Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Harbor House Penthouse w/High Speed Wi-Fi & HDTV!

Sleeps10
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Space 1,600 sq. ft.
Property type condo
Minimum Stay 3 - 5 nights

Overview

About the property

Built On The Beach, You Cannot Get Closer To The Water Anywhere In Gulf Shore

Following Hurricane Frederick in 1979, the Federal Government established the CCL (the Coastal Construction Line) which prevented any structures to be built in front of that line. Frederick was devastating to Gulf Shores and many properties were obliterated. Harbor House was built before the CCL went into effect and was built far onto the beach. All the other buildings were built behind the CCL leaving the 2 Harbor House beachfront buildings far in front of them. Essentially this has created a view from the top floors of these buildings that is simply breath taking. There are no obstructions. South, East or West you can see it all. In the mornings, the dolphins come out and play, sometimes it's the stingrays that follow the waves right up to the beach. During storms, there is no better place to watch everything roll in. Unobstructed views.

Condos have a very square feel to them, apartment type living. These Harbor House Penthouses are more beach cottages sitting up on top of apartments. With an open-air feel, great fenestration on the Gulf and vaulted ceilings you realize they are homes, beach houses sitting up with a view you will smile about for years to come.

More Details

Owner
owner/property manager
Member since: 2011
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
88%
Calendar last updated:
May 26, 2017

Amenities

Gulf Shores Condo Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • condo
  • floor 3
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Housekeeping:
  • Housekeeper Optional
Floor Area:
  • 1600 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 10
  • non smoking only ...
  • pets not allowed ...
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • Events Allowed
  • children welcome
Location Type:
  • Beachfront
  • Oceanfront
  • Water View
  • Waterfront
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace ...
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Master Bathroom - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Full Bath - toilet , combination tub/shower
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
  • Master Bedroom - 1 king
    Front Beach side bedroom - 2 queen
    Back Bedroom - 1 king
    Living Room - 1 sleep sofa /futon
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
Attractions:
  • churches
  • restaurants
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • miniature golf
  • outlet shopping
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • paragliding
  • parasailing
  • pier fishing
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing

Reviews

Excellent! 4.5/5 -
(21 traveler reviews)

Harbor House Penthouse w/High Speed Wi-Fi & HDTV!
average rating of 4.5238094 based on 21 reviews
5

Exceptional!!!!!!!

  • 5 of 5

We stayed in Penthouse A1 and the name says it all "A1!!" Everything was very up to date, spacious, and well-maintained. We spent one of the most relaxing weekends ever. We loved the lay out of the condo. The owner was great to work with; made check in very simple. It was in the heart and soul of everything!! We hope to go back soon!!!!!

  • Submitted: May 19, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
5

Best 3 nights ever

  • 5 of 5

Beautiful condo. Nice furnishings. Best view you can have in Gulf Shores. Unit was closest to the water than any we've stayed in.

  • Submitted: May 9, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Paradise at its best!

  • 5 of 5

What an absolute treasure! We knew from the pictures that this would be a great place to enjoy the beach, but we never expected just how wonderful this penthouse would be! Very well maintained and newly renovated unit had all the amenities we could ask for but none of those mattered since the view of the Gulf and being directly on the beach was all that we needed. We truly enjoy the attention to detail that the owners have for their home, and just how clean everything was. The beach was very quiet this time of year and we loved being able to go to restaurants and not having to wait. Who would have guessed that in January we would be enjoying temperatures in the mid 70's! We look forward to coming back again soon! Thank you to the owners for being so courteous and generous with us.

  • Submitted: Jan 27, 2017
  • Stayed: Jan 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
1

Would not recommend at this time.

  • 1 of 5

Dated community. Exterior property currently under paint preparation with daytime construction noise. No elevator available for access to fourth floor. Internet/wireless not available. Interior maintenance required for mold in guest closet & toilet fixtures. Better cleaning service recommended. Guest bedroom had blocked access to bathroom. Notified owner of concerns, however, response was met with rebuttal. Comparable oceanfront properties provide better value.

  • Submitted: Nov 8, 2016
  • Stayed: Nov 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
4

Loved it!

  • 4 of 5

Great location, great condo!!! The owner was great to work with. Loved being so close to the beach and across the street from Pier 33 grocery. Very convenient. Highly recommend S&S Seafood for fresh seafood to go... we stayed on the beach late and ate in several nights. The new renovations on the condo are great. We did have a little trouble mastering the energy saving air conditioner though. Just needed to make sure the kids closed the patio doors completely. Even when they "looked" closed the sensors were not close enough to connect and it shut the air off automatically. Just have someone check those before you head to the beach each day... not fun to walk back into a hot condo. After we figured out the error on our part, all was well again!

  • Submitted: Jul 13, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
4

Amazing beach views

  • 4 of 5

The property is truly a jewel. The penthouse is amazingly spacious easily accommodating 2 families without the feeling of being cramped. It truly sits right on the beach. It being a mere 3 story complex was perfect, no waiting for elevators or anything. When your people decide to enjoy the beach... within 1 minute flat... my feet were in the sand, kids in water. I loved, loved, loved the easy beach access as well as the patio with 2 outdoor tables. This very much added to our enjoyment... which lent itself as also as a handy place to keep our beach chairs, boogie & skim boards, as well as sand buckets. My only complaints were that #1. We didn't plan a longer stay because it was a truly relaxing vacation. #2. It seemed to be lacking in several essential items such as salt & pepper, oven mitts... However, we were the 1st renters of the season and I feel sure these issues would be resolved in the future.

  • Submitted: Mar 28, 2016
  • Stayed: Mar 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: For guests like this, it feels like the phrase "No Good Deed Ever Goes Unpunished" is accurate. Let’s start with her complaints. First and foremost, there is liability to leaving any kind of foodstuff in a unit, including salt and pepper. For all the years we’ve been renting our places, no one has ever said anything about this. We know oven mitts were present, as we checked the unit prior to her check in, but more frustrating is that instead of asking us where they were (since we were next door in one of our other properties on that site during their entire stay) they chose to fester and wait to state this publicly. Lisa asked for an extra night after her initial booking, unfortunately we had other guests who were arriving that same day and we were not able to accommodate their request. However, we made arrangements with another owner so they could use their unit for the last unplanned night, even helping them save money on things like parking. But more infuriating is the fact that at the time of their departure, one of their cars broke down under the building. Not only did we do everything we could to help, but we let these stranded people stay in our other unit FREE OF CHARGE. (This is the unit we were vacating.) We arranged for them to have clean linens and towels so they would not have to find a place to stay in their time of need. (Though we did not have the professional cleaners come in, as we would have had to charge them the cleaning fee. We left the unit in good shape, though.) We understand how frustrating and scary it is to have a car break down far from home. And for us, it isn't always about money. We were trying to be kind and give them peace of mind. This amounted to a $500 gift. They had been nice guests in the other unit, and we did not have anyone in that unit that particular night, so why not?? We would want someone to treat us this way were roles reversed. Instead of letting this mitigate the “missing” salt and pepper shakers and oven mitts, we got a 4 star review. We’re surprised our generosity and kindness was met with a less-than-5 star review. We’re saddened by this as well, as it makes us less inclined to help out like this in the future.
Did you find this review helpful?
9 3

Map

Nearest Airport
38 Miles
Pensacola Regional Ariport
Nearest Barpub
0.3 Miles
Bahama Bob's
Nearest Ferry
25 Miles
Dauphin Island Ferry
Nearest Motorway
0.9 Miles
Highway 59
Nearest Restaurant
0.3 Miles
Bahama Bob's
Nearest Beach
Gulf Shores Beach
Car: recommended

Photos

Rates & Availability

Gulf Shores Condo Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
May
May 1 2017 - May 31 2017
3 night minimum stay
$296
 
 
Peak Summer
Jun 1 2017 - Jun 30 2017
3 night minimum stay
$425
 
 
Week of July 4th
Jul 1 2017 - Jul 9 2017
3 night minimum stay
$499
 
 
July 2017
Jul 10 2017 - Jul 31 2017
3 night minimum stay
$425
 
 
Late Summer
Aug 1 2017 - Sep 15 2017
3 night minimum stay
$350
 
 
Snowbird Season
Sep 16 2017 - Feb 28 2018
3 night minimum stay
$250
$1,125
$2,950
 
 
Shrimp Fest
Oct 11 2017 - Oct 15 2017
5 night minimum stay
$1,790
Flat fee
 
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
$250
 

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning $170 + Tax
Refundable damage deposit $250
2 Car Parking Pass $40 + Tax
Tax Rate 11.0%

Rates are subject to change until reservations are booked and confirmed.

The week including July 4th is a minimum one week rental at $550 per night.

Rates higher during Shrimp Fest, Spring Break, Hangout Fest. Email for details on rates and deposit requirements.

Must be over 25 years old to rent, driver's license required (I.D.)

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.

Enter dates for accurate pricing

Send a Message Send a Message
Available
Unavailable