Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Welcome To The Kamilo House. No. 1 Your Own Private Resort

Sleeps8
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Half Baths1
Space 2,140 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 5 nights

Overview

About the property

Almost 3/4 Of Acre Of Tropical Living With A Fresh Waterfall Pool

ARE YOU DREAMING OF GOING TO HAWAII !!! Dream no more just do it - Visit the Big Island during all seasons and make beautiful memories starting right here at the Kamilo House.

Three bedrooms, 2 full baths plus half bath. Two covered lanai's. Full kitchen with a bounty of dishes, glassware a cookware for indoor dining and outdoor meals. Appointed with Tommy Bahama furnishings and tasteful accessories. The master bedroom has a king size bed, desk, TV, and 6 drawer dresser. The master bath has an oval tub, separate shower and walk-in closet. The second bedroom has a king size bed and the third bedroom has two twin beds. The living room has a large screen TV in case you want to watch a movie on HBO or Showtime, sports and more. Cable is also included in the master and second bedrooms. You will enjoy the beautiful pool with lava rocks and waterfalls and the tropical setting with at least 30 palm trees, (coconuts) Meyer lemon trees, lush landscaping and foliage. Dining outside is a pleasure on the large covered lanai or pool side at the patio table. You can party on the gazebo as well or relax in the hammock. Just enjoy, have fun and make lasting memories.

A few more items that may interest you are:

Free A/C That's a big deal

Quality Wifi, printer, scanner, fax machine. Only few minutes walk to the beach!

For water enthusiasts: Surfboard, paddle boards, some snorkel gear , beach towels, beach chairs 2 bikes and more...

Lounge chairs, BBQ, Tiki torches, outdoor fireplace, gazebo with seating -

Pool toys and so much more.

You will have fun - just wait and see - have a happy holiday and "You'll be back"...

This home perfectly sleeps 6 people

More Details

Owner
John or Marcia Braunroth
Member since: 2013
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
October 21, 2017

About John or Marcia Braunroth

My wife and I lived in Las Vegas for thirty years and decided it was time we left the desert for the tropical beauty of the Big Island. We are grateful and happy every day and wish to share the beauty of old Hawaii with you.

John or Marcia Braunroth purchased this house in 2006

Why John or Marcia Braunroth chose Kona Coast

From the moment we drove through the gate and saw the vast ocean view and well manicured lush properties we knew we found our new neighborhood.

We wanted to be close to shopping, restaurants and the beach. This property and location fit perfectly.

What makes this house unique

We enjoy being close to the water yet not having the ocean spray on our windows. We love the layout of the floor plan with the master bedroom on one side of the house and the second and third bedrooms on the other side. The kitchen and dining area is spacious and plenty of room in the living area. The interior is designed with Tommy Bahama furnishings, comfortable sofas and chairs and tasteful accessories. And of course the fabulous pool, gazebo and the covered lanai's makes for your own private resort. A dream house we look forward to sharing with you.

(No up-charge for weekend,high season, special events

or holidays)

Amenities

Kailua-Kona House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 2140 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 8
  • Min. age of primary renter: 25
  • Pets not allowed
  • Non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Downtown ...
  • Monument View ...
  • Mountain View ...
  • Near The Ocean ...
  • Ocean View ...
  • Oceanfront ...
  • Resort ...
  • Village ...
  • Water View ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster ...
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Room
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , tub , shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 3 - toilet
  • Master bath includes oval tub, double sinks with cabinets below and full length mirror above. Private toilet area. Walk in closet Second bath also has full length mirror with cabinets below
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king
    Bedroom 2 - 1 king
    Bedroom 3 - 2 twin/ single
  • Master bedroom has a king size bed, desk, 6 drawer dresser and two night stands with lamps.HD TV Second bedroom has a king size bed, HD cable TV and mirrored wardrobe doors and third bedroom has twin beds, mirrored wardrobe
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • DVD Player ...
  • Games ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television ...
  • Toys ...
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Bicycles ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Lanai / Gazebo ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Water Sports Gear ...
Pool / Spa:
  • Private Pool ...
Attractions:
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • ruins
  • synagogues
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • luaus
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • golf
  • golf privileges optional
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • paragliding
  • parasailing
  • pier fishing
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
Notes:
So many good things - just ask - If we can make it happen for you - we will.

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.9/5 -
(23 traveler reviews)

95% Complete
0% Complete
4% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Welcome To The Kamilo House. No. 1 Your Own Private Resort
average rating of 4.9130435 based on 23 reviews
5

Beautiful property!

  • 5 of 5

We stayed at the Kamilo House for a week in July with our grown children and had an amazing time. The kitchen was very well stocked with cookware and treats and the outdoor area, barbecue and pool got a lot of use. John and Marcy were very helpful in helping us plan our time in Kona. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Submitted: Jul 11, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are so happy you had a great time and without a doubt would welcome you back We look forward to your next trip
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Atlanta, GA
5

A gorgeous home with hosts who care!

  • 5 of 5

My friends and I were delighted with our stay at John and Margie's place! It's a comfortable, welcoming home, and working with our hosts to prepare for our arrival was a cinch. We particularly enjoyed the very comfy beds, immaculate kitchen, gorgeous swimming pool, and having accsss to air conditioning (as most of our days in Hawaii were unseasonably hot!) I would be delighted to book this place again in the future.

  • Submitted: Sep 5, 2017
  • Stayed: Aug 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: It was our pleasure meeting you. We especially enjoyed knowing you loved the kitchen. It showed in your carnitas. They were the best Knowing you all came from different parts of the country and fulfilling a bucket list was special for us as well Your welcome back anytime and always with Aloha
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

A home away from home

  • 5 of 5

We had such an amazing time at Kamilo house - The place is amazing , everything you need and more was available in the house and in the garden.

John and Marcy really took the extra mile to make sure we enjoy our time there.

One warning - leave some free days to stay at the house , the kids loved it so much they didn't want to leave and do some planned activities in the Island.

We were family of 5 - 2 adults and 3 teens

  • Submitted: Aug 25, 2017
  • Stayed: Aug 2017
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Well thank you. Your family came a very long way and we wanted to make sure you had a great time with wonderful memories We are so happy you enjoyed the house, the yard and the neighborhood. There is a lot and sometimes hard to explain so experience and sharing what we love is our reward from you. Mahalo
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
San Francisco, Ca
5

Perfect Family Vacation

  • 5 of 5

We were a family of seven and Kamilo House was paradise! The grounds are beautiful and well maintained - even better than the pictures. We had so much fun shelling all the coconuts onsite and having fresh coco juice.

The house is fully equipped with everything you could possibly need for a family stay. We cooked everyday and never came short of anything - from cookware to cooking condiments.

Always a plus when the owners greet you and are warm, inviting and helpful with any needs. It was like staying at a friend's house. Thank you John and Marcy ! We will be dreaming of coming back. Until then ...

  • Submitted: Aug 7, 2017
  • Stayed: Jul 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: It makes us so happy to know you experienced and had fun with everything we have to offer. You really made your time 'Hawaii' time You were quite the artists with painting coconuts and then getting the benefits of the fruit and juice-picked in the back yard!. You are all welcome back anytime with Aloha
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

Well and good

  • 3 of 5

General impression was really well and good ... we do enjoy our stay. Some points/comments for improvement which we seem are also necessary.

1. The centralize airconditioning much cover only the living room, kitchen and dining. The bedrooms becomes uncomfortable during the sleeping time because maybe some aircon ducting toward the bedrooms are either clogged or small.

2. An outdoor sink must be put up. If eating will be done outdoor by the pool, it will be beneficial on people going in and out the kitchen and sink by keeping at opening and closing the door.

3. A standby pump for the swimming pool is a always a must. We were not able to utilize the pool for three days because the pump conk out. The filtration of the water was compromised.

Overall it was a thank you for the hospitality os the owners John and Marcy. It has served our main purpose of being in Kona.

  • Submitted: Jul 21, 2017
  • Stayed: Jul 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We found your review very interesting especially your points. It's too bad they were not discussed during your stay 1. Most people when visiting Hawaii are grateful that A/C is included especially at no extra charge. Along with the ceiling and floor fans being provided uncomfortable sleeping is something we have not heard from another guest 2. Sink on the Lanai next to the the kitchen is not anything we have in mind soon. However there is an outside shower! 3. A pool pump is not an item that we typically have as a spare. It was late Friday when it failed and unable to be replaced instantly however no reason your family couldn't have enjoyed for the next two days of swimming and playing with pool toys The new pump works beautifully We are truly sorry if you were inconvenienced in any way As far as our review having you as guests ...quite astonishing We thought you were lovely people ALL of you and were so surprised at the condition of the house when you left. Very sad....one of the worst things was the chocolate or blood stain left on the new chair and then food left in the crock pot and unmentionable stinky items in the frig, dirty ashtrays all over, etc Maybe just a suggestion or point. Try to show more respect for someone's beautiful, clean home. Aloha
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Everything a Family Could Want in a Vacation Home

  • 5 of 5

From the very beginning, John and Marcy were incredibly accommodating to our group of two families with small children. They truly went the extra mile to provide us with the perfect home for our stay.

The house was very clean and well-stocked. The pool came with many toys and floats, enjoyed by kids and adults alike. Our trips to the beach had us using the beach chairs, umbrellas, boogie boards, and cooler that are thoughtfully provided by the hosts.

The neighborhood in which the house is located is clean, quiet, and safe.

I've been telling all of my family and friends to take a trip to the Big Island and rent this house. It was absolutely wonderful, and I hope to go back.

  • Submitted: Jun 9, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: It was our pleasure to know you all had a great time and enjoyed all the amenities We always look forward to our visitors having a happy vacation and hope we will see you again. Thank you for your gifts as well We look forward to your next trip. Always live Aloha
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
10 Miles
Keahole
Nearest Barpub
2 Miles
Huggo's on the Rocks
Nearest Golf
3 Miles
Kukio or Hokulea
Nearest Motorway
0.25 Miles
Ali'i Drive
Nearest Restaurant
2 Miles
Jackie Rays
Nearest Beach
3 Miles
Magic Sands -
Car: necessary

Kona Village area offers all water attractions including whale watching, snorkeling, diving, hiking to Parrot Cove, parasailing, manta night diving, art galleries, stand up paddling, surf lessons, submarine tour, swimming with the dolphins and much more

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Tax Rate 4.17%

Security/Cleaning $250.00 non refundable fee payable upon final invoice
6 Maximum Guests at the rate quoted
Each additional guest will be charged $50.00 per day Names of all guests are required

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • Canceled bookings will not receive a refund