Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

106 Bay Avenue, Relaxing Beachfront Home In A Family Friendly Town

Sleeps16
Bedrooms 5
Bathrooms3
Property type house
Minimum Stay 7 nights

Overview

About the property

5 Bedroom, 3 Full Bath, Sleeps 16

A place to 'unplug' from the norm and embrace the old, the peaceful, the relaxing. Return to a simpler time, to a time of playing outside and sitting on front porches as a family. Or runaway to connect with yourself or friends. This home is the healing place for the soul.


Owner
Angelina Albrecht
Member since: 2013
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 2 days
Response rate:
90%
Calendar last updated:
August 29, 2017

About Angelina Albrecht

We are a family that is about family. We felt so blessed by our two relaxing and joyfilled vacations here in Cape Charles that we did not want our time to end so we purchased this home. Everyone who has been here feels the same. It is something peaceful and different about this home, this town and this area. We know that you will feel the same.

Angelina Albrecht purchased this house in 2013

Why Angelina Albrecht chose Eastern Shore

We fell in love with the bay, the calm water and quiet cozy beach, and the town of Cape Charles with it's old fashioned charm, laid back feeling, and by gone ways.

What makes this house unique

When we are not enjoying one of the many activities around town, like live music, a parade, a festival, a talent show or play or enjoying a great meal at one of the many restaurants, we find ourselves gathering on the front porch just as we did when we were children. We are grown with children of our own now but our mom still tells us to be in when the street lights come on!

Guestbook comments from the owner

Such an amazing week! Everything was perfect and happy. We absolutely loved your blessings on the bay! Thank you for sharing it with us. We all talked about how we want to come back again next year.
Aug 2014
  • 1 of 2

Map

Nearest Barpub
0.8 Miles
Kelly's Pub and Restaurant
Nearest Ferry
60 Miles
Lewes Ferry to Cape May and Tangier Island Ferry
Nearest Golf
4 Miles
Bay Creek Country Club, Palmer/Nicholson Courses
Nearest Motorway
3 Miles
U.S. 13
Nearest Restaurant
2 Miles
Aqua

Quaint shops and galleries on the main street, a soda fountain at the pharmacy down the street, great bars and restaurants within walking distance, live theatre, fishing, golfing at the local Palmer/Nicholson Golf Course, a full service day spa, activities at the nearby Kiptopeke State Park and nature conservancy and fishing and crabbing on the pier or on a chartered boat. A water park and Virginia beach are right across the bay bridge in one direction and Chincoteague/Assateague is just down the road in the other direction. A person can walk, ride a bike or take a leisurely drive in a golf cart anywhere and everywhere in town.

Amenities

Cape Charles House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 16
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • pets considered ...
  • Events Allowed
  • children welcome ...
  • non smoking only ...
Location Type:
  • Beachfront ...
  • Downtown ...
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 10 people
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Sealife Bathroom - toilet , combination tub/shower , tub , This bathroom is on the 1st floor.
    Pink/Black Vintage - toilet , shower , 2nd floor
    FlipFlop Fantasy - toilet , combination tub/shower , The Attic Bath, must have a tweens and teens permission!
Bedrooms:
  • 5 Bedrooms, Sleeps 16
  • Blue Room - 1 king , A view of the bay through the magnolia tree.
    Lavender Room - 1 queen , Captains Quarters/Meme's Room! Another Two Bay Views!
    Green Room - 1 king , Quietly nestled in the rear of the home.
    Coral Room - 1 double , The cocoon!
    The Attic - 4 double , The tweens and teens efficiency!
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Toys
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Balcony ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Golf ...
  • Lanai / Gazebo ...
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • festivals
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • synagogues
  • water parks
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • horseshoes
  • miniature golf
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hunting
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • parasailing
  • pier fishing
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Our intent is that people 'unplug', relax and return to a simpler time. We have opted to not attach wifi or satellite/cable tv. Wifi can be reached via cell phone or it is offered in town. We have provided a fairly large video library to choose from. All cellphones, especially Verizon, pick up well in the home. We encourage games, puzzles, and playing! Please never use the woodstove insert! Facebook friend us at Blessings on the Bay LLC. Get your 10% Preferred/Rebook Discounts. We are a neighborhood policed home! We would welcome a review on our VRBO website and any comments you wish to make in our welcome book. We offer a zen experience in an old fashioned manner in a cozy home beside the calm waters.

Reviews

Excellent! 4.4/5 -
(7 traveler reviews)

85% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
14% Complete
106 Bay Avenue, Relaxing Beachfront Home In A Family Friendly Town
average rating of 4.428571 based on 9 reviews
5

What a blessing!!!!

  • 5 of 5

This beach house has it all, we couldn't have asked for more. It is spacious yet cozy with a certain southern charm. My family loves Cape Charles and have shared 12 years of vacationing here. We chose different homes each year until we found this home. We have booked this home for the last three years and have no plans on looking elsewhere. Our entire family loves this home. It is truly a blessing.

  • Submitted: Jul 23, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for such a nice review we appreciate it and you! Blessings to you!
Did you find this review helpful?
4 0
Seaford, De
1

Extremely Disappointed !!

  • 1 of 5

Our stay at Blessing's On the Bay was one of the worst I have ever experienced! We have been renting vacation homes for 11yrs. and this was by far the worst. On the negative side 1. the house was dirty. When we sat at the table our hands and arms stuck to it!2. The kitchen floor was sticky.3. Fly's everywhere! 4.The coffee pot leaked out all the water you would pour in. 5.The sheets had not been changed, the bed's were full of sand....we did not discover until we all went to bed. So at 11pm we were changing sheets.(thank goodness I did bring my own) 6.When I inquired about an outside shower, I was told there was one..it was a hose !! 7. The rental is described as having a deck in the rear,hardly so ! It is about a 4x7 landing at the top of the steps.you could not eat on it!!Really!8.No outside railing on the front steps. I must emphasize the danger of the front steps for small children and older adults such as myself. The steps are not a normal size, they are made of builder block. I fell down these concrete block steps and ended up in the emergency room. (end of vacation) It took me 8months to recover.My 6yo.grandson also took a tumble on these steeps, and another grandson tripped down the atic bedroom steps...again no railing! I now know why there are so many Christmas light's hung...they try to add more lighting to the inside steps and the outside, etc. They are to cheap to put in adaquite lighting not to mention a railing on their steps. My daughters and I made the necessary cleaning adjustments, without complaints! We just bought our coffee elsewhere in the morning....but when I informed the owner of my fall she just replied o'well, there's nothing you can do!! Really !! I have saved her phone call's ....screaming at me because I complained about the fall on the steps. Just nasty.I have learned a hard lesson....buyer beware! I do not recommend this rental for young children or people over 60 and definitely no one with a handicap. As far as some of the lengthy positive reviews..I think the owner wrote them;(or friends) the wording is much the manner in which she speaks and why would anyone go to such frivolous detail except to market their rental! Never would I recommend this rental !! It's all about the marketing. On the positive side....location.

  • Submitted: May 30, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are sorry you did not enjoy your stay in our home. We have never had anyone prior to or since your visit express dissatisfaction with any of your concerns. If a bed is dirty it is because the prior tenant did not follow our departure rules. We would have been happy to have provided you a discount for your inconvenience. I cannot see how the rest of the home was dirty as one of the owners went in behind the cleaning lady and was still there working when you arrived. You were asked prior to his departure if everything was ok or if you needed anything? Both our listing agreement and our appraisal refer to the back "landing" as a deck. It is a historic home in a historic district which makes it very difficult to alter in any way and which makes an outdoor shower indecent. There is railing on the back deck. I do not recall screaming at you but I do recall trying to explain to you that I was in the hospital with family making the decision to take my brother off of life support due to an aneurysm in his brain. I agree the "buyer" or renter as it were, should be aware, aware of the property, the amenities as listed, and of themselves while at the property, which was never presented as handicap accessible. I am confused as to how I can be accused of being nasty and screaming at you and still have you make the assumption that the positive kind reviews were written in the manner in which I speak? I left this review un responded to for so long because I felt continued interaction of any kind would only serve to further decline the situation, however, I am responding now because I was recently asked about this review and because I realized that it represents a scar on our home and our intent on sharing blessings that we have experienced here with others. We rent a home with pictures of practically every inch of the space. We try to meet our renters every need. We cannot predict appliances quitting or remedy the fact that people do not take the time to look at our pictures and see that the home has no railing on the front if they require a railing on the front prior to renting? I sincerely hope you surrender to love, go in peace and live in joy.
Did you find this review helpful?
11 1
5

Blessing on the Bay indeed!

  • 5 of 5

The home we stayed at was fabulous! Plenty of room for all, great amenities, and the cutest town in America!

  • Submitted: Aug 5, 2015
  • Stayed: Jul 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a kind review. We are blessed by wonderful guests like you and hope you will return to our home again.
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
5

Will do it again and again

  • 5 of 5

This was our second vacation to the Cape and enjoyed it more than the first. My husband and I, our two boys and friends of ours with their two girls spent the week and had a wonderful time. The house had plenty of room so that we never felt crowded or on top of each other. The kids loved sleeping on the top floor and having their own bathroom and lights above their beds. The bedrooms were all very roomy and having a full bathroom on each floor was great. The kitchen was outfitted with everything we needed and great size for more than one cook in the kitchen at a time. The kids and adults too all had fun with some of the games in the house, Scattergories is a new favorite! The owner had told me that there were some changes to the beach and everyone was great. The beach is wider now with access ramps and a neat new statue of Neptune. We all walked the pier several times, at night was fun because the crabs seemed to come out of hiding then. Every morning the adults started the day on the porch with a cup of coffee and the view and we ended the day the same way several times too. A week of fun, relaxation and ice cream at Brown Dog was perfect!

  • Submitted: Jul 21, 2015
  • Stayed: Jul 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a kind review. We are blessed by wonderful guests like you and hope you will return to our home again.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Newport News, VA
5

Wonderful Time!

  • 5 of 5

My husband and I have downsized to a condo, but our family of 3 sons, 3 daughter in laws and 5 grandchildren love to get together at least once a year.

This house fit the bill for us! It was exactly as noted in the descriptions...there was nothing that we needed that wasn't in the house.

The beds are super comfortable!

We all enjoyed the front porch, people watching and the grand sunsets.

The beach is just across the street and great for young children. There is a playground just a few blocks away that the kids loved, especially the "zip line".

The Shanty restaurant is just a short walk and has a great menu. It was delightful sitting on their back deck enjoying our meal.

We all had a wonderful time together!

  • Submitted: Jun 9, 2014
  • Stayed: May 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for taking the time to write such a kind review. We are so very happy that you and your family enjoyed our home. Please come again.
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
Mount Jackson, VA
5

Finally....a beautiful, peaceful, family friendly retreat!

  • 5 of 5

My family and I had the pleasure of staying in this gorgeous home right at the beach in the quaint town of Cape Charles.... From the breathtaking views from all angles of the home to the peaceful front porch facing the bay to literally strolling across to put your feet in the sand and water... This is the best vacation we have had in many many years! The home is beautifully decorated, equipped with comfortable bedding, full variety selection of music and movies for all ages and all luxuries and conveniences for day to day living. This gorgeous home is in walking distance to shopping, library, restaurants and historical sites but most importantly is a stones throw from basically your own private beach area! The sand, water, gazebo and dock area is extremely clean, child friendly and absolutely serene and peaceful. I have referred to this beach rental as home throughout my review because that is exactly what it is.... Your own beach home for the duration of your stay! I never imagined we would find a beach home that offers ALL and one our entire family enjoys at such an affordable price! We noticed the home has a plaque on the front porch and it is called Blessings on the Bay... It truly is just that. ... A blessing that it is available for our family time and others to borrow this home and be able to revive, regroup, rest and restore yourself, family and friends! We are already counting down to "our time".... We absolutely cannot wait! This year we will reserve time for one week family, one week anniversary and one week girls retreat! With the affordability of the rental it allows us multi stay options..... Where else can we go have our own rental home..... for minimal expenses. .... That's right.... NO where! :) If you have the opportunity to stay at Blessings on the Bay......ENJOY!

  • Submitted: Jan 7, 2014
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
6 0

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Pet Fee $75
Damage Insurance $79
Damage Deposit $421

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.

You might like these similar properties