Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927


Bedrooms 2
Property type house


About the property

Open concept one bedroom, sleeping porch, queen sofa/sleeper,sleeps 5. Sauna.

Absolute UP Heaven- Large Beach to Walk for Miles- Great Hiking/Biking-Canoeing-Swimming-Hunting-Fishing- ORV/ATV/Snowmobiling-Close to Casino-45 Minutes to Pictured Rocks-90 Minutes to Mackinac Island-90 Minutes to Marquette

Abundant Sunshine

Beautiful Gardens

Rock and Driftwood collecting galore

Beach Screen house- Great place to snooze

Lots of bird watching-Gulls-Eagles-Swans-Ducks-Herons-Sandhill Cranes

Calendar is blocked for privacy reasons. Stay minimum is negotiable. Please call to inquire on number of days minimum stay and availability.

More Details

Member since: 2013
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
October 10, 2017

About The Owner

We reside in Spread Eagle WI. We live on a chain of inland lakes but we are just crazy about the 'big' water of Lake Michigan. The wildflowers, solitude, and beach walks. Does it get any better? Did we mention the stars? One more perk ...My husband and I own an AVEDA day spa. Needless to say the cottage and sauna are well stocked with skin care, body care and hair care products. Great for a 'girls week-end' or a much needed personal retreat or a couples get away. Any questions or if you not seeing the dates you are looking for please email. Calendar is blocked for privacy reasons. Please call to inquire on number of days minimum stay and availability.

The Owner purchased this house in 2009

Why The Owner chose Upper Peninsula

R&R peace and quiet. The sounds of nature. The trance of the waves. If you need a little shade we have a hammock hanging under the cedar trees canopy. Another great place to rest or read a book is the beach/screen house. Or if you're part cat you might want to relax in the sunshine on a down filled comforter in the sleeping porch. We only have room for small groups. By no means a resort or campground.

What makes this house unique

Wake up and have a beach day! We have a gas grill on the patio and a charcoal grill on the beach. Stroll the miles of beach and collect driftwood, fly a kite, watch for wildlife, chase the gulls or marvel at the eagles soaring. When you've had enough take a nice nap in the screen house. Enjoy the quietness.


Manistique House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 11:30 AM / Check-out: 3:00 PM
  • Max. occupancy: 5
  • Events Allowed
  • children welcome ...
  • pets not allowed ...
  • non smoking only ...
Location Type:
  • Beach View ...
  • Beachfront ...
  • Downtown ...
  • Lake View ...
  • Lakefront ...
  • Rural ...
  • Ski-In ...
  • Water View
  • Waterfront
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster ...
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower , porcelain tile.
  • Full Four Piece Bathroom with tiled shower.
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 5
  • Bedroom 2 - 1 queen , Supectacular Sunporch with private entrance/exit
    Bedroom 1 - 1 queen , 1 twin/ single , Large Suite with walk-in closet
    Bedroom 3 - 1 sleep sofa /futon , Queen size in living room
  • - Pillowtop Mattress-Relaxing Beach-Water-Wildlife-Moon views. Cotton linens, duvet covers on down comforters
  • Books ...
  • DVD Player ...
  • Games ...
  • Music Library ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo ...
  • Television ...
  • Video Library ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Golf ...
  • Lanai / Gazebo ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
Pool / Spa:
  • Sauna ...
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • library
  • marina
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • gambling casinos
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • ice skating
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • rafting
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • skiing
  • snowmobiling
  • swimming
  • water tubing
  • wind-surfing
Some times are blocked for cleaning/maintenance. If you are interested in a blocked time, we are able to change some of our times. Just give us a call. Liz and Mark


Wonderful! 4.9/5 -
(15 traveler reviews)

93% Complete
0% Complete
6% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
average rating of 4.866667 based on 15 reviews
Grosse Pointe, MI.

Beautiful home with beautiful views!

  • 5 of 5

We just returned from a wonderful trip through the U.P. Casa du Marc was our first stop and we really enjoyed this cottage! The photos do not do it justice! The views are spectacular. You feel like you have your own private beach for miles. The wood fired sauna was completely set up and ready to light. We enjoyed the beautiful patio with comfortable reclining chairs and grilled a delicious piece of local whitefish for dinner one evening on the BBQ grill. The entire cottage was spotless, the beds were very comfortable - made up with double sets of European duvets and high quality sheets, the bathroom was very clean, well stocked with fresh towels and the owners invite you to use their selection of Aveda body scrubs in the sauna. We enjoyed exploring Kitch-iti-kipi and Fayette Historic Park. Nearby Jack's grocery store had a great selection - their hot handmade pasties are very good! We saw a lot of wildlife while we were there; 4 sandhills cranes, 3 bald eagles fishing on the beach, a coyote on a drive not far from the cottage and a beautiful fawn also stood up in the brush between the cottage and the beachfront one night while we were making a fire on the deck. The owners are so gracious and kind, they left a lot of information for renters and were very easy to work with. I have already recommended this rental to all my friends and family! I wish them much success. Thanks again for the wonderful stay!

  • Submitted: Jul 21, 2015
  • Stayed: Jul 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0

Incredible, secluded beach house

  • 5 of 5

This place is straight out of a dream! Immaculately kept house, wonderful host, huge private beach and beach house. There aren't enough words to describe how wonderful this house is. We are a family of 4 with 2 small children and it worked perfectly for us. Fully stocked kitchen, wonderful outdoor space and loads of wildlife made it a vacation that we will never forget.

We will absolutely return to Liz's house next summer!

  • Submitted: Oct 7, 2017
  • Stayed: Jul 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


  • 5 of 5

This was our second stay at Casa de Marc Marc. It is simply beautiful. The owners have obviously put so much love (and hard work) into this property, and it's perfect. The cottage is a peaceful, wonderful escape with an amazing beach. Thank you again for sharing your beautiful home!

  • Submitted: Sep 29, 2017
  • Stayed: Sep 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank-you, It gives me great pleasure to share-Elizabeth
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Amazing location and property!

  • 5 of 5

From the moment we pulled up Lake Michigan was in view. Whether sitting on the lake or in the house the peacefull and private surroundings take your breath away.

The house has everything our family of 4 needs and then some. Space, comfort, and amenities that make relaxing "up north" everything one could want.

We certainly hope to return!

  • Submitted: Jul 27, 2017
  • Stayed: Jul 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Relaxing, quiet, and serene...just needs a few tweeks.

  • 3 of 5

We enjoyed the cottage quite a bit. The location is fantastic. Houses nearby, yet felt very secluded, as the trees are dense. The lake is quite close to the house, so a highlight was listening to the waves crash while falling asleep. The place was cute, and the outdoor areas are nice with plenty of outdoor seating. The sauna, and outdoor fireplace were wonderful. Plenty of firewood was supplied. There were some cons however. When we arrived, cleaning supplies were out on the counters. (Cleaning was not the first thing I wanted to think about when starting my vacation. Wasn't sure what they were implying either). Despite the presence of cleaning supplies, the fridge was quite dirty, the counter, as well as the shower. So I did use those supplies, on the shower anyway. The mattress in the front could stand to be replaced (the bed sunk terribly in the middle), and wash cloths and hand towels were in short supply (2 washcloths for my family of three for 5 nights). Ended up buying more for the stay. Overall the place was nice, and would stay again, however would like to see improvements on the above mentioned items, then it would be just perfect!

  • Submitted: Sep 18, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Your review makes me sad. The first thing most guest notice are the beautiful surroundings. We have had great success leaving cleaning supplys out for guest to use. We don't do this to offend guest it's a convenience. Did you not look in the drawers to find washclothes? If is our first negative review. I'm sorry you were not completely satified.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Beautiful - Summer of 2016

  • 5 of 5

If you're looking for a tranquil, relaxing vacation in pristine nature--this property is perfect. Not only did we have a lovely, secluded cottage with a private beach, the surrounding areas offer a true, unspoiled UP experience that was exactly what we hoped for. The cottage manages to feel simultaneously quaint and lux. The pictures are accurate--in fact, the property and the cottage look even nicer than the photos suggest. We were sorry that we did not book a longer stay. Lake Michigan is absolutely beautiful in this area, very sandy and private. In Manistique, we took advantage of the winery, the Chinese restaurant, and Jack's Fresh Market. Lake Superior is also an hour north, and along the drive, we stopped and purchased handmade snowshoes for our children. We highly recommend this location in general, and this cottage in particular. Thank you Liz and Mark!

  • Submitted: Sep 10, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Nearest Barpub
3 Miles
Kewadin Casino
Nearest Golf
15 Miles
Indian Lake 18 holes/ Stony Pointe 9 holes
Nearest Motorway
3 Miles
Nearest Restaurant
8 Miles
Upper Crust/Cedar St Cafe/ 3-Seasons/China King
Nearest Ski
x/c trails
Nearest Beach
Your there
Car: necessary

Manistique has a quaint downtown with a newly renovated marina and park. Boardwalk and public beach adjacent to marina. Numerous festivals are held downtown throughout the year.


Rates & Availability

Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Property Damage Protection $59
Tax Rate 6.0%

Calendar is blocked for privacy reasons. Please call or email to inquire about availability.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.

You might like these similar properties