Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Private Oceanfront Home!

Sleeps5
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms2
Space 1,200 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 4 - 7 nights

Overview

About the property

2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5

Private oceanfront home. Welcome to our paradise. If you like privacy and gorgeous views this is the place for you. Beautifully decorated two bedroom two bath right on the ocean. With it's amazing views it also comes with your own dock and private beach for hours in the sun. Our home is totally equipped with everything you could want. Just relax in the shade on one of three hammocks. A little more adventurous? Be our guest and use our two kayaks and snorkeling equipment. You can also try your hand at fishing, scuba diving, snorkeling, kayaking & beach combing all right form your beautiful beach. It even has a outside shower. Island speed WiFi & 40' flatscreen included. Fruit cart stopping in front of the house daily with fresh produce. This home is surrounded by the second largest barrier reef in the world, just steps from the back door. High vaulted ceilings with an open plan living room and well equipped kitchen. There is a dining table next to the kitchen but were sure you'll gravitate towards the two other outside dinning areas and enjoy the tropical breezes. New kitchen and bathroom remodel. Each bedroom is air conditioned and offers queen beds with Egyptian cotton sheets. Towels for the bathrooms and the beach are provided. Ceiling fans in every room. Relax with the ocean breeze and saver your favorite cocktail on the upper deck and downstairs patio. Lots of comfy furniture, five star restaurant right next door. Just 10 minutes from the airport and 10 minutes from West End. Airport pickup & home orientation included. If you like adventure and serenity, this is it!! Come live and stay amongst the locals.You will have a blast!


Owner
Brad&Darci Reichardt
Member since: 2014
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
September 16, 2017

About Brad&Darci Reichardt

The Reichardts live in Missouri and try to visit Roatan as often as they can.

Brad&Darci Reichardt purchased this house in 2013

Why Brad&Darci Reichardt chose Bay Islands

We first visited the island of Roatan in December of 2012. Our good friends bought their home on the island 8 years ago and wanted us to come for a visit. Finally we broke down and guess what? We instantly fell in love. As we sat across from this home for two weeks. We had the opportunity to go and look at it and could not deny the absolutely breathtaking view. It's everything we could ever want. So we came home and the rest is history. No regrets! It's absolutely awesome! Adventure of our lives!

What makes this house unique

Some unique benefits to this property are of course the views and privacy, but also the location is very easy to get to.

Map

Car: not necessary

Amenities

Roatan Municipality House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1200 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 5
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
Location Type:
  • Beach View ...
  • Beachfront ...
  • Mountain View ...
  • Ocean View ...
  • Oceanfront ...
  • Water View
  • Waterfront
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 5
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
  • full blowup mattress
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player ...
  • Games ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo ...
  • Television ...
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Water Sports Gear ...
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
Onsite Services:
  • Concierge
  • Private Chef
Attractions:
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • health/beauty spa
  • marina
  • museums
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • hiking
  • kayaking
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • swimming

Reviews

Excellent! 4.6/5 -
(24 traveler reviews)

75% Complete
20% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
4% Complete
Private Oceanfront Home!
average rating of 4.625 based on 24 reviews
5

A true gem!

  • 5 of 5

This property was everything we expected and much more. The house has all the amenities you could need and is well laid out to take full advantage of the wonderful trade winds. The upstairs deck is the perfect place to start the morning with a cup of coffee and catch the sun rises. The lower deck area is a comfortable place to hang out and barbecue or to take a break from snorkeling or diving and it still gets the same breezes as the upper deck.

If you are looking for the typical tourist shops, bars and restaurants, West end, West bay or Sandy bay are just a short ride to the other side of the island. There are also two good restaurants and other local food choices within walking distance of the house that I highly recommend you explore.

If you are lucky enough to rent this beautiful property, I would suggest getting to know the Rivers family across the street. The entire family went out of their way to make sure our stay was incredible. They were able to provide us with home delivery of fresh shrimp, lobster and fish, personalized tours of the island and even cooked local cuisine for us one night. Just another one of the many treasures of Roatan!

  • Submitted: Apr 23, 2017
  • Stayed: Mar 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
5

Paradise in Roatan

  • 5 of 5

I highly suggest this property for a small group visiting the Island. The home is right on a private beach with walls on both sides if you need privacy. You can step right into the water using a concrete boat slip. Breezes on the ocean side most of the day. The interior is so beautiful & well equipped with what ever you may need. Both bathrooms even had all the "necessities" of life. Darci had Lindy pick us up at the airport the day of arrival. We used him through out our trip & so enjoyed his company & learning about early life on the island. We would love to stay longer on our next trip. Yes we all want to return. Thank you Darci & Brad!!!!!!!

  • Submitted: Feb 17, 2017
  • Stayed: Feb 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Minneapolis, MN/ USA
5

Incredible Vacation!

  • 5 of 5

I have never been to a place more beautiful and completely relaxing than Roatan. The house was very clean, decorated beautifully and felt very safe with the safe and upgraded window security. It included everything we needed on our getaway. The kitchen was expansive and both bedrooms were air conditioned. We used the Kayaks twice on our trip right into the ocean at the back of the house! Snorkeling was a dream right behind the house too. There is a reef not too far of a swim off the deck. The dinner next door was dreamy and the neighbors were incredibly kind. Darci answered any questions I had and made sure we were well taken care of. We can't wait for our next trip down!!

  • Submitted: Feb 7, 2017
  • Stayed: Oct 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0
5

Birthday Celebration In Paradise!

  • 5 of 5

We waited all year for this trip and it was everything we were hoping for! Everyone was extremely friendly from the moment we were picked up at the airport. The house was beautiful and perfect to wake up every morning and watch the sunrise! We had several fun days of snorkeling, horseback riding on the beach, tour of the island by Lindy and a fabulous dinner by the neighbor for my birthday. On the other days, we just enjoyed relaxing at the house with the beautiful views. The hammocks were a great place to kick back and read! We never even needed the A/C with the breeze coming off the water!

  • Submitted: Dec 26, 2016
  • Stayed: Dec 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
Columbia, MO, USA
5

Awesome!

  • 5 of 5

We had such a wonderful time in Roatan! The house was the perfect place to stay. It was clean, secure and just beautiful. Air conditioning in the bedrooms. Fans for the main living area but all we did was open the front and back doors and enjoyed the ocean breeze. There was a safe for our valuables and gates on all the doors and windows, which at first threw me off a bit but actually made me feel safe at night (it is a 3rd world country). The neighbors are so nice and helpful. The power went out one day, which apparently happens on the island about once a week, and the caretaker came over to make sure the water pump and everything else came back on. He and his entire family all live in near by houses so we always felt like help was just steps away if needed. The owners also made me feel like I could call them at anytime with questions.

The view was the best! Unobstructed slice of heaven from coffee on the back deck, relaxing with a book on the downstairs patio or laying out on the private dock. It was so very private. They had a TV with a good selection of DVD's, games and kayaks. Snorkeling right out back was absolutely breathtaking. We also enjoyed snorkeling in west end and west bay, Diving with West End Divers, fishing with Lonnie at Roatan Anglers. There was so much to do and not enough time to do it all. I will definitely be coming back!

  • Submitted: Oct 22, 2016
  • Stayed: Oct 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
4 0
Missouri
1

House problems

  • 1 of 5

Contrary, to the other reviews, our rental experience was poor. During our 8 day visit we were without water for a day. We were unable to contact the caretaker because their phone, which had all needed numbers, did not have any minutes purchased. We went to the hardware store and bought 5 gallons of water for flushing the toilet and bathing. The refrigerator froze and ruined a few food items we purchased. We used a cooler for three days until the frig was repaired on the fourth day. We just ignored the red ants that crawled over the kitchen. Each door and most windows had gates and padlocks for security. The back door deadbolt did not work and the lock was corroded. The backdoor gate was somewhat difficult to close and lock. Although the door was closed and the steel gate was closed, we did not padlock ourselves in one night and thieves broke in while we were sleeping. They stole many items, including our phones and wallets. Their is no safe in the house to lock and secure valuables.

This was an anniversary trip for my wife and I. We wasted the better of 3 days dealing with this house and enjoyed only a small amount of time on Roatan. Would not recommend this rental house.

  • Submitted: Oct 2, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: So sorry that you and your wife had a terrible vacation. We express our sincere apologies. Just to let you know we have now changed the locks to make it easier for some people to lock up. There is no way anyone could have entered if the gate/door was locked. I did tell you and your wife to please lock all doors at night and everytime you leave the house. People don't have much money on Roatan so sometimes there is petty theft. As far as the water and refrigerator, as soon as we were informed we sent someone out and had them fixed immediately!! Sometimes the power goes out on the whole island and the water gets shut off. As soon as the power is restored there is a reset button for the water. The little critters: our home is on the beach on a island in Central America. You're going to have some stuff like that. We have our whole property sprayed once a month. You could have called/emailed me at anytime and told me there was an issue. I would have taken care of everything immediately and I mean immediately! Like I said in a email that I sent you before your arrival, " I am here to help." I really meant that.
Did you find this review helpful?
6 0

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Pet Fee $50
Damage Deposit $500

$100.00 fee for airconditioning a week
$25.00 fee for Wi-Fi a week

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.

You might like these similar properties