Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Whale Pod Chalet and Buddha Cottage on Oaks Bluff

Sleeps24
Bedrooms 6
Bathrooms2
Half Baths1
Space 4,000 sq. ft.
Property type chalet
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Overview

About the property

Perfect for getaways or retreats. This mansion has a spectacular view.

The Whale Pod Chalet is a full lodge rental with four floors. From top to bottom:

The top floor has the Tower Room, a large jacuzzi hot tub on an amazing sundeck, and The Shangri-la Room. The Shangri-la Room is roomy with a queen-sized bed and a futon. The Tower is isolated from the rest of the house on the top deck. It has a double bed and is the highest point of the Chalet. It offers a 360 degree view and is the best room for falling asleep while watching the stars. The jacuzzi hot tub is always drained and thoroughly cleaned between guests. It is perfect for relaxing at the end of the day with a glass of wine and soaking in the beauty of the myriad of stars. On the sundeck next to the hot tub is a glass umbrella table and chairs.

On the second floor, our Birds Eye Maple Suite includes a queen-sized bed, and a private bathroom with a shower and large jacuzzi tub with a

window front. It also has a fireplace that connects on the other side of the wall with the living room. The living room is a common space with ample room. It has several couches and a smart TV with access to Netflix. It also has a double bed for extra guests and a half bathroom. Extended off of the living room are two spacious decks on both sides of the house, the front deck overlooks the channel and has multiple chairs and a glass umbrella table.

On the first floor are two bedrooms, both with queen-sized beds, the kitchen, dining room, and south-facing solarium. The kitchen is very modern and equipped with all necessary appliances including: two working stoves, coffee makers, a TV, and a dishwasher. The dining room is attached to the kitchen and has a large table that can seat up to 8 people at once. The solarium faces the ocean and is well furnished with multiple couches, chairs, tables, and even a queen-sized marriage bed. On the back side of the first floor is a deck with a table and chairs and full-sized propane grill.

The ground floor has one large bedroom with a queen-sized bed and fully functional sauna.

Privacy is assured for family reunions, yoga retreats, anniversaries, corporate events, a luxurious getaway, and possibly wedding estate rentals, as the house is situated on a large estate acreage.

We do host for special events. Please contact us to ask what we can offer for your event and how we can arrange the property to best suit your needs.

There are plenty of things to do on Pender Island. We provide brochures with lists of things to do and places to eat. One of our biggest attractions is our world class, 27 hole disc golf course less than 3 kilometers down the road. There are also plenty of outdoor activities for all ages including: scenic hikes, guided fishing tours, swimming, kayaking and stand-up-paddle boarding, whale watching, tennis, golfing, wineries, beaches and the list goes on. We also provide extras like disc golf discs, and binoculars and guidebooks in the house to view the whales, birds, and other wildlife. Please feel free to contact us for more information.

We have a second listing on VRBO on the same property listed as: "Cliff-side, Secluded Cottage Overlooking Ocean." Or the "Buddha Cottage (vrbo listing 1087248)," as we like to call it, can accommodate up to an additional 10 guests and can be rented together with the Whale Pod Chalet for very large parties. If you are interested in booking both the Whale Pod Chalet and the Buddha Cottage at the same time, please contact us for availability, event organization, and for special rates.

Additionally, we do everything in our power to ensure that our guests have a terrific experience staying with us. If there is ever anything more we can do to make your stay more pleasant please do not hesitate to ask. We have many reoccurring guests and if you enjoyed your stay here we ask that you please leave us a good review and stay in contact if you would ever like to return. We also fill up fast so please make sure to make your reservations at least 2-3 months in advance to ensure availability.

More Details

Owner
Kevin Keating
Member since: 2002
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
90%
Calendar last updated:
August 15, 2017

About Kevin Keating

I was raised on the east coast of Canada. I grew up living close with the land. I spent many years traveling all over the planet. I am passionate about farming, current specializing in garlic and tomatoes. I express myself through building, most of the wood used to build the structures was selectively harvested wood milled from property. I am looking to expand the vision of the Whale Pod Chalet and Buddha Cottage. I plan to do this by incorporating more activities and amenities for the guests; such as spirit and health retreats, nature activities, water sports, weddings and reunions.

Kevin Keating purchased this chalet in 1978

Why Kevin Keating chose British Columbia

The breathtaking views and uniqueness of the buildings. Large property perfect for picture perfect and memorable weddings and able to house large amounts of guests. Also the seclusion, it sits high atop a cliff-face overlooking the ocean and is perfect for those seeking tranquility or to get away from the chaos of the world. It is perfect for any retreats or getaways or even for quality family time.

What makes this chalet unique

Whale watching, pods of wild Orca whales routinely feed at the bottom of the cliff right beneath the property. Also, the panoramic far stretching views. It is gorgeous and perfect for soaking in the beauty of nature.

The large size of the property makes it great for large gatherings.

Guestbook comments from the owner

It is such a big and open house that no matter how many people are with you, you feel relaxed. We were two groups of children and parents getting away from the City. Kevin, the owner, made the kids laugh and we enjoyed the hospitality. Definitely a must stay on Pender Island.
Oct 2012
  • 1 of 1

Amenities

Southern Gulf Islands Chalet Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • chalet
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 4000 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 10:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 24
  • Min. age of primary renter: 19
  • Pets considered ...
  • Smoking allowed ...
  • All fees paid a minimum of 120 days in peak season or 60 days in off season prior to the first day of the booking.
Location Type:
  • Beach View
  • Beachfront ...
  • Lakefront ...
  • Mountain View ...
  • Near The Ocean ...
  • Ocean View ...
  • Oceanfront
  • Rural
  • Water View
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Spa
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Mobile Phone
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet ...
  • Wood Fireplace ...
  • Wood Stove
Kitchen:
  • Catering Available
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 16 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower , shower
    Living-room bathroom - toilet
    Marriage Suite Bathroom - toilet , tub , shower , jetted tub , 2 sinks and a jetted tub next to a window with an ocean view
  • 2.5
Bedrooms:
  • 6 Bedrooms, Sleeps 24
  • The Tower - 1 double , Separate from the rest of the house
    Shangri-la room - 1 queen , 1 sleep sofa /futon , Has a futon
    Marriage Suite - 1 queen , Has it's own private full bathroom with a jet-tub
    Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 3 - 1 queen , Has a couch
  • In addition to the beds in the bedrooms, we also have one queen-sized bed in the living room, one marriage bed in the solarium, and one pull-out sofa bed (see pictures). The house can sleep up to 18 and even more upon special request for extra beds.
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Music Library ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
  • VCR
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Bicycles
  • Deck / Patio
  • Gazebo
  • Golf
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Lanai / Gazebo
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Porch / Veranda
  • Tennis
  • Water Sports Gear ...
  • 1 bicycles
  • 25 garden chairs
  • 10 beach chairs
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub
  • Sauna
  • jetted tub
Onsite Services:
  • Staff
Attractions:
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • festivals
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • horseshoes
  • miniature golf
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • golf privileges optional
  • hiking
  • ice skating
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • pier fishing
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • sound/bay fishing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • whitewater rafting
  • wind-surfing

Reviews

Excellent! 4.6/5 -
(21 traveler reviews)

85% Complete
4% Complete
0% Complete
4% Complete
4% Complete
Whale Pod Chalet and Buddha Cottage on Oaks Bluff
average rating of 4.6190476 based on 22 reviews
5

Amazing place for an easy-going family get-together

  • 5 of 5

We just finished renting both the chalet & the cottage for a week in late September to hold a small wedding (17 people in attendance). We were able to have the ceremony on the property (in the garden near the cottage) and then enjoy a week relaxing with family and friends. It was absolutely perfect for our needs: spacious, affordable, very private, with incredible views (we saw orcas from the property 3 separate times in one week) and a very easy-going, reasonable, flexible owner. The cottage is newer and fancier than the chalet, but both buildings have great views and were built thoughtfully in tune with the surroundings. The cottage is great for writing, yoga, and feels very peaceful and luxurious. The chalet is great for large, easy-going groups who don't mind a "lived-in" feel; some bedrooms are fancier and have better views than others, but the house has so much space everyone was able to relax and fully enjoy. Our group loved the whole property - one family member already arranged to rent it again next summer! Big kitchen and tables for family meals and board games, several decks, a hot tub with amazing views, many nooks and crannies to escape to. Pender Island has a lot to offer - we spent hours at Brooks Point and could have spent more. The summer farmer's market on Saturday is popular. We went hiking, kayaking/stand-up paddle boarding, visited various beaches...but really most of our time was spent relaxing with family and friends in the chalet. It is not easy to find a property this big on the Gulf Islands for this price. I know because I looked very hard! Excited to go back next summer.

  • Submitted: Sep 28, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
4 0
Maryhill, WA
5

One of our most favorite vacation spots of all times!

  • 5 of 5

We have stayed at this property 5 or 6 different times over the last 12 years and I can say it is our absolute favorite place to vacation. The house is big enough for extended family or friends, is comfortable if not luxurious, and you could not ask for more spectacular views. The whole vibe of the place is relax, relax, relax:-) Kevin was very accommodating and quite the interesting guy himself. I read other emails that speak negatively about this property and if you are looking for top of the line super modern this may not be the vacation spot for you but if you are looking for friendly locals, a great home owner and one of the most relaxing and glorious vacation homes ever this is the spot for you. So many great beaches to explore on the island! Stop in at the marina and buy live crab, live prawns that were the sweetest we have ever had or fresh fish catch of the day or charter a boat and fish or crab yourself. Our kids never had any problem finding something fun to do on island and they have fond memories of vacationing here! It was my stepfathers favorite place on earth and we are scheduling a date to return and release his ashes from this wonderful home away from home!

  • Submitted: Sep 25, 2016
  • Stayed: Oct 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
Salt Spring Island, British Columbia, Canada
4

Spectacular Views

  • 4 of 5

I rented the house and cottage for 9 nights for an annual knitting retreat in June. After 15 years on another island, the knitters voted that this was the best yet. Kevin was most agreeable and helpful with moving beds around to get the right combination of single and twin rooms. Lots and lots of extra clean sheets in the linen room. Towels were high quality and abundant, far superior to those provided in most rentals. Chef was generally pleased with the kitchen. Next year we will see about more shelves for food storage. We were providing gourmet meals 5 times a day for a week so had far more food and supplies than most groups would have.

The 35-45 age group went for long hikes each morning before breakfast, older ones tended to take their early morning coffee out to the sunny east-facing decks. So there was something for everyone before the serious knitting began on even more decks.

Yes, there is work to be done on the property, which is why I gave it four stars and not five. Kevin is trying hard to make improvements, but it is very difficult to get stable, reliable help on the islands. "Island Time" is very real, workers just don't turn up if the fishing is good, the hay needs cutting, or a child is sick. It's just not the same as renting a large house in Scotland where the family retainers live in a cottage on the property, or in Mexico with a caretaker catering to your needs. We are returning in June next year as this is the best self-catering property on the Gulf Islands and Southern Vancouver Island for a large group, and the pleasantest owner - and I have looked!

  • Submitted: Sep 18, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 1
1

RUN!

  • 1 of 5

If you're thinking of renting this place, run away as fast as you can. Place is very dated and needs tons of work. Beds and bedding smell so bad I had to sleep in my clothes so it wouldn't touch my skin. Gross.

Not like the pictures at all. Only thing nice is the view.

I highly discourage anyone renting this place. Certainly not worth the money he's asking!

Glad to be out of there! Will never return!

  • Submitted: Sep 12, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Customers failed to pay for the booking would not listen to reason had received a bogus contract showed them over 30 pages of correspondence with the person that actually booked and I have notes from all phone conversations. I lost $2000 with this booking I believe it was premeditated fraud
Did you find this review helpful?
5 2
2

Not impressed

  • 2 of 5

Well just spent 4 days there and that was more than plenty. The photos on the website are deceiving. Not as nice as it looks in those pics. Not as clean as it should be for the price. Sheets weren't even changed on one of the beds in the chalet. Property not kept up very nicely either. Nothing to do on this island especially if you bring kids along. Some locals not very friendly at all. Over all nothing what I expected. Very disappointed. will never go back The cottage was nice. Best thing there were the views.

  • Submitted: Sep 8, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: When Jessica checked in I told her that three of her children where in the bed in question with there dirty boots on. She just laughed and did not tell them to get out.The group told me when they checked in that people on Pender Island had given them a hard time.Three times I had to go down to the local pub to drive some of them home Too drunk to drive and starting fights with the locals I could go on and on Have been renting for forty years and this is only the third bad booking Thank You Kevin
Did you find this review helpful?
5 0
5

Breathtaking.

  • 5 of 5

My 14 friends and i rented this house for 4 days in December and were blown away. As for location, This house sits on top of a cliff looking over the water and islands, a beautiful view to wake up to every morning. Also, there wasn't any neighbors close by which meant lots of privacy, which was great. Inside, the house was also fantastic, nothing too out dated, or too modern. As for furniture and beds, everything was clean, and very comfortable. We never felt too crowded as there was 4 floors with plenty of space. I had no complaints about this house except the wifi was iffy at times, but from my understanding, he has gotten that fixed. This house would be more than amazing for a family or friend getaway. This house would also be great if you want to just party for days on end without stopping, plenty of decks looking over the water for smoking joints aswell ;). We will 100% be staying in this house again next year. 10/10

  • Submitted: Mar 1, 2016
  • Stayed: Dec 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0

Map

Nearest Airport
20 Kilometres
Victoria International Airport
Nearest Barpub
10 Kilometres
Browning
Nearest Ferry
10 Kilometres
B.C. Ferries info phone 1-888-223-3779
Nearest Golf
3 Kilometres
Pender Island Golf 250-629-6659 Disc Golf 27-hole
Nearest Train
30 Kilometres
VIA Rail 1-800-842-7245
Nearest Motorway
30 Kilometres
Pat Bay Highway via Ferry
Nearest Restaurant
10 Kilometres
Pender Sushi 250-629-6263
Nearest Ski
150 Kilometres
Mount Washington
Nearest Beach
3 Kilometres
over 30 public beachs within 5 to 30 kilometers
Car: recommended

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $141.92
Additional Guest Fee $16.22 per person per night
Pet Fee $40.55
Damage Deposit $810.96

PLEASE CONTACT OWNER FOR BEST RATES AND GROUP DISCOUNTS
ALL RATES ARE BASED ON 12 PEOPLE FOR SMALLER GROUPS PLEASE PHONE OR TEXT
We cater for small weddings up to 50 people, in combination of the lodge and Buddha Cottage. We also do yoga, spiritual retreats, whale watching and whatever your interest is. Our staff can accommodate all your needs including catering, boat charters, planners, massage etc. Thank you for your interest in our property.
For long week-ends we charge an extra $200 to the total amount.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.

You might like these similar properties