Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Deluxe Modern Condo Completely Renovated! Just Steps from World Class Beach!

Sleeps4
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Space 454 sq. ft.
Property type condo
Minimum Stay 1 - 7 nights

Overview

About the property

1 BR/1 BA, Tropical Garden View, #1219, 240 steps from Charley Young Beach! $99!

We are offering great discounts for August! Only $99/night, no minimum!

Come Share Our Dream Home!

This charming deluxe condo is not an investment property, we live in this condo part time. We chose this condo for its location right across from Charley Young Beach (next to Kama'ole 1), our favorite Maui beach.

Our condo (#1219) is on the 2nd floor in building #1 and is one of the nicest units in the Maui Vista complex. The condo was completely renovated including new tile throughout the entire unit, all new kitchen with stainless steel appliances, new cabinets, granite counter tops and cozy built-in bench seating. The condo is air conditioned, has all the usual amenities, PLUS free Internet, free Hawaii, mainland and Canadian phone calls, xBox 360 and more (see details).

We chose a Kihei location because Kihei gets more sun than most of Maui (some parts of Maui can be quite wet!). Kihei is also centrally located, making it easy to take a quick trip to Lahaina (west side) or the North shore (which is great for sports... one of the reasons we are on Maui). Kahului (where the airport is) is only 15-20 minutes away. This is also where you would start your trip to Hana if you want to explore the wilder east side of the island. Or of course, just stay in Kihei and enjoy all its amenities. Supermarkets, restaurants, bars, golf courses, and more, are all within walking distance. And the beach is directly across the street - only a 2 minute walk away!

We believe being fully booked is more important than maximizing our rates, so our rates are priced slightly lower than other condos of the same caliber.

Are you looking for a 2 bedroom condo? Check out our other condo - ocean view on the 4th floor of the same building (Building #1). It's VRBO #451191.

More Details

Owner
Ellen Whitney
Member since: 2013
Speaks: english, german
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
July 17, 2017

About Ellen Whitney

Aloha! We are Markus and Ellen, the owners of the condo you are considering. We live on Maui part time, and we split our time between Maui, Houston, and Austria (near the city of Salzburg in the middle of the Alps). I know: It's a tough life, but someone has to do it ;-)

But it's not all fun and games of course. We are business owners who happen to be lucky enough to be able to work from anywhere with an internet connection. The good news is we travel - a lot! The bad news is we always bring work with us, but we love it! Our core business revolves around custom software development. We specialize in consulting, custom software development, training, conferences, and more. We also publish one of the leading software developer magazines (CODE Magazine).

Ellen Whitney purchased this condo in 2013

Why Ellen Whitney chose South Maui

When we bought our condo, we first and foremost looked for a great location. We wanted something that provided the “tropical island feeling”. We wanted to be near or on a beach, and not just any beach, but on a beach we really liked and felt at home at. We also wanted a nice location that would provide access to the things we liked, and we wanted a location that would give us easy access to other cool locations, such as the North Shore and Lahaina. We wanted grocery stores, restaurants, bars and shops within walking distance. We wanted a great location that we could bring our friends to. With all that, it quickly became clear we wanted to be in the southern part of Kihei, near our favorite beach on the island - Charley Young Beach (the north end of Kama'ole 1).

What makes this condo unique

Our favorite Maui beach (Charley Young) is directly across the street, less than 100 yards (240 steps! :) away. We have tons of restaurants, bars and shops, including a grocery store, within walking distance. Other Maui attractions (such as the North Shore, Lahaina and many others) are not far, since Kihei is centrally located. The airport is nearby.

Guestbook comments from the owner

This place is great! Location is simply amazing, very close to everything. We traveled with 1 yo baby and it was important for us to be close to restaurants, to the beach, and grocery. Condo is clean, not new but very well kept. Ellen was very sweet and helpful. She responded quickly, it's pleasure to work with her. I would recommend this place. Complex is nice, a lot of families, so it's not loud after 9pm. There is no AC in the bedroom but we were ok with that. AC [in the living room] definitely helped in the hottest part of the day. It is perfect home away from home!
May 2016
  • 1 of 11

Amenities

Kihei Condo Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • condo
  • floor 2
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 454 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM / Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 4
  • children welcome ...
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only ...
Location Type:
  • Mountain View ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Elevator
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Free Wifi
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom - toilet , combination tub/shower
Bedrooms:
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 4
  • Living Room - Sofa Bed - 1 sleep sofa /futon , Queen sofa bed overlooking the lanai and garden view
    Mater Bedroom - 1 queen , Large master bedroom with plenty of storage & closet space
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • DVD Player ...
  • Music Library ...
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo ...
  • Television
  • Video Games ...
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Bicycles ...
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Lanai / Gazebo ...
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Tennis ...
  • Water Sports Gear ...
  • 10 bicycles
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • wheelchair accessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
Attractions:
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • duty free shops
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • synagogues
  • water parks
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • horseshoes
  • luaus
  • miniature golf
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • shuffleboard
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • golf privileges optional
  • hiking
  • hot air ballooning
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • paragliding
  • parasailing
  • pier fishing
  • racquetball
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • whitewater rafting
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Take the Tommy Bahama beach chairs to the beach - only 240 steps away! (Yes, one of our guests counted! :) Condo is located on the 2nd floor with a great tropical garden view! The building has an elevator.

Reviews

Excellent! 4.6/5 -
(33 traveler reviews)

69% Complete
21% Complete
6% Complete
3% Complete
0% Complete
Deluxe Modern Condo Completely Renovated! Just Steps from World Class Beach!
average rating of 4.5757575 based on 44 reviews
Edmonton, Alberta Canada
5

Great Maui Experience

  • 5 of 5

Ellen was extremely organized and easy to work with in booking the property. Condo was just as advertised: modern, clean and close to beaches and all the activity in Kihei. Complex is also quite nice - BBQ's, Tennis courts, Pool. Parking is abundant. No issues at all and really enjoyed my stay!

  • Submitted: May 28, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Aloha Jesse! I'm glad your stay was issue free and you had a great time! I hope you can visit again soon! ellen
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

We really loved our stay. This condo is recently remodeled, clean and modern.

  • 5 of 5

It's also just across the street from one of the nicest stretches of beach on Maui.

  • Submitted: Jun 12, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Aloha Mike! I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay in our condo and the beach! Hope you will be able to visit again soon. Ellen
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Excellent

  • 5 of 5

The home was in excellent proximity to good food and great beaches. Very clean and a wonderful place to stay. This is a wonderful place to stay! Also, the hosts were very accommodating and available to answer any questions or needs we had.

  • Submitted: Mar 2, 2017
  • Stayed: Feb 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Aloha Liz - Thank you for the glowing review! I'm so happy you loved our condo and it's location! It always makes me happy when someone enjoys their stay. Elvira and I work very hard to be responsive to our guests and answer questions. I hope you can visit Maui again soon! Have a great day! ellen
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

Not a Comfortable Stay

  • 3 of 5

Sometimes a rental is more like someones home and sometimes a rental is a rental. This one falls into it is a a rental. Well worn sheets, comforter, pillows and mattress. Sparsely furnished with garage sale mismatched and rough looking furniture, cushion on bench in eating area more that well worn. Cushions and pillows in the eating area and on the couch in desperate need of cleaning. No bbq tools, no tupperware, still no corkscrew, only a few not nice plastic glasses for around the pool. Only one boogie board, left two brand new ones. Beach chairs also well worn, zippers did not work on either one of the coolers sections, they were also full of previous users garbage and sand. Bathroom fan - does not work well if it works. Levers on the air conditioner cannot adjust so the cold air blows into the side of the couch, hoping this was why it never seemed to cool very well. Not sure why there are pictures stored behind the dresser in the bedroom. A full length mirror would be a nice touch. Came here after a stay at the Kihei Kai Nani and the room there was less expensive, very well equipped and lower priced, will remain my choice.

  • Submitted: Feb 23, 2017
  • Stayed: Feb 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Brenda - I'm so sorry you were disappointed with the condo! We normally get 5-star reviews, so I was really surprised by yours. Sounds like some past guests have removed some things from the condo (cork-screw, boogie boards, BBQ tools etc.), because all those items were previously there. I will definitely make sure they are replaced, it's really difficult to figure out the small items that go missing between guests. so thanks for letting us know! Again, I'm sorry you weren't thrilled with our condo! If you ever come to Maui again, I'd love the chance to make it up to you. Have a nice day - ellen UPDATE - we've replaced the missing items - new bedding, BBQ tools, corkscrew, plastic pool glasses, Tupperware containers, etc! :) Enjoy!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
2

Clean basic Unit.

  • 2 of 5

The unit is basic, modern and clean. It was ideal for myself and wife, i could see where it may be a little cramp for a family when you want to relax at night you have the choice of sitting on a couch or the kitchen chairs or bench to relax.

The deck is not in anyway private as you are right at the area where everyone comes and goes into building one, and also located directly above the complex office. At night we like to relax with a drink on the deck but unfortunately you only have a choice of sitting on a garden bench, there was also a couple of plastic chairs on the deck am sure would have been equally as uncomfortable.

As I say, clean basic is what your getting, as for amenities they do have a couple nice beach chairs and umbrella and two large coolers, couple kids boogie boards, and a snorkel no fins or mask.

  • Submitted: Feb 14, 2017
  • Stayed: Feb 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Stewart - I agree that although it does sleep 4, it's more comfortable for 2 - I always tell people to look closely at the photos so they know exactly what they are getting. I'm glad you at least enjoyed the beach chairs, umbrella & coolers! :) I'm sorry you weren't happier, it sounds like next time you come perhaps maybe one of the hotels would be more the resort experience you are seeking. ellen
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Denver, CO
4

Amazing location

  • 4 of 5

The location of this condo is the best! It is walking distance to the beach, spa ( highly suggest Hidden Spa), food, coffee and a quick drive to many places. The bed was comfortable, there was a coffee pot with filters, cooking utensils (not that we used), tv with cable, frig with filtered water (thank you), the bathroom was nice and the shower had great pressure. The pool for the building was out of order. The security guy was sweet and suggested we eat at Nalu, which was delish.

My only complaint is the check out to-do list. It was ridiculous. I work hard to save money to go on vacation. I was flabbergasted that I was expected to wash all dishes and put them away and wash the towels and linens. The washer is pretty small. Then take the trash and recycling out. If the instructions read put dishes in the dishwasher and start and take the trash out, I would've expected that. It took 1.5 hours waiting on the wash. Moreover, the floor was dirty when we got there.

Over all, a good location and a nice unit.

Food spots to check out include: Cuatro (byob and amazing food), Nalu and the Vietnamese Cafe.

  • Submitted: Jan 25, 2017
  • Stayed: Jan 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Aloha Nancy! I'm so glad you loved our condo and the location. I wish you would have contacted me or Elvira about the Check-Out list! This is just a list of suggested things that would help us since we often have tight turnovers with guests - it's definitely not mandatory!! For example, with the wash all we ask is that you start ONE load of wash in the washer as you are leaving, just so it is started before the cleaning people arrive. I'm so sorry for the misunderstanding and that you were stressed by it! I'll look a the wording on the list and make sure it's clear that it's not mandatory. I hope you had a good trip home! ellen
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
13 Miles
Kahului
Nearest Barpub
0.1 Miles
Tradewinds and Life is a Beach
Nearest Golf
2 Miles
Wailea Golf Club and Elleair
Nearest Train
20 Miles
Maui Sugar Cane Train (attraction)
Nearest Motorway
0.25 Miles
Piilani Highway
Nearest Restaurant
0.1 Miles
More than 25 restaurants within .5 miles! Closest
Nearest Beach
100 Metres
Charley Young Beach and Kamaole I -directly across
Car: not necessary

Maui is one of the best locations for all kinds of outdoor activities. Tons to do for every interest! You can be as active or as relaxed as you want to be. Be sure to take a drive - you will be surprised at the varied landscapes Maui has to offer - from beaches to desert to mountains to lush rainforests, it's all here!

Photos

Rates & Availability

Kihei Condo Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Hot Summer Special! Only $99!
May 12 2017 - Jul 31 2017
1 night minimum stay
$99
 
 
Holiday Season 2017/2018
Dec 15 2017 - Jan 8 2018
7 night minimum stay
$1,493
 
 
Peak Season Winter 2018
Jan 9 2018 - Apr 30 2018
1 night minimum stay
$169
$1,133
 
 
My Standard Rate
1 night minimum stay
$134
$888
 

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $125
Tax Rate 13.42%

Until confirmed, rates are subject to change without notice.
HI Tax ID #: W18394398-01
A one-time cleaning fee of $125 per stay is added to the total.
Repeat customers receive a discount!

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • Canceled bookings will not receive a refund
Contact Owner
Available
Unavailable

You might like these similar properties