Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927


Bedrooms 1
Space 500 sq. ft.
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 2 nights


About the property

1 Bedroom, 1 Bath, Washer/Dryer, Sleeps a Couple or a Family of 4

Welcome to Rocky Top Cabin at Monarch. Our little rustic and cozy cabin has all the modern conveniences. Located high up in Colorado's Rocky Mountains in the Historic Mining Town of Garfield Township, aka Monarch, it is a little get- a-way from the big city.

This year-round charming cabin/chalet is great for a couple, as a honeymoon cottage, or for a family with two small children. However, Rocky Top Cabin would be uncomfortable for 4 adults, and/or for older adults (65+) due to steep stairs to the loft bedroom, or for those who have to get up multiple times at night for the bathroom.

Our cabin is pet free and smoke free inside and outside. Please bring slippers or thick socks as we are also shoe-free inside.

Once inside you are greeted into a small living room with cathedral ceiling, open dining area and a completely equipped kitchen and an updated bathroom. The Cabin has one bedroom with a queen bed in an enclosed upstairs loft, and in the living room there is a full sized Sofa Sleeper suitable for one or two children. We also supply you with free Satellite TV, long distance in the USA, and WiFi. There is also a washer and dryer for those who choose to stay longer than several days.

In winter you are only 4 miles by car (5 to 10 minutes depending on road conditions)) to Monarch Ski and Snowboard Area, a hidden gem with 57+ runs, all natural powder snow skiing, snow boarding and views unparalleled atop the Continental Divide. Within several hundred yards of Rocky Top there's a Snowmobile Rental shop. Several miles away there's a sled dog outfitter in Monarch Park if you'd like to do the "mush-mush" on sleds pulled by dogs. Cross country skiing and snow shoeing are possible pretty much from the front door of Rocky Top Cabin.

In the summer, have a cup of coffee as you sit on the deck, enjoy the views, the fresh mountain air and listen to the rush of the South Fork, a tributary of the Arkansas River just across the street. Inside in the cold evening play board games, read a book, listen to relaxing music, or watch TV.

You have mountains all around that can be explored and the San Isabel National Forest surrounds the little town of Monarch. So whether you like hiking, mountain biking, gold panning, skiing, sledding or checking out old ghost towns it is just out your door.

In nearby Salida you can enjoy many fine restaurants and shops, fishing, whitewater rafting, horseback riding, swimming in the hot spring pools and miniature golf. There is so much to do and something for everyone that you'll probably want to come back during one of our other 3 seasons.

Don't forget fall with the most beautiful colors you will ever see. It is breathtaking.

A couple of caveats: Garfield Township, aka Monarch, is located between two mountains. Hwy 50 also runs thru the mountains and yes, you will hear the noise from trucks and motorcycles.

More Details

Property Manager
Dan Jones
Member since: 2013
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
March 17, 2018

About Dan Jones

Dan and Lillie Jones are the new owners of Rocky Top Cabin. We've lived in the Salida area for more than 27 years. Our children went to school in Salida, and Lillie and I continue to live and work here year-round.

We live just west of Poncha Springs at the bottom of Monarch Pass on a 35 acre llama ranch. During the latter half of the summer Dan offers day and overnight llama treks for families and couples and is usually accompanied by his wife, Lillie. Dan also works as a volunteer camp director with inner city children from metro Denver for the first part of the summer.

For the past 10 years we've also owned and managed Spruce Ridge Guest Cabin ( Like Rocky Top it is a modern guest cabin with all the conveniences. Located on a county maintained road our cabin sleeps up to 4 people and is also pet free and smoke free inside and outside. The cabin looks out onto national forest and has three decks where you can listen to the soothing sounds of Little Cochetopa Creek. Its elevation is about 1,000 feet lower than Rocky Top Cabin.

Dan Jones purchased this cabin in 2016

Why Dan Jones chose Monarch

We love Colorado and spend many of our vacations in this wonderful state. We enjoy the four seasons and all that this area has to offer. We also cross country ski, downhill ski and snowshoe. One of our favorites is to cross country ski up Old Monarch Pass on a full moon. With the moon-lit snow covered landscape the views atop the Continental Divide are indescribable! During the summer we enjoy hiking, and white water rafting especially if one of our two grown children (former raft guides) are guiding.

What makes this cabin unique

Only 4 miles and 5 to 10 minutes to the ski slopes depending on traffic. You can cross country ski or snow shoe from Rocky Top. During the summer there are many hiking trails. Middle Fork Trail and the Boss Lake Trail across the highway from Rocky Top Cabin are especially beautiful from mid-July into early August where the state flower Columbine abounds! Salida is close by and on weekends there are numerous bands playing at restaurants and bars as well as other entertainment. During the summer there is the Salida/Aspen Concert Series featuring world-renown musicians. As if that's not enough there are numerous developed hot springs (the hottest hot springs in the state!) throughout the area with natural, sulfur-free water.


Monarch Cabin Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cabin
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 500 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM / Check-out: 10:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 4
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome ...
  • pets not allowed ...
  • non smoking only ...
Location Type:
  • Mountain View
  • Rural
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Fitness Room / Equipment ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower , Towels, soap, shampoo/conditioner and body lotion provided
  • Newly Renovated with tub and shower located on first floor.
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 4
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
  • Bedroom is on second floor loft and accessible by steep stairs. Older people (65+) should look elsewhere for a vacation rental.
  • DVD Player ...
  • Games ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo ...
  • Television
  • Video Games ...
  • Deck / Patio
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Ski & Snowboard ...
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
  • Heated Pool
  • Hot Tub ...
  • Indoor Pool
  • Sauna ...
  • churches
  • festivals
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • horseback riding
  • miniature golf
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • ice skating
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • racquetball
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • snowmobiling
  • spelunking
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • whitewater rafting
Dan and Lillie Jones are the new owners of Rocky Top Cabin and are committed to the same level of service the previous owner provided since 2013. We also own another vacation rental #89314 located about 12 miles east of Rocky Top Cabin on our 35 acre llama ranch and surrounded by national forest west of nearby Poncha Springs and 3 miles south of US Hwy 50 on a county maintained road. Spruce Ridge Guest Cabin is comparably priced. It is located at 8,450 feet elevation if Rocky Top Cabin is too high for you.


Excellent! 4.4/5 -
(43 traveler reviews)

62% Complete
27% Complete
4% Complete
0% Complete
4% Complete
average rating of 4.4418607 based on 43 reviews

Fully equipped and well located

  • 5 of 5

The property was clean and ready for us on arrival. The house rules were fair and easy to follow. The heating worked well and was overall a very cozy experience.

  • Submitted: Mar 29, 2017
  • Stayed: March 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We're glad Rocky Top Cabin met your expectations. We hope you'll come back.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Great little cabin!

  • 5 of 5

Great cozy place up in the mountains. The stairs are steep, but we had a fantastic stay. Nice to have the lodge and skiing so close.

  • Submitted: Feb 24, 2018
  • Stayed: February 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We're glad you had a great time skiing Monarch and that you found the cabin to be cozy and met your needs. We're putting in another handrail opposite the existing one for those who find the stairs steep. Thanks for your great input. Dan, owner
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Excellent stay

  • 5 of 5

This was a great place to stay and head up to Monarch for a couple of days of skiing. The cabin had all that we needed and Dan was most helpful with answers to my questions. Would stay here again!

  • Submitted: Feb 12, 2018
  • Stayed: February 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you! We hope you'll come back again the next time you visit Monarch Ski Resort.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Not a good place for folks who use the bathroom at night & want to sleep in a bed.

  • 1 of 5

We didn’t enjoy our stay & wouldn’t give the place even 1 in 5 stars! Bedroom is up a narrow steep & in my opinion dangerous stairs & the bathroom in downstairs. Not a safe or easy way to spend the night. We almost left before the first night, but my wife suggested we just sleep on the pullout bed. The pullout bed is not acceptable for anyone or anything it’s like sleeping on multiple pieces of steel pipe! There were multiple WiFi codes offered & none of them worked! We left after the first night there was no way to sleep nor communicate & in no way would I recommend this place to anyone!!

  • Submitted: Feb 1, 2018
  • Stayed: January 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We're sorry about your disappointing stay at our guest cabin. Early on in our cabin description we mentioned the steep stairs and sleeping in the loft and the problem that poses for those who have to get up multiple times at night to use the bathroom. When we purchased the cabin last year we immediately added more support to stabilize the stairs and added stair treads for everyone's safety. We also know that sleeper sofas are not always comfortable for everyone and that's why we purchased a more upscale sleeper sofa less than 2 years ago. Hopefully you'll come back to the area and stay at one of the larger lodges in Garfield for $250 to $400/night vs. our $139/night.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Cozy Mountain Retreat for Two

  • 5 of 5

My husband and I stayed at the Rocky Top cabin over New Year's. It was absolutely perfect for the two of us. The kitchen and bathroom were well stocked, the living room sofa was new and super comfortable, the 5 minute access to Monarch Mountain was excellent, and overall the cabin was perfectly spacious for the two of us. The stairs up to the bedroom were steep, but were not a problem at all for us (solid railing and non-slip strips on every step). We would stay here again in a heartbeat.

  • Submitted: Jan 28, 2018
  • Stayed: December 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your comments. We agree that the stairs to the loft are steep and had we built the chalet would have made the stairs less steep---that's why we suggest that this guest cabin, although the least expensive in Garfield, is probably not the best choice for folks who have problems with steepness. We do hope you'll come back again and enjoy the Monarch area in the winter, or the summer. It is beautiful year-round.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Lexington, SC

PERFECT for a cozy and romantic escape!

  • 4 of 5

The girlfriend and I stayed over Christmas and it was perfect! Only downside was the fireplace was in the process of being fixed, so it didn't work. The rest was great! There's a new HDTV, the baseboard heaters keep it toasty, and the cabin is just the right size for two. A family of four could do it, but it would be tight. Monarch is about 10 minutes up the road, and there's a snowmobile tour company about 200 yards up the road--we took a 3 hour tour and had a wonderful time!

Some things:

- The cabin is leaky--the baseboard heating keeps the drafts at bay, but we didn't draw the curtains in an effort to make it easy on the heating, since the fireplace was broken.

- The hot water gets HOT, and the tank is small. Long showers can empty the tank if you don't mix the hot and cold right.

- No dishwasher or disposal, so if you are planning on cooking in, be prepared!

- Salida is about 20 minutes away and has a huge Safeway with great selection of food.

Overall it was a wonderful time! Thanks!

  • Submitted: Dec 26, 2017
  • Stayed: December 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your positive comments. We didn't list the new pellet stove on the VRBO description because we didn't want to disappoint our guests. Once the stove is fully installed the drafts should be minimal in the 40 year old chalet. And unfortunately because the house is located in the County we cannot have a disposal. We were glad to hear that overall you had a good experience and hope you'll come back to Colorado again.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Monarch Mountain
Station de ski de Monarch
Nearest Airport
100 Miles
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Nearest Barpub
500 Metres
Monarch Lodge
Nearest Golf
18 Miles
Nearest Motorway
300 Metres
Hwy 50
Nearest Restaurant
500 Metres
Monarch Lodge
Nearest Ski
4 Miles
Monarch Ski and Snowboard Area
Car: necessary

Rocky Top Cabin is located 5 minutes/4 miles from Monarch Ski & Snowboarding Resort. We are a 4 minute walk from Monarch Mountain Lodge where there is a restaurant and bar, and in-lodge recreation facilities including heated pool, hot tub, sauna, game room, fitness center which can be enjoyed by purchasing an all-day pass for $12.


Rates & Availability

Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $200
Tax Rate 7.3%

Holiday Rates. For Christmas Holidays (December 20 - January 2) and Spring Break during March (10 - 25) there is an additional $10 person/night charge for up to 4 people at Rocky Top Cabin.

Rocky Top Cabin is suitable for one couple or a family of 4 with children. There is one queen sized bed in the loft, and one sleeper sofa. Two couples are not recommended.

Manager's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.

You might like these similar properties