Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call VRBO Booking Assistance: 888-829-7076
Book Online or call VRBO Booking Assistance: 888-829-7076

I Booked The Cottage For 2 Days And Stayed 2 Weeks

Sleeps2
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Space 300 sq. ft.
Property type cabin

Overview

About the property

Rustic Cottage With A Flair For Comfort And Convenience

Love the cottage, peace, oh my gosh! Where do i start?

These are recent comments about this little jewel of a cabin. It just looks old outside but just wait and see the inside! It's all new. Warm, rustic, natural wood with the scenic Nantahala mountains surrounding the area, old-time farms of cattle and corn fields greet the traveler with scenes of yesteryear.

Deer cross the immediate area and show their white tails waving in the wind. Wild turkeys are are a common sight.

The property is mostly on level terrain and has easy access to the main road. Accessible in winter snow season or summer sunshine. Colorful flora decorate the landscape in all seasons. There are three large lakes for fishing and water sports within reasonable

Distances. Trout streams and the little Tennessee river beacon the angler to try his or her expertise to outsmart these mountain trout and bass.

This is a beautiful year-round retreat and invites you to

Enjoy life to the fullest.

Many waterfalls, gem mining, bicycling (designated on the road in front of our property). Canoeing, rafting and tubing are just a few minutes away.

Numerous antique auctions and displays are here for your enjoyment.

We would love to have you as our guest soon.

More Details

Owner
Gene or Diane
Member since: 2007
Speaks: english, french
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
August 20, 2017

About Gene or Diane

We enjoy the beautiful mountains and valleys.

The local people are beautiful and friendly.

Our retirement from the professions of pharmacy and optician blends well in this beautiful setting.

Gene or Diane purchased this cabin in 2006

Why Gene or Diane chose Smoky Mountains

The Iotla Valley (Peaceful Valley in the Cherokee language} is nestled in the heart of the original Cherokee Indian homeland, in the Blue Ridge, Smoky Mountain geographical area. Many Indian mounds and traces of the original inhabitants of this area are still very visible.

This cottage, along with two other desirable dwellings is situated in the Western part of this beautiful valley only 5.8 miles Northwest of the award winning small city of Franklin.

The approach is beautiful with rolling hills surrounded by scenic beauty.

A small creek runs through it.

Come and enjoy this beautiful paradise with us and get relaxed from your everyday live of stress and confusion.

What makes this cabin unique

Clean air, delicious pure water and bright starry nights.

We welcome your pets to this cottage.

There is an extra charge of $15.00/day/pet. Please note this on your reservation application for accurate posting and approval.

Amenities

Franklin Cabin Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cabin
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 300 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 2:00 PM / Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 2
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • pets considered ...
  • non smoking only ...
Location Type:
  • Mountain View
  • Rural
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower
  • Shower, no tub
Bedrooms:
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 2
  • Full size bed, storage, side table with lamp,
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television ...
Outside:
  • Bicycles
  • Boat ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Ski & Snowboard ...
  • Tennis ...
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • arboretum
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • miniature golf
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • golf privileges optional
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • sailing
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • whitewater rafting
Notes:
This is a quaint rustic cabin. Up to date on the inside, rustic on the outside

Reviews

Excellent! 4.7/5 -
(39 traveler reviews)

82% Complete
10% Complete
7% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
I Booked The Cottage For 2 Days And Stayed 2 Weeks
average rating of 4.74359 based on 39 reviews
5

Will definitely return -- beautiful grounds and cozy interior

  • 5 of 5

Absolutely beautiful setting. Very peaceful location. Met Gene when we arrived and enjoyed our conversation. Loved having a little living room - kitchen area, even without a stove. Very pretty decor with country theme. Wouldn't have minded some chickens in the little chicken coop. LOL!

  • Submitted: Jul 31, 2017
  • Stayed: Jul 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Wish we could've stayed longer!!

  • 5 of 5

This little cottage is so cozy!! The old country decor, the outdoor charm, the cows next door, the peace & quiet...it was all exactly what we needed.

  • Submitted: Jul 29, 2017
  • Stayed: Jul 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Country Escape

  • 5 of 5

Exactly as described, we spent four nights in this quiet and peaceful location. This is a perfect spot to escape the noise and disruption of an interstate/downtown motel. Beautiful location with awesome scenery. Our hosts Gene and Diane were delightful hosts and provided useful information. Feathered Nest is close to the coziest place we have ever stayed and, ....we shall return.

  • Submitted: Jul 22, 2017
  • Stayed: Jul 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Kinston NC
5

Fantastic!!

  • 5 of 5

This place was amazing. Loved that the owner greeted us and ensured we had everything we needed. The only problem was we had to leave too soon. I can't wait until next time!

  • Submitted: Jul 13, 2017
  • Stayed: Jul 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Great cabin in the NC mountains

  • 4 of 5

Cute little cabin in the mountains on a beautiful property.

  • Submitted: Jul 9, 2017
  • Stayed: Jul 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

My dog enjoyed it

  • 3 of 5

I should've asked the owners questions before booking. The cabin is very small and really only good for couples who go into town to eat. There was no stove which was a surprise and disappointment but had a hot plate. Instead of having the huge antique sink I would suggest installing a small stove. The satellite tv when it was working had only 5-8 channels available so you need to bring a book or plan for activities to entertain yourself. Two rolls of toilliet paper is not enough. The shower is very very small. I get the idea of the cabin. The owners spent a lot of thought on the look of the cabin. The best thing about my experience was the scenery and landscaping. In the future I will book something that's more my style.

  • Submitted: Jul 5, 2017
  • Stayed: Jul 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear future guests, We recommend reading the entire amenities page before booking to avoid dissapointments, We do not have a cook stove, however, we do provide a crock pot, a toaster, a nu-wave hot plate and a nu-wave oven. You may want to google the nu-wave oven to see what it is. Please note we only provide initial toilet tissue. We do not provide any groceries or toiletries. Should you desire a larger shower and a full size kitchen, please check out our other two cabins, the 'Lil Rustic and the Blue Spruce. Respectfully, Gene and Diane
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Map

Nearest Airport
70 Miles
Asheville, NC
Nearest Golf
5 Miles
Various facilities
Nearest Train
80 Miles
Greeneville, SC
Nearest Motorway
3 Miles
Hwy 28, 441, 64
Nearest Restaurant
6 Miles
Cafe Ral
Nearest Ski
55 Miles
Maggie Valley
Nearest Beach
30 Miles
Lake Chatuge, near Hayesville, NC
Car: necessary

There is a pet charge of $15.00/day/pet.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Franklin Cabin Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
My Standard Rate
1 night minimum stay
$89
$623
$2,133
 

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $50

Please call us in advance to discuss the option. Dogs, $15.00/day for each dog.
No cats
Extra person ,more than 2 guests, add $15.00/day. We will furnish extra linens for extra guests who may
sleep on the sofa or bring your own sleeping bags or air mattress.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Contact Owner
Available
Unavailable