Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Brand New! Gorgeous Clear Oceanviews! Family-friendly On Quiet Street

Sleeps12
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms3
Space 2,200 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights

Overview

About the property

Newly Built 4 Bedroom, 3 Bath With Clear, Unobstructed Ocean And Surf Views

Welcome to Himmelstrand! Heaven's Beach!

We are delighted to welcome you as one of the very first guests to enjoy a stay at our beautiful, brand new 2200 square foot home. Finished in the fall of 2013, Himmelstrand is a beach home that captures the very essence of a beautiful beach retreat: easy, immediate access to the beach, great wide open and unobstructed views of the ocean in a newly-furnished 4 bedroom home with well-equipped gourmet kitchen. This beach home is as friendly to families as it is to couples or friends looking for a getaway to the beach.

Our beach home was built in the summer of 2013 and is newly furnished. We've put a great deal of care and attention to furnishing the home, making it comfortable and fun for all of our guests. Each of the well-appointed bedrooms has comfortable beds, flat screen TVs, ceiling fans, and plenty of closet space to tuck away your suitcases and clothes. We even have a pack-n-play available and high-chair available upon request.

The open floor plan of the 3rd floor maximizes the sights and sounds of ocean and surf either from the full wall length windows or out on the wide deck. After a fun day on the beach, you can relax in front of the brand new 55' smart TV to watch a favorite movie, watch a game, or hook up your Xbox. If you're like our family, you'll take full advantage of the high speed Internet (up to 50 Mbps down and 5 Mbps up) for any devices you bring along. You'll find family games, cards, and a few books in the shelves and cupboards of the beautiful built-in entertainment center. We even have a Wii and an Xbox 360 available upon request (including a few of our favorite games).

The beautiful kitchen with granite countertops and all new appliances is designed so that you rarely have to look away from the beautiful ocean or sky. We've left a large panty open for your use and have ample dishes, utensils, and cookware: everything you need for cooking a gourmet meal or throwing together a big pancake breakfast. The table seats 8 with an additional pub table that seats 4.

Himmelstrand comes with two decks (3rd and 2nd floor) that look out on wide, open views of the ocean and beach. When you come back from the beach, you can use the enclosed outdoor shower with hot and cold water. And there is plenty of parking for up to four cars in driveway.

Bedroom Layout:

Top Floor: 2nd master bedroom with queen bed and full bath, sleeper sofa.

Middle Floor: Master with king bed and private bath, bedroom with twin bunk and full, and bedroom with queen bed with shared bathroom.

We absolutely love the location. Our beach home sits on a sleepy, quiet stretch of beach about a mile and half north of Surf City proper. We knew the beach location was perfect when we found it last summer because right across from the house was a sea turtle nest! If a sea turtle loves this stretch of beach, then so will you! You'll find beautiful sand and great surfing out the front door, fun shell and sea glass hunting heading north, or a nice walk to the Surf City Pier heading south. We've watched pods of dolphins from the deck and been fascinated by the lines of pelicans skimming the wave tops. If you like to surf fish, you'll be in fishing heaven for sure!

If you're ready for some landside fun, Himmelstrand is ideally situated. Our house is on a low-traffic, quiet road on the beach. It's great for going out for a jog, a bike ride, or walk to catch the sunset. You can take an easy walk a block away to a great city park where the kids will have tons of fun. Or you might visit the Sea Turtle Rescue and Rehabilitation Center. There is biking, kayaking, kite flying, boating, paddle boarding, charter fishing… You name the activity, and you can find it nearby.

Or if you're looking for a simple, peaceful place to retreat from the hustle and bustle of life, you'll have found the right place. We're a quick two hour drive from Raleigh or less than 30 minutes from the Wilmington Airport. When you arrive, you'll find that you've come to a simpler place, a peaceful place made for the perfect beach vacation.

Why the name Himmelstrand? We've had the good fortune to live and vacation in Norway where we came to appreciate the wonder, beauty, and peace of nature. The pace of life there was slower, easier, more relaxed, more in tune with the world's rhythms. We also came to appreciate the challenge of a cold, snowy, dark winter and the longing that it brings for sunshine, sand, and the beauty of a beach experience. On our very first visit to Topsail, we said, 'Wow! This is heaven!' And there it was: Himmelstrand which means 'heaven's beach' in Norwegian. We think you'll say the same when you get here!

We think you'll absolutely love our beach home! We have been vacationing at the beach for years now and have found here on Topsail Island the ideal blend of qualities that make for a fantastic beach vacation.

If you have any questions at all about Himmelstrand or Topsail island, please don't hesitate to contact us!

More Details

Owner
Chad & Pam Kearsley
Member since: 2014
Speaks: english, swedish, danish, norwegian
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
90%
Calendar last updated:
August 8, 2017

Guestbook comments from the owner

I wanted to write and thank you for a memorable, wonderful trip to

Himmelstrand. The weather was wonderful and your home was gorgeous. We truly enjoyed every aspect! Your hospitality and concern was very much appreciated. We hope to come back again and stay often. It was fantastic! And the kids loved the toys that you left for them to play with!
Apr 2014
  • 1 of 1

Amenities

Surf City House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 2200 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 12
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Beach View ...
  • Ocean View ...
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 12 people
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Master Bath - toilet , shower
    2nd Floor Bath - toilet , combination tub/shower
    3rd Floor Bath - toilet , shower
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 12
  • Master, 2nd Floor - 1 king
    Bedroom 2, 2nd Floor - 1 double , 1 bunk bed
    Bedroom 3, 2nd Floor - 1 queen
    2nd Master, 3rd Floor - 1 queen
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
  • Video Games ...
Outside:
  • Balcony ...
  • Deck / Patio
  • Outdoor Grill ...
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • churches
  • marina
  • playground
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • groceries
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • kayaking
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.9/5 -
(28 traveler reviews)

89% Complete
7% Complete
3% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Brand New! Gorgeous Clear Oceanviews! Family-friendly On Quiet Street
average rating of 4.857143 based on 29 reviews
5

Lovely home and great location.

  • 5 of 5

We had a great time at Himmelstrand. The beach was a short walk from the house, the house had ample space for us and was lovely.

  • Submitted: Aug 5, 2017
  • Stayed: Jul 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Amazing stay in a beautiful home

  • 5 of 5

My family and I stayed July 15-22 2017. We had a wonderful time. The house was great, very spacious and very modern. We couldn't ask for anything more. We were initially concerned with the beach access but it is 30 ft from the driveway directly across the road. The road has minimal traffic aside from a bicycle every now and then. The top floor balcony offers a beautiful view of the ocean. The living room area was more than enough to accommodate 6 adults and 4 children. We even had enough room for everyone with a 1500 piece puzzle taking up space on the small high top table. The internet seemed slow at first but after a simple reset of the router the speeds were more than adequate to accommodate everyone's devices when we were relaxing from a long day at the beach. Our area of the beach was not crowded at all. We had more than 50 feet in either direction of us all to our selves. There was some routine maintenance done to the HVAC system while we were there. The owners gave us a heads up and made sure it was ok that they stopped by which was no problem at all. Our only complaint from the whole trip is just that we couldn't stay longer. When we decide to head back to Topsail Island our first choice will most definitely be Himmelstrand!!

  • Submitted: Jul 22, 2017
  • Stayed: Jul 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are so glad you had a great time! You're welcome back any time! Thanks for your patience with the HVAC check up. We wanted to make sure it was functioning well for the hot summer season!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

Nice property, but watch prop description and fairness of owners

  • 3 of 5

We checked out late and agreed to pay $150 to offset owners cost due to our error. However, the grill which was advertised to be there was not and we had to rent one for $80 and the advertised outdoor shower didn't have a shower-head. We tried to reach a compromise with the owner to compensate for these items. Instead they withheld the $150 without our permission and didn't negotiate in good faith for the missing and non-functioning items. They refused to communicate on the matter and refused a request from VRBO to try to reach a settlement with us.

Nice property, but be wary of the description and included items in the property description and don't expect the owners to be fair if there is any issue that needs to be resolved.

  • Submitted: Jun 23, 2017
  • Stayed: Apr 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We work very hard to provide a wonderful place for all our guests to make memories on Topsail Island.  We’re sad that this guest’s experience wasn’t perfect, but in this case the story isn’t quite as simple as the review implies. First, this guest didn't simply check out late. They checked out over three hours late, putting the check-in experience of our next guest in jeopardy. Our cleaner had to come to the house three times and even walked the beach to find the guests. To make matters worse, the house was left in a real mess with dirty dishes out on counters, trash not taken out, etc. The guest acknowledged their mistake in the late checkout, and as they say in their review, they agreed to pay the additional fee, so we were puzzled by the reviewer's comment that we withheld the fee without their permission. Secondly, we tried to be very responsive in communicating with the guest. When they reached out about the grill, we contacted them back immediately to let them know that when we had been down to the house a week or two earlier to prepare the house for their stay, we discovered that the grill was broken and wasn't available. We suggested some alternatives should they feel that a grill was essential, including renting a grill (though we did not know the cost, just a potential place to rent). The guest did not inform us at all about the shower head. The next guest who checked in that day txted us to let us know about the showerhead, and we had it fixed the same day. We ask all our guests in our welcome packet to let us know if they need anything, and we do all we can to fix anything that isn't working. Finally, the guest said that we "refused a request from VRBO to try to reach a settlement." This statement simply isn't true. Because this guest was unhappy with the cost incurred by their late checkout, they filed a complaint with VRBO.  VRBO contacted us as the homeowner and asked for our side of the story.  We shared our experience. VRBO evaluated the facts and closed the case.  VRBO did not request or suggest to us that a settlement was needed or required. As we look back, we realize that not every experience can always be perfect.  We continue to ask all our guests to let us know immediately when they encounter issues, and we do all we can to resolve things quickly.  We wish this guest all the best in future stays on beautiful Topsail Island. We want every guest to enjoy the beauty and peace of this stretch of heaven's beach!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Beautiful beach house with fantastic views!

  • 5 of 5

Loved the house and location! Highly recommend!!!

  • Submitted: Jun 10, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

THIS IS A GREAT FIND!

  • 5 of 5

This duplex is one of the best properties that our families have enjoyed. Great layout, great location and well appointed kitchen - a welcome plus. The ocean view from two decks, the open concept and adequate seating made our stay fun and restful. We will most certainly book again!

  • Submitted: Apr 16, 2017
  • Stayed: Apr 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Rockford, TN, USA
5

Great Thanksgiving Holiday Getaway for Our Family!

  • 5 of 5

Himmelstrand was the perfect meeting place to bring our extended family together for Thanksgiving. The weather co-operated beautifully. But even if it hadn't, we had everything we needed. My wife commented that this was the best equipped beach rental we've ever stayed in, and I agree! We had no problem preparing a 22 pound turkey, and serving the feast to six adults a the main table, and four grandchildren at the other dining table. The linen and towel service worked great, and my wife commented she appreciated knowing all were freshly laundered. We didn't use the TVs, though they were certainly available. But, we did make use of the Internet connection, and it worked great. The whole home is very nicely decorated and very comfortable, with a wonderful ocean view and great tall deck chairs to sit and take it all in. The grandchildren enjoyed some of jigsaw puzzles, and - thanks to good weather- took advantage of the beach toys. For me, it was nice touch to be able to grab a handy set of binoculars to check out the passing dolphins and diving pelicans!

  • Submitted: Dec 4, 2016
  • Stayed: Nov 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Map

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $125
Damage Deposit $600

Rates are subject to change until confirmation is received. Linen service included in price during summer season and for week-long rentals. Additional for-fee linen services available upon request.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.