Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

"Surf Cottage" (Upper), The Oceanfront And Boardwalk Beach Vacation Legend

Sleeps6
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 0 - 7 nights

Overview

About the property

1 Bedroom, 1 Bath, Sleeps 6

You're heading to Newport Beach, and everyone is relying on you to pick the right vacation rental.

Let's chat, and see if Surf Cottage (Upper) is right for you.

"Can you give me an overview of this vacation rental?"

- This is the second floor unit of a offbeat old beach house. If you want to be on one of the best oceanfront corner lots in West Newport, right on the boardwalk, with the water so close you can almost reach out and touch it, and you don't mind uneven floors and cozy 1920s beach architecture, look no further.

There is one bedroom, with a queen sized bed, and a den with a full sized bed and what I'd generously call 'limited privacy'. There is also a sleeper sofa in the living room which is about queen sized. It sleeps a family of six comfortably enough, not so much with six adults. However, if you need more space, you can rent the upstairs unit as well. You also get the lower level of the split front deck, with your own gas BBQ, patio furniture, an amazing view of the Pacific ocean, and some seriously good people watching.

"Is the home well outfitted?"

- Yes. In addition to WiFi, cable, a fully equipped kitchen, linens, beach towels, beach chairs and umbrellas, automated keypad door locks, guest orientation data tablet and a coin-op washer and dryer in the garage, it also has a basic starter supply of soaps, detergent, paper towels, toilet paper, enough to get you going for your stay.

"Is the home clean?"

- Yes! It's not the prettiest pad on the boardwalk, but our cleaners will have it cleaned, stocked, beds made, and ready to move in.

"How is the parking?"

- Tight. One space in an old Model T garage. Most SUVs and trucks won't fit. Most SUVs and trucks won't fit. You'll probably want to keep a smaller vehicle in the garage and use that one to get around town with, and leave any larger ones parked on the street. (Just keep an eye out for street sweeping days.)

"How about the price?"

- What you're getting out of this unit is a clean, comfortable and basic accommodations for people who plan to be on the deck or out enjoying the beach more than they'll be indoors enjoying the features and amenities of the home.

"Is this the right vacation rental for me?"

- Are you someone that wants to pay fancy pants pricing and get fancy pants accommodations? If so, pass on this one. Ain't nothing fancy 'bout these pants.

Are you someone who is down with a fun, cozy old beach cottage? One that was possibly built in a single afternoon in 1928 by old timey Balboa Peninsula fishermen who had a few too many brewskis.

If so, you're in luck! You have found the right vacation rental! The only thing standing between you and a cool trip to the beach is Booking Now! So Book Now!

Or, you know, don't. I guess you could stay home and do laundry or something?

(This unit rents Friday to Friday for Summer 2018. No air conditioning (but a great ocean breeze). No smoking, in the unit or on the premises. No pets. Minimum primary renter age of 25. Photo ID required. Short Term Lodging Permit: 10292)

More Details

Property Manager
White Sail Realty
Member since: 2014
Speaks: english, spanish, mandarin
Manager indicates their response time is:
Within a day
Calendar last updated:
January 21, 2018

About White Sail Realty

Located in the Balboa Village Fun Zone, we're here to help facilitate Newport Beach vacation rentals all year round. Our goal is simple - we want you to have such a great vacation experience that you tell your friends and come back next year!

What makes this house unique

If you want to be on the boardwalk of West Newport, with the beach and sea for a front yard, and are okay with the very basics as far as accommodations, you can't beat this unit. It's clean, cozy, priced right and right where you want to be.

Amenities

Balboa Peninsula House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 2:30 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 10:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • Min. age of primary renter: 25
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets not allowed
  • Non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Beach View
  • Beachfront
  • Ocean View
  • Oceanfront
General:
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator
  • Toaster
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
Bedrooms:
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 6
  • 1 Queen bed, 1 Sofa Bed bed, 1 Full bed
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio
  • Outdoor Grill
Attractions:
  • cinemas
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • golf

Reviews

Excellent! 4.5/5 -
(8 traveler reviews)

75% Complete
12% Complete
0% Complete
12% Complete
0% Complete
"Surf Cottage" (Upper), The Oceanfront And Boardwalk Beach Vacation Legend
average rating of 4.5 based on 8 reviews
2

Good effort from staff but ultimately not worth the money

  • 2 of 5

Rating Details:

The property manager was very helpful.

The vacation rental was somewhat dirty.

I was happy with the location.

I was very dissatisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.

Overall, I do not recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:

We chose this rental after having to be evacuated due to wildfires so maybe for the right person and the right agenda this place would be perfect. Unfortunately for us it was less than perfect. I want to say first that Amelie and the whole staff were incredibly accommodating and professional- I hope the company knows how valuable they are. That being said, the property itself is in dire need of updating, especially for the price. There is a point where location can no longer justify the price- and granted it is a great location, right on the beach- but the property really needs help. There is a noticeable lean to the entire floor, there were multiple soft spots that we were concerned with putting a foot through, and the furniture needs to be replaced- the beds really didn't make for a comfortable night. There is no noise privacy from the unit below so be prepared! There were some cleaning and maintenance issues when we arrived- the shower head was broken and a few things weren't cleaned well and Amelie promptly took care of it and was again, incredibly helpful there. We really appreciated the efforts of her and the rest of the staff to make us comfortable but we do not feel it was worth the price for the quality of the place. Maybe if you're looking to take a surf trip with some friends and you're looking to get out of a tent for the night it'll be fine but as a couple looking for some comfort and relaxation, we agree that continuing the search is a better idea.

  • Submitted: Oct 17, 2017
  • Stayed: October 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for the review! This is an older beach house and it's not for everybody. Just for a little context, this family had to relocate for a few days due to wildfires, and this is the only unit we had available. Normally we try to ensure that people get matched to the right property, as some people really do want a more modern and stylish experience, but we did what we could given the circumstances.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Perfect!

  • 5 of 5

Rating Details:

The property manager was very helpful.

The vacation rental was spotless.

I was very happy with the location.

I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.

Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:

Perfect location! I love the staff White Sail Realty. They are wonderful. Already planning another trip :)

  • Submitted: Jul 17, 2017
  • Stayed: June 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Yay! We always love to hear that! Let us know when you're ready for a little more relaxation on the beachfront patio! :-D
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Awesome Spring Break Vacation

  • 5 of 5

Rating Details:

The property manager was very helpful.

The vacation rental was spotless.

I was very happy with the location.

I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.

Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:

We had a fabulous time in this Surf Cottage. The view was breathtaking! We live out of state and coming home was just what we needed. The staff was very attentive and super friendly. We will be coming back!!!

  • Submitted: Apr 18, 2017
  • Stayed: April 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We're glad you had a fabulous time, and we'd love to have you back! Please keep Surf Cottage in mind for your next trip to the beach!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Las Vegas, NV
5

Summer Vacation

  • 5 of 5

Rating Details:

The property manager was very helpful.

The vacation rental was clean.

I was very happy with the location.

I was more than satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.

Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:

This unit it walking distance to the pier and for anything else you may need at the beach. The view is beautiful. Management is attentive.

  • Submitted: Oct 10, 2016
  • Stayed: July 2016
  • Source: White Sail Realty
Owner's Response: So glad you had a great time! Please keep us in mind for your next trip to the beach!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Red Hook, NY
4

cottage on Newport Beach

  • 4 of 5

Rating Details:

The property manager was more than helpful.

The vacation rental was very clean.

I was very happy with the location.

I was more than satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.

Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:

very nice location, clean and fun place. Only drawback was the parking - the garage was nearly impossible to use it was so tight in spacing.

  • Submitted: Oct 3, 2016
  • Stayed: August 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Nice location, clean and fun is what we aim for! The parking is tight, no question. This is an old 1920s beach house, and they build garages smaller back then. We recommend that people with multiple cars park their larger one on the street and don't move it except for street sweeping days, and then use a smaller car in the garage to get around town with.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Glendora, CA
5

July 8th-15th week

  • 5 of 5

Rating Details:

The property manager was very helpful.

The vacation rental was spotless.

I was very happy with the location.

I was more than satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.

Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:

We love coming to this rental property. We always get great service from Sheila and her team. The unit is in the perfect spot and our kids love to attend the surf camp each year.

  • Submitted: Jul 19, 2016
  • Stayed: July 2016
  • Source: White Sail Realty
Owner's Response: We love having you back every year! It's a great location and the perfect little pad for a family beach vacation tradition.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Oceanfront property, on the sand and steps to the surf.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Notes

  • Damage Waiver is $95.00 / Non Refundable

You might like these similar properties