in 1927 and apparently only cheap renovations have been done since then. Everything is old, including the furniture. The landlord understood that by no means was she giving us a brand new house to live in, yet she still unfairly charged us for damages that we were not at fault for.

BWEARE!! You will be charged for anything that is considered normal wear and tear. If you just happen to be the unlucky tenant that is occupying the house when one of her very cheap and old things break, you WILL be charged.

There is also no parking. My advice: keep looking. There are so many beautiful houses on Mission Beach with reasonable landlords. Don't waste your money here.

  • Submitted: Jul 5, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for the review, we appreciate your feedback especially at our last meeting expressing that you had a great experience and loved living at our home. I'm glad we were able to accommodate all your requests, many questions, many phone calls, many changes in contract due to roommate changes, prior to moving in. In addition, accommodated early check in and late check out. It was really nice meeting your dad. But as a quick response to your concerns, The broken bed was taken apart, put together again and moved to different location causing cracked frame. The light in the living room was fixed as soon as we became aware of it. The washing machine was 3 years old according to 2 technicians and photos, it was misused. The cost to fix was the same as a new one. We had to purchase a new machine but did not charge you for it. There was no charge for the uncovered BBQ causing rust in 9 months. There was no charge for the holes in the wall. no charges for broken window, someone climbed thru it when key was lost. No charges for 4-5 times asking our maintenance guy to let you in the house when you were locked out. In terms of parking there are 2 parking spots one for each unit. Sorry you feel unfairly charged a small amount for damages made at the property during your 9 months stay. Thanks again for your feedback will take some of these concerns into consideration.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Foster City

Beach lovers

  • 5 of 5

We had the best time last July at this beach house that we have booked it again to spend a week this month. Thank you for sharing your wonderful centrally located house. We enjoyed walking short distance to the beach, the roller-coaster and the bay. Loved never needing a car for anything!♡♡♡

  • Submitted: Jul 18, 2016
  • Stayed: July 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: thanks hope to see you again next year.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 1

Great Stay-cation

  • 5 of 5

We live in the burbs but wanted to head to the surf. What a great week my husband and I had. Friends stayed a couple of nights with us. We got to bike to see our kids in Pacific Beach. The location is perfect! Plenty of space, plenty of supplies - AWESOME :) A new tradition has begun!

  • Submitted: Aug 18, 2014
  • Stayed: August 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
4 1

Excellent stay

  • 5 of 5

We stayed in this duplex for a week in July and it is just perfect. Very close to the beach without being on the boardwalk which makes it much more quiet. Everything is in working order and the facilities although not new is very clean and functional. We had a very good time with the kids and enjoyed very much being able to use the boards, the bikes and the beach chairs. Very convenient! We would return anytime and we recommend it to anyone who's looking for a nice place on Mission Beach.

  • Submitted: Aug 13, 2014
  • Stayed: July 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
4 1


Nearest Airport
5 Miles
San Diego International (SAN)
Nearest Beach
Mission Beach

Property is 80 steps from fabulous Mission Beach! Just 3 blocks North of famous Belmont Park and the Big Dipper Roller Coater and Amusement Park. 5 houses from the Ocean and 2 Blocks from Mission Bay.




Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning fee $250
Pet Fee $500
Refundable damage deposit $1,000
Tax Rate 8.0%

$1000 deposit will be refunded at check out. This is due immediately upon booking. The total amount of rental is due 45 days prior to stay.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.

You might like these similar properties