check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit

Lowcountry Home on Deep Water/Private dock/ covered pier head / ~

Sleeps14
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms3
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the VRBO checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview


Details
Property
house
Sleeps
14
Bedrooms
4
Bathrooms
3
Minimum Stay
3 - 7 nights

About the property

House, 4 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 3 Baths, (Sleeps 12-14)

**** PLEASE NOTE, THE DOCK, PIERHEAD, FLOATER, SEAWALL AND FIRE PIT SUFFERED EXTENSIVE DAMAGE THANKS TO HURRICANE MATTHEW. THE REPAIRS ARE SCHEDULED TO BE STARTED AS SOON AS POSSIBLE BUT AT THIS TIME WE DO NOT HAVE A COMPLETION DATE. ANY GUESTS THAT STAY PRIOR TO COMPLETION OF THE DOCK REPAIRS WILL RECEIVE A 15% DISCOUNT ON THE RENTAL RATE****

St. Helena Island, Eddings Point; 2,800 sq.ft. lowcountry style home on deep water with covered/equipped pier head and floater. We have 2 kayaks and 1 canoe, but feel free to bring your own water FF (fun floatation!) (any size, power or sail)

Comfortable & stylish living in this well-maintained vacation home directly on the water (ICW = Intra Coastal Waterway) with fabulous views!. Sleeps 7 upstairs, 3 private bedrooms downstairs, with 2 Kings, 1 Queen, 3 full baths. Large screened porch, outdoor 2 showers and large lawn w/ 5' fire pit. Northwest orientation = IDEAL SUNSETS! Porch/yard views of open Atlantic and Edisto/Morgan Islands. Decorated w/ stylish beach charm, guests love our long back porch and screened-in area to soak up the open water views. New steps going down to our private sandy beach, Very kid friendly with lots of games, puzzles & yard/sports gear to keep them occupied & happy for days. Please check out the recent reviews to see how our visitors have enjoyed our house.

290 ft. dock with electric and fresh water washdown shower large floater 9 ft. at low tide, sail boat friendly/large power ok. Roofed pier head/ table/chairs/fans/sink for fish cleaning :)

Master bedroom has a gorgeous waterfront view w/ huge, dedicated bath; 2nd bdrm also features a King bed & has adjacent bath; 3rd bdrm has Queen bed w/ many windows.

Upstairs makes an ideal area for kids+, has 2 twins, 2 full in 1 room w/ an adjoining TV/gaming area, including Xbox w/ niche window bed for the lucky kid - they enjoy their own full bath.

Kids & adults love our large fire pit - perfect for s'mores & hotdogs. Convenient new steps down to our sandy beach at low tide.

Directly on Morgan River across from Parrot Creek entrance to Intra-Coastal. Dataw Marina is 1.5 mile east by water (fuel/repairs. A quick 12 miles to Downtown Beaufort approx 30 min by boat.

Nearby boat launch ramp (1 mile). Great crabbing from the dock, fishing too, very private/quiet/12 ft. above high tide on bluff, unbelievable views! Bikes/kayacks.Fresh Shrimp 5 min right off the boat; frequent dolphin sightings. memorable sunsets, BRIGHT starry nights :)

This property is perfect for a fun, relaxing family get-away, plus, avid kayakers and transiting sailor/serious power boaters and families who want to get off the boat for week or two but keep the boat close at hand/or work on it undisturbed (Beaufort is a good sailing town with access to supplies and boaters services). Dish Network 'Hopper' system with DVR in family room, master bedroom and screened in porch. Hughes Satellite Wi-Fi and reasonable cell phone signal available throughout home for staying in touch with the outside world if absolutely necessary.! Or activate the 'Off' switches on the electronic devices if you have had enough and want to get away from it all, since this IS the place to do just that. :-) Ice machine for filling up those coolers.

Due to past issues the boat lift is not for guest use.

Beautiful Single-Family deepwater front Home which is well worth the visit.

More Details

Owner
Chris Bott
Member since: 2004
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
January 18, 2017

About Chris Bott

Love the water - had to be on deep water, on uniquely great property with a sensational view.

Hand-picked everything for our special, custom-built house.

It's THE perfect get-away spot when our family can enjoy it & happy to have it & share with other coastal enthusiasts -

Chris Bott purchased this house in 2005

Why Chris Bott chose Low Country & Resort Islands

This is a quiet, private, uncrowded lowcountry island setting,away from traffic and noise/congestion. great sailing/boating/beaches/kayaking/beachcombing. We love the history and natural aspects located in the super clean ACE basin area with Winter clamming/oystering and finding ancient artifacts such as spearpoints arrowheads/ petrified sharks. teeth

What makes this house unique

Directly on the water/Ocean ICW/ with a private beach,outdoor showers on pier head and house, very clean, and private/safe but with historic Beaufort, Forrest Gump filmed here :) 'mini Charleston'- 20 min; Hunting Island-Nationally top-rated beach island featuring gorgeous lighhouse, ready to climb for scenic coastal views & picnics; Charleston 75 min , Savannah 45 min.swimming off our dock floater/ tie-up your boat at our dock/ crabbing/ fishing/ great beaches closeby. Beautiful home, fully furnished/pine floors/ Huge book and DVD library, an ideal great place to spend time relaxing or actively. XBox too. 75 min from Charleston Airport/ Savannah Airport/ 10 min from town, great restaurants/ bars/ shopping, everything you would need and more!

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.9/5 -
(38 traveler reviews)

Lowcountry Home on Deep Water/Private dock/ covered pier head / ~
average rating of 4.9473686 based on 38 reviews
4

Fantastic house and setting

  • 4 of 5

The photos of this house did not do it justice. This house is fabulous. We had everything available to us that we needed...a very comfortable and relaxing atmosphere to spend time in. We hope to return when the dock is rebuilt.

  • Submitted: Jan 5, 2017
  • Stayed: Dec 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Welcoming, comfortable, felt like home!

  • 5 of 5

I will be completely honest, I was a little skeptical about renting a house sight unseen in a place I knew nothing about. I have rented/booked via the internet before and you can't always trust the pictures you see. In this particular case, I feel the pictures don't do the house justice! My family and I were completely at home there. The house has everything you could possibly need during your stay.

We did have one minor glitch when we first arrived but that was taken care of immediately by Chris. One week later we had the same issue, but once again it was quickly rectified.

This was a family vacation which included my parents who are in their 80's. The layout of the house made it easy for my folks to get around. Everything is on one floor other than the steps into the house which were not a problem for them.

We all slept incredibly well which usually never happens in a strange place. Everyone commented on how comfortable their beds were!

If you get bored, which won't happen, there are movies, books and games for all ages. We spent most of our time in the back yard on the porch enjoying the shade or on the dock. The view is magnificent. Sunrises and sunsets were amazing. We even got to enjoy a full moon on our stay. I spent much of my time photographing nature which is abundant there. I came back home with a huge box full of driftwood and shells from walking the shoreline during low tide.

I highly recommend this home for an enjoyable retreat. I do hope to come back soon.

  • Submitted: Aug 28, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Quiet, peaceful and relaxing get away !

  • 5 of 5

If you are looking for a quiet place to decompress from work, then this is the place. No noise except the sounds from the sea, wind, and the dolphins. You can sit on the dock at night and see more stars above the ocean horizon then you can imagine, so if you have a telescope, you should bring it. If you love catching and eating shellfish, this is the place. There are 3 crab traps that were always producing legal size blue crabs. I would recommend checking them during the day every 3 or 4 hours. I brought my cast net and also caught plenty of bait and large size eating shrimp every day. Also landed 3 small sharks (2 1/2- 3 feet ) using bait fish caught from at the end of the dock. My cast netting results for this week found the most shrimp between shore and the middle of the dock during high tides, and bait fish off the end of the dock during high tide. Sea trout was caught using shrimp on a float about 2 feet down right off the covered dock, and live bait fish fished on the bottom produced the shark catch from the end of the dock. Using shrimp on the bottom resulted in 7 sting rays. I personally would rather sit on the dock and watch the dolphins and birds, but for those that want to watch movies, they have a collection of dvd's that rivals Blockbuster ! If you are into the beach scene, then Hunting Island State Park is a must. The provided park pass at the house allows you full access to everything except for a modest $2 fee if you want to climb to the top of the light house. Both the north beach, and south beach access have restrooms and fresh water showers. The north beach has the light house and gift shop. The beach quality is equal on both beaches, the south tended to be less crowded then the north. So if you want access to food and drink supplies the north beach would be the better choice. If you want more privacy, then the south. We were able to find 4 shark teeth on the beach as well. The house is tastefully decorated to give you the low country sea side vibe and has lots of beautiful paintings, which if you examine closely, many were painted by one of the owner's mother. Also they have a very large reading library if you want to read a book. I brought my own books to read, but had I not, there was plenty of material to suit most reading appetites. So in conclusion, a quiet and relaxing get away.

  • Submitted: Aug 28, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

The perfect place to stay for families!!

  • 5 of 5

The pictures really don't do this place justice. It was more than we imagined. There was plenty of room for mine and my sister's family with room to spare. Everything we needed was there-fully stocked kitchen and on rainy days we had access to a huge selection of movies, books and games. The view was gorgeous and we enjoyed using the kayaks and crabbing from the dock. This is THE perfect place for a large group with so many things to do-or just do nothing! Thank you for sharing your beautiful home with us and we hope to stay again in the future!

  • Submitted: Aug 8, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Amazing!

  • 5 of 5

Cannot express how much we enjoyed our time in the South at this wonderful home on the beach. Everything was exactly as

described, except better. Both sunrise and sunsets from the porch are an extra that cannot be overlooked. The kitchen was well stocked

with cooking implements as well as a stock of herbs and spices. The beds were comfortable and although the temps were in the upper

90's the house was comfortably cool. Thank you for a wonderful experience.

  • Submitted: Jul 19, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Kentucky
4

So close to perfect

  • 4 of 5

This house & location couldn't be better. Breathtaking views! Dock setup is excellent. House is fabulous & very well done. Beds are good. Only 3 things kept me from giving 5 stars. Thermostat cannot be controlled by guests. Last night @ 1:00 a.m. the thermostat read 84. I spoke with Claire about this on Monday & she stated that the thermostat is controlled by her security cimpact because past renters had left doors open while running AC. I assured her that we were not doing this. She stated she would get back with me. On Thursday she did get back with me stating her guy said there had not been any complaints before & we needed to be sure we were not covering the vents. We were not. Upstairs loft TV was not connected to Dish. So the 2 13 year old boys traveling with us had no TV all week. Also the sliding doors going to front porch had pieces of wood on them to prevent them from being opened withis note stating the doors were not working. Access to the front porch view was important to my elderly mother traveling with us due to her poor health.

  • Submitted: Jun 11, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you Annie for your review and we are sorry that you were unable to give us 5 stars but we much appreciate the 4 star review that you did give us. Let us respond to your three complaints in order: 1) The thermostat. The thermostats can be controlled by guests with limitations. In the past we have had some horrendous summer electricity bills due to the fact that it is easy for guests to leave exterior doors open when transitioning from the indoor living space to the outdoor living space. We know because we have done it.! In order to help control costs and keep them affordable for all guests, we installed an 'Alarm.com' system which would shut down both HVAC systems if any exterior door or window was left open. You should have been advised of this limitation. In reviewing the records for the day you raised the temperature concern, we discovered that the kitchen door was not fully closed so the thermostats on the 1st and 2nd floor shut down from 4:50 pm on June-10 until 6:53 am on June-11. The temperatures in the house rose steadily to above 79 degrees F on the 2nd floor at 6:35 pm and above 79 degrees F on the 1st floor at 7:52 pm, reaching 84 degrees F by early morning. At 6:53 am on June-11 the kitchen door was closed, both HVAC units turned back on and by mid morning the house was back to 75 degrees F on both floors. 2) Satellite TV upstairs. This is a good point and we will explore the options with Dish Net. Thank you for bringing this up. 3) Two Exterior Sliding Doors not working. Due to the harsh ocean environment maintenance is always an issue on the Beach House. The rollers on the bottom of 2 exterior sliding doors have rusted, will not roll and the 'fix' involves the removal of these doors from their frames. In order to avoid any inconvenience to guests we are scheduling this work for when it will have no impact, most likely in the fall. Notes have been placed on the inoperative doors advising guests of the problem. Annie, we are sorry that we could not earn a 5 star review from you but we hope that you will return to our 'piece-of-heaven' and give us another opportunity.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
10 Miles
Lady's Island
Nearest Golf
15 Miles
Harbor Island / Fripp Island
Nearest Restaurant
4 Miles
Foolish Frog
Nearest Beach
12 Miles
Hunting Island
Nearest Point of Interest
Morgan Island
Nearest Point of Interest
Animal farm
Nearest Point of Interest
Hunting Island
Car: recommended

great swimming from floater/ roofed pier head with hammock, fans, fresh water shower, boat access to tie up on dock, sink, deepwater 9 feet at low tide

Nautical: N32 degrees, 27.021' West 080 degrees, 32.093

Also, nearby farms that offer fresh fruits/vegetables - even 'YOU PICK' options :)

Photos

Rates & Availability

Saint Helena Island House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Winter 2016
Nov 26 2016 - Mar 10 2017
3 night minimum stay
$250
$1,700
 
Notes: Rates are based on 5 guests; add $5 per night, per additional guest
 
Spring 2017
Mar 11 2017 - Jun 2 2017
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
$2,300
 
Notes: Rates are based on 5 guests; add $10 per night, per additional guest
 
Summer 2017
Jun 3 2017 - Sep 8 2017
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
$2,600
 
Notes: Rates are based on 5 guests; add $10 per night, per additional guest
 
Fall 2017
Sep 9 2017 - Nov 28 2017
Changeover Day: Saturday
3 night minimum stay
$330
$2,100
 
Notes: Rates are based on 5 guests; add $6 per night, per additional guest
 
Winter 2017
Nov 29 2017 - Mar 9 2018
Changeover Day: Saturday
3 night minimum stay
$275
$1,900
 
Notes: Rates are based on 5 guests; add $6 per night, per additional guest

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $160 + Tax
Pet Fee $150 + Tax
Property Damage Protection $59
Tax Rate 10.0%

CHECK OUT TIME IS 10 AM
1) We do accept credit cards but there will be a 3% service charge.
2) We reserve the right to charge extra for public holidays or special events.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Contact Me Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Saint Helena Island House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 2700 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Beachfront ...
  • Oceanfront ...
  • Waterfront ...
Theme:
  • Family
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Fireplace ...
  • Fitness Room / Equipment ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer ...
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wood Fireplace ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Room
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - Master - toilet , tub , shower , double sink with pine floors, lovely window & spacious!
    Bathroom 3 - Upstairs - toilet , combination tub/shower , Has nice window & lovely light
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower , Pine floors
  • Master features his/her sinks / Garden tub / shower / pine floors / nice window / spacious
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 14
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king , Master has sweeping view of water, gorgeous morning sunrise
    Bedroom 2 - 1 king , Front guest also feature King bed & nice front yard view
    Bedroom 3 - 1 queen , Has a Queen bed featuring 4 windows for lots of light/views
    Bedroom 4 - 2 double , 2 twin/ single , Sleeps total of 6, primarily used for children/juniors
    Convertible bed(s) - 1 child bed , 1 sleep sofa /futon , Features a cozy window niche bed, kids LOVE this! :)
  • King size beds (2), Queen size Beds (1), Double Beds (2), Twin or Single Beds (2), Child Beds (1) Window niche bed, perfect for juniors or smallish ones, Sleep Sofa or Futons (1)
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player ...
  • Game Room ...
  • Games ...
  • Music Library ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo ...
  • Television ...
  • Toys ...
  • VCR
  • Video Game Console ...
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Bicycles ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Gazebo ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Water Sports Gear ...
  • 2 bicycles
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome ...
  • limited accessibility ...
  • non smoking only ...
  • pets considered ...
Onsite Services:
  • Concierge
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • marina
  • museums
  • restaurants
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • horseshoes
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • snorkeling/diving
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Neighborhood roadside animal farm w/ several exotics, can even feed these friendly, furry creatures w/ arrangements of owner, memorable & fun! Tons of books, puzzles, games, even a poker table, 5' fire pit, crab trap on pierhead, 2 hammocks HUGE library, 300+ DVD's; Separate lg capacity ice machine- plenty ice for coolers!

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties