Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Great Location! Sleeps 10 Walk to Metro! Free Parking & WiFi Close to Shopping!

Sleeps10
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Space 2,000 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Overview

About the property

Lovely 3br, 2ba, sleeps 10. Nearby METRO. Close to everything DC has to offer

This lovely home located in DC's Petworth neighborhood is JUST MINUTES AWAY from the most POPULAR SITES & DESTINATIONS in Washington DC, MD and VA. LESS than a 10 MINUTE WALK to the METRO-RAIL (Fort Totten Station-Red,Yellow & Green Lines) This home offers FREE OFF STREET PARKING for two cars. You will enjoy EASY & CONVENIENT ACCESS to the ENTIRE CITY. On the Green Line, you are only MINUTES AWAY from the SMITHSONIAN MUSEUMS, THE CAPITOL, MONUMENTS, HISTORIC U STREET, DOWNTOWN and MUCH, MUCH MORE! The Yellow Line will take you directly into Arlington, VA where you can visit ARLINGTON CEMETERY, shop at PENTAGON CITY MALL and enjoy the many restaurants, bars and activities this area is so well known for. Take the Red Line directly to the NATIONAL ZOO, UNION STATION and downtown Silver Spring, MD. You will soon agree that this vacation home is IDEALLY LOCATED and offers direct and convenient access to just about everywhere you want to go - WITHOUT HAVING TO TRANSFER TRAINS, find parking, etc.

THE GALLATIN is a 2-level, tudor-style row home that comfortably sleeps up to (10) guests. The master bedroom contains a queen size bed with PRIVATE BATH, dresser w/mirror, 2 closets, & TV. Bedroom (2) contains a queen size bed, 1 closet, dresser w/mirror & TV. Bedroom (3) contains a queen size bed, 1 closet, dresser & TV. The living room is outfitted with 1 QUEEN size sofa-bed, love seat and flat screen TV. The property features a kitchen fully-equipped with cookware, dishes and brand new, high quality appliance - washer/dryer, dishwasher, microwave, coffee maker, etc. FREE SATELLITE/CABLE and HIGH SPEED internet access is also provided with WI-FI to surf the web anywhere in the house.

More Details

Owner
Sherman King
Member since: 2014
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
September 18, 2017

Amenities

Petworth House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Housekeeping:
  • Housekeeper Optional
Floor Area:
  • 2000 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 3:00 PM / Check-out: 10:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 10
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only ...
Location Type:
  • Downtown
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Room
  • seating for 10 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 3 - 1 queen
  • 1 QUEEN SIZE sofa bed is in the living room. Also, Air mattress is available upon request
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Tennis ...
Attractions:
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • horseshoes
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • kayaking
  • roller blading
  • tennis
Notes:
We offer FREE PARKING in the back yard for two cars.

Reviews

Excellent! 4.6/5 -
(36 traveler reviews)

69% Complete
22% Complete
8% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Great Location! Sleeps 10 Walk to Metro! Free Parking & WiFi Close to Shopping!
average rating of 4.611111 based on 36 reviews
5

Very nice and convenient.

  • 5 of 5

While we were a little apprehensive about the location, this older D.C. neighborhood was quiet and friendly. The Metro line being only a 10 minute walk made our sightseeing jaunts very convenient. We were also able to walk to an unusual Walmart in about 15 minutes. The weather was horrible and I was impressed when the property manager came by to shovel the snow from the steps. The house itself is clean, updated and roomy for our family group of 3 teens and 4 adults.

  • Submitted: Mar 18, 2017
  • Stayed: Mar 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for choosing The Gallatin Suites as your home away from home. It was our pleasure hosting you!
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
4

Pleasantly Pleased

  • 4 of 5

We were very impressed with how spot-on the descriptions and reviews of the property were. This was our first time using HOME AWAY so needless to say we were a bit skeptical, however, our skepticism soon dissipated once we arrived. The home is very spacious and had no problem accommodating my family of five as well as my mother-in-law. The close proximity to the metro was a bonus as we could walk there in about 10 min and did not have to worry about driving or parking. The home contained everything we needed as stated including extra towels, linens, paper towel, trash bags, and toilet paper. There was laundry detergent & bleach, liquid hand soap, dish soap, hand & dishwasher type along with cleaning supplies. Typically, from what I have seen, if these items are provided they are very small bottles of each and would not last a week so that too was a bonus.

On the coffee table, there was a book which listed things to do around the area, important phone numbers, a bunch of brochures, metro information, a list of grocery stores and shopping stores based on what was needed or desired. There was a charcoal grill there, however, it is not in the best shape but did work for us and we cooked on it a few times. The neighbors were very pleasant and we felt as safe here as we would back home, we even walked to the local store after dark.

We had a great experience and would definitely stay there again.

  • Submitted: Aug 17, 2017
  • Stayed: Aug 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Beautiful home that had everything we could ever need!

  • 5 of 5

The house was lovely and close to the metro. The property manager was flexible with out checking in/out times which really helped since several of us were arriving at different times. I can't wait to come back!

  • Submitted: Aug 5, 2017
  • Stayed: Jul 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

Nice and clean and comfy beds

  • 3 of 5

Home was well set up to host my family for the couple of days we were in DC for a wedding. Beds are all queen size and comfortable and everything was clean and nice which made it easy. The area of DC was fine but a bit out of the nestled in town area.

  • Submitted: Jul 27, 2017
  • Stayed: Jul 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great place for our large family

  • 5 of 5

We stayed here in early June and the weather in DC was pretty hot. This place had air conditioning units throughout the house which made it quite comfortable. The kitchen was great. We had no problems using the WiFi when we needed to get online. I felt that it was terrific that we could just leave our car parked during our three-day stay, and take a 10 minute walk to the Metro. Green, Red, and Yellow connect with Fort Totten, giving us lots of options. There were two showers, though one of the showers was connected to a bedroom. We made this workout for us, it wasn't a problem. The neighborhood was safe and quiet. We loved this place and will use it again when we visit DC!

  • Submitted: Jun 24, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Property was clean and a great location

  • 5 of 5

Our experience was great, it's a perfect location and made for a great trip. No complaints!

  • Submitted: Jun 24, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Lincoln Memorial
Washington Monument
White House
Smithsonian National Museum of Natural History
Nearest Airport
10 Miles
Ronald Reagan airport
Nearest Barpub
1 Miles
Georgia Ave, U Street NW, 14th Street NW
Nearest Train
1 Miles
Fort Totten
Nearest Motorway
5 Miles
495
Nearest Restaurant
1 Miles
Georgia Ave, U Street NW, 14th Street NW
Car: not necessary

This vacation rental is ideally located in NW Washington DC and only minutes from some of the city's trendiest corridors (U Street, 14th Street, Connecticut Ave, Wisconsin Ave, Georgia Ave) - all featuring a wide selection of restaurants, bars, and shopping opportunities among national & local retail outlets. It's also just a short drive or bike ride to Rock Creek Park where you can enjoy hiking trails, horseback riding, tennis, and an outdoor amp theater (the Carter Barron) that hosts some of the biggest names in music during the summer months. The national mall and park are within minutes of this location by car or by metro. The park features golfing, kayaking and a host of other outdoor activities.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $150
Damage Insurance $59

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • Canceled bookings will not receive a refund