Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Peaceful, Ground Floor, Garden View Condo """

Bedrooms 1
Space 920 sq. ft.
Property type condo
Minimum Stay 3 nights


About the property

Come Unwind In Beautiful Kauai

Bright and breezy one bedroom, one-bath, ground floor, condo meets all of your vacation needs

*Comfortable living room with a covered Lanai and a peaceful garden view. Since my wife and I eat almost all of our meals outside the covered lanai allows us to enjoy the beautiful Kauai weather even if we are looking at a light warm rain.

*Large flat screen Smart TV with cable and Internet access provided

*Modern, fully equipped kitchen with plenty of dishes, glasses, cooking utensils, and pots and pans. Pick up some fresh fish at the Koloa fish market and grill it on the gas barbeque steps from your Lanai.

*Free WiFi

*King size bed, with a generous walk-in closet with a private safe.

*Nice double sink vanity area with a separate tub/shower.

*Washer/Dryer connected to the bedroom/bath area and away from the living room to reduce noise.

*Excellent cross ventilation and ceiling fans throughout keep the whole unit cool and comfortable

Kahala Resort is one of Poipu`s most beautifully landscaped and well-maintained condominium complexes. Kahala is about a five-minute walk down a pathway to Brennecke`s and Poipu Beaches, voted `Best Beach` in America by the Travel Channel. Your children will love the calm waters where they can explore the underwater world with a mask and snorkel. The small waves at Brennecke`s Beach are good for beginning body boarders and body surfers, and there is a surfing area for those experienced surfers as well. Frequent visitors to this beach are the beloved Hawaiian Monk seals who come here to rest in the sun. The beach park has restrooms, showers, picnic tables and pavilions as well as a large lawn area with shade trees. It is also one of the very few beaches on the island with lifeguards.

The Kahala condominiums are graced by a beautiful walkway called the greenbelt which provides you with walking paths throughout the Poipu Kai area, a 70-acre resort consisting of several unique condo developments (including Kahala), a residential area with homes, a large tennis facility (Poipu Kai Racquet Club), 2 pools, a smaller Kahala pool located between building 7 & 8, and the larger Poipu Kai pool, that includes a hot tub, located next to the tennis courts, and garden paths connecting to the Hyatt Regency and Shipwrecks beach at one end and Poipu Beach park at the other end.

Kahala is less than a mile from the Poipu Shopping Center, home to restaurants, including Roy`s and Keoki`s, Starbuck`s and numerous stores. You can walk to Kalapaki Joe`s, which is located near the tennis courts, and open for breakfast, lunch, and dinner. You can also walk to Brenneke's restaurant, about a 5-6 minute via the Poipu Kai pathway. Several other restaurants are only minutes away from Kahala for dining convenience. All condos have full kitchens and Lanais for dining enjoyment. After a day of activity, Kahala is a fabulous spot to watch the beautiful sunsets.

More Details

Tom & Linda Stevenson
Member since: 2014
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
March 17, 2018


Poipu Condo Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • condo
  • floor 1
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 920 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 4
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only ...
Location Type:
  • Resort ...
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine
  • Free Wifi
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower , Double sinks. Handheld shower.
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 4
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king , 1 queen , We have a Queen Aero Bed for sleeping 2 extra people
  • King bed in bedroom. We have Queen Areo bed (very comfortable) and 2 foam sleep pads (suitable for children).
  • Books
  • DVD Player ...
  • Games ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo ...
  • Television ...
  • Video Games ...
  • Video Library
  • Deck / Patio
  • Golf ...
  • Lanai / Gazebo
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Tennis ...
  • wheelchair accessible ...
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool
  • Heated Pool
  • Hot Tub
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • health/beauty spa
  • playground
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • luaus
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • parasailing
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • wind-surfing


Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(42 traveler reviews)

76% Complete
23% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Peaceful, Ground Floor, Garden View Condo
average rating of 4.7619047 based on 42 reviews

Wow! Impressive and wonderously comfortable.

  • 5 of 5

I just don't know where to begin, it was much more than we expected. We just came from a smaller place on Molokai and when we walked in we were taken aback by the size, coziness, and cleanliness of the place. The view of the grounds and gardens from the patio was impressive and beautiful, all our meals were eaten from the patio table which offered comfort. The grill just outside of the patio was a great place to make your meals, as well as in the kitchen that had all you needed to cook, as well as Tupperware containers to save your left overs for a later meal. The unit was quiet and comfortable with plenty of fans and windows to circulate air and keep the place cool. The beach was just a short walk away from the unit as well as a hiking trail along the ocean. Several bars and restaurants are also within walking distance. There were enough amenities in the closet to utilize such as beach chairs and coolers for a trip to the beach and binoculars to watch whales, dolphins, and turtles from the beach. The walks to the beach to watch sunsets was always an enjoyable stroll, meeting friendly people along the way. Having a unit on the first floor was also a bonus, not having to walk up and down stars all the time to get to a room. my wife and I just loved the unit. We would recommend it to friends as well as return for another visit. The bed was comfy and you had plenty of linens for showers, and beach towels. The double sink in the bathroom was an added bonus that my wife enjoyed when it came time to get ready to go out. All in all it was a wonderful stay and we would return without a problem. Thanks Tom and Linda for the stay.

  • Submitted: Feb 26, 2018
  • Stayed: February 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: All of the things that you liked about our condo are exactly the things that we love about our condo. We vacationed in Kauai for almost 30 years before we finally bought our "home away from home". We try to make sure that everything that you might need for a memorable stay will be available. We are happy that you had a great stay and welcome you back when you are ready to return.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
New Orleans

beautiful and convenient

  • 5 of 5

We loved out stay this property! There was everything at the condo we could have asked for, from cooking supplies to laundry detergent. We would love to come back!

  • Submitted: Feb 9, 2018
  • Stayed: February 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Happy that you enjoyed your stay. Please come back anytime.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Clean, roomy, peaceful, great location

  • 5 of 5

A lot of room for a one-bedroom condo. The back deck has privacy for enjoying breakfast with plenty of cover when there is the occasional shower. The bed is extremely comfortable and the laundry is a great benefit. The owners are a pleasure to work with. The location allows you to walk to the boogie board beach, Poipu beach, Brennikes restraunt and deli. Kalapaki Joe’s happy hour is just 200 yards away with 25 cent chicken wings and $5 mai tais. A great place to relax and enjoy Kauai.

  • Submitted: Feb 4, 2018
  • Stayed: January 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for the great review. The lanai is our favorite place to eat most of our meals while enjoying the lovely garden and the birds (and occasional gecko). After being closed for a couple years, it is great to have Kalapaki Joe's back. Very convenient for breakfast, sporting events, and going off your diet. Glad you had a great timed hope to have you back next year.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Great Stay in Paradise

  • 4 of 5

This unit is an excellent value, and we'd stay there again! Very spacious, clean, comfortable, and well equipped with kitchen items and beach-going necessities. The location is excellent too: an easy walk to to Brenneckes and Poipu with convenient access to main roads. Despite the convenience, the place always felt quiet and secluded—set back from some of the beach crowds. The bed is comfortable and the property grounds are nice.

Our only critique was that some of the kitchen appliances could use updating. The disposal started beeping loudly one night without warning and the dishwasher didn't always work great—though, it was nice to have a dishwasher at all.

Why bother staying in a hotel when you can have all the comforts of home in such a great location?

  • Submitted: Jan 7, 2018
  • Stayed: December 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Short walk to great beach

  • 4 of 5

Our stay in Poipu Kai 813 was very nice. The accommodations are certainly adequate. There is a little road noise out the back lanai but not bothersome. Also beware sprinklers come on in the night and get the lanai a little wet so don’t try to dry anything out there overnight. There are a bunch of nice books about Hawaii and Kauai including the Ultimate Kauai Guidebook which was very helpful. The short walk to the beach was very pleasant through the pretty landscaped resort. A woman offers yoga three days a week under a Plumeria tree across from Brennecke’s beach so you can listen to the waves which is nice. Might be a little far for some to carry a day’s worth of beach supplies so we often drove to the parking lot across from the beach. The snorkeling at Poipu Beach was spectacular and we saw turtles on the shore each day and monk seals on two days. There are also spinner dolphins that are fun to watch. Short drive to restaurants and shopping and activities. The pool was a little chilly for our taste and the nearest hot tub didn’t work.

  • Submitted: Dec 31, 2017
  • Stayed: December 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for your kind words. We are glad that you had a good time on the beautiful island of Kauai. Your are right about the sprinklers. Unfortunately, they are part of the Poipu Kai landscaping and, although I have asked them to be adjusted slightly, they always seem to get about the front third of the lanai during the early morning session. We always put things out to dry as close to the back wall of the lanai as possible or, if it just towels, we use the dryer. If you are just going to beach with your chair, towel, book and a drink or two, the beach chairs will hold most of this in the backpack on the chair. There should be ice packs in the freezer to keep your drinks cool. If you are going for the day, it is a good idea to pack the car for the short drive. left out of the parking lot and take the first left onto the street that will take you to Poipu Beach. Free parking is always in the right side lot. I don't believe the pool is heated because they rely on the Kauai sun to keep it warm. That doesn't always work unless the daytime temps are in the 80's I am going to follow up with this to see is that will change.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

What a beautiful, perfectly-located, comfortable place to stay!

  • 5 of 5

We had a wonderful stay, and would gladly stay here again. The condo is comfortable, breezy, and well-equipped. Anything you need for the beach is right in the closet, the kitchen is well-stocked with cooking supplies, there's even an assortment of good DVDs to watch. The only thing I might change is to install real doors in the bedroom, as the folding doors don't allow for much privacy and tend to creak when then breeze blows through. Other than that, we loved it! The grounds are beautifully landscaped and so quiet. We used the pool closest to our room (there are several to choose from) and had it to ourselves most of the time. The pool water was warm and well-maintained. It was a short, scenic walk to both Brennecke's and Poipu Beaches, which are great for boogie boarding, swimming, and snorkeling. The staff at Aston were very friendly and helpful. Kalapaki Joe's Restaurant is a short walk from the condo, and they have delicious mahi mahi there. Overall, this condo is a great value and highly recommended.

  • Submitted: Aug 15, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for the kind words. We glad that you had a great time and that our condo met your needs. We try to stock it with everything that we would want if we were renting,, which we did for many years. We have tried several different configurations with the bi-fold doors on the bedroom. We recently had our property manager move the nightstands forward and closer to the bed to allow the doors to fully close and that seems to be better. Couple of the other units in our complex have installed a sliding, louvered door with the other door fixed however, it significantly restricts the airflow. it looks good but is not good for the air flow through the bedroom. We are just not sure of the best solution, without spending a lot of money to have them slide into the wall.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0


Wainiha Kountry Cafe
Maniniholo Dry Cave
Hanalei Bay
Makana Terrace-St Regis
Hawaiian Restaurant
Mailani Dinner Show at St. Regis Princeville
Dinner Theater
Kauai Grill at St. Regis Princeville
Eclectic Restaurant
Nalu Kai
Bar & Grill
Hanalei Pier
Hideaway Beach
Pat's Taqueria
Mexican Restaurant
Kealia Poke
Seafood Restaurant
Village Snack Shop & Bakery
Breakfast Restaurant
Breakfast Restaurant
Hanalei Bay Pizzeria
Pizza Restaurant
Bouchons Hanalei
Pacific Rim Restaurant
Chicken In A Barrel
Barbecue Restaurant
Bar Acuda
Tapas Restaurant
Federico's Fresh Mex Cuisine
Mexican Restaurant
Hanalei Bread Company
Federico's Mexican Restaurant
Mexican Restaurant
Kalypso Restaurant
Hawaiian Restaurant
The Hanalei Gourmet
Pink's Creamery
Ice Cream Shop
Hanalei Wake Up Cafe
American Restaurant
Kauai Burger Hanalei
Hamburger Restaurant
Cafe Turmeric
Indian Restaurant
Trucking Delicious
Hideaways Pizza Pub
Pizza Restaurant
Tropical Taco
Mexican Restaurant
Wishing Well Shave Ice
Dessert Shop
Postcards Cafe
The Dolphin Restaurant
Seafood Restaurant
Hanakapi'ai Falls
Makai Golf Club
Hanalei Valley Lookout
Kauai's Best Shave Ice
Lappert's Hawaii
Ice Cream Shop
North Shore General Store
Pizza Restaurant
Federico's Fresh-Mex Cuisine
Mexican Restaurant
Lotus Garden Chinese & Thai Cuisine
Thai Restaurant
Lei Petite Cafe & Bakery
Italian Restaurant
Sandwich Isle Deli
Sandwich Shop
Nanea Restaurant and Bar
Fusion Restaurant
Anini Beach
Pu’u O Kila Lookout
Namahana Cafe
Trilogy Coffee & Tea Bar
Coffee Shop
Kilauea Fish Market
Seafood Restaurant
Nearest Golf
1 Miles
Car: recommended


Rates & Availability

Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $120 + Tax
Property Damage Protection $59
Tax Rate 13.42%

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.