Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Lodge Cabin, Stunning Panoramic Mt. Views, 4BR/3BA, GameRm, SPA, Blue Ridge 4 M

Sleeps8
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms3
Space 2,000 sq. ft.
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Overview

About the property

Lodge Cabin, 2,000 Sq.Ft. 4Bed 3Bath Guest House, Game Rm, Hot Tub, Screen Deck

Mi Cielo Lodge is nestled in the heart of the Blue Ridge Mountains of Northwest Georgia, just a short trip from Atlanta's Northern suburbs.

Mi Cielo is not simply our vacation home, its a manifestation of our hard work, love and dreams. To us Mi Cielo is the perfect place to exit the pace of the modern world to enjoy life with our family & friends in the wholesomeness of nature's beauty.

Translated from Spanish, Mi Cielo means 'My Heaven'. A dear friend of ours helped us arrive at the name on a early visit to the lodge, we thank her for that inspiration and we hope to share our little piece of heaven with you sometime very soon!

Mi Cielo is perched high on a private mountain ridge overlooking stunning unobstructed views of the Blue Ridge Mountains and surrounded by densely wooded private acreage around the house.

The roads are well maintained with ample gravel and grading, passable with most any vehicle year round. As images indicate we get light snow in the winters. Pets welcomed.

It's our earnest goal to ensure all our guests enjoy an easy booking & payment process, quality stay experience, cozy mountain home comforts and stunning views.

When visiting Mi Cielo Lodge, you will experience lush forest verdure visible from every room and patio. While Mi Cielo is high on the ridge that affords its magnificent views, the road is well maintained and accessible by car. Hemptown Creek runs below and can be heard flowing effortlessly on quiet nights.

Sit comfortably on various furnished screened decks as you take in the lush trees, magnificent forest verdure and stunning panoramic mountain views. Or perhaps watch the setting sun cast its vibrant colors along the mountain ridges to the South and East from the hot tub. Perhaps relax with a beverage of choice in the rocking chairs lined along the covered breeze way deck overlooking truly inspiring mountain views. If that doesn't fit the mood, try a pleasant swing or head inside to enjoy the amenities the lodge has to offer.

Among the amenities are a fully appointed kitchen with island and eating area with seating for eight, relaxing great room with wood burning fireplace and HDTV with surround sound, a second family room in guest house also with HDTV with surround sound and Wii gaming console. Additionally, in our guest house you can enjoy a wood burning fire place, pool table, air hockey, dart board, mini-bar table and clothes washer and dryer.

Mi Cielo comfortably sleeps a maximum of eight people. With 3 BR & 2 BA in the Main Lodge and a 1 BR & 1 BA below the game room in the Guest Lodge.

Reminiscent of the Adirondack mountain towns of Northern New York visited often in our youth, the quaint mountain town of Blue Ridge is literally minutes away, as are numerous access points to Blue Ridge Lake including Blue Ridge Marina. The quaint charm of downtown shops, eateries and activities provide a truly memorable experience for individuals and families. Of course the area is well known for its exceptional fishing and year round seasonal produce strawberries, blue berries, peaches, apples and of course beautiful fall mountain foliage.

More Details

Owner
Owner/Property Manager
Member since: 2013
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
June 17, 2017

About Owner/Property Manager

Originally from the Upstate Region of New York State near the Adirondak Mountains, Kathy & Matt met in a geology course as part of our business degrees Accounting & Economics. After college we settled into corporate careers, traveling and relocating broadly including moves to Raleigh, Tampa, Cleveland and Atlanta. We were married in 1997 and moved to Atlanta a year later in 1998. We've lived in Alpharetta, Georgia longer than anywhere lese in our lives and consider ourselves Southerners now! We are fortunate to have two beautiful and kind children Allyson, 14, and Matthew, 11, both of whom are very active in school activities, educational and athletic pursuits. Kathy loves being a wonderful wife & mother, traveling, enoying our mountain home, decorating and is a true wine enthusiast! Matt enjoys coaching kids sports, golf, fishing and of course maintaining two homes!

Owner/Property Manager purchased this cabin in 2013

Why Owner/Property Manager chose Northwest High Country

Mi Cielo Lodge is nestled in the heart of the Blue Ridge Mountains of Northwest Georgia, just a short trip from Atlanta's Northern suburbs. Mi Cielo is not simply our vacation home, its a manifestation of our love and dreams. To us Mi Cielo is a place to exit the modernity of world to enjoy life with each other and our children in nature. Translated from Spanish, Mi Cielo means my heaven, we hope to share our little piece of heaven with you!

What makes this cabin unique

Lodge rests high on a private mountain ridge surrounded by dense forests. While home is in mid 1970's development, cabins are set far apart on lots of several acres. Our lodge was built in the 1970's and complete renovated with modern kitchen and amenities in 2007. Forests are dense offering wonderful privacy. Home hits high on our private mountain ridge and offers inspiring 180 degree mountain views from the south east to south west. Great proximity to downtown Blue Ridge, Lake BR access points, fishing and more. Owners sincerely care about the quality of your experience. We make every effort to keep the house clean, to ensure all amenities are operating correctly, and that the home is generally organized and thoughtful for your stay. In return we simply ask that you enjoy your time, that you take care with our belongings and that you report issues.

Amenities

Mineral Bluff Cabin Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cabin
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 2000 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 8
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • pets considered ...
  • children welcome ...
  • non smoking only ...
Location Type:
  • Mountain View ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Fireplace ...
  • Fitness Room / Equipment ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wood Stove ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster ...
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower , jetted tub
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , combination tub/shower
  • All bathrooms are clean and appointed with cozy new towels/high quality. All 3 bathrooms have either a shower or bath/shower combination. And have natural slate and laurel treatments to give you that cozy mountain feeling. At present tubs are not jetted, we will be making some upgrades - for now enjoy the jetted hot tub instead! There is now a towel warmer in the main house bathroom upstairs!
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 3 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 4 - 1 murphy bed , Bedroom 4 is a pull out couch bed in guest house family room
    Bedroom 1 - 1 queen , Main House - Master On Main
  • All bedrooms are appointed with windows offering either mountain or wooded views, ceiling fans, Ipod alarm clocks, dressers, closets, reading lamps and HIGH thread count/quality sheets, towels, pillows and blankets. A small TV & DVD can be moved to bedroom of choice for nighttime movies.
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • DVD Player ...
  • Game Room ...
  • Games ...
  • Music Library ...
  • Pool Table ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo ...
  • Television ...
  • Toys ...
  • Video Games ...
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Balcony ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Golf ...
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill ...
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • wheelchair inaccessible ...
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub ...
Attractions:
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • winery tours
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • gambling casinos
  • horseback riding
  • horseshoes
  • miniature golf
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • shuffleboard
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hot air ballooning
  • hunting
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • pier fishing
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • skiing
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • snowboarding
  • snowmobiling
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • whitewater rafting
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Check-In time 4:00 PM EST Check-out time 10:00 AM EST

Reviews

Excellent! 4.5/5 -
(34 traveler reviews)

Lodge Cabin, Stunning Panoramic Mt. Views, 4BR/3BA, GameRm, SPA, Blue Ridge 4 M
average rating of 4.529412 based on 34 reviews
5

Amazing

  • 5 of 5

Amazing cabin everything was perfect

  • Submitted: Jun 12, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Jasmin: We appreciate the review! We work very hard to make sure that the lodge is in tip top condition, well stocked with quality items and furnishings and that all communications facilitate the renting experience for our customers. Prior to your stay we installed brand new washer and dryer equipment with greater capacity. This enables us to turn the lodge over more quickly while still ensuring that all linens are thoroughly washed & sanitized for subsequent renter stays. This capability enables us to offer early check times on a more routine basis, we were happy to facilitate an early check in time for your visit! Additionally we added a new new sleeper sofa in the family room of the main house and are planning upgrades to the patio furniture on our next visit. You mentioned that you will be referring our home to friends, if they mention you by name I will offer them our return renter discount off our seasonal rate. Thank your for staying, Kathy & Matt G.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
3

Pros & cons. Views & hot tub were great, very relaxing!

  • 3 of 5

This property has pros and cons. Tough to find the property using GPS, it takes you on a long, winding and treacherous route. You must have all-wheel or 4-wheel drive vehicle. Do yourself a favor and use the shortcut to Dividing Ridge Rd off Cutcane Rd!!! Patio & patio furniture were dirty and lots of cobwebs, a/c didn't work, no screens on windows, sofa and one of the two chairs have seen better days, beds were creaky, not very comfortable. Extra linens were musty from being in storage bins. Definitely has need pre-check-in cleaning of porch and linens, and furniture updates. All that aside, the separate cabin for kids (of any age) to play was nice, the hot tub was inviting and somewhat privately situated with great views. Kitchen is very well appointed and well-stocked. With a little more attention to detail, this could easily be a 4-star property.

  • Submitted: May 30, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Pam: I wish you had called, texted, emailed or in any other way communicated your difficulties finding the lodge. As I stated in email and in our discussions prior to your rental, including the morning of your arrival, NOT to rely solely on GPS, but to print and follow the written directions I provided on two occasions, plus copied and texted to you prior to your departure. As I indicated on Friday morning, I stopped into the lodge to check on things before your arrival. My wife and I hosed off the deck near the house and spa removing most of the webs and pollen. It is a constant battle with pollen and pine needles and inspects at a mountain home, something we also disclose on the listing. It sounds like your frustration over the directions complication angered you and we are sorry that you had difficulty. I think you could have simplified matters by following my verbal and written advice and perhaps calling for help. Neither my wife or I own a four wheel drive vehicle and it's not necessary to travel to the lodge, but following the easier route we provide is advisable. I,m troubled by your comments about uncomfortable beds and musty smelling linens. We wash all linens after each rental and recently purchased new washer & dryer for that purpose. To be sure I investigated, re-washing all linens, but could not detect a musty smell. I also returned removed down toppers. It would helped if you reported AC unit failure during your stay as required by rental agreement. I've confirmed that there was a power outage during your stay as you know. A tree fell on electrical line and the power company fixed next day. All that was necessary was to turn the breaker off and on and AC started right up. Had you called, we could have fixed the AC immediately and directed you to screens available for your use in master closet. All this would have saved us from your opening french doors off kitchen and leaving them wide open on your departure. It would have been nice if you called us rather than leaving those doors open for a week. (There is a note on the door not to open because closing mechanism is tricky) Regarding screens we don't like to obstruct the gorgeous mountain views with screens, so we have the mini-slider type in the closet for renters use for fresh air. I believe we could have quickly resolved the AC and screens had you given us that opportunity. I am so sorry for these issues regardless, most of which were exacerbated by not informing us
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great venue for a relaxing girls weekend!

  • 5 of 5

Four old school friends got together for a 4 day weekend in Blue Ridge. The cabin was the perfect venue, impeccably clean but rustic and relaxing. The cabin had everything we needed to prepare delicious meals and we enjoyed cocktails on the expansive covered porch. The owner was nice enough to drive up and address an issue with the spa which likely lost power during a previous storm. The game room was a great place to plug in our lap top and play 80's tunes. Bedrooms were super comfy and all the cabin's amenities were outstanding... We're planning our next trip!

  • Submitted: May 2, 2017
  • Stayed: Apr 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Amy: I am so glad that your party enjoyed your girls weekend in Blue Ridge and stay at Mi Cielo Lodge! It was great meeting you all on Saturday and hopefully you were able to use some of the restaurant tips I provided : )! I am so glad that I was able to get power restored to the spa enabling use that evening, it was my pleasure to drive up from Atlanta to address the issue. I read more about breaker issues online and come to find out that power surges that trip breakers on spa's are quite typical. Any way I am glad we were able to reset the breaker to restore power to spa. I am very pleased you had a nice time reminiscing with friends. I hope you come again, you all are very nice people. Keep in mind, we do offer a return rate discount for past renters. Matt & Kathy
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Stunning views, beautiful, cozy cabin

  • 5 of 5

We came to the Mountains of North Georgia for the first time from Upstate NY to stay at MiCielo Lodge. We found both the cabin and the area unequalled. We stayed in April on our spring break. The weather was beautiful and we enjoyed our Easter holiday at the cabin. This cabin is very cozy, and well appointed. The kitchen is fully stocked, there is nothing you could want for. New apppliances, nice gas stove, brand new washer and dryer. Plenty of room in the three queen bedrooms. Having 3 full baths was a major asset. We loved the rockers on the breezeway with such gorgeous mountain views. My 13 year old son chose to sleep on the pull out sofa in the guest lodge and actually commented on how comfortable it was. Unlike the reviews below, we had no problems at all with the Wi-Fi. I worked remotely and had no issues with speed, even with my son constantly streaming. We also found the hot tub/spa to be in perfect working order. No issues at all with heating it up to 102 (104 is too hot!). The owners have equipped the place for families/teens. With pool and air hockey, dart board, stereos, Wi-Fi, all kinds of games, TV's and electronics. There are a huge collection of movies, c-d's, games of all kinds. I loved that the adults could have space while the kids could enjoy the guest quarters/game room. It made for a great vacation for all.

The town of Blue Ridge is not to be missed. Great shopping, restaurants and fun things to do. We also enjoyed the Blue Ridge Railway and Adventure Trails horseback riding. Joe's BBQ was yummy. Black Sheep had wonderful, upscale dining. Any thing you could need is very accessible. Ingles grocery, home depot, Walmart all within a quick drive. But once you are at the cabin, you feel like you are away from it all!

We were able to enjoy the outdoor fire-pit one evening. The benches around the pit provide adequate seating but renters might consider bringing a few folding chairs for easier-on-the-butt relaxation.

We also found that the welcome packet was informational and helpful. We understand that we are renting someone's home and appreciate the helpful tips and very reasonable requests to orient you to the home. Matt and Kathy (owners) were more than accommodating and seem to be very interested in ensuring a comfortable stay.

  • Submitted: Apr 23, 2017
  • Stayed: Apr 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Barbara: Thank you for the detailed review! Detailed input really helps us focus on what matters most to renters and act to make our total rental experience better. I really appreciate how you mentioned that we seem to care about making renting with us an awesome experience. As some earlier renter reviews state there have been items of concern to renters and I am so appreciative that you noticed that we do care about the experience and act to resolve any issues that are raised. I also appreciate how you noticed the new dishwasher, washer and dryer and new curtains. We do invest in the property to ensure everything is working and good condition. Please come stay with us again and remember we do offer return renter discounts! Keep in touch, I am planning a Mi Cielo Facebook page!
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Beautiful place to stay! Would definitely stay here again!

  • 5 of 5

Beautiful cabin, clean, and great views!

  • Submitted: Mar 5, 2017
  • Stayed: Mar 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks Jonathan! We enjoyed having you at the lodge come again!
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
3

Beautiful cabin but customer service goes a long way!

  • 3 of 5

The ONLY reason I did not rate 5 stars was due to customer service. The cabin was beautiful, clean, and well stocked in the kitchen (pots/pans/utensils). Views were amazing, especially when sitting on the outdoor swing. Good fun for everyone with the billiards and air hockey table. I would suggest that you bring extra paper towels, toilet paper and trash bags, however. We were also given a detailed packet of instructions to prepare for our arrival. Even after following, the hot tub stayed at the same temp of 96, never reaching 103 degrees. We were willing to overlook that small inconvenience in 30 degree weather. However, what really disappointed us was the owner's response when we couldn't get the WiFi to work. After making sure I was using the correct modem and multiple failed attempts, his first response was "It works you are doing something wrong." He then went on to say previous renters didn't have any issues. Well, it could have been they never tried using the WiFi. Because when we compared the password on the modem to the password included in his packet, we discovered that he failed to include one little character that made a huge difference! He did apologize after we made him aware of his error. Unfortunately, it still left a sour impression. To that old saying, "the customer is always right"..... most times, in this case we were. Overall, beautiful place but customer service definitely enhances the experience.

  • Submitted: Feb 23, 2017
  • Stayed: Feb 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Tanea: So pleased you found the lodge clean, beautiful, with great views and well stocked. It was also great that you were able to get connected to the WIFI. We have two modems at the house and apparently you were using the correct password for the incorrect network. To eliminate confusion the second WIFI network was removed. As for the hot tub enjoyed it myself this evening at 104 degrees. As stated, there is an ECO mode that stands for Economy and this mode does not heat as high as the STD mode. The instruction guide indicates to ensure the spa is in the STD mode to enjoy at higher temperature. I am pleased that we were able to get you connected after our conversation/text.
Did you find this review helpful?
2 3

Map

Nearest Airport
100 Miles
Atlanta Hartsfield International
Nearest Barpub
4 Miles
Blue Ridge
Nearest Golf
15 Miles
Union Bay
Nearest Train
5 Miles
Blue Ridge Senic Railway
Nearest Motorway
2 Miles
Highway 60/515
Nearest Restaurant
5 Miles
Blue Ridge
Nearest Ski
150 Miles
North Carolina
Nearest Beach
5 Miles
Lake Blue Ridge
Car: necessary

Blue Ridge Mountains, Chattahoochee National Forest, Lake Blue Ridge, Aska Adventure Area, Taccoa River, Nottely Lake, McCaysville, Morganton, Blairsville, Cohutta Wilderness Area, Chattahoochee National Forrest, Ellijay, Murphy NC Casino, NC Ski Area

Photos

Rates & Availability

Mineral Bluff Cabin Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
Summer Season
May 1 2017 - Sep 3 2017
3 night minimum stay
$185
$1,200
$4,800
 
 
Peak Season
Sep 4 2017 - Mar 4 2018
3 night minimum stay
$195
$1,300
$4,900
 
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
$175
$1,130
$4,500
 

Additional information about rental rates

Pet Fee $35 + Tax
Refundable damage deposit $275
Cleaning Fee $125 + Tax
Tax Rate 12.0%

Owners are flexible, we are willing to negotiate special pricing terms as specific circumstances warrant, e.g. rates for longer stays. All stays including a US holiday will be priced at peak rate, even if dates fall in off season: New Years, MLK, Valentines, Presidents, St.Pats, Easter, Mothers, Memorial, Fathers, Independenace, Labor, Columbus, Holloween, Veterans, Thanksgiving & Christmas.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
Contact Owner
Available
Unavailable

You might like these similar properties