check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit

Spacious Waterfront 5 Bedrooms, Private Pool, Dockage, Sombrero Beach area

Bedrooms 5
Property type house
Minimum Stay 6 - 7 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the VRBO checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more


Minimum Stay
6 - 7 nights

About the property

Waterfront, Single Family Home Located In Sombrero Beach Area With Private Pool

Enjoy your Florida Keys vacation in this luxury, waterfront single family home with private pool near beautiful Sombrero Beach. Spacious with two levels of living space ~ five bedrooms, 4 baths, 100 feet of deep water dockage, wireless internet, huge kitchen! Located on wide canal within minutes of the beach. The dock has fish cleaning station, bait freezer, water and electric. Nice tiki hut barbeque area. Family friendly for large groups or family reunions. Well equipped, all linens provided, pool towels and beach towels, central air conditioning, washer/dryer, dishwasher, microwave.

Bedding includes one king and one queen on upstairs level. Downstairs level has 1 king, 1 queen, and bunk beds with single and double.


More Details

Property Manager
Louise Branflick
Member since: 2014
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
January 20, 2017

Why Louise Branflick chose Marathon Area

Location, Location, Location! This home is in Marathon, the Heart of the Florida Keys. It is a short, scenic ride to Key West or Key Largo, right in the middle of it all! Swim with dolphins, manatees and turtles. Excellent fishing and breath taking sunsets!

What makes this house unique

It is the perfect place for beach lovers, boaters, fishermen, kids, families or honeymooners.


Excellent! 4.5/5 -
(10 traveler reviews)

Spacious Waterfront 5 Bedrooms, Private Pool, Dockage, Sombrero Beach area
average rating of 4.5 based on 10 reviews

Awesome Fishing Vacation

  • 5 of 5

This house was absolutely perfect for our group of 11!!! We had plenty of space. We loved the large dining table upstairs and gathered there often for meals, games and conversation. The boat dock was perfect for our 2 fishing boats which we brought home Mahi daily!! This house is conveniently located close to everything we needed or wanted. The Turtle Hospital and Dolphin Research Center was awesome! Thanks for helping make a great vacation with great friends possible!!

  • Submitted: Jul 11, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Fleming Island, FL


  • 5 of 5

June 2016

2 families combined to spend a week in this wonderful home. Everything from the location, pool, and ocean access made this the best week of the year. The dock accommodated a 29ft boat easily with a wide enough canal to make turning/docking a breeze. Access to the ocean allowed quick offshore fishing in the morning, then a 3 minute boat ride in the evening to fish next to the mangroves with the kids. The set up of the house allowed the kids to have their time downstairs and gave the adults their relaxing time upstairs. The pool table was a great addition to keep the kids busy when they weren't fishing off the dock or swimming in the pool. The location allowed the kids a short walk to the beach to get a few games of sand volleyball in after dinner. It was nice having Publix and K Mart at the entrance to Sombrero for groceries and miscellaneous needs. Very little driving after you park your car, except for groceries and bait. There's no reason to leave "paradise".

Multiple years vacationing in Marathon and this by far was the best home we have rented.

  • Submitted: Jun 30, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: It is great to hear that you enjoyed the house as much as we do. Its perfect for two families and the location provides something for everyone. Thank you so much for staying with us and taking the time to leave your review, its much appreicated.
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

The Best Time!

  • 5 of 5

Recently we stayed at this amazing property. We had a large group of 10 from young to old. The spaciousness of the house was perfect for everyone. With kitchen and social areas on both floors it gave everyone the ability to gather as they liked. The upstairs was a wonderful large space when all of us gathered at one time. The bedrooms and bathrooms were great, along with an outdoor porch and awesome roof seating for sunbathing, sunsets and star gazing. The pool was over the top and as it was screened in just added to our enjoyment, bug and lizard free. We all enjoyed it several times a day! The dock on the canal was beautiful anytime and we had Iguana's and an occasion white Crane check us out. The homes' surrounding landscape made us feel as if we were the only place in a small jungle. This is a very nice and quiet neighborhood and only a few blocks from a fantastic beach where we spent many hours enjoying the warm water and white sands. The houses' location is very close to stores and restaurants for easy access. We would love to come and stay again........and hopefully we will!

  • Submitted: Jun 8, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your vacation and that the house was perfect for you. Thank you so much for leaving a review we much appreciate it.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

We will be back!

  • 5 of 5

The property was so lush and tropical. Plenty of places for sitting and relaxing. Spacious, comfortable house with screened in pool that kept children occupied for hours. Close to beach and beautiful sunsets. Bonnie Sanderson was helpful in our arrangements to rent a house in Marathon, Florida Keys. She was courteous to deal with and responded quickly to our emails. She went beyond the "call of duty" to make sure our stay was a pleasant one. We are planning to return and have chosen to work with Bonnie again.

  • Submitted: Feb 5, 2016
  • Stayed: Dec 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Magical Vacation in a Gorgeous House!!

  • 5 of 5

Our family recently rented this house for a multigenerational, multinational family trip. We couldn't have been happier with it. The house is spacious, with large bedrooms and larger living areas. The spacious kitchen was a blessing for the chef in the house (that being me!). Our young boys loved having a pool in the house, and it's location close to the bathroom to facilitate showers afterward was pleasing for Mom. All the amenities for the week were there.

The house is actually walking distance to Sombrero beach. This is a big plus, as it can be hard to find significant stretches of sandy beach in the Keys. This also means that you can get to the beach quickly when the sun is out, and escape during an afternoon shower. The house is also directly on a canal. This gave us our most magical encounter of the trip. While standing on the Widow's walk upstairs one day, I saw some large animals surfacing on the water in back of the house. I ran down and found that there were Manatees playing in the water. The kids came down and they came right up to us, allowing us to stroke their faces. They were such beautiful and gentle creatures. A lot of people pay a lot of money to have this experience, but we had it in the wild and for free. That is priceless.

I would recommend this house to anyone wanting a relaxing vacation with the kids.

  • Submitted: Nov 9, 2015
  • Stayed: Oct 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Key West FL

Beautiful Home Terrible Stay

  • 1 of 5

This vacation was the first chance for my family along with my sister and brother to bring our children together in many years. The home is beautiful, spacious with plenty of room for a large group, the location is fabulous and pool great, we were very excited to start our week. 2 days in at about 8am FKAA showed up to disconnect the water. We were told that the water usage was was incredibly high, that there must be a leak and had no choice but to shut it down. We called the rental agents cell phone, called the office and couldn't get anyone. We called with no response for several hours. A maintenance person and plumbers came over and at about 3pm the outside leak had been found and we had water restored. Not a good situation but we were still vacationing, we had the pool, the beach we had no toilets but all was still ok. Wed. we noticed the sink in the mini kitchen downstairs started draining slow - we left a message for the agent with no response. Thurs. early evening after my niece showered we were greeted to a complete sewer back-up of the whole downstairs portion of the house. We called the agent again with no response, called the office and insisted they send someone else from the agency over to see what was happening. Water was about a foot deep in places throughout the bottom floor - any personal items on the floor were ruined. An agent came over, called a plumber and a company to extract the water. She found another home to relocate us to and told us to grab what was needed and come back in the morning for our belongings. We appreciated the move but it took until 9pm to get necessities bagged, wet items sorted and over to the new place. Sadly the new place was NOT fabulous but we were still vacationing. The next morning we went back to the house to pack and gather our belongings to discover the home had been completely cleaned out - all personal items missing, our completely stocked refrigerator EMPTY! The plumbers were there and told us the that roots had blocked the pipes causing the back up. Our agent had called housekeeping to clean and they had taken everything. Housekeeping came to the house and returned our items but no food - hope the chicken and Corona were good! At this point we have requested a refund for our ruined vacation, 3 days dealing with the messes and money wasted to be told the owner has filed an insurance claim - Its been a month waiting for a response. Our refund should not be dependent on insurance claims.

  • Submitted: Aug 19, 2015
  • Stayed: Jul 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your comments. I'm sorry that you had to experience a water/drain issue, this has never happened before so it was the first time we have observed how our Property Management company dealt with it. I also apologize for the delay in response to your claim which was due to a lack of information around your relocation being provided to us by the Agent. It had nothing to do with any insurance claim so I am not sure why you would think that. I'm pleased to hear that you were enjoying our home until the water incident which happened on the Tuesday, your 4th day. I know the plumbing company was called straight away to try and resolve the issue. Unfortunately the drain backup went unnoticed resulting in the flood on the lower floor on day 6 and you were relocated for your last 2 nights. I understand that the agent relocated you to a large 7 bedroomed property with pool and dock, seen (based on agent comments, description and rates) as comparable if not an upgrade. I'm sorry you didn't think it was to the same standard. In addition to paying for your 2 nights relocation, we have given you a compensation payment equivalent to 3 nights for the disruption you had on the Tuesday and Thursday and our Agent also compensated you for the loss of food incident by paying over $500 for a dinner out. If you have damaged personal belongings; please send me photos and any receipts for the costs so we can compensate you for that too. Unfortunately, I was informed about the flood/relocation incident after the Agents on the ground had already made decisions around clean up and relocation. The feedback you have provided in this review is invaluable, based on your comments, we are reviewing which Property Management service we use going forward. As reflected in other reviews, we strive to keep it in tiptop condition for all of our guests to enjoy so any feedback is greatly received. Louise Property Owner
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0


Nearest Airport
50 Miles
Key West
Nearest Ferry
50 Miles
Key West
Nearest Golf
1 Miles
Sombrero Country Club
Nearest Motorway
1 Miles
Overseas Highway
Nearest Beach
0.1 Miles
Sombrero Beach
Car: recommended


Rates & Availability

Marathon House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
Jan. 7 - Mar. 24
Jan 7 2017 - Mar 24 2017
7 night minimum stay
Spring Break
Mar 25 2017 - Apr 21 2017
7 night minimum stay
Apr. 22 - May 26
Apr 22 2017 - May 26 2017
7 night minimum stay
May 27 - June 30
May 27 2017 - Jun 30 2017
7 night minimum stay
4th of July
Jul 1 2017 - Jul 7 2017
7 night minimum stay
July 8 - July 21
Jul 8 2017 - Jul 21 2017
7 night minimum stay
Mini Lobster Season
Jul 22 2017 - Jul 28 2017
6 night minimum stay
July 29 - Aug. 4
Jul 29 2017 - Aug 4 2017
7 night minimum stay
Lobster Season
Aug 5 2017 - Aug 18 2017
7 night minimum stay
Aug. 19 - Aug. 25
Aug 19 2017 - Aug 25 2017
7 night minimum stay
Aug. 26 - Nov. 17
Aug 26 2017 - Nov 17 2017
7 night minimum stay
Nov 18 2017 - Nov 24 2017
7 night minimum stay
Nov. 25 - Dec. 22
Nov 25 2017 - Dec 22 2017
7 night minimum stay
Christmas/New Years
Dec 23 2017 - Jan 5 2018
7 night minimum stay
My Standard Rate
7 night minimum stay

Additional information about rental rates

Pet Fee $100
Cleaning $300 + Tax
Pool Heat (Optional) $200
Tax Rate 12.5%

Rates are subject to change until reservation is confirmed. Guests can cancel up to 24 hours after the initial reservation without penalty. If the reservation is more than 30 days away, guests can cancel with a 5% penalty. No refund is available for cancelations within 30 days of reservation unless the guests have purchased trip protection.

Manager's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Contact Me Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)


Marathon House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 3132 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Water View
  • Waterfront
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 10 people
  • 4 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 4 - toilet , shower
  • 5 Bedrooms, Sleeps 12
  • Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 5 - 1 bunk bed , twin on top, queen on bottom. TV
    Bedroom 4 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 1 - 1 king , First floor master with flat screen TV
    Bedroom 3 - 1 king , Ground floor master, flat screen TV.
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Pool Table
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television ...
  • Balcony
  • Deck / Patio
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
Pool / Spa:
  • Heated Pool
  • Private Pool ...
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • golf privileges optional
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • paragliding
  • parasailing
  • pier fishing
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • sound/bay fishing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties