Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Waterfront luxury Private Paradise! Prime Location! Amazing views! NEW FIBER OP!

Sleeps9
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms3
Space 2,700 sq ft
Property type house
Minimum Stay 7 nights

Overview

About the property

4 Bdrm 3bath spacious luxury waterfront home close to Cavendish!

Take a deep breath & be prepared to be wowed as you walk into this 4 bdrm luxury waterfront home featuring floor to ceiling windows with magnificent views of the water & rolling meadows beyond. Open concept, 20 ft cathedral ceilings in the living/dining/kitchen area. Wood floors throughout the house & high quality tile in all 3 baths. The shabby chic design features Quartz countertops throughout, an Austrian hand cut crystal chandelier centerpeice & solid wood furniture hand crafted by our Island’s famous Kerris Jeffrey. Enjoy all the luxuries of home with a 52' TV in the master bedroom and 60' in the livingroom. surround sound in the main living area and master bedroom. There's a large deck with outdoor speakers (connected to TV, CD, Iphone, Radio) overlooking the water and a sheltered area to have a bbq and enjoy the outdoors even on a rainy day. When you wake up in the morning and step out into the main living area, you will feel like you are standing outisde. The sun is beaming, the water glistening, and the birds are in full view. A sight to be seen! Even at night the moon shines in! Air conditioning will keep you comfortable inside when the hot sun is beaming outside.. Enjoy the 5 person hot tub under the stars while listening to your favorite music with the outdoor speakers. Roast some marshmellows at your tiled area campfire pit at the water's edge. Brand new build in the fall of 2013. This beautifully designed home has 4 bedrooms and 3 baths in total. 2 bedrooms and 1 bath upstairs and 2 bedrooms on the main level; 1 ensuite (shower, stand alone tub) and 1 bath with shower on the main level. Its a perfect vacation spot close to beaches, attractions, restaurants, boat charters, hiking, biking, canoeing, kayaking and more! Walk the shore when the tide is out and head to the local bar for a cocktail, or simply stay home and have a drink on the perch located just at the edge of the property and enjoy the view of the boats going by. The house is situated on a very private lot only 10min from Cavendish.

We have a shore in front of our property, not a beach. You can walk quite a distance and see our red sandstone cliffs, shells, and many birds when the tide is out. There is an oyster lease in front of our property so if you see our friendly fisherman, wave him down if you want to buy some oysters off the boat! If you want to swim, you have to be ok with walking down to Lot 12, (we are lot 18) to get away from the oysters or wear your water shoes. The ocean floor is soft and you may find some seagrass depending on time of year. You can wade in this clean water at anytime to cool off. If you want to go in the water direclty in front of the house, wear your water shoes! We also provide a canoe!! This boating waterway has several areas to explore. You can branch off to different areas along this river for a great advenuture! Take your cooler! We also have , 2 inflatable row boats for some fun. We provide water shoes, noodles,snorkel gear, horseshoes, and bocce ball for your use as well. . We are a short 8 min drive to a beautiful beach in French River or 13 min drive to Cavendish Beach and all attractions. And only 10 min to Kensington, 20 min to Summerside and 45 min to Charlottetown. There are several activities very close by. We provide a beach pass for all 3 National Park beaches. And we just got fiber op!

More Details

Owner
Laurie Carruthers
Member since: 2014
Premier Partner

This VRBO partner has demonstrated and is committed to fast response times, the best rates, and a great guest experience.

Speaks: english
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
September 19, 2018

About Laurie Carruthers

Hi! My name is Laurie and i am an 'Islander'! I moved back home 14 years ago and purchased cottages in Stanley Bridge area. I loved the area so much that when i sold my business in 2012, i decided it was time to build my Dream Home! I always loved Anne's Land. My dog, Maxi and I spend a lot of time on the beautiful trails and beaches out here. Since i built this home, it brings me so much peace. This house/area really does something wonderful to you as you will see for yourself :) I owned 3 more small businesses but decided to start a new chapter last year and i sold everything and now i am a full time realtor on PEI. I With my business background especially in accommodations; along with being a Islander, born and raised, and being a tour guide, i can help make your experience here on PEI an unforgettable one!

Laurie Carruthers purchased this house in 2013

Why Laurie Carruthers chose New London

The view and the privacy of this property is unique. No neighbors, which means you can have fun and/or romantic days and evenings and not worry about seeing a single soul. We are close to all attractions ,beaches., restaurants, seafood and more! We also provide a FREE National Park pass during your stay valued at $100!

What makes this house unique

You can walk along the shore when the tide is out to the Sou'West bar and Grill They offer great food and local entertainment. Just down the old heritage road, you can find a popular restaurant called the Kitchen Witch. On the way to the kitchen witch you can veer off the dirt road to a beautiful trail in the woods. We are located on a private lot with no neighbors so you have complete privacy to enjoy your hot tub, campfire pit and gorgeous views of rolling meadows and red cliffs. You can get oysters from the local fisherman directly off the boat and canoe the surrounding wide river . This property has breathtaking views. You can see the eagles, osprey and herons fly right by your large windows. It's an amazing sight! The tranquility of this sanctuary will change you!

Amenities

New London House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 2700 sq ft
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 10:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 9
  • Min. age of primary renter: 25
  • Children welcome
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets considered ...
  • Non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Beachfront
  • Oceanfront
  • Water View
  • Waterfront
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Romantic
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 10 people
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , tub , shower , Ensuite bathroom
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 9
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 3 - 2 twin/ single
    Bedroom 4 - 2 twin/ single
  • The 2 twin beds will comfortably come together to make a King for couples.
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio
  • Golf
  • Lanai / Gazebo
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
Suitability:
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub
  • Spa Whirlpool
Attractions:
  • churches
  • museums
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
  • water parks
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • horseshoes
  • miniature golf
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fly fishing
  • golf
  • golf privileges optional
  • mountain biking
  • snorkeling
  • swimming

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.9/5 -
(25 traveler reviews)

92% Complete
8% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Waterfront luxury Private Paradise! Prime Location! Amazing views! NEW FIBER OP!
average rating of 4.92 based on 25 reviews
Washington, DC
5

Great Family Vacation

  • 5 of 5

I cannot say enough about how much we loved our trip to PEI and how much of that is attributable to this great property. Our group had four adults and four kids (ages 7, 5, 2.5, and 2). This can be a tricky group to accommodate, but the house did so beautifully. The location was great...easy access to the things we wanted to visit more than once: the beaches, hikes, and Anne attractions in Cavendish. We had no trouble making day trips further afield, and in doing so, never found a part of the island that would have been a better home base for us. As for the home itself, it was well-equipped with everything we needed to prepare most of our meals at home (with such easy access to fresh seafood, cooking at home made more sense than torturing a restaurant and its patrons with our crew!!). The large yard, hammock, canoe, and low-tide beach were enormous hits with the kids, who spent every possible moment outside exploring the beach, swinging in the hammock, or throwing a ball.

Laurie was easy to deal with and very responsive when we had any issues or questions. She does a great job of maintaining the home and keeping it immaculate. Thank you!!!

As for activities on the island, we did clamming with Experience PEI and lobster fishing with Top Notch Charters, both of which were amazing and highly, highly recommended. The beach at Cavendish is an easy drive from the house, great for kids, and free, thanks to the park pass provided with the house. The drive along the coast was beautiful, yielding a lot of the classic PEI vistas.

I wish we could go back tomorrow. If we did, we would certainly rent with Laurie again!!

  • Submitted: Jul 14, 2016
  • Stayed: July 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Absolutely Beautiful. Perfect in every way

  • 5 of 5

This was our first visit to Prince Edward Island and it was fantastic. My wife and I and our adult children shared this beautiful place for a week and loved it. Upon arrival we found the house spotless, and very accommodating. The kitchen was well equipped, which is important since we are all foodies. The decorations and appointments were beautiful. The location is fantastic, easily driveable to all the sights and attractions you will want to see. We love seafood, and we were able to buy oysters right in the back yard from a local fisherman. Local fresh caught lobster,mussels clams etc are available close buy. I can’t say enough good things about this place, we truly loved it.

  • Submitted: Sep 1, 2018
  • Stayed: August 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Beautiful, well-appointed home with panoramic views of water and countryside

  • 5 of 5

This home is a perfect retreat for families. We loved the open concept kitchen-dining-great room with floor to ceiling views of an expansive lawn leading down to the water. Beds, baths, bed linens and bath towels made for very comfortable stay. Kitchen well-equipped. Lots of wide open space outside for kids to run around, play frisbee and bocce ball; lots of shoreline to explore and walk at low tide; canoe to paddle; quiet setting and yet central location from which you can easily access everything the north shore has to offer. Cavendish Beach and Cabot Provincial Park an easy drive. Nice touch that a National Park pass was included with stay. Owner Laurie was very prompt to reply to any questions we had about the property and made us feel very welcome. We can confidently recommend this property and look forward to coming back.

  • Submitted: Jul 19, 2018
  • Stayed: July 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Luxurious home with spectacular views

  • 5 of 5

We had a wonderful time in PEI! The house is exactly as pictured. It is spotlessly clean. Everything was so comfortable. We enjoyed the central air, hot tub, the beautiful bath tub in the master bedroom, comfy beds, and the well-equipped kitchen. We used the canoe and our kayak (we brought the kayak) almost every day. So amazing to just walk down to the water in the yard and go. We used the National park pass to explore, went deep sea fishing (we went to the place on the Bridge next to the Sou’ East restaurant—such great people. We all caught fish (cod) and had a great time, back on land we even got to buy some gorgeous, reasonably priced pottery that the owner makes), we also made a visit to Charlottetown, which we would highly recommend (lots of great restaurants and shops). We also did a lot of biking. On the bikes we visited the Kitchen Witch—such nice folks running that place, bought a beautiful handmade silver necklace from Nancy at her silver studio, and purchased a beautiful print at Tony Diadoti’s art studio. We enjoyed the delicious ice cream at Cows, the girls made their own bathbombs at a great little shop next to the Lost Anchor, who makes delicious Fish and Chips. Our time in PEI was wonderful and the comforts of Laurie”s home made everything so relaxing. Laurie was always very responsive to our needs and quick to respond to any questions we had. She is a very hospitable and kind woman. On our last night we saw the most amazing double rainbow over the house. The island has enchanted us, we can’t wait to come back!

  • Submitted: Jul 12, 2018
  • Stayed: June 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

absolutely beautiful

  • 5 of 5

We've traveled to different countries and most parts of western united states. So we're talking some beautiful areas. We like to hike during the day and relax at night.

The setting for this house in conjunction with the house itself is our best ever.

Everything we needed was already there. We actually could have been content just

staying by the house and we're not at all the lounge around types. My wife loved the

décor with the nautical theme-beautifully appointed. The surrounding countryside was lovely. We're considering being repeat customers-which we've never done before.

  • Submitted: Jul 2, 2018
  • Stayed: June 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

A perfect view!

  • 4 of 5

The property is beautiful. Exceptionally clean. Perfect place to relax. The Best Beds!

WiFi does not work - no streaming or even googling on any device.

The leftover open food in the cupboards and freezer from previous guests was not appreciated. Open Chips and half eaten bags of nuts, open ice cream in freezer etc - Gross. A habit that should be changed. Cookware is of low quality - some overused - fry pans that won't lie flat. Plates heavily scratched, heavy and worn. Not one nice salad bowl. Not a decent wine glass either.

The third party booking engine used by the owner did not calculate the taxes and pet fee into the charge. Had large unexpected payment at departure - so be careful!!!

  • Submitted: Oct 2, 2017
  • Stayed: September 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: I will respond to all of this. . Firstly when we talked on the phone you were elated and extremely happy with the property and the 2nd last day of your stay you were asking about my availability for next year. I know that there was a problem with the quote sent by vrbo but this was not not my error. When you booked you saw the rate and the base rate is plus tax in Canada (And you are Canadian) which you did not want to pay. I have never had This issue before with a vrbo quote but from now on I will pay very close attention as I know with technology mistakes can happen. This very thing happened to me with vrbo in North Carolina and yes it was unfortunate the quote came to me without the tax but when the owner informed me after we had left that she noticed the mistake i was happy to pay. This time of year gets extremely busy for us seasonal workers . You wanted me to cover the tax or the fee charged by vrbo when you only paid the off sesson rate of 2900 and the house was full of people and noticeably so.. Also You also never disclosed that you had a dog. My husband saw the dog and I heard the dog barking when we talked on the phone.. so yes I asked you to pay a pet fee plus tax Not disclosing the dog permitted me to take all of your deposit but I didn't do that. As for the Wi-Fi.. when the previous guests use up too much it gets slower I could have increased the package if you had told me it was this bad. Sorry about that but if Wi-Fi was so bad why did u want to come back next year? You simply told me it was slow which is common in rural PEI. But..end of this month, we will have fiber op so no more wifi issues thankfully. The food must have been a mistake. We always clean this out but I guess this one time it slipped our mind. Sorry. The expensive wine glasses I buy every year (8 per year) are always broken and replaced with cheap glasses. Your stay being in Sept you had to use the cheaper ones. However there were 4 good ones left. The pots and aluminum pants are very expensive but the t fal frying pans can get scratched and we do replace when needed. I have been staying here for over a month myself and never noticed a pan not sitting flat??. I have a lot of people in this house so it is impossible to keep everything new all the time. We have very expensive plates as well and 2 very nice salad bowls (maybe u didnt see them? ) and several nice plastic salad bowls. We will replace the scratched plates. Thank you for your comments.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 1

Map

Nearest Airport
47 Kilometres
Charlottetown
Nearest Barpub
3 Kilometres
Sou West Restaurant and Bar
Nearest Ferry
111 Kilometres
Wood Islands
Nearest Golf
8 Kilometres
Anderson Creek, Red Sands, Eagles Glen
Nearest Restaurant
3 Kilometres
Sou West Restaurant
Nearest Beach
6 Kilometres
French River/Cavendish
Car: necessary

We offer a free National Park pass that grants you access to the 3 National Parks

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Pet Fee $58.03 + Tax
Refundable damage deposit $386.88

Any events (small wedding party under 50 people etc) have a damage deposit of $1000.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.

You might like these similar properties