ENJOY THIS BEAUTIFULLY DECORATED PRIVATE ESTATE 2 MILES FROM SHORE!
Please consider the following guidelines when booking this property:
100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date. 50% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Exceptional estate perfectly located.
We came out over Easter holiday and enjoyed all the amenities included in this gorgeous home. It was everything we excepted and much more! Highly recommend staying here.
Great place, great little vacation village
I stayed this past September at this glorious place along the coast of Connecticut. It was a great experience in all ways. Gracious living, lots of room, quiet, but close to all the action of the Stonington and the coast. Can't wait to return next year.
Stunning Home-Beautiful Grounds-Great Location!
Beautiful details abound in this grand but very family friendly estate. 5 minutes from historic Mystic Seaport where you can spend the day watching boats go by, boutique shopping, a stop at the famous Mystic Aquarium and Mystic Pizza.
There is so much to do within 3 miles of this property....Stonignton Winery, waterfront Stonington borough with quaint restaurants and charming boutiques, amazing beaches just 8 miles north in Westerly, RI.
After all that sightseeing, you will be very happy just relaxing at this property with all the amenities of a five star resort. It's hard to leave the house, but it's the perfect blend of seeing the sites near by and really enjoying this home with all it has to offer.
Our family has rented through VRBO for the past 7 summers and have never been this unhappy. Before signing the contract, I double checked that the pool was heated and asked twice about TV locations in the house. We usually relax by the pool during the day and barbeque and watch TV in the evening. I was assured pool was heated and there was a TV in the living room and master bedroom.
When I arrived, house (inside & out) and grounds looked lovely. Then I discovered that the kitchen counters and toilets needed scrubbing before they could be used. Not a good start, disappointing, but not a deal breaker.
When I realized pool was not heated and TVs did not work, I got worried! This started emails (owner is in California) and calls to the local broker who was in touch with the owner. The owner responded that he was 'surprised' the pool heater was not working, but I see now from the July 2014 renter review before us, the heater was not working at all, well before we got there. We arrived on Thursday, and every day we were assured that the pool man or the pool heater technician would be showing up the next day. Every day we would get the same promise, no one would show up and our week was slipping away without being able to use the pool. We had to figure out other ways to occupy the kids. The VRBO description has now been changed to 'pool not heated'.
When asked about the TVs, the response was that the VRBO ad is very clear the TVs don't work and only the DVD player is available for use. When I responded by copying the exact wording from the VRBO description which clearly states there are 2 TVs in the house with no mention that they don't work, the VRBO description was changed. Too late for me though!
Although we had rented the house for the week and were due to leave on Thursday, we opted to leave early Tuesday, and checked into several rooms at a hotel with a heated pool.
With full disclosure, I did get a partial refund, not the 50% I requested, which I thought fair considering the main reasons I rented the house were the pool and TVs and both were not usable. I agreed to it because I wanted to put this ruined vacation week behind me.
Being an experienced VRBO renter, I believed that you have to know the right questions to ask before signing the contract. I now see that this works only if you are dealing with a renter who will be honest with you in his responses.
I would not recommend this property.
We are deeply disappointed with this VRBO guests "ruined vacation week". As a VRBO member, we strive to give all of our guests a memorable vacation experience at our part-time vacation home. We made every effort to satisfy this guests requests & noted problem areas. This VRBO rental is a large estate with many moving parts, including the pool & all of its related equipment. We are not pool experts, so we hired a 3rd party pool experts to keep the pool operating.
Our VRBO ad made no mention of a heated pool or spa, we specifically included this information in our ad & we thought all VRBO guests would indeed READ the ad. In addition, our ad clearly stated there are 2 large (new) TV's for DVD playing/movies or internet movies only, but clearly stated there is no cable or satellite service.
To simplify this situation, we have:
a) Given more than reasonable credit to this unhappy guest (33%).
b) Amended our VRBO ad to point everything out more clearly.
c) Our pool expert will make any needed repairs/updates now that swim season has ended, which would have necessitated a pool closure in mid-summer if performed when problems were discovered.
d) Installed additional TV equipment to allow guests to view local TV channels if TV viewing is desired.
e) Amended our VRBO lease/booking requirements to allow only those guests who have inspected personally or through a trusted representative prior to their stay. This is to insure 100% guest satisfaction & to insure that we do not waste our time/energy & precious summer rentals on guests who either do not really want to stay at our home, or are prone to complain no matter what level of accommodations & amenities are provided to them.
f) Regarding cleanliness of our home, this is our personal vacation home & VRBO guest home; our cleaning crew is very competent & has provided years of great cleaning services. If some areas weren't cleaned properly, this is an area we'll properly inspect & implement any needed adjustments in the future.
It's regrettable this guest had a less than stellar vacation at our home & be assured every effort will be made in the future to correct any deficiencies.
Just as everyone strives for full disclosure/honesty, we suggest renters get references from other prior renters to guard against unscrupulous guests who may try to take advantage/complain just to renegotiate the lease after the fact.
For a stunning, comfortable estate vacation, don't dismiss based on 1 persons opinion.
Not as advertised
We as a family rented this house as a 5 bedroom house which is what was shown on the website at the time. The good news for potential renters is that website was since updated to reflect the reality (ie Bedroom 5 (small alcove): 2 twin/single 2 twin (trundle) beds & 1 skylight; for small kids only). What we discovered on arrival was that bedroom 5 is a walk in closet and not a bedroom.
The pool area is very private and a beautiful setting, the only issue is that a person lives in an annex/room next to the garage and you are within 10 to 15 feet of her bedroom where she can see you in the pool and likewise you can see into her bedroom. When we rented the house the website talked about a caretaker on site and that has since been removed.
The pool is another issue, it leaks badly and requires water to be turned on 4-5 hours a day to maintain the correct level. Unfortunately as there is no heater in the pool the cold well water does not make the pool very comfortable for swimming.
The final straw for us was the TV, while there is a satellite dish and two TVs, there is no service. We were told that it was up to the renters to arrange TV Service for the time of their stay.
While the location and site of the property are fantastic, the issues that we have outlined makes it poor value for money and hence we give it a fair rating and would not recommend this property.
In the future, Glenmor house will require all prospective VRBO guests to pre-inspect the property either personally or by a designated representative. This particular family from the UK stated they had 2 parents and 5 children in their party, all of whom were accommodated. On the first night of this families stay, they complained that their overnight guests (another family we presume, who slept over contrary to the provisions of the written guest lease, which they signed and our VRBO guest website) necessitated that 3 of their 5 children were "forced" to sleep on the floor. This untoward situation is a mystery to us due to the fact that there are at minimum, comfortable sleeping accommodations for at least 12 persons at Glenmor, plus an extra queen air mattress bed for emergencies.
Glenmor House will continue to make every possible & reasonable effort to give our VRBO guests a fun, relaxing & peaceful stay at our home.
I had a business week that I needed accommodations for 8 men to stay over and connect on the east coast. Glenmor House in CT worked out perfectly for our May, 2014 conference.
We flew into TS Green airport in Providence, RI (also Bradley Int'l airport in Hartford and JFK in New York), and it was only a 35 minute drive on I-95 south to the Mystic, CT exit. All my associates agreed that it was very cost effective, and we got to eat healthy and inexpensively, and, more importantly, we stayed connected and on point for 7 full days and evenings. It was well worth the cost of admission.
This Magnificent 6000 sq. ft Classic Federal Colonial Mansion/Private Estate is located in Mystic/Stonington, CT.
It is has its own nature preserve of 17.5 fully wooded acres with 1/4 mile entry drive just a short distance from the classic New England shoreline off the historic Pequot Trail. Close to Olde Mystick Village (3 miles), shops, theatres, dining, entertainment & the seashore. Close to Mystic Aquarium, Mystic Seaport, Mystic Pizza (Where the Julia Roberts movie was filmed). Just 1 mile from Stonington Vineyards, and close to the charming shops, restaurants & nightlife of Stonington Borough and Mystic Village. Stonington is located on the southern corner of CT, on the Long Island Sound at the Rhode Island border & the beautiful sandy beach communities of Watch Hill, Westerly, Masquamcut & Newport, RI.
This home has been used exclusively as a retreat by one private family. Its 5 bedrooms & many large open common living areas are classically & tastefully furnished with antiques and Duncan Phyfe style furniture in rich leather & deep wood finishes.
Come explore & enjoy this beautiful architect designed estate with its wonderful open, light filled rooms, high ceilings, 5 huge fireplaces, terraces and backyard barbecuing decks. Enjoy quiet moments on its 17.5 acres, walking paths. This is an estate that will be enjoyed by the entire family for all seasons.
This estate is just minutes from shopping, beaches, sailing, golf, wineries, & historic sites all along the CT & RI shoreline. Enjoy world class entertainment at nearby Foxwoods & Mohegan Sun & MGM Grand Casino.
Mystic/Stonington is located approximately 2.5 hours from New York City, 1 hour from Newport & Providence Rhode Island, 2 hours from Boston, 15 minutes to the white sandy beaches of Watch Hill, RI & 5-10 minutes from Du Bois Beach in Historic Stonington Borough, CT. The Eugene O'Neill playwrights Theatre is nearby as well.
Old Stonington Borough (7 miles) is elegant, charming and contains many former sea captains homes built & dated in the mid to late 1600's, plus shops, restaurants, a farmers market, a lighthouse, beach & all surrounded by water.
This property is private & serene, yet close to everything including nature activities, golfing, sailing, kayaking, canoeing, fishing, nearby sandy beaches, hiking & Biking trails, horseback riding, boating, tennis courts & scenic country road drives.