Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

New Home Within Walking Distance To Lake Michigan

Bedrooms 4
Half Baths1
Space 2,400 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 8 nights


About the property

4 Bedrooms, 2.5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 14

New home located in new subdivision off North Shore Dr. Approximately 800 ft to 1st St. beach access. Close to many other public beach access points off North Shore Dr.

Main floor houses master suite, family room, kitchen, living room, powder room, formal dining room and laundry. Master suite includes bath and walk-in closet. Master bath features soaking tub, glassed-in shower and secluded commode. Spacious living area with tall ceilings, wet bar, 2 gas fireplaces and large HD LCD TV. Kitchen features stainless steel appliances and quartz countertops.

** Reservations for the 2017 summer season will be taken after 1/1/17 **

Living area has additional fireplace and a pull out sofa bed. Separate dining area overlooking scenic wooded backyard. Upstairs has three bedrooms and a Jack & Jill bathroom. One bedroom is furnished with queen size bed and a Day bed w/pull out trundle that makes 2 twins or 1 king bed. Third bedroom has a Queen bed. Fourth bedroom has two set of bunkbeds.

First floor deck includes outdoor dining for 6, a gas grill and fire pit. (guests must provide propane, tanks are available at house)

We have a ping pong table in the garage and plenty of beach supplies/towels and games to use at the house.


More Details

Michelle Busch
Member since: 2013
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
June 16, 2017


West Wing Estates House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 2400 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 14
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
Location Type:
  • Downtown ...
  • Away From It All
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace ...
  • Garage ...
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove
  • Toaster ...
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Master - toilet , tub , shower , Double sinks
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , First floor half bath
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , combination tub/shower , Jack and Jill bath with separate sinks
  • Jack and Jill bath has separate entrances from the bunk room and the hallway. Each has its own sink. An adjoining room with tub/shower and toilet accessible from both.
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 14
  • Master - 1 king
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 4 - 4 bunk bed , Bottom bunk of one set is a double bed
    Bedroom 3 - 1 queen , 2 twin/ single , Day bed w/trundle
  • There is also a pull out sofa bed in the living room that sleeps 2.
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Music Library ...
  • Ping Pong Table
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Video Library
  • Bicycles
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Water Sports Gear ...
  • 3 bicycles
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
Onsite Services:
  • Concierge
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • library
  • marina
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • boating
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • ice skating
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • parasailing
  • rafting
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • snowboarding
  • snowmobiling
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • wind-surfing
Bean bag toss game, beach chairs, wagon for hauling beach toys


Excellent! 4.5/5 -
(13 traveler reviews)

New Home Within Walking Distance To Lake Michigan
average rating of 4.5384617 based on 13 reviews

Lovely house with every kind of amenity

  • 5 of 5

The house was in pristine condition when we arrived, and is light, airy and comfortable. Every conceivable thing has been provided for guest comfort. Accommodations are far nicer than we usually encounter in summer rentals. We were an extended family of 3 teenagers and 5 adults, and everyone was content. Yes, Wi-Fi was slow, and I wish the bedroom curtains were more opaque, but beyond that it was a wonderful place to spend a week. Very convenient to beach, downtown SoHa, Meijer store and highway.

  • Submitted: Jul 24, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Great home

  • 4 of 5

Our family had an awesome time. The house was perfect.Very clean!

Had many amenities that others do not furnish. The publicized beach access was not desirable but the public beaches are awesome! Would definitely return if we come back to the area again.

  • Submitted: Jul 22, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Houston, Texas

Beautiful house in picturesque South Haven

  • 5 of 5

House is right out of town but easy distance to bike or drive over. Just a short and easy walk is the beach, which is just breathtaking. We were a party of 4 adults and 3 kids and we had more than enough room in this spacious house. We loved the yard (when we were not at the beach or sightseeing). The house amenities were the best: ping pong table, bikes, beach toys and games (and more)! The kitchen is great for preparing any type of meal. Loved the back porch table for outdoor dining. We made s'mores one night and the kids chased fireflies. The house wifi was a bit slow but we didn't come to Michigan to be connected to our electronics (right kids?)! We had a fabulous time in Michigan, SoHa and thoroughly enjoyed this home.

  • Submitted: Jul 16, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

highly recommended

  • 5 of 5

Our group consisted of four adults and two small children and the house couldn't have been better for accommodating our group. The home is nicely furnished, and the floor plan allows everyone to be together but not on top of each other. The kids loved the bunk beds and found the jack and jill bathroom upstairs fascinating! The home was extremely well supplied, really the best supplied kitchen I have ever experienced in a home rental. We couldn't take advantage of some of the provisions because of the time of year, but there were many beach chairs, beach towels, two or three bicylces . . . really very nice. The house is in a lovely private area and the beach is a 5 minute walk which in itself was charming. Reserving the home was very easy and the owner was prompt in replying. One slight glitch but one with a happy ending. The code to unlock the door didn't work. I phoned the owners, they anwered the phone, provided a new code and all was well. My family would like to return for a longer period of time during the summer. I would definitely rent this home again. It's roomy, comfortable, great floor plan, nice area, well furnished . . . we had a great time.

  • Submitted: Oct 14, 2015
  • Stayed: Oct 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you, we can't be happier that you and your family enjoyed your stay in our home. We certainly hope you will come back again and enjoy all that South Haven has to offer.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Excited to plan our vacation here, disappointed on our arrival

  • 2 of 5

Given the rave reviews and beautiful photos of this property one can imagine how disappointed we were to arrive to a dirty home, lacking in nearly all the advertised basic toiletries and household items (washcloths? Broom? Bathroom hand soap?!) The floors were filthy, the garage was a disaster of sand and dirt, a dirty fridge, grimy kitchen counters, sheets not changed, excessive hair and mold in all the bathrooms, ripped and stained kitchen and bathroom towels, mouse poop in master closet, hair balls in nearly every corner. Upon notifying the owner of the state of the home she informed us that the cleaning crew had been less than stellar the entire summer...upon her request, the cleaning crew came out and spot cleaned the home, missing all the basic cleanliness standards. The cleaning crew informed us that their vacuum was broken, hence the excessive hairballs, leftover food on floors, and dust throughout the home. It was such a disappointment to all of us, given the extra cleaning fee we were charged since we had additional small children with us. We were so disgusted by the state of the home that we couldn't comfortably let the kids play or relax in the house. What a shame for such a lovely property, we wish the whole sitaution would have been handled with professionalism and courtesy versus excuses and "oh wells". On top of it all the kayaks advertised were unavailable for rent that week and the air conditioning died while we were there. Even though it was fixed for us, it was yet another disturbance in our unpleasant week. Thankfully, the beach was absolutely stunning and we hope to return to a different property in South haven in the future to enjoy a vacation instead of a frustration of a week!

  • Submitted: Oct 6, 2015
  • Stayed: Aug 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We greatly appreciate the feedback on your stay. We apologize for the difficulties with the maid service. We were in contact with you immediately and had the maid service come to the house the next morning per your instructions to clean the house under your supervision including purchasing any needed items. We immediately fired the maid service after this event and have not had any issues since. We do our best to ensure that every renter has a great experience and we are disappointed that we couldn’t deliver that for you at the beginning of your stay. We’d love to have you come back. Please check the reviews following for up to date feedback from our guests.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 1

Amazing House, Amazing Town

  • 5 of 5

Our family has been vacationing in South Haven for 15 years, yet this was the first time we rented a home during our stay. The owner was incredibly prompt and informative during our booking process. She was very accommodating and even allowed us to look at the house before renting it. Our time in South Haven was spectacular, and I attribute much of that to the beautiful home and excellent location. We were just steps away from the beach and an easy walk (approx. 1.5 miles) downtown. The owners clearly keep their home immaculate, yet it felt very comfortable and inviting. We have two boys (11 and 12) and the house was perfect for a beach vacation with children. There was plenty of open living space, the beds were cozy and comfortable, and the kitchen was well equipped. The wagon, beach chairs, bikes, and sand toys were convenient, and saved packing space. The owner was remarkable to work with. She was readily available and responded to questions and messages promptly. We appreciate her generosity and willingness to share her home with us. We highly recommend that others rent this home and hope that we can stay there again in the near future.

  • Submitted: Aug 29, 2015
  • Stayed: Jul 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you, it really makes us happy to hear you had such a great time!
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0


Nearest Airport
40 Miles
Kalamazoo/Battle Creek Intrn'l Airport
Nearest Barpub
1.5 Miles
Captain Lou's
Nearest Ferry
124 Miles
S.S. Badger - Lake Michigan car ferry
Nearest Golf
5 Miles
Hawks Head Golf Course
Nearest Train
10 Miles
Amtrak Station - BAM, Railroad St. Bangor, MI
Nearest Motorway
1 Miles
Interstate I-196 Exit 22
Nearest Restaurant
0.5 Miles
Sophie's Steakhouse
Nearest Ski
33 Miles
Bittersweet Ski Resort, 600 River Rd Otsego MI
Nearest Beach
0.3 Miles
First St. Beach
Car: recommended

Located about 2 mi. north of downtown South Haven and 2 blocks from a private beach. Close to restaurants, bars, shopping and the Kal-Haven bike path.


Rates & Availability

West Wing Estates House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
Jun 3 2017 - Aug 26 2017
7 night minimum stay
4th of July
Jul 1 2017 - Jul 8 2017
8 night minimum stay
Flat fee
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $150
Refundable damage deposit $500

Reservations for the 2017 year will not be accepted until after 1/1/2017.

Reservation will be cancelled if deposit is not paid within 7 days of booking.
Weekend bookings during the summer will only be considered 30 days before the booking date.

**Changeover day is Saturday during summer months. **

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Contact Owner

You might like these similar properties