Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Spacious 2 Bedroom Flat in the heart of the Gourmet Ghetto

Sleeps6
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Space 1,300 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Overview

About the property

2 Bedrooms, 1 Bath

Relax in a large, centrally located 1,500 sq. ft. unit in a side by side duplex. Just 1 block from Walnut Square, shop the many boutiques, have a cup of Joe at the original Peet's Coffee, or dine in a variety of restaurants including the world famous Chez Panisse.

Groceries, banking, pharmacies and a post office are all within a few blocks.

In the mood for an urban hike? Head right outside your front door and you will be in the hills of Berkeley with many paths through interesting neighborhoods. Two blocks and you can catch a bus that will take you into San Francisco, and just a few blocks more you will be able to get on Bart, the SF area subway which can take you directly to the San Francisco airport.

The unit has hardwood floors, a fireplace, large rooms and plenty of closet space. Well appointed, clean and comfortable with free wifi and cable TV. On site laundry and off street parking in a tandem 2 car garage with electric door.

The living room is large and bright with a couch and 2 chairs chair along with a sunny spot for reading by the fireplace.

The dining room seats 6 and a small kitchen table seats 2 by the windows. One bedroom has a day bed (which can turn into 2 twins or a queen) and the master has a king bed. Area rugs cover the floors in all the rooms.

Enjoy an outdoor patio in the backyard. Relax, read, sip wine and absorb the warmth of the sun.

As locals who love to travel and explore, we can help you plan fun activities not just in the Berkeley but also San Francisco, Marin and the Napa Valley which is just a 45 min drive away.

More Details

Owner
Terri Giamartino
Member since: 2013
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
October 16, 2017

About Terri Giamartino

I have lived in Berkeley with my family for over 35 years. I have rented out an in-law unit in my own home and enjoyed meeting many people from around the globe. I have two children and work as a project manager in the health industry. My hobbies include hiking, biking and martial arts. I love to travel and enjoy helping visitors find unique and interesting things to do.

Terri Giamartino purchased this house in 1971

Why Terri Giamartino chose Berkeley

This property is very conveniently located for seeing the San Francisco area, Berkeley being in itself a city worth spending time in. It has a garage for those that want to have a car, but a car is not necessary since shopping and transportation is within easy walking distance.

What makes this house unique

Location, location, location! The unit is clean and well appointed making it a wonderful place to call home while visiting the bay area.

Map

Nearest Airport
16 Miles
Oakland Airport
Nearest Barpub
0.2 Miles
Several on Shattuck
Nearest Ferry
8 Miles
Oakland, Jack London Square
Nearest Golf
3 Miles
Tilden Park
Nearest Train
2.5 Miles
Amtrak, Berkeley
Nearest Motorway
2.8 Miles
Highway 80
Nearest Restaurant
0.1 Miles
Many
Nearest Ski
169 Miles
Sugar Bowl
Nearest Beach
27 Miles
Muir Beach
Car: not necessary

This flat is located near several food stores, restaurants and boutiques. It is only blocks from the University of California, live theater, parks, tennis courts and public transportation to get into San Francisco. A little further and you can hike in several regional parks. Visit the Hall of Science, botanical garden or golf in Tilden park. All within a few miles.

Amenities

North Berkeley House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1300 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed ...
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Downtown ...
Theme:
  • Family
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace ...
  • Garage ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Free Wifi
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , tub , shower
  • shower tub combo
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king
    Bedroom 2 - 2 twin/ single , Day bed can covert to 2 twins or a queen
  • day bed with area rug, lamps, dresser and closet. South and west facing windows.
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
  • Toys
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio
  • Lawn / Garden
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • arboretum
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • synagogues
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • horseback riding
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • ice skating
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • sound/bay fishing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • wind-surfing

Reviews

Excellent! 4.5/5 -
(26 traveler reviews)

65% Complete
30% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
3% Complete
Spacious 2 Bedroom Flat in the heart of the Gourmet Ghetto
average rating of 4.5384617 based on 26 reviews
5

Comfortable home in great location

  • 5 of 5

Great, clean place that accommodates a family nicely. Close to fun restaurants, grocery stores, UC Berkeley and the BART. Garage fit our SUV.

  • Submitted: Apr 5, 2017
  • Stayed: Mar 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Comfortable retreat

  • 4 of 5

Had everything we needed. Decor a little dated but all very clean and functional

  • Submitted: Jul 20, 2017
  • Stayed: Jul 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
1

Location Amazing BUT place was super gross.

  • 1 of 5

Excellent location!

Owner backhandedly accused us(wife and 2 young kids) of smoking and leaving cigarette buds before we had even arrived...not very cool. Then we arrived after 12hours of traveling for my sisters wedding to the beds with horribly dirtied sheets...worst vrbo situation yet. The owner seemed cool online but the sheets had hair, dirt, stains (pictures to verify), stained sheets etc... Bathroom had mold...clearly not kept up or cleaned appropriately. Really not cool. Will be asking for some sort of refund. Unfortunate experience.

  • Submitted: Jul 19, 2017
  • Stayed: Jul 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Where to begin...you were never accused of smoking or leaving cigarette butts on the steps. We simply inquired if you knew anything about it since our neighbor said she found the butts on the stairs. As far as a dirty, unclean unit, we have had nothing but 4 and 5 star reviews, most of which mention cleanliness as a super plus! You mention dirty sheets and said you had to buy replacements late at night, yet no store in the area carries sheets appropriate for the beds in the unit and there were plenty of extra sheets in the closet. You could not provide a receipt nor did you leave any sheets in the apartment. I also have pictures taken of the bathroom which show no mold. Perhaps you are the problem. I assume this is about money. No complaints were ever made until 2 days after you left and my housekeeper once again cleaned. Interesting that you couldn't take 30 seconds to text or place a phone call with your concerns while you were there.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

We loved this house!

  • 4 of 5

Dishes & silverware need to be washed in the dishwasher because previous tenants were not very through with the washing of the said dishes. Having said that we loved our stay. Thank you Teri!

  • Submitted: May 25, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Austin, Texas USA
4

Would stay here again !!!

  • 4 of 5

Great location for our needs in Berkeley. We love walking in

Berkeley and this location is perfect for getting everywhere.

  • Submitted: Apr 14, 2017
  • Stayed: Apr 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Eugene, Oregon
4

college game

  • 4 of 5

Great location. The garage is pretty small yo fit your average suv like car

  • Submitted: Oct 23, 2016
  • Stayed: Oct 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $120
Property Damage Protection $79
Tax Rate 3.0%

No pets allowed in the unit, no smoking on the property. The person renting the unit has to be at least 25 years of age.

ADD'L Fee of $10 per night for each guest over 4 people.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.

You might like these similar properties