Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Central, Updated, and Charming - Bouldin Bungalow!

Sleeps6
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Property type bungalow
Minimum Stay 2 - 5 nights

Overview

About the property

Open Concept Cottage Sleeps 6

We'd love to have you enjoy Austin in one of Austin's coolest neighborhoods!

This comfortable 2BR/1BA house is located just south of downtown Austin and minutes from Zilker Park. The house is walkable to South Congress (SoCo), the popular South First street, and South Lamar.

The house was completely remodeled in 2009. The kitchen features stainless steel appliances and has amenities for cooking. Dunkin Donuts coffee is featured, as well as flavored creamers for coffee.

In Spring 2015, we did some cooking upgrades, including a new knife set, and redecorated throughout the home. We hope that you enjoy the new cookware we've provided in order to make your stay more comfortable.

The house has two bedrooms, one with a queen pillow-top bed and one with a king posturepedic bed - both exceptionally comfortable. Both bedrooms offer closet and drawer space for guest use. The living room couch pulls out into an additional full-sized bed. Sleep sound machines are provided in both bedrooms of the house for sensitive sleepers.

The bathroom has both a shower and a tub and the house is stocked with clean towels and linens.

There is a TV with a Roku system. The Roku allows you to sign into your video streaming accounts, such as Netflix, Hulu, Amazon, and HBO Go. There is an antennae for basic/local channels and wireless internet.

A front porch with two chairs offers a great spot for relaxing and enjoying the Austin vibe, and the shaded table on the back porch is perfect for enjoying the private backyard.

There is a drive way for 2 cars as well as off-street parking. There a full-size washer & dryer in the house available to guests with stays over 4 days.

The house is a 5-minute car ride to downtown Austin, Lady Bird Lake, Zilker Park and the Barton Springs Pool.

Three nights stays are preferred (and required for special events such as ACL, SXSW, F1), but two-night stays will be considered for an additional $50 fee (except if booked within a week of stay or if booked for weeknights only, excluding holidays/festivals).

Pet stays are accepted on per guest basis and charged a pet fee (typically, $25 per night, per pet).

There is a train nearby but it does not blow its horn. If you are a lighter sleeper, you may hear the train passing by.

Myself and my property manager, Natalia, work hard to respond timely and quickly to your inquiries or any needs during your stay. We will make sure you are taken care of while staying in my home.

This property is permitted by the City of Austin and complies with Austin's short-term rental laws.

Please let me know if you have any questions and I look forward to your stay!

More Details

Owner
Natalia
Member since: 2013
Speaks: english, spanish
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
September 19, 2017

About Natalia

I own my own business and am from Austin, TX. I love to travel - I'm trying to get around to seeing as much as I can! I've traveled to all fifty states and thirteen countries.

I've been renting out my home for about 3 years now and love meeting the many people from all over, as well as hearing their stories why they're visiting Austin.

Natalia purchased this bungalow in 2009

Why Natalia chose Austin

I purchased my house to be an active part of Austin. When staying at my house, you are in the middle of it all - you are a quick walk, bikerride, or car ride from almost anywhere. The neighborhood, Bouldin Creek, is also one of Austin's quirkiest neighborhoods - in the heart of the infamous 78704 zip code. You will love your stay here!

What makes this bungalow unique

Walking to breakfast or lunch at neighborhood cafes and fine dining restaurants, hopping on the City bus one block away, walking to the neighborhood park one block away, a twenty minute walk from Auditorium Shores and Ladybird Lake, a quick bike ride to Zilker Park, staying in the same neighborhood as residents movie star Elijah Wood and musician Robert Plant!

Amenities

Bouldin Bungalow Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • bungalow
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Housekeeping:
  • Housekeeper Optional
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 3:00 PM / Check-out: 10:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • pets considered ...
  • children welcome
  • smoking allowed ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio
  • Lawn / Garden
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
Attractions:
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • paddle boating
  • shopping
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • hiking
  • kayaking

Reviews

Excellent! 4.4/5 -
(10 traveler reviews)

70% Complete
20% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
10% Complete
Central, Updated, and Charming - Bouldin Bungalow!
average rating of 4.4 based on 10 reviews
Northglenn, Colorado
5

Cute little property

  • 5 of 5

Perfect for our family of four including two teenage daughters. The train was hardly noticed just a low grumble in the distance. Clean. The property manager was very patient with me as this was my first time booking through VRBO. She was very responsive when I had any type of question.

  • Submitted: Jul 11, 2017
  • Stayed: Jul 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Dallas, Tx
1

Very disappointing - We do not recommend this property

  • 1 of 5

This house was a very disappointing experience. My boyfriend and I have stayed at many VRBO properties over the past several years and have never run into issues...until our stay at this property. When we walked in, we were greeted by 85 degree heat in the house accompanied by an incredibly unpleasant odor. The entire house smelled of pet urine. It was in the carpets, the furniture, the curtains. We called the property manager and asked her to stop by the house so we could walk her through the issues we had with the property, but she said she was unavailable to do so. We left the doors and windows open to try to air it out as well as purchased candles to try to combat the odor. Nothing worked. In addition, the air conditioning didn't cool the house to a comfortable temperature. The walls were dirty throughout the house and in need of a fresh coat of paint. The walls and baseboards in the bathroom had visible water damage and mildew. The furniture in the living area had stains. The bathroom was in dire need of updating. Toilet handle was broken. The shower was dirty. We were so uncomfortable and displeased with the property that we ended up cutting our trip short and leaving early. It was a very disappointing experience.

  • Submitted: Apr 27, 2016
  • Stayed: Apr 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We worked extensively with this guest to try to accommodate her during her stay, but to no avail. Despite her complaints being unwarranted (see below), we offered her a substantial refund to compensate her dissatisfaction. She demanded more of a refund, which we simply could not agree considering the length of her ultimate stay and the amount of work she required. She then threatened to stop payment altogether. Despite her many complaints, she stayed a second night, then almost stayed a third, which is ran counter to her allegations. This home is booked every week and we maintain over 100 great reviews on our other vacation rental sites. We have several guests that book it annually every year. We work very hard to make the home comfortable and inviting, and we go out of our way to make our guests happy. It is also located in a highly sought out location. We had guests right before and right after her stay, who were all very pleased. We are happy to share the link that could show you. The AC works great. The guest was operating it incorrectly. We verified it was working the same day she checked out. We were able to cool the house down to 59 degrees within 20 minutes. We had had the carpets steam cleaned immediately preceding the guest which might have stirred up an ‘odor’, though neither the housecleaner nor owner could detect anything immediately before or after the guest checked out. The toilet handle works fine, but has had a quirk for four years that is detailed in the house manual and requires four extra seconds of maneuvering. Any stains that the guest saw have never been pointed out by previous guests. Unfortunately, we feel this review is her way of lashing out because she did not get thr refund she desired. We take great pride in our home and have been renting it out as a vacation home for over 5 successful years. We have a real interest in providing a great getaway as we are regular travelers ourselves. We have years of great reviews on our other websites that we will gladly show, it is evident that this review sticks out like a sore thumb. We are incredibly disappointed that this guest is handling it this way and that we have to respond in this manner.
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
5

Awesome home-away-from-home atmosphere

  • 5 of 5

It was fun to return to Bouldin Bungalow and see some updates that made this comfortable home even better! Natalia is so friendly and responsive to our questions. Our new favorite coffee place is Picnik's on S. Lamar for butter coffee and blondies. We're looking forward to our stay again next year.

  • Submitted: Apr 26, 2016
  • Stayed: Mar 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Comfortable, convenient.

  • 5 of 5

For the second year, my husband and I stayed in this charming little house for the month of February. It is very comfortable for two people and OK for 4 (relatives visited for a few days). The kitchen is nicer this year (new pots and pans, dishes, glasses, knives, etc.), and the ancient TV (so old it would not work with Apple TV) was replaced. The location is great, and the neighborhood is pleasant.

  • Submitted: Apr 24, 2016
  • Stayed: Jan 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Very nice rental!

  • 4 of 5

This rental was lovely and in a good location to access restaurants and fun activities! Natalia, the property manager was outstanding and went out of her way to make us comfortable and to fill any needs. In regard to the property, the kitchen was especially nice and well stocked with utensils and dishes. We even made chocolate chip cookies! Both bedrooms had comfortable beds and a place for our luggage. The bathroom was clean and had lots of towels. The living room area was decorated beautifully and worked well for our family.

My husband had some safety concerns if we had small children with us, as the mirrors and TV were not attached to the walls and could tip over on a child. He suggested that they be secured for future renters. In addition, the living room rug had a funny smell as noticed by all of our family members. It may have been because of the damp conditions outside (deluge and flooding), but Natalia refunded part of our rental fee and said she would look into it after we left. We would certainly rent this property again if we come to Austin!

  • Submitted: Nov 17, 2015
  • Stayed: Oct 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Rental in Austin

  • 5 of 5

The property was great! It was located close to restaurants and Congress Avenue. Everything was clean and well-maintained. The house is in a quiet neighborhood, and we felt safe in the location. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Submitted: Aug 6, 2015
  • Stayed: Jul 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
10 Miles
Austin-Bergstrom International Airport
Nearest Train
1.5 Metres
Amtrak Station
Car: not necessary

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $60
Additional Guest Fee $25 per person per night
Damage Deposit $150

We work hard to make sure you have an enjoyable stay at my property in Austin.

I am on a Strict cancellation policy. However, depending on how far out your reservation is, I am often able to work with you. Please contact me if something arises prior to your stay.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • Canceled bookings will not receive a refund

You might like these similar properties