Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Tahoe Donner Snow And Mountain Retreat

Sleeps6
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms2
Space 1,650 sq. ft.
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Overview

About the property

2 Bedroom 2 Bath and Loft Sleeps 6

Welcome to our spacious mountain retreat nestled among the pines, located on the 'quiet' side of Northwoods Boulevard in Tahoe Donner. This home is conveniently located in Tahoe Donner with access to all the amenities that Tahoe Donner has to offer in both wintry or summer conditions. Come and get away from the hectic pace and relax in the mountains in the openness and convenience of our mountain retreat. The cabin has two large bedrooms, two full bathrooms, and a loft. The loft has a comfortable (really!) fold out queen bed. A large great room with vaulted ceilings and large windows allows for a beautiful view of the woods. There is a large wood burning stove (wood provided) that can keep the cabin toasty warm in the winter. The bedrooms are beautifully furnished with brand new, comfortable beds and views of the outdoors. The kitchen is fully equipped for those that like to cook. There is an inside washer/dryer for your convenience and an attached 2 car garage. The house sits far back from the main street so is quiet with a fairly level driveway. This home is best for a family or two couples. For the most accurate rate for your dates, send us an email by clicking on Contact Owner and we will get back to you within 24 hours.

Tahoe Donner is a private recreational development with amenities for both fun in cold and warm weather. Winter amenities include a downhill ski resort, a world-class cross country ski center, sledding and snow play area, and miles of trails for snow-shoeing. Warm weather amenities include a beautiful golf course, tennis center, equestrian center, access to boating and other water activities at Donner Lake, miles of hiking trails, and several swimming pools. Year round the Trout Creek recreation center is available to guests with fitness gym equipment and classes, hot tubs, sauna (dry and wet), and several pools (one is heated through the winter). Tahoe Donner also has several dining venues available year round.

Tahoe Donner is located centrally to several of Tahoe's best downhill ski resorts. 15-20 minutes away is Sugar Bowl, Donner Ski Resort, and Boreal. 20 minutes towards Lake Tahoe are Squaw Valley, Alpine Meadows, and Northstar. A little further is Homewood right along Lake Tahoe. Incline Village is 40 minutes, Mt. Rose is an hour away. For those who prefer cross-country skiing, there are many trails throughout the North Tahoe area to choose.

The town of Truckee has many great restaurants and bars and boutique shopping. Several places have live entertainment during the weekends. And just 20 minutes away is Lake Tahoe and Tahoe City.

Reno, Nevada is the closest airport to Tahoe and is 60 minutes away. Sacramento is 1.5 hours away.

Come, stay in and relax in our cozy cabin or enjoy all the activities of the outdoors in the mountains.

More Details

Owner
Laura and Tony
Member since: 2009
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
90%
Calendar last updated:
August 16, 2017

About Laura and Tony

We are currently living in Hawaii to care for Laura's parents. So our home is available for you to enjoy until our return. We love the outdoors and why we choose to have a place in the mountain. We know you will enjoy your time in our cabin.

Laura and Tony purchased this cabin in 2000

Why Laura and Tony chose Lake Tahoe North Shore CA

After several years of doing ski leases in Tahoe Donner, we decided we loved the mountains year-round and wanted the availability of our own mountain home. We chose Tahoe Donner because of the convenient location and the wonderful amenities available year round. We also love Truckee with its rustic appeal and small town atmosphere, yet modern conveniences.

What makes this cabin unique

We love the views from every room. When we walked into this home and saw the huge windows and view of the trees, we knew it was unique from the other homes we viewed. We love the openness of the great room, yet how cozy the cabin feels. The cabin sits way off the street so is quiet and is nestled among the pine trees so you really feel you are in the mountains.

Amenities

Truckee Cabin Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cabin
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1650 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • Min. age of primary renter: 25
  • Children welcome ...
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets not allowed
  • Non smoking only
  • Reservation is not confirmed until payment has been processed and signed rental contract is received. Contract will be emailed directly to renter.
Location Type:
  • Mountain View ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace ...
  • Fitness Room / Equipment ...
  • Garage ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wood Stove
  • Free Wifi
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • upstairs - toilet , shower
    Downstairs - toilet , shower
  • No bathtub
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Upstairs - 1 king
    Downstairs - 1 queen
  • 1 queen sofa bed in loft
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo ...
  • Television ...
Outside:
  • Boat ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Ski & Snowboard ...
  • Tennis ...
  • Water Sports Gear ...
Suitability:
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
  • Heated Pool
  • Hot Tub ...
  • Sauna ...
Leisure Activities:
  • boating
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • fitness center
  • groceries
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • golf
  • sailing
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • swimming

Reviews

Very Good! 4.2/5 -
(6 traveler reviews)

66% Complete
16% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
16% Complete
Tahoe Donner Snow And Mountain Retreat
average rating of 4.1666665 based on 6 reviews
5

Awesome house!

  • 5 of 5

The house was perfect location and size for a trip with my friends. Very comfortable house and layout, quiet and nice to relax outside after a day out mountain bike riding. Kitchen was perfect for what we needed and a very helpful book was laid out for guests. Tony and Laura were very helpful and prompt to respond! Would definitely stay again!

  • Submitted: Sep 3, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
San Francisco
4

Great winter getaway house

  • 4 of 5

We really enjoyed our stay. The house was very clean, everything was in order. We were all very comfortable and cozy after a day outdoors in the snow. The fireplace was a bit difficult to use, but that was a minor inconvenience. There was lots of snow to play with in the backyard too. Very close to Tahoe Donner ski area. The owners were very easy to work with. Also, the price seemed to be a good value compared to a hotel.

  • Submitted: Feb 29, 2016
  • Stayed: Feb 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Belmont, CA
5

Great House!

  • 5 of 5

This house was perfect for our family, it was actually almost too big for just the 3 of us. The kitchen had everything we needed, the furniture was comfortable and everything was exceptionally clean. There were instructions for everything we needed and it was very convenient to be able to park in the garage. It only takes a few minutes to drive to the ski area or the snow play area and it's also close to the grocery store down the road. Ideal location!

  • Submitted: Feb 22, 2016
  • Stayed: Feb 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Laura and Tony

  • 5 of 5

Clean, well stocked, responsive owners. We had an excellent stay.

  • Submitted: Feb 16, 2016
  • Stayed: Feb 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0
1

Beatifull location, but need lo

  • 1 of 5

First of all I just want to say that cabin is located in very nice and quit location and only like 5 min drive from Donner lake and shopping. The location is 5 star.Next I would like to let the owners and the future vests of the stuff they need to fix .The restrooms are in very poor condition and you need to flush 3 to 5 times in order to clean it.My son go #2 and I had to flush the toilet 4 times to make sure it was all clean.Same thing with the restroomost on 1st. floor.Please fix that.it's very anoing. Also most of the soaps including both restrooms and kitchen were almost gone and no replacments provided from menagment. Thereven is no chairs and tables on the front patio and we needed to stay inside the house,but not enjoing the beatifull Tahoe-Donner weather. And the last ,but not least there is no barbecue at all.We look all over and was not able to find it.Called the owners 4 times,left a message and they never get back to us.Had to go and buy our own barbeque in order to cook our dinner.Come on people ,it's 2015 not 1943.Very unprofessional. We are renting houses almost every 2 months and never had so bad experience before.Please take care of your customers and they will always come back....

  • Submitted: Aug 18, 2015
  • Stayed: Aug 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are very surprised by this review as we never received an email or phone call to either cell phone regarding this problem. We are very meticulous about the comfort and function of our home and respond immediately to any issue. We have a handyman, housekeeper, heating contractor, pest specialist, and other contractors on call for us should we there be any issues. Although there have been no other concerns regarding the toilets from all subsequent guests, we are having new ones installed (just to make sure). We value the opinions of our guests and always strive to provide a warm atmosphere with all the comforts of home plus more. We do provide a full patio set for 4 (and 4 extra patio chairs) for the front deck stored in the garage for the use of our guests (this was in the garage during this guest's stay so do not know why they said there was not). We do not keep it out on the deck year round as we have had 2 sets stolen between rentals. They are light weight so can be carried to deck. However, we can have our handyman set it up if it is desired. We do not provide a BBQ as an amenity due to the fire hazard in our area (and it is not listed as an amenity on our vrbo site.) We have a full and well supplied kitchen for all cooking needs. We do provide free long-distance national phone service to our guests so that there would be no issues in contacting us. We did refund this guest a portion of the fees collected to compensate for the inconvenience.
Did you find this review helpful?
6 0
San Francisco, San Diego
5

Beautiful cabin next to the slopes

  • 5 of 5

Nice, spacious cabin. Beautifully situated next to downhill and cross country skiing areas. Cabin was warm, clean, and provided all necessary items. We had very good time.

  • Submitted: Dec 30, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Map

Nearest Airport
42 Miles
Reno-Tahoe
Nearest Golf
2 Miles
Tahoe Donner
Nearest Motorway
4 Miles
Interstate 80
Nearest Ski
1 Miles
Tahoe Donner
Car: necessary

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $155
Damage Insurance $59

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.

You might like these similar properties