check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit

Perfect for Beach And Boating! 5 bed / 4 bath Canal home and close to the beach!

Sleeps17
Bedrooms 5
Bathrooms4
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the VRBO checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview


Details
Property
house
Sleeps
17
Bedrooms
5
Bathrooms
4
Minimum Stay
3 - 7 nights

About the property

5 Bedroom, 4 Bath, Sleeps 17, Quiet Canal Home One Block From The Beach

Welcome to Holland House! Our bright, clean, and airy canal home with is located only steps from the beach with a boat dock in the backyard. Open floor plan of 2,200 sq. ft., with the bedrooms separated from the living spaces for extra privacy an allowing for uninterrupted sleep. Our rental property sleeps 17 very comfortably in 5 bedrooms and 4 bathrooms. The house has updated decor with a laid-back beachy feel.

Beach access one block away, about a 500 foot walk to the desirable and less crowded Goldsboro Street access.

Outdoor living spaces include a deck on the front of the house with morning sun; a large deck with plenty of lounge chairs, umbrella, and table with afternoon sun on the back of the house; and a screened in porch with dining table which also connects to the master bedroom. A new gas grill (July 2015 ) is stored under the back deck.

We love to cook and the kitchen has plenty of dishes, cookware, small kitchen appliances, serving dishes, glasses/mugs to serve a crowd. A new, extra-large refrigerator/freezer was purchased in 2013. There is a separate ice maker which eliminates daily trips to stock ice for the coolers. There is a large dining room table that seats 10, plus 4 bar stools for meals. We also have a wii in the living room for those rainy days. There is a nice selection of games, cards, books for your use. Flat panel televisions are located in the living room and all bedrooms except bedroom #4. Each TV has Netflix and a dvd player. This year we also added 70 or so cable channels to 4 of the 6 flat panel TV's in the house.

The Master Bedroom is very large with an abundance of drawer space and new bedding in 2013. Master bathroom has very large walk-in shower and double sinks. Hardwood floors throughout the main floor, with carpet in the bedrooms. A large laundry closet is located on the main floor. The other bedroom on the main floor has a queen bed with large closet and updated bedding.

Upstairs includes three more bedrooms and 2 bathrooms. One room has a double and a queen bed with new bedding and access to a private full bathroom. Another bedroom has a double and twin, with plenty of room for a portacrib and access to a full bathroom. The last bedroom we call the bunk room and is stocked with pyramid bunkbeds (twins over full), with new bedding, along with a Nintendo 64.

In the basement you will find all of the beach equipment, including chairs, two person kajak, coolers, umbrellas, beach cart, and toys. The backyard was resodded in 2013 and a nice shaded picnic table was installed. Enjoy a nap in the hammock in the backyard. The canal dock has a fresh water hose, fish cleaning station and kayak. We swim and fish in the canal, so enjoy the floating toys and basic fishing gear available for your use.

We recently added our very own tiki bar with 8 bar stools.

2016 Update. We added 5 more Tommy Bahama beach chairs bringing the total to 20+ chairs, a new Tommy Bahama beach cart ( they rust through in about 2 years ), another umbrella ( 3 total now ) and we will be launching this super cool 7 person gigantic 13ft raft which will be tethered of the dock starting memorial day weekend. New rocking chairs for the front porch, new lounge chairs for the back. We also added a Keurig this year so now we have an espresso maker, a regular coffee machine and a Keurig...... we take our coffee serious. ;-)

There is room for one car on the right side of the garage as well as 4 more cars in the driveway.

The location of the house - just a block from beach access, yet a boat/canal access on one of the quietest canals on OIB at your backdoor gives you different ways to spend your day. Sunny and bright, beautiful canal and marsh views - there is something for everyone at Holland House.

More Details

Owner
Jay Dumoulin
Member since: 2014
Speaks: english, french, german, dutch
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
January 22, 2017

About Jay Dumoulin

We are family of 7 from High Point North Carolina. J. moved here from the Netherlands, S from Napa Valley. Together we have 5 children, boy 15, girl 14, boy 13, girl 11, boy 6. So yes, we have our hands full. ;-) We use this house for our personal vacations as well as rent it out; therefore, we are constantly making upgrades and keeping the property in top shape. S and J both love to paint. We are currently working on a very large 10 by 12 feet canvas in the living room of the beach house. We are not done, but it is getting there.

Jay Dumoulin purchased this house in 2013

Why Jay Dumoulin chose Southern Coast

We looked at over 20 houses when we decided to purchase a second home. Holland House offered everything we had hoped - enough space for extended family, a deep water dock in the back yard and very close to the beach. Also, the bedrooms are not directly of the living room which allows for some undisturbed nap time!

What makes this house unique

One thing we really disliked about our annual treks to the beach was all of the packing that we had to do. With Holland House, we wanted to take some of that burden off of you. We have beach chairs, toys, umbrellas, coolers, basic fishing gear, inflatable swim toys, and a kayak for your use.

Reviews

Very Good! 4.1/5 -
(12 traveler reviews)

Perfect for Beach And Boating! 5 bed / 4 bath Canal home and close to the beach!
average rating of 4.0833335 based on 12 reviews
High Point, NC
5

Rock Star Accomodations

  • 5 of 5

The accommodations are of rock star quality. In fact, I heard a rock star once stayed there! The view from the patio is beautiful of the water. The house is clean and equipped with everything you need for an enjoyable vacation! Great home and highly recommended!

  • Submitted: Jan 4, 2017
  • Stayed: Dec 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great location, easy beach access, plenty of room for large groups and families! Will book again!!

  • 5 of 5

I'm the master planner for a group of 9 women. I've coordinated our trips for 9 years. This is the first home we rented and we couldn't have been happier. The home has a well appointed beachy decor. Added bonus with all the beach chairs, toys, cart supplied for you. We tend to overpack and it was nice not to have to bring these items. The beach was not crowded and a 5 minute walk from the house. We cook all our meals in house. We all were very pleased with the kitchen set up and had plenty of room for 2-3 cooks in the kitchen. Love love love the ice maker and coffee machines!! All the women had their own beds with 2 sharing each of the bathrooms except one. We enjoyed the cozy living room, outside decks and screened porch. The dining table was large enough to seat us of us. Jay, the owner was very easy to work with and was quick to reply to all my emails. I also met the cleaning gal, she was very nice and helpful as well. Overall, we agreed we would like to come back again next year! Thanks, Jay for sharing your beautiful home with us! We hated to leave!

  • Submitted: Sep 20, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
1

I dont enjoyed my stay here at all

  • 1 of 5

The house was very dirty and nasty

  • Submitted: Sep 15, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Tammy, We are very sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us. We have the house professionally cleaned before and after each guests stay. We give our guests our personal mobile numbers and email addresses and ask our guests to please let us know immediately if something is not to their satisfaction. We did not hear from you at all and assumed everything was fine. We will follow up with our cleaning people to make sure that there are no further issues.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Very Convenient Lots of Activities

  • 5 of 5

My family and I had a great vacation stay at this home. It had almost all of the conveniences of home and was in a great location. I believe my kids enjoyed playing, swimming, and fishing in the canal the most. We caught a few perch, croaker, and even a good amount of crab. Jay was very easy to communicate with and always let us know ahead of time of anything to expect. We look forward to coming back to Ocean Isle and hopefully staying at this property again in the future.

  • Submitted: Aug 15, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
4

Somewhat ok

  • 4 of 5

Overall stay was ok apart from fixing umbrellas and possible mold in walls of front bedroom and bath walls.

  • Submitted: Aug 2, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Great location. Good layout with two bedrooms downstairs and two upstairs.

  • 4 of 5

Plenty of room for our family of 12--8 adults and 4 children 6 years of age to 9. The canal view is wonderful and the house is convenient to the beach. It would be nice to have had a little more storage space for our personal food in the kitchen. Overall a great experience fou our annual family week beach vacation.

  • Submitted: Jul 23, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Ocean Isle Beach is a coastal barrier island located along the Atlantic Ocean on the southern coastline of Brunswick County. It is conveniently located between the historic port town of Wilmington, NC and fast pace of Myrtle Beach, SC, with the commute to either city being within twenty to thirty miles. Ocean Isle Beach is just the right size to let you avoid the crowds, yet allow for spirited living. It's one of the North Carolina barrier islands known as the Brunswick Islands, where you will find more beach for your blanket. Because Ocean Isle Beach stretches for seven miles in an unusual east-west direction, sunrises and sunsets are amazingly dramatic. In addition to beach life, there's also golf, with 26 area courses in a twenty mile radius. Here you have a beach vacation as it should be - relaxing, refreshing, and family oriented, both in and around the water. Commercialism does not dominate, so the natural side of things can set the tone for a truly wonderful vacation.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Ocean Isle Beach House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
off season 2016
Aug 27 2016 - Apr 15 2017
Changeover Day: Saturday
3 night minimum stay
$199
From
$300
Fri,Sat,Sun
$1,310
$3,800
 
 
Easter Week
Apr 15 2017 - Apr 21 2017
7 night minimum stay
$2,295
Flat fee
 
 
Value Season
Apr 22 2017 - Jun 9 2017
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
$1,450
 
 
Memorial Week
May 27 2017 - Jun 2 2017
7 night minimum stay
$2,200
Flat fee
 
 
Summer Season 2017
Jun 10 2017 - Aug 25 2017
7 night minimum stay
$2,950
 
 
July 4th week
Jul 1 2017 - Jul 7 2017
7 night minimum stay
$3,950
Flat fee
 
 
Off season
Aug 26 2017 - Mar 31 2018
Changeover Day: Saturday
3 night minimum stay
$200
From
$300
Fri,Sat,Sun
$1,310
$4,950
 
 
My Standard Rate

Changeover Day: Saturday
3 night minimum stay
$188
From
$244
Fri,Sat,Sun
$1,200
 

Additional information about rental rates

Property Damage Protection $59
Cleaning Fee $150
Tax Rate 12.75%

Special rental rate for July 4th week: $4,100
Cleaning fee of $150.00 and tax of 12.75% to the town of Ocean Isle Beach is not included in rental fee.
Saturday to Saturday rental
Please inquire for any holiday or special event weekends. Rates subject to change until confirm.
During the summer season if it is less than 2 weeks before your check-in date, we will consider less than the minimum stay

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Ocean Isle Beach House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 2200 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Ocean View ...
  • Water View ...
  • Waterfront ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Sports & Activities
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Garage ...
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Washing Machine ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 10 people
Bathrooms:
  • 4 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower , bidet , Master bathroom has double sinks, large walk-in shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 4 - toilet , combination tub/shower
Bedrooms:
  • 5 Bedrooms, Sleeps 17
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king , Master bedroom on main floor, in suite bathroom
    Bedroom 3 - 1 queen , 1 double , Bedroom located on 2nd floor with in suite bathroom
    Bedroom 4 - 1 double , 1 twin/ single , Bedroom on second floor with in suite bathroom
    Bedroom 2 - 2 queen , Bedroom located on main floor, access to bathroom from bedrm
    Bedroom 5 - 2 bunk bed , 2 pyramid twin over full bunk beds located on 2nd floor
  • Two bedrooms are located on main floor with much privacy. Three bedrooms are located on the 2nd floor. All bedrooms except the bunk room have access to their own bathroom. All bedrooms have flat screen televisions. All bed rooms except the bunk bed room have a private bathroom.
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player ...
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television ...
  • Toys ...
  • Video Games ...
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Tennis ...
  • Water Sports Gear
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only ...
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • churches
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • miniature golf
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • kayaking
  • pier fishing
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
No need to pack everything but the kitchen sink if you stay at Holland House! We have equipped the house so that all you need to bring is your clothes and linens. Umbrellas, beach cart, beach toys, coolers, chairs, fishing gear, inflatable toys are available for your use with this rental. Additionally, the house layout keeps living room noise out of the bedrooms which helps everyone have a relaxing vacation. Finally, the location of the house - just a block from beach access, yet a boat/canal access on one of the quietest canals on OIB at your backdoor gives you different ways to spend your day. Sunny and bright, beautiful canal and marsh views, there is something for everyone at Holland House.

Partner Offers