Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

FREE KAYAK RENTALS - Bay Front/Plantation, Private Dock, Beautiful Sandy Beach

Sleeps10
Bedrooms 5
Bathrooms3
Half Baths1
Space 3,000 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 7 nights

Overview

About the property

Beautiful Home With 5 Bedrooms And 3.5 Baths And Plenty Of Amenities.

2 kayak rentals for the week included ($200 value) for new April, May, June reservations made by December 31, 2017.

Welcome to 'Sapelo' on St. George Island, FL! Located in the beautiful Plantation gated community.

Enjoy sitting out on your screened porch while watching the fabulous sunsets on the bay, or take a stroll down a walkway to 200 feet of private sandy beach. Here you can experience both the Bay and the Gulf, and you're only half a mile from Bob Sike's Cut. There is excellent fishing and crabbing from your own private dock. All from this spacious, updated 3,000 sq. ft. builder's custom home. With a large comfortable living area and kitchen, the home features five large bedrooms, two of which are masters on the main floor with king-size beds, two second floor bedrooms have two twin beds in each, and an open loft bedroom with a queen-size bed.

BEDS: 2 kings, 1 queen, 4 singles

AMENITIES: 4 TVs, DVD players, CD/stereo, hardwood floors throughout the home. Two master suites, large well-equipped kitchen with granite counter-tops and stainless steel appliances, game/book/DVD library, jetted tub in upper floor bath, large screened porch and furnished sun decks, outdoor shower, park-style charcoal grill, fish cleaning station, under house concrete parking, private 225 foot dock.

Any questions, please call the owner, Denise Schmidt, at seven seven zero, two zero seven, nine seven one nine.

Private Beach And Private Dock

No Pets

No Smoking

This house has access to the Plantation Clubhouse with community pool, tennis courts and fitness center.

More Details

Owner
Denise Schmidt
Member since: 2013
Premier Partner

This VRBO partner has demonstrated and is committed to fast response times, the best rates, and a great traveler experience.

Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
November 17, 2017

Map

Amenities

Plantation House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 3000 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 10:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 10
  • Min. age of primary renter: 25
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets not allowed
  • Non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Water View
  • Waterfront
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fitness Room / Equipment ...
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 12 people
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , combination tub/shower , jetted tub
    Bathroom 4 - toilet
  • An outdoor shower is also available below the house.
Bedrooms:
  • 5 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king
    Bedroom 2 - 1 king
    Bedroom 3 - 2 twin/ single
    Bedroom 4 - 2 twin/ single
    Loft Bedrom - 1 queen
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Toys
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Deck / Patio
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Tennis ...
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool
Attractions:
  • churches
  • festivals
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • miniature golf
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • sound/bay fishing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing

Reviews

Excellent! 4.7/5 -
(34 traveler reviews)

79% Complete
14% Complete
5% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
FREE KAYAK RENTALS - Bay Front/Plantation, Private Dock, Beautiful Sandy Beach
average rating of 4.7352943 based on 34 reviews
5

My family had an awesome week at The Sapelo House!

  • 5 of 5

We had a great week staying at The Sapelo Home. It is beautiful on the inside and out! There were 10 of us that stayed there and a couple that came to visit. I love that we had the large dinning table so that we could all sit together as a family. Plenty of room for everyone. The kitchen was great, had everything we needed, pots, pans, and plenty of dishes, just like being at home. With this many people, we cooked in most of the time.

We caught some crabs at the end of the dock and a enough fish for a meal. We did see some sting rays and a small shovel-nose shark! Lots of Hermit crabs. We rented a boat and got to see a pod of about 20 dolphins, they put on a show for us. Playing and even jumping completely out of the water. Awesome site!

Everyone that we saw at the beach & pool were very friendly and helpful.

Such a nice quite peaceful place. I understand why my Dad was always so fond of St George's Island. We will be coming back again.

Thank you so much for sharing your beautiful home with us!

  • Submitted: Jul 19, 2016
  • Stayed: July 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Glad to hear you had a fantastic time! Hope you'll stay at Sapelo again!
Did you find this review helpful?
9 0
Huntsville, Alabama
5

Fantastic house that accommodated two families very well.

  • 5 of 5

Absolutely loved the sunsets from the dock. Crabbing and watching all of the sea birds was great fun. The kitchen was stocked with the best cookware I’ve encountered in a rental ever. The walk to the big beach was shorter than expected. Loved it!

  • Submitted: Oct 7, 2017
  • Stayed: September 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for the nice review! I'm glad you enjoyed your stay!
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Lots of wildlife, gorgeous sunsets

  • 5 of 5

Very comfortable home. Shallow bay with a lot of wildlife! Enjoyed kayaking and fishing. Short 9 min walk to beach, wonderful place to stay with friends and family. We will definitely book again!

  • Submitted: Oct 1, 2017
  • Stayed: September 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you! We would love to have you stay at Sapelo again!
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Amazing week!!!!

  • 5 of 5

We LOVED Sapelo! We had the most enjoyable week there with our family. Tons of room for everyone, the kitchen was equipped with everything needed and the views were amazing. We laid on the deck every night and watched the amazing sunsets and stars. It’s close to the Plantation pool and beach, but my children LOVED being bayside. They fished every available moment and saw so much sea life. It was one of our best weeks ever. It was our first trip to St George Island and we will for sure be back!

  • Submitted: Sep 23, 2017
  • Stayed: September 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I'm glad to hear you had a wonderful time! Hanging out on the dock has always been a favorite for my boys too! There's so much wildlife and gorgeous sunsets to see on the bayside. I hope you will stay at Sapelo again. Thank you!
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Harriman, TN
5

This place is amazing! Our family made so many wonderful memories this past week.

  • 5 of 5

The views on the bay, the sunsets, the home was so comfortable and homey - this was a week we will never forget. My elderly parents relaxed and enjoyed the back screened porch. My kids and their spouses loved kayaking, fishing and crabbing from the dock. We all loved the beach, pool and tennis courts. Dad read one of the table books about the history of the island and fell in love with SGI. My grandkids want to live there with me forever.

  • Submitted: Aug 27, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: What a wonderful week you had! I loved seeing the pictures you shared. I hope you will stay at Sapelo again in the future.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
3

Negative outweighs the positive

  • 3 of 5

Let me start by saying it is a spacious home. It is nicely situated on the bay in a quiet neighborhood. The sunsets were spectacular. The fishing was fun but with little success (we weren't as good as we hoped!). Crabbing was a success too.

We only had five staying in the house and found cooking to be a challenge. The pots and pans weren't plentiful or large enough. I was shocked to see there wasn't even any salt or pepper in the house. There were no cleaning supplies to keep the kitchen tidy. Dishes in the cabinet were put away dirty. There was no ice in the icemaker on our arrival. Supplies for the home are only enough to get you started and not enough for a week.

I've stayed at other vacation rentals and haven't encountered this before. So, this is why I am disappointed this time.

  • Submitted: Aug 1, 2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Just a reminder that you received, signed and returned an email prior to your arrival that included information about our home, directions, key code, grocery stores, "Suggested household items to bring" and "Items we provide". Among the "Suggested household items to bring" are salt & pepper so I don't know why you were shocked that there were none in the house. Among the "Items we provide" are an INITIAL supply of toilet paper, paper towels, dish liquid, dishwasher soap and laundry detergent. You may recall that I responded quickly to several questions you had about the house prior to arrival, including a request for early check-in. When guests pack their cooler to leave the house they empty the ice maker and there are only a few hours before another guest checks in. For that reason, I will add to my list that guests may want to pick up a bag of ice when they arrive on the island. I have reminded my housekeeper to keep an eye out for dishes put away dirty by previous guests. Sounds like some of my larger pots and pans are missing. There have always been ample, including 3 large stock pots to the right of the stove. I will need to check my inventory. If you had contacted me during your stay I could've provided additional pots and pans to make your stay more pleasant.
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Property Damage Protection $59
Tax Rate 9.0%

All rentals are on a weekly basis from Saturday to Saturday. Please inquire about Monthly rates for January and/or February.

NO PETS ALLOWED

PLEASE NOTE: Check-in time is 4:00 pm. Check-out time is 10:00 am (not 11:00 am as VRBO indicates).

The Plantation Amenities Fee of $75 is included in your rental.

Two single kayaks and a paddle boat available for rental during your stay for $100 each.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.