Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Historic Charlevoix Country House Large Group Rental

Bedrooms 11
Half Baths1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 nights


About the property

11 Bedrooms And 11 And A Half Baths

Go back in time to this historic inn. Built in the late 1800 this mostly remodeled inn will accommodate 2 to 22 people. Steps away from restaurants. Every bed has s own bath. Two rooms are suites. Getting married need a place close to the action. Family reunion bring the whole family. Beach is just a stair steps away. Coffee on the deck over looking Lake Michigan, we got it. Situated on a bluff overlooking the eastern shoreline of Lake Michigan, with views of the lake and spectacular sunsets, the Inn served as one of the cottages that housed the overflow of the nearby Beach Hotel around 1899, and later evolved into a bed and breakfast. Today, the facility is being used as a vacation rental property by the week with seasonal rentals from Memorial Day to Mid-October.

More Details

Property Manager
Kimberly Harvey
Member since: 2011
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
July 23, 2017

About Kimberly Harvey

The owner has owned the property for the past 24 years and has run it as a bed and breakfast for 6 of the years. He has opened the house to use weekly or daily. He has many friends and family that have had many wonderful memories.

Why Kimberly Harvey chose Northwest

The Country Inn as it has been known, is located and the end of the street that ends overlooking Lake Michigan. Its is also just steps from downtown Charlevoix and all the action. There is the historic Weathervane restaurants, the draw bridge, marina, and beaches all within 3 blocks. Since the house was built in the 1890's the character and old charm is maintained throughout the house.

What makes this house unique

The view off the front deck of the house looks over the lake for miles that makes for hours of relaxing views. Reading, relaxing and just conversing will make a memory for a lifetime. So stay a few nights or stay a week. Have a wedding party that needs a place to stay?


Charlevoix House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 22
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Lake View ...
  • Lakefront ...
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Fireplace
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • 11 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 4 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 5 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 6 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 7 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 8 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 9 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 10 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 11 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 12 - toilet
  • Every bedroom has a bathroom some have the sinks in the bedroom. Some have showers only and some have tub and shower.
  • 11 Bedrooms, Sleeps 22
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen , Main Floor
    Bedroom 3 - 1 queen , Main Floor - back off kitchen
    Bedroom 4 - 1 queen , Second floor - North east corner
    Bedroom 6 - 1 queen , Second floor
    Bedroom 7 - 1 queen , Second Floor
    Bedroom 8 - 1 queen , Second Floor
    Bedroom 9 - 1 queen , Second Floor
    Bedroom 10 - 1 queen , Second Floor
    Bedroom 11 - 1 queen , 1 twin/ single , Second Floor
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen , 1 sleep sofa /futon , Main Floor Suite
    Bedroom 5 - 1 queen , 1 sleep sofa /futon , Second floor suite
  • Television ...
  • Balcony
  • Deck / Patio
  • Outdoor Grill
  • wheelchair inaccessible
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • library
  • marina
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • boating
  • gambling casinos
  • shopping
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • ice skating
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • snowmobiling
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing


Excellent! 4.5/5 -
(6 traveler reviews)

Historic Charlevoix Country House Large Group Rental
average rating of 4.5 based on 6 reviews

Family Vacation

  • 5 of 5

Plenty of room for 17 people. Enjoyed common areas for meals and games while still having privacy of rooms with their own baths. Stunning sunset views. We would come back.

  • Submitted: Jul 1, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Indianapolis, In

Happy Hoosier

  • 5 of 5

We had such a wonderful time in Charlevoix! The sunset view from the porch was incredible, and you couldn't beat the convenient location of the Inn. We joined a large group of friends and we all brought our young children. Many memories were made and so much fun was had! We can't wait to return soon!

  • Submitted: Aug 4, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Beverly Hills MI


  • 5 of 5

Super spacious and excellent views. Just a short walk from the beach and downtown. Will return again soon! Highly recommend this place to anyone.

  • Submitted: Aug 4, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Chicago, Il

Paradise Inn

  • 5 of 5

My husband and I love staying at the Charlevoix Country Inn. It's a beautiful property located right by the water. It is also walking distance to downtown. We have stayed there with large groups of friends multiple times and there is plenty of space for everyone. We have made a lot of amazing memories there and can't wait to go back.

  • Submitted: Aug 4, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 1
Royal oak, Mi

Great for a family/friend reunion

  • 5 of 5

What a special to congregate with old friends and our families! With 16 adults and 11 children at one time, there was enough space, toys and fun for everyone. The local beach (less than 5 minute drive) was beautiful and not too rocky. The views at sunset are by far some of the best Michigan has to offer!

  • Submitted: Aug 4, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Great View

  • 2 of 5

Great view of Lake Michigan.

Starts off very poorly, check in time is 4pm.great, however there is no key in the agreed upon location. Call contact number, goes to voice mail, email, text no response for about 20 minutes. Finally at almost 5pm key arrives with apologies.

Finally in side, downstairs has a musty smell, check out the place, not very clean but not very dirty, just ok.

One bed room up stairs had the window frame leaning against the wall, curtain was draped across window at a 45 degree angle! Rental representative called several numbers and no answer as to why or when it would be fixed. finally was told would be taken care of. While at dinner it was... the wooden frame was shoved into the closet!

Front kitchen very poorly supplied rear kitchen overly supplied, one bed room 3 lamps, only one worked! One bed room toilet had the water shut off.

One bedroom smoke detector had a faulty battery thereby chirped all night.

My suggestion to travelers pass on this one.

My suggestion to the owners, a little hands on care would make this a go to house, whom ever you are paying to do the up keep and maintenance are not doing a very good job.

This is my first negative review on any Home Away From Home rental, and I have been using the site for 8 or 9 years.

Again Great View!

  • Submitted: Sep 28, 2015
  • Stayed: Sep 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: “I can appreciate the disappointment with waiting an extra 30 minutes for the key. This is the only timing mix up we had with this summer’s seven groups. We extended our sincere apologies and, given it was a beautiful day and the guests were enjoying a wonderful view from the wrap around porch, we hope this wasn’t too big an inconvenience. As for the window under repair, this historic 1896 structure requires constant maintenance and improvement and the contractor came earlier than expected so the window was in but the trim was not. We did have the wood trim stacked in a closet within hours of the guests arrival. As far as over stocking and under stocking the kitchens, the front kitchen they referenced is part of a suite and is equipped with only a refrigerator, microwave and coffee maker. I am pleased to say the window frame is done and we have installed new wood flooring in the hallway replacing the carpeting which was the cause of the musty smell. Again we appreciate all constructive suggestions and that we are always open to helpful and thoughtful comments. If you have a large group the location is perfect for wedding parties, family reunions, bicycle groups or any large gathering of friends. The Charlevoix County Inn is not something to “pass” but a great historical and unique experience as our other guests would attest.”
Did you find this review helpful?
5 0


Nearest Airport
1 Miles
Charlevoix, MI
Nearest Barpub
0.1 Miles
Nearest Ferry
0.1 Miles
Beaver Island Ferry
Nearest Golf
1 Miles
Charlevoix City Golf
Nearest Motorway
0.1 Miles
US 31
Nearest Restaurant
0.1 Miles
Nearest Ski
1 Miles
Mt. McSauba
Nearest Beach
0.1 Miles
Lake Michigan

Located one block from downtown restaurants shopping, marina, and the list goes on and on.


Rates & Availability

Charlevoix House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
May 15 2017 - Sep 30 2017
3 night minimum stay
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay

Additional information about rental rates

cleaning $300
Refundable damage deposit $1,500
Tax Rate 6.0%

Prices vary depending on the size of the group. Call for information.

Manager's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the manager or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Contact Manager

You might like these similar properties