Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

A Grand and Gracious Mexican Home

Sleeps10
Bedrooms 5
Bathrooms6
Half Baths1
Space 8,000 sq. ft.
Property type villa
Minimum Stay 3 - 5 nights

Overview

About the property

Well designed and appointed 5 bedroom 6 bath villa in the heart of San Miguel

Casa San Miguel is a grand and gracious Mexican home that resonates warmth, style and elegance. Recently featured in Architectural Digest and Casas & Gente, Casa San Miguel is the reconstruction of a 300 year old home. With its original three-foot thick adobe walls, it combines the style and charm of the colonial period with all the modern comforts and conveniences, including a heated pool, mini-kitchens and private patios for all bedrooms. The dedicated staff of seven make this a perfect place to stay when exploring San Miguel de Allende, a UNESCO World Heritage Site.

Guests enjoy a music system throughout the house, with volume controls in each room, ten fireplaces, a rooftop garden with a 360 degree view of the city, an electronic grand piano, and high speed internet access. There is beautiful landscaping, unique architectural design elements, and a series of enchanting terraces with flowing fountains. Comfortable antique and wicker furnishings combine with a collection of decorative art from many cultures to create the perfect atmosphere for enjoying your getaway in San Miguel de Allende to its fullest.

More Details

Owner
Beth James
Member since: 2013
Speaks: english, spanish
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
July 21, 2017

About Beth James

We are a family from Louisiana that started travelling to San Miguel 30 years ago. Its average annual temperature of 71 degrees means the area enjoys a perpetual spring-like climate. We are happy so share our home with you in hopes that you will love this part of the world as much as we do.

Beth James purchased this villa in 2011

Why Beth James chose San Miguel de Allende

Our property offers 5 bedrooms that are designed to give the most privacy you can have in a private home. Each room has a patio with a private bath and area for coffee and a refrigerator. The common rooms are an open Sala, a double living room, and the rooftop with views that are so beautiful you may never want to leave. There is also a breakfast room and a large dining room which can manage large groups easily. We have a maximum of 10 people, but parties are allowed if arranged prior to the stay. We have to allow for proper staffing for large groups. We have a lap pool in the back courtyard which can be heated upon request. Our staff is remarkable. They will attend to your every need and have been with the property for 10 years. This property was known previously as Casa Seis Fuentes and we have many positive reviews that you can find online.

What makes this villa unique

Wifi

Stereo System throughout house

Purified water in the entire house

In home theater

Vonage phone for free calls to the U.S. and Canada

5 king beds

Washer/Dryer

Fully equipped kitchen

Pool

Jacuzzi tub in Main Masterbedroom

Guestbook comments from the owner

My only complaint is that I wish I had stayed longer. The house was beautiful, just like the pictures, and the staff was incredible, they were so kind and attentive. The decor and design is impeccable, it is just what anyone would want for a Mexican villa. It is clear that great attention to detail was paid to every inch of the house. Booking was seamless and all communication was timely when emailing the owner and the staff. I have already told everyone I know that they should book this house when staying in San Miguel. This is a unique and special place that is sure to make a stay in San Miguel memorable.
Oct 2013
  • 1 of 3

Amenities

Centro Historico Villa Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • villa
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Housekeeping:
  • Housekeeper Included
Floor Area:
  • 8000 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 15:00
  • /
  • Check-out: 11:00
  • Max. occupancy: 10
  • Non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Downtown ...
  • Mountain View ...
Theme:
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Spa
General:
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wood Stove
Kitchen:
  • Kitchen ...
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 14 people
Bathrooms:
  • 6 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , tub , shower
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , tub , shower
    Bathroom 4 - toilet , shower , jetted tub
    Bathroom 5 - toilet , tub , shower
    Bathroom 6 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 7 - toilet
  • All bathrooms include bath products made from locally grown lavender. It is called the Lavender project. http://thelavenderproject.com/ We try to use as many local products as we can from the region.
Bedrooms:
  • 5 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king
    Bedroom 2 - 1 king
    Bedroom 3 - 1 king
    Bedroom 4 - 1 king
    Bedroom 5 - 1 king
  • Each bedroom has a private bath and patio.
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Music Library
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Outdoor Grill
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • wheelchair accessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Private Pool
Onsite Services:
  • Massage
  • Private Chef
  • Staff
Attractions:
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • festivals
  • health/beauty spa
  • museums
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • horseback riding
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • equestrian events
  • golf privileges optional

Reviews

Excellent! 4.6/5 -
(13 traveler reviews)

A Grand and Gracious Mexican Home
average rating of 4.6153846 based on 16 reviews
5

Wonderful City and Amazing House

  • 5 of 5

Our group had a great stay in San Miguel. This was one of the first times that I had zero complaints from anyone in our entire party. Without restating other reviews, the house is beautiful and spacious. We actually spent the majority of our time in the courtyard and the pool which were well-maintained AND offered privacy. It did not even feel like we were in the city. But we also loved the location of the house. It is located in the heart of the city. We walked around the city with ease and without the need of taxis. Definitely a plus. The staff was great. They were very polite and extremely helpful. We only had breakfast at the house (which was great), but asked the staff to have snacks (fruit and guacamole) that we could pick at. They agreed without hesitation and were very accommodating.

Thank you again for everything!

  • Submitted: Jun 22, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are so glad you enjoyed our home and do hope that we will have an opportunity in the future to host you and your friends. Casa San Miguel
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Magical Home

  • 5 of 5

My family loves to travel and Casa San Miguel was our favorite home we have ever rented! The house (if you can call it that) was incredibly beautiful. Very spacious accommodations with gardens and outside areas everywhere. Although, the house was outstanding their staff is what made our stay so very special. They took excellent care of us and each of our needs while we enjoyed the best vacation ever.

We were there for my husband's birthday and they went above and beyond to help us make it a celebration to remember. Thank you! We look forward to staying again. : )

  • Submitted: Jun 11, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are so pleased that your guests enjoyed the birthday fete!. We hope to see you again soon. Casa San Miguel
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
1

OWNER MISREPRESENTED PROPERTY RESTRICTIONS; STAFF INTERFERES WITH GUEST USE OF HOME

  • 1 of 5

BE CAREFUL WITH THE OWNER OF THIS PROPERTY

As mentioned in a number of other reviews, both the architecture and landscaping we're beautiful. Unfortunately, the paternalistic attitude of the owner and the intrusive nature of the staff made this property one of the worst I've ever stayed.

Despite numerous discussions of how my wife and I were attending wedding with a number of guests staying with us at the home, there was no mention of limiting extra guests for a meal, after-dinner cordials, or use of the pool. Although the owner later handed us an unsigned contract that did state she could limit the number of visitors, it was clearly not the same contract that I had signed by email or was listed anywhere on the website. She and her staff specifically stated we could not have even the bride, the groom, or their father (my wife's brother) without detailed pre-approval. Despite having stayed at numerous properties through VRBO and elsewhere, I have never had an experience which had made it so uncomfortable or litigious for the renter.

In addition, while the staff was friendly, they occupied entire sections of the house often for one to two hours at a time. We were unable to have lunch in the kitchen on two occasions because the staff was using it for their own lunch for nearly two hours.

After being asked to leave with only 30 minutes notice the day after the wedding when one of our guests had inadvertently asked their nephew to stay with us (bringing the total number of guests to 11 instead of 10), we were more than happy to leave.

Chris P

  • Submitted: May 28, 2017
  • Stayed: Apr 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Chris, We were very disappointed to have to ask you to leave for the second time after I had to meet with you the first night that you arrived and you indicated that you were going to have other guests of the wedding coming in and out of our home. We allow cocktail parties etc, with prior notice so that we can properly staff. The contract that I handed to you was printed from the VRBO site, and you checked acknowledgement of it when you agreed to rent our home. I was very concerned on the first night which is why I suggested then, when we met, that perhaps a hotel would serve you better and we would refund your entire rental. Imagine my surprise when we counted 17 people sleeping all over the place on Saturday morning after we met on Thursday and you assured me that there would not be anyone there other than the 10 guests. It looked like a hotel in Destin during spring break. It was simply not a good fit for our type of property. I have also posted in owner reviews of renters that luxury properties are perhaps not your best fit. This house has had the same staff for over 14 years and this is our first experience with someone who just thought that you would get a key and you could do whatever you wanted in our home. And have as many people as you wanted in and out. If you had asked about this before you arrived, it would have saved us both a lot of time. We have managed many events, catalog shoots, television shows and weddings in our home and have never had anyone mislead us about their intentions , which was to pile as many people as possible on any flat surface. We wish you and your family only good things, but you are not welcome in our home.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Wonderful home and staff

  • 5 of 5

We normally rent a home outside the U.S. twice a year and Cass San Miguel is one of the best. We spent Easter week there to celebrate our 25th anniversary. Both the home and staff were wonderful. The staff went out of their way to make us feel welcome. They were attentive and went above the call of duty. Thank you Beth and Carlos for all your help.

  • Submitted: Apr 20, 2017
  • Stayed: Apr 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

The villa is absolutely amazing!

  • 4 of 5

Our group was blown away by this gorgeous villa in the middle of everything. Super convenient to get where we wanted and the staff was overly friendly. I highly recommend it.

A couple pieces of advice that weren't immediately aware to us:

1. There is a staff there full time. Helpful, but not included in the costs.

2. Breakfast, which was amazing. Also not in the cost.

3. We had some trouble with payments. Deposits and otherwise. This could be a HomeAway issue, but definitely caused some confusion.

4. The staff doesn't work Sunday. So no breakfast was available Sunday.

The place is huge and definitely a paradise.

  • Submitted: Feb 28, 2017
  • Stayed: Feb 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Will, We are so happy you enjoyed your stay in our home! I am sorry that you missed the information on the VRBO site and in the information that we sent regarding meals. We do have a chef on site, but the groceries and wine are a separate charge as indicated in the contract and on VRBO. Also, the staff is employed full time and is not an additional charge as it is included in the rental. Most people do tip the staff, but that is up to the individuals and is not required. I will make sure, because of your comments, to not only send the information but to confirm it in advance via email. I would hate for anyone else not to be clear in advance and appreciate your comments. We hope you will visit again soon. Casa San Miguel
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Wow! The property exceeded our expectations!!

  • 5 of 5

The house was even nicer than the pictures show! We were a group of 5 friends - everything was flawless - from the driver pickups at the airport to the warm welcome at the house upon arrival. The food was great and Carlos and the entire staff took care of our every need. Two of our group had massages at the house one afternoon and Carlos arranged it all. He even took care of our dinner reservations. The bedrooms were all unique and private with very comfortable beds and all the amenities. None of us wanted to leave and decided we will return next year!

  • Submitted: Feb 27, 2017
  • Stayed: Feb 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks so much for visiting in our home. We are so happy you enjoyed San Miguel. It is a little piece of heaven to us. Please visit again soon. Casa San Miguel
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
60 Miles
Aeropuerto Intercontinental de Querétaro
Car: not necessary

San Miguel de Allende is a city and municipality located in the far eastern part of the state of Guanajuato in central Mexico. It is 274 km from Mexico City and 97 km from the state capital of Guanajuato. Historically, the town is important as being the birthplace of Ignacio Allende, whose surname was added to the town’s name in 1826, as well as the first municipality declared independent of Spanish rule by the nascent insurgent army during the Mexican War of Independence.

However, the town waned during and after the war, and at the beginning of the 20th century was in danger of becoming a ghost town. Its Baroque/Neoclassical colonial structures were 'discovered' by foreign artists who moved in and began art and cultural institutes such as the Instituto Allende and the Escuela de Bellas Artes. This gave the town a reputation, attracting artists such as David Alfaro Siqueiros, who taught painting.

This attracted foreign art students, especially former U.S. soldiers studying on the G.I. Bill after the Second World War. Since then, the town has attracted a very large number of foreign retirees, artists, writers and tourists, which is shifting the area’s economy from agriculture and industry to commerce catering to outside visitors and residents.

The main attraction of the town is its well-preserved historic center, filled with buildings from the 17th and 18th centuries. This and the nearby Sanctuary of Atotonilco have been declared World Heritage Sites.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Centro Historico Villa Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Indenpendence
Sep 8 2017 - Sep 17 2017
4 night minimum stay
$1,400
 
 
Nightly Rate
Sep 21 2017 - Sep 24 2017
3 night minimum stay
$1,150
 
 
New Years
Dec 30 2017 - Jan 6 2018
5 night minimum stay
$1,500
 
 
Easter
Mar 23 2018 - Apr 4 2018
4 night minimum stay
$1,400
 
 
Nightly Rate
Apr 5 2018 - Apr 8 2018
4 night minimum stay
$1,400
 
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
$1,150
 

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • Canceled bookings will not receive a refund
Contact Owner
Available
Unavailable