check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag

Casa de la Playa Oceanfront family retreat

Sleeps22
Bedrooms 11
Bathrooms5
Property type condo
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the VRBO checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview


Details
Property
condo
Sleeps
22
Bedrooms
11
Bathrooms
5
Minimum Stay
3 - 7 nights

Description

Mission Beach Condo Rental Photos and Description

7 bedrooms and 5 bathrooms, sleeps 22

These 4 individual condos located in the middle of Mission Beach can be your family reunion tradition, or a gathering for your favorite 4 families. All units are in one building and are adjacent to each other and can be combined to make two units if desired, with suite doors between units on each floor.

The complex is owned by a single owner, and all condos have numerical keyless entry code doors, negating the need for keys. All units have internet and cable TV with DVD. The entry codes can be programmed for one master code, or can be programmed for 4 different entry codes for more privacy. There are three different patio areas, 2 on the ground floor, and a rooftop deck shared by the top two units. These units can also be rented individually (see also VRBO listings 511939, 511940, 511941, and 511942)

The calendar associated with this listing covers ONLY booking dates and rates available for the WHOLE building.

If a date is available in this calendar, you are assured that you can book a property that is just right for your party of 22 or less.

More Details
Suitability:
  • Events Allowed
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed

Owner
Paula Christensen
Member since: 2010
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
December 10, 2016
Call Owner

About Paula Christensen

We have always enjoyed the San Diego area and Mission Beach in particular. We owned a farm and when we sold it, we had the opportunity to buy this building. We are happy to be able to share it with you.

Paula Christensen purchased this condo in 2006

Why Paula Christensen chose San Diego County

Mission Beach property has upgraded a lot recently and with new buildings being built all around, it was a good property to buy. The area on the beach where Casa de la Playa is located, is a quiet zone between the bars and cafes of the Crystal Pier area, and the roller coaster area of Belmont Park. We enjoy the beautiful sunsets and dolphins we see out the front window.

What makes this condo unique

Casa de la Playa is an easy walk to shopping, and restaurants. You feel safer because you are close to Lifeguard station #19, and surf schools teach surfing right in front of you on the beach.

Guestbook comments from the owner

You have a lot of great info and a beautiful place. Thank you again, we made a lot of great memories there!
May 2016
  • 1 of 1

Reviews

4.8/5 -
(5 traveler reviews)

Casa de la Playa Oceanfront family retreat
average rating of 4.8 based on 6 reviews
4

Great Family Spot

  • 4 of 5

Overall great location and perfect setting for a family. We took 17 (9 kids) and all fit comfortably. Close to everything and yet quiet. We did have some beach towels stolen so don't leave anything out. Draw back is that it doesn't stock enough bathroom tissue for large groups as well as no beach towels, pack and plays, umbrellas or chairs or anything geared for families with children yet it brags "family units" we were lucky as other families left toys and boogie boards. We left some nice new boards, toys and a few beach towels so the next family would have some. Bring your own towels! Rental for a pop up is rather cheap which is nice so the babies/kids have shade. It is a nice rental with perfect beach access. Make sure you bring in all your personal belongings at night, we had a few towels and items taken from the front deck. I would recommend this for a family gathering spot.

  • Submitted: Nov 4, 2016
  • Stayed: Oct 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your comments. We are sorry that you were disappointed with our lack of play pens and children beach toys. All we offer is whatever guests leave when they depart. These are available to all guests in the beach closet in the back of the building. Regarding toilet paper, the housekeepers should have supplied each condo with two rolls in each bathroom. We do not provide daily maid service, so additional supplies are not provided. We will confirm that the housekeepers are indeed leaving the starter supply. Regarding play pens and other equipment for young children, we direct guests to a San Diego company that sanitizes and delivers these types of supplies for a fee. There are many nearby options for renting beach supplies of any kind, and bikes. We have limited space for storing beach items, and it would be difficult to anticipate what ever guest would want and to keep it clean and undamaged. We do not supply beach towels as they often end up wet and sandy in our beach closet. Theft is always a possibility at any Mission Beach vacation rental and nothing of value should EVER be left on the front patio or visible in cars parked in back. We recommend renting beach bikes, because unfortunately, thieves are getting bolder and bolder.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Carmichael,Ca
5

Fun times with family!

  • 5 of 5

Great place to stay. Lots to see and do. Clean , comfortable accommodations.

  • Submitted: Jul 8, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your repeat bookings! We think the Casa de la Playa group rental, with access to all four condos at Casa de la Playa, is a good place to enjoy San Diego with family. We hope that you return every year!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Perfect Location

  • 5 of 5

Perfect location on Mission Beach! We had a wonderful family holiday by renting all 4 units with the kids and grandkids. Renting one of the 4 units would be good, too, if you had a smaller group. The location was wonderful; we rarely drove to anything. The beds were comfortable, and the units were well-stocked with the things that you needed. We will talk about this vacation for a long time. Thanks, Paula, for sharing your property with us!

  • Submitted: Jul 4, 2014
  • Stayed: Jun 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are glad that you found Casa de la Playa to be a good place for your family reunion. It is centrally located in Mission Beach and yet is not in a noisy area, being next to two quiet neighbors. We hope that you can return again.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Carmichael,Ca
5

Outstanding

  • 5 of 5

I have stayed at Casa de la Playa 6 times already and hope to be there many more times! It is very clean and comfortable. The location is fabulous. I usually rent multiple units. It is great place for families.There is a door that opens between units. The upper units have access to the roof. We love to rent the whole place and have dinners up on the roof with the whole family. We enjoy the high quality linens and the kitchen's have everything you need to prepare meals. It's so relaxing, home away from home right on the beach! Great places to run and bike from the front door. The location is the best part.

  • Submitted: Jun 10, 2014
  • Stayed: May 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We love having family groups! The two upstairs units or the two downstairs units can be combined via suite doors in the kitchens to allow access to both units.....but only if BOTH sides open their door! We tell guests they can still have private space by shutting their side of the suite door. We are glad you enjoy Casa de la Playa. Since it is exactly midway between Belmont Park and Crystal Pier, it is in a "quieter" zone in Mission Beach. We try to provide a comfortable place to relax on the beach, and we love repeat guests! Thanks for your input!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Arizona
5

Awesome Place!

  • 5 of 5

The place was everything we hoped it would be. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Submitted: May 29, 2014
  • Stayed: May 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your review, and we hope to have you as guests again in the future. We like to accommodate groups of family or friends, if we have space available, and we are glad you enjoyed staying at Casa de la Playa.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Map

Nearest Airport
5 Miles
San Diego Lindbergh Field
Nearest Barpub
20 Metres
The Boardwalk Bar and Cafe
Nearest Train
5 Miles
Amtrack Downtown San Diego
Nearest Motorway
20 Metres
Mission Boulevard
Nearest Restaurant
20 Metres
Olives Cafe
Nearest Beach
On Mission Beach

Located in the middle of the Mission beach area, this 4 unit complex is in the "quiet" zone of Mission beach, exactly one mile SOUTH of the Crystal Pier business and restaurant area, and one mile NORTH of busy Belmont Park. You can easily walk to both ends of Mission beach, But you have a quiet area to rest at night! This building is located right by Lifeguard station #19, so you can be assured that your children are safe while they swim.

Check in time in the Group rental is 3:00PM, and checkout time is 10:00AM, unless previously arranged with owner, to allow the housekeepers adequate time to clean the unit so you have a perfect stay.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Mission Beach Condo Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Winter off season
Nov 30 2016 - Dec 20 2016
4 night minimum stay
$992
$6,164
 
 
Winter Holidays
Dec 21 2016 - Jan 3 2017
5 night minimum stay
$1,088
$6,792
 
 
Winter Off Season
Jan 4 2017 - May 24 2017
4 night minimum stay
$992
$6,344
 
 
Early Summer Season
May 25 2017 - Jun 23 2017
5 night minimum stay
$1,284
$8,000
 
 
Peak Summer
Jun 24 2017 - Jun 30 2017
7 night minimum stay
$10,124
 
 
Fourth of July week
Jul 1 2017 - Jul 7 2017
7 night minimum stay
$11,250
 
 
Peak Summer
Jul 8 2017 - Aug 11 2017
7 night minimum stay
$11,250
 
 
Late Summer
Aug 12 2017 - Aug 30 2017
5 night minimum stay
$1,284
$8,500
 
 
Labor Day
Aug 31 2017 - Sep 5 2017
5 night minimum stay
$1,228
$8,100
 
 
Fall Off Season
Sep 6 2017 - Nov 21 2017
4 night minimum stay
$992
$6,164
 
 
Thanksgiving
Nov 22 2017 - Nov 27 2017
5 night minimum stay
$1,088
$7,064
 
 
Late Fall Off Season
Nov 28 2017 - Dec 20 2017
4 night minimum stay
$992
$6,164
 
 
Winter Holidays
Dec 21 2017 - Jan 2 2018
5 night minimum stay
$1,084
$7,020
 
 
Winter Off Season
Jan 3 2018 - May 23 2018
4 night minimum stay
$992
$6,344
 
 
Early Summer
May 24 2018 - Jun 15 2018
4 night minimum stay
$1,240
$8,324
 
 
Peak Summer
Jun 16 2018 - Aug 10 2018
7 night minimum stay
$10,530
 
 
Late Summer
Aug 11 2018 - Aug 29 2018
4 night minimum stay
$1,284
$8,412
 
 
Labor Day
Aug 30 2018 - Sep 4 2018
5 night minimum stay
$1,264
$8,280
 
 
Fall Off Season
Sep 5 2018 - Nov 20 2018
3 night minimum stay
$992
$6,164
 
 
Thanksgiving Holiday
Nov 21 2018 - Nov 27 2018
5 night minimum stay
$1,068
$6,704
 
 
Winter Off Season
Nov 28 2018 - Dec 21 2018
3 night minimum stay
$992
$6,164
 
 
Winter Holidays
Dec 22 2018 - Jan 2 2019
5 night minimum stay
$1,068
$6,704
 
 
Winter Off Season
Jan 3 2019 - May 23 2019
4 night minimum stay
$992
$6,164
 
 
Early Summer
May 24 2019 - Jun 28 2019
5 night minimum stay
$1,284
$8,324
 
 
Peak Summer
Jun 29 2019 - Aug 16 2019
7 night minimum stay
$11,600
 
 
Late Summer
Aug 17 2019 - Sep 3 2019
5 night minimum stay
$1,428
$9,448
 
 
Off Season
Sep 4 2019 - Nov 25 2019
4 night minimum stay
$1,120
$6,848
 
 
My Standard Rate
4 night minimum stay
$1,660
$11,600
 

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $2,000
Tax Rate 10.5%

Refund of deposit and stay funds in full if cancelled prior to date stay funds are due (60 days prior to date of occupancy)

If reservation cancelled within 60 days of date of occupancy, funds will be held unless property re-rented Property will be opened up for availability again, and if rented to another party, funds will be refunded in full. If property is only partially rented, funds prorated.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Contact Me Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Mission Beach Condo Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • condo
  • floor 1
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 2760 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Beach View ...
  • Beachfront ...
  • Ocean View ...
  • Oceanfront ...
  • Waterfront ...
Theme:
  • Family
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 22 people
Bathrooms:
  • 5 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower , 3677 hall bathroom
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower , 3677 Master bedroom bathroom
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , combination tub/shower , 3681 bethroom
    Bathroom 4 - toilet , combination tub/shower , 3679 Bathroom
    Bathroom 5 - toilet , combination tub/shower , 3683 bathroom
  • 3677 Ocean front Walk has two bathrooms,
Bedrooms:
  • 11 Bedrooms, Sleeps 22
  • Bedroom 4 - 1 queen , 3681 master bedroom
    Bedroom 1 - 1 queen , 3677 unit master bedroom
    Bedroom 2 - 2 twin/ single , 3677 unit 2nd bedroom
    Bedroom 3 - 1 sleep sofa /futon , 3677 sofa bed in living room ( all units have sofa beds)
    Bedroom 5 - 1 sleep sofa /futon , 3681 living room sofa bed (all units have sofa beds)
    Bedroom 6 - 1 king , 3679 Master bedroom
    Bedroom 7 - 2 twin/ single , 3679 2nd Bedroom
    Bedroom 8 - 1 sleep sofa /futon , 3679 living room sofa bed ( all units have sofa beds)
    Bedroom 9 - 1 king , 3683 Master Bedroom
    Bedroom 10 - 2 twin/ single , 3683 2nd Bedroom
    Bedroom 11 - 1 sleep sofa /futon , 3683 Living room sofa bed (all units have sofa beds)
  • 7 separate and private bedrooms, 4 living room sofa beds, maximum occupancy 22
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television ...
  • Toys ...
Outside:
  • Balcony ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Water Sports Gear ...
Suitability:
  • Events Allowed
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
Attractions:
  • arboretum
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • synagogues
  • theme parks
  • water parks
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • kayaking
  • parasailing
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Using Casa de la Playa as a 'home base' for exploring San Diego, a family or corporate group can 'be together' or have some privacy. Having a lifeguard station right by the units allows families security for the children. Being able to sit and watch the people walk, bike, and skate by is entertainment itself. Night life is far enough away to not be intrusive, and close enough to walk to if you desire. Casa de la Playa is a 10 minute walk to the Catamaran Hotel if there is a convention there. It is also a short drive to downtown San Diego and the Convention center. The local bus line takes you directly to Sea World, so no parking fees needed!

Partner Offers