Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call VRBO Booking Assistance: 888-829-7076
Book Online or call VRBO Booking Assistance: 888-829-7076

Island Retreat In Private, Forested Setting, Sleeps 6

Bedrooms 3
Space 1,900 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 nights


About the property

3 Bedrooms, - 1 week minimum - ask about longer term discounts

Less than an hour from downtown Vancouver, Bowen Island is a 20 minute ferry ride from Horseshoe Bay or 35 minutes from Granville Island & downtown by ferry. The house can be found in a private wooded setting just 5 minutes' walk to beaches, the amenities of Snug Cove and the ferry terminal.

Situated up a private driveway, set back from the road, Salmon's Leap provides a haven for writers, artists or those in search of a quiet, inspirational retreat as well as families wanting to spend the day on the beach or exploring the coast inlets by kayak.

The custom built house comprises 2 large bedrooms upstairs with vaulted ceilings & walk-in closets, and a double bedroom on the main floor. The master bedroom has an ensuite full bathroom and a den leading off it. The master bedroom also has a balcony which overlooks the forest and creek.

There is another full bathroom on the main floor.

The kitchen and dining room are open plan and lead into the glass fronted living room whose patio doors open onto the front, Italian-tiled deck.

The house is equipped with a dishwasher, washer & dryer, TV, stereo, DVD & iPod player & wireless internet connection.

There is a queen size bed in the master bedroom, queen size and twin bed in the second bedroom and a king size (or 2 twin) beds in the third bedroom.

Salmon's Leap is suitable as a getaway for a writing sabbatical, executive accommodation accessible to downtown or a family on a West Coast vacation.

More Details

Claire Allen
Member since: 2013
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
August 16, 2017

About Claire Allen

I moved to Bowen Island in 2006 where I enjoy hiking in the local mountains and being on the water in between working as crew on scientific research vessels.

Claire Allen purchased this house in 2006

Why Claire Allen chose The Islands

I chose this property for it's close proximity to the amenities of Bowen Island and quiet setting on the creek.

This gem in the forest is right on the trails that lead to the ocean as well as beautiful Killarney Lake.

What makes this house unique

Watching the wildlife on the creek from the front porch. Herons, Great Horned Owls Kingfishers and beavers make their home along the creek beside the house and salmon leap up the ladder during the run in the Fall.


Nearest Airport
43 Kilometres
Vancouver International Airport YVR
Nearest Barpub
600 Metres
Doc Morgans and Bowen Pub
Nearest Ferry
600 Metres
Snug Cove
Nearest Golf
10 Kilometres
Bowen Island Golf Club
Nearest Motorway
5 Kilometres
Hwy 1
Nearest Restaurant
500 Metres
Tuscany Restaurant
Nearest Ski
33 Kilometres
Cypress Mountain
Nearest Beach
600 Metres
Pebbly Beach
Car: not necessary

Forest trails and a salmon creek flank the house, and offer miles of walks in the mixed forest of Cedar, Hemlock, Douglas Fir and Arbutus. Local wildlife include great blue herons, tree frogs, woodpeckers, ducks, deer beavers and otters.

There are opportunities to kayak from the nearby kayak outfitters, or hike along forest trails close to the house. More challenging hiking can be found up Mt Gardner which has a 720 m elevation gain.

Salmons' Leap is also the perfect place to go for a quiet retreat and is an easy stroll's distance from the shops, restaurants beaches and ferry.


Bowen Island House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1900 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM / Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 7
  • Events Allowed
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Rural ...
  • Water View ...
  • Waterfront ...
  • Away From It All
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace ...
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower , Spacious bathroom with Italian tiled floor.
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower , Washer/dryer in main floor bathroom
  • An Italian-tiled full bathroom on each floor.
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 7
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen , 1 twin/ single , Spacious bedroom with 2 beds, sofa, TV and walk-in closet
    Bedroom 3 - 1 queen
  • Master en-suite bedroom with queen sized bed and walk-in closet. Enjoy your morning coffee on the private balcony overlooking the creek. Den or quiet reading room leads off the master bedroom.
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Stereo ...
  • Television
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • wheelchair inaccessible
  • churches
  • library
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • scenic drives
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • golf
  • hiking
  • kayaking
  • sailing
  • swimming


Excellent! 4.3/5 -
(10 traveler reviews)

50% Complete
40% Complete
0% Complete
10% Complete
0% Complete
Island Retreat In Private, Forested Setting, Sleeps 6
average rating of 4.3 based on 10 reviews

Large family get together

  • 5 of 5

We loved this house. It seemed to have a character of its own which somehow we responded to, all 8(+1) of us. A house full of comfortable beds, sufficient bedrooms for couples and singles and even permission to set up a tent in the garden for one person who preferred camping rather than a bed. Table large enough for all, even table cloths provided if we wanted them (this table seemed not to need them), kitchen with enough pots and pans, even the barbecue, though rather small, was sufficient for us.The owner was exceptionally cooperative and easy to deal with. I would recommend this house for anyone who likes to stay away from the bustle of a town yet close to everything, including the ferry. By the way we stayed during very hot weather but felt comfortable because the house is shaded by the surrounding trees and close to a creek.

Excellent place for family reunions, yearly meetings or family celebrations.

  • Submitted: Jul 24, 2015
  • Stayed: Jun 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Surrey BC

Great rustic retreat

  • 4 of 5

My family and I were more than pleased with Salmon Leap. It's forested location, layout and amenities were exactly what we would have hoped a cottage get-away would be. Also an unexpected plus was the proximity to walking trails. Being a large group, we could have done with a larger, more efficient barbecue, however. Other than that, great getaway.

  • Submitted: Apr 21, 2015
  • Stayed: Apr 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Cozy and Peaceful

  • 5 of 5

My family and I stayed at this wonderful cozy home. We felt like we were miles away from the hustle and bustle of the city, even though we were only a 2 minute drive from the ferry. The owner was very helpful in giving us information about the island and things to do. It is in a great location, a 10 minute walk to shops and 15 minute walk to Killarny Lake.

The home is charming and we had everything we needed for a great get away.

  • Submitted: Mar 30, 2015
  • Stayed: Jan 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Slice of Heaven

  • 5 of 5

Such a beautiful home, in an idyllic setting.

As soon as you step out of your vehicle, you are greeted with the sounds of nature. There are many beautiful hikes close by, and the house is walking distance to the village and ferry. Wonderfully decorated, with incredibly comfortably beds (best sleep we've had in years), this gem is your home away from home. Can't wait to come back. Thank you!

  • Submitted: Feb 26, 2015
  • Stayed: Feb 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
Invermere BC

Overall nice, but with exceptions

  • 2 of 5

The house is in a great location - private and easy to access, and backs onto a beautiful creek with a fish ladder.

The house was in good condition, however the furnishings, kitchenware and linens were in questionable shape for a rental. Many of the dishes were cracked, chipped, and stained, and the cookware was poor quality. There was only a coffee press, (no full sized coffee pot), which was insufficient for 5 women.

The towels and linens were mismatched and a bit on the ratty side. All the beds and pillows were low quality. If the quality of furnishings, kitchenware and linens are no issue for you, then I highly recommend this home. For the price we paid, I would have expected better quality, as most other home rentals offer. 

We forgot a personal item when we left, and asked the owner to return it C.O.D. She was out of the country at the time. Although we did receive the item after two months, she felt it was not her responsibility to have to return something we forgot.

Overall, nice home, great location, very private yet close to ferry and restaurants. If it wasn't for the poor quality furnishings, kitchenware and linens, I would have rated this home much higher.

  • Submitted: Feb 19, 2015
  • Stayed: Oct 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We do what we can to provide a comfortable environment for guests' vacations and apologise if the mismatched crockery and sheets lessened this in any way. Regarding the return of items left behind by the vacationers; we were overseas for several months, and a neighbour kindly dealt with the situation in our absence. We regret that the items were not returned as quickly as they would otherwise have been.
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

A lovely house for 7 people

  • 5 of 5

We just got back from a great getaway in this house. We were 4 adults and 3 children and it was perfect for all of us. Very clean and big enough for everyone to have their own space. Walking distance to the village and to very nice trails.

  • Submitted: Oct 14, 2014
  • Stayed: Oct 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0


Rates & Availability

Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $162.09
Damage Deposit $405.22

Credit Cards accepted
Additional charge ($25 p/p p/night) for more than 4 visitors - ask for details
Cleaning service during stay can be arranged and is necessary on check out

A damage deposit of $500 is required for the duration of the stay

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.