check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit

Lanikai Lookout Cottage, Ocean/Mountain Views, Private, Beach Side, Kayaks,SUP

Sleeps2
Bedrooms Studio
Bathrooms1
Property type apartment
Minimum Stay 4 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the VRBO checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview


Details
Property
apartment
Sleeps
2
Bedrooms
Studio
Bathrooms
1
Minimum Stay
4 nights

About the property

Private Apartment Loft, Kitchen, High Ceilings, Bamboo Floors, Kayaks, SUP

E Komo Mai or Welcome to the Lanikai Look Out Cottage.

This cottage is its own separate residence providing privacy, peace and quiet. Enjoy the sounds of the birds and the ocean. Private Outdoor seating and grill area. Convenient driveway parking available. Boogie Boards, beach chairs, snorkel gear, a sun umbrella, beach bag, and cooler are also available for your use. Enjoy snorkeling, swimming, kayaking and SUP on one of the most beautiful beaches in the world. Kayak to the Mokulua Islands where you can relax on the beach, picnic and snorkel. Kayaks, SUP's for Rent. We have many recommendations for sightseeing hiking, surfing, kayaking and restaurants.

A beautiful wood stairway leads you to your home away from home. The ocean view will capture you as you first step foot in the cottage. Turquoise waters and peak a boo views of the Mokulua Islands on the makai side, lush, green Lanikai Hillside views on the mauka side.

There are many windows in the cottage providing lots of natural light and trade wind breezes. For your comfort, there is also a ceiling fan and split air conditioning unit. Cool bamboo floors and high ceilings, make this a wonderful vacation retreat.

Prepare meals in this new kitchen with granite counter tops, high end cabinet storage, full size refrigerator/freezer, microwave, toaster oven, and other small appliances. There is a Black / Decker Counter 2 Burner Stove to prepare meals (See Pic). No oven although toaster oven is available.

The large beachy bathroom has a shower made for two, granite sink top, good lighting, a stacked washer and dryer, and lots of storage.

After a full day of exploring Oahu, rest in a comfy, new, KING SIZE bed with soft linens. Or lounge on the new couch.

If you tire of the views, there is a flat screen t.v. with basic cable. Free wifi is also available.

Enjoy bbqing on the gas grill located on the ground floor patio area. There is also a teak table with umbrella. A walk on the beach is only steps away.

W30614622-01

More Details

Property Manager
Michelle
Member since: 2013
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
90%
Calendar last updated:
January 22, 2017

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(34 traveler reviews)

Lanikai Lookout Cottage, Ocean/Mountain Views, Private, Beach Side, Kayaks,SUP
average rating of 4.8235292 based on 34 reviews
5

Quiet, Lanikai Paradise

  • 5 of 5

This was my first stay in the cottage and it (hopefully) won't be my last. The location is beyond perfect. I elected to not rent a car during this vacation and did not regret it for a moment. The beach is a 5 minute walk away, the bus stop is right at the front door for a quick ride into Kailua to shop and eat, and the night is quiet and dark (the night sky on clear nights is jaw droppingly beautiful).

It's location so close to the ocean means you get a lovely breeze that keeps the cottage comfortable enough that you don't need to turn the air conditioner on until later in the evening when the winds die down (or get too strong when a storm blows through).

I could not have been happier in my 9 days in the cottage. I loved every moment and look forward to seeing it again :)

  • Submitted: Oct 31, 2016
  • Stayed: Oct 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Mahalo!!! We look forward to having you back! A Hui Hou!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Loved our time in Lanikai!

  • 5 of 5

My husband and I enjoyed our time in Oahu and the Lanikai area. Michelle was most willing to be accommodating without being asked. We were comfortable in the cottage and hope to return. The only recommendation I would make in regard to the unit is a box fan would be nice. I felt like we could have used one when getting ready but never asked for one either. I'm sure if we had, we would have gotten one.

  • Submitted: Jan 13, 2017
  • Stayed: Dec 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Mahalo for your kind words! We can definitely add a fan for added comfort. The cottage has an amazing a/c unit but I understand a breeze from a fan is great when your getting ready for a night out:)) mahalo for your input. We look forward to having you back! Michelle
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
2

Beautiful location but disappointed in the cottage.

  • 2 of 5

The location is excellent, close to shops but quiet at night. Loved the breeze off the ocean through the cottage. The beach is close and one of the most beautiful on the island. But....we were disappointed in the condition of the amenities in the cottage. The toaster oven, hot plate, and other kitchen items were quite corroded and unappealing to cook with. I understand that this cottage is near the ocean. We lived on the beach for 8 years also, so I know what salt air can do. But it's nothing that a quick trip to Costco wouldn't solve! Also, the shower walls were not clean. I took some Comet and cleaned one tile to see how clean it could be. It looked like the tiles hadn't been cleaned for a while. The shower curtain is also rusty. There are electrical issues as well. Some lights and electrical outlets are not working. When turning on some of the lamps, the whole electric socket almost came out in our hands. The rusty lamps seemed as if they were from the '70s. The manager said they knew about this issue and hoped to have it fixed soon. I thInk that if renters are paying over $200 a night, these issues should be resolved before renting the unit! Also, we were not able to access the outdoor shed which contained the beach chairs and parasols. The keys we were given did not work. Disappointed and would not recommend this unit.

  • Submitted: Dec 29, 2016
  • Stayed: Dec 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: My guests requested a late check out on Christmas Day and because that was not possible I believe they wrote this review. My house cleaner, who works very hard and does a great job, was already scheduled to clean at check out time. I’m saddened because I did offer the guests options to stay late when they booked. They had declined those options. We are always available to assist and accommodate guest with any needs none of which were brought to our attention during their stay. All of the claims stated above are simply untrue. As seen in previous reviews we are owner operated and take great pride and care in the cottage and would address any concerns immediately.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
4

Spacy and wonderful windy vacation cottage

  • 4 of 5

I stayed four nights from end of October the beginning of rainy season. I really enjoyed Lanikai beach life during staying this place. The wonderful satisfaction things are (1) roomy space for houseband and wife (2) attractive wind from four side of windows (3) Cozy interiror (4) perfect location enjoying Lanikai beach and Kailua beach. Also I did BBQ at the back yard of cottage enjoying sound of wave and shinning stars. I strongly recommand husband and wife vacation.

하와이 우기의 시작인 10월말 4박을 하였습니다. 부부 혹은 커플이 머물기에는 넉넉한 공간과 사방으로 개방감 있게 난 창문 포근한 인테리어와 라니카이 비치와 카일루아 비치를 즐기기에는 완벽한 위치. 소박하게 뒷마당에 설치된 가스 BBQ 시설과 4개의 의자와 함께 준비된 테이블. Wholefood market에서 산 해산물과 와인 또는 라니카이 맥주와 즐기기에 참 좋았습니다. 4박내내 "커플이 시원하게 불어오는 바람 즐기기 휴가" 추천합니다.

  • Submitted: Nov 2, 2016
  • Stayed: Oct 2016
  • Source: Vacation Rentals, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Virginia Beach, VA
5

Perfect spot

  • 5 of 5

This is my third stay at the cottage. On my visits to Hawaii I only stay in VRBO properties, and this is by far my favorite on Oahu. The cottage has everything you need for a perfect stay on the windward side of the island....location, location, location...private, well equipped kitchen (no stove or oven but you don't need it with toaster oven, double hot plate and large George Forman grill, full size frig, microwave etc.). Comfortable bed, large bathroom with washer and dryer. Since the cottage is an upstairs unit you get the amazing trade winds, so it is always comfortable. Air conditioning is availabile but I come to Hawaii to get away from AC (in VA- we have to have it on 24/7). Great private outside dining including grill.

Kailua/Lanikai=the most beautiful beach everyday, paddle boarding, great shopping- all of my local favorites- Manuheali'i, Lanikai bath & body, Kailua general store, SOHO living, Global Village, twin islands clothing & red bamboo. Kailua Farmers market on Thursdays is a must!

Michelle the property manager is great she is always helpful when you need anything.

  • Submitted: Jul 23, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 1
5

Great location, nice place for the price

  • 5 of 5

The property is nice, open and airy. We stayed there over Christmas 2015. There is a small view of ocean as there is a house behind the rental. It appears that the garage was turned into an up and down (separate) rental unit. We stayed in the upper unit. I believe the owner's use the main house, but not sure as they may rent that out as well. It was perfect for us, just a 1 bedroom studio. Kitchen and baths were nice and good size living space. I would definitely go back.

  • Submitted: May 19, 2016
  • Stayed: Dec 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Mahalo for your kind words. We are happy you enjoyed your stay. The lookout cottage is its own space with no other attached rentals. The space below is empty or for storage . Guests enjoy the privacy of this unit with their own separate entrance and private fenced patio and grill area. This property is owner occupied and we take great pride in assuring guests have wonderful accomadations and a beautiful quiet space to enjoy their Hawaiian vacation! Mahalo!
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0

Map

The Lanikai Look Out Cottage is located in the exclusive Lanikai neighborhood. Enjoy walking or jogging around the 'loop', hiking the Pill Boxes, Kayaking to the Mokulua Islands, stand up paddling in the bay, snorkeling, or just relaxing on the white sandy beach.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Lanikai Apartment Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
March special
Mar 16 2017 - Mar 31 2017
4 night minimum stay
$185
 
 
My Standard Rate
4 night minimum stay
$195
 

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $115 + Tax
Tax Rate 13.91%

50% due on booking date. Remaining 50% balance due 30 days prior to reservation. 15% cancellation fee on total cost prior to 30 days. No refund within 30 days of reservation date.

For cancellations for Holiday (i.e. Thanksgiving, Christmas, July 4th ect.)15% cancellation fee on total cost prior to 60 days. No refund within 60 days.

Christmas rates $215/night for Dec 20- Jan4

W30614622-01

Manager's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the manager or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Contact Me Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Lanikai Apartment Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • apartment
  • floor 2
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 700 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Mountain View ...
  • Ocean View ...
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster ...
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower
  • Large bathroom with good lighting and window. Huge walk in shower made for two. Washing Machine and Dryer. Ample storage.
Bedrooms:
  • Studio, Sleeps 2
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king , Loft style - studio
  • New KING SIZE bed. Two built in closets.
Entertainment:
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television ...
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Water Sports Gear ...
Suitability:
  • non smoking only
  • not suitable for children
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Onsite Services:
  • Concierge
Attractions:
  • botanical garden
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • marina
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • eco tourism
  • miniature golf
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • kayaking
  • paragliding
  • sailing
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Grocery shopping services available. Off street parking

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties