Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

A lovely one bedroom in the village!

Sleeps2
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Property type apartment
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Overview

About the property

Charming One Bedroom Suite With Kitchen, Bath, Sitting Room And Private Entrance

The Stone Victorian is located in the lovely village of Hammondsport, NY. Recently voted The Coolest Small Town in America by Budget travel magazine.

Looking for a quiet romantic get-away? This is your spot! The Garden Suite is an English basement style apartment and has a King size bedroom a sitting room, eat-in kitchen with breakfast bar, full bath and charm in spades. The Suite walks out onto a lovely patio at the back of the house. So pretty and so special, make your reservation today! Sleeps 2.

NOTE: The Stone Victorian has two beautiful rental suites* available to you please check our listing for the two bedroom Rose Suite #429440. We have Garden Suite reviews on that site - so check them out! Rental of both properties is common for large family get aways and weddings. Inquire today!

*Each has private entrance, a well-appointed kitchen, full bath, and air-conditioning, free WI-FI and cable TV. All linens included. The house is steps away from the lake and village, which provides restaurants, shops and entertainment. The owners live at the property so any needs that may arise will be swiftly taken care of!

If you have any questions, please feel free to let us know. The Finger Lakes, Hammondsport, and the Stone Victorian are truly special. We can't wait for you to come and visit.

Two night minimum. Check in at 3:00 PM, check out at 10:00 AM. To confirm reservation a deposit of half of the total rental required. IMPORTANT NOTE: A $100 CASH DAMAGE DEPOSIT IS DUE AT THE TIME OF CHECK-IN AND WILL BE RETURNED AT CHECK-OUT. Payment on-line is available and preferred.

More Details

Property Manager
Susan DeSeyn-Lodise
Member since: 2012
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few days
Response rate:
70%
Calendar last updated:
October 17, 2017

About Susan DeSeyn-Lodise

The house is a two and a half story stone Victorian built in 1882 located a few houses from Keuka Lake and a block from the center of the village. The house was built by stone masons brought from Italy to help construct the Pleasant Valley champagne cellars in 1882. During the early years; workers from Curtiss Aircraft building the WW1 Jenny engine roomed there. The plant operated 24/7 and the workers worked 8 on and 8 off. So the beds were rented out for 8 hours at a time. Outside of the house looks pretty much the same as when it was built.

The property is owned by Bob and Millie DeSeyn. Bob is a retired engineer and surveyor and Millie is a retired teacher. Their children are grown with families of their own giving them 7 grandchildren to spoil. After retiring from a local utility Millie and Bob worked in Kuwait for five years, Bob as a defense contractor and Millie as a teacher. Bob is active in the local community serving two years as the village mayor.

Susan DeSeyn-Lodise purchased this apartment in 1999

Why Susan DeSeyn-Lodise chose Hammondsport

Hammondsport has wonderful restaurants, shops, wineries, golfing, the Glenn Curtiss history, horses, and hiking. Add to it this house --- once you have seen it you will no why we chose this as the place to be. Stone houses are special. The quality of the interior is outstanding -- I feel we do not own this house, we are just taking care of it until the next owner gets here!

What makes this apartment unique

We first came to Keuka Lake in the late 70's as cottage owners. We enjoyed living on the lake but think the village has all it's benefits plus the life and amenities of a small village. We walk to the post office, grocery store, pharmacy, restaurants, dentist, church, and village square for entertainment. It's a great place to live and a near perfect place to visit.

Amenities

Hammondsport Apartment Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • apartment
  • floor 1
Building Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 2
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Towels Provided
  • Free Wifi
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 2 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
Bedrooms:
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 2
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
Outside:
  • Outdoor Grill
Suitability:
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • churches
  • library
  • marina
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • paddle boating
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • laundromat
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • sailing
  • swimming
  • water tubing

Reviews

Excellent! 4.3/5 -
(16 traveler reviews)

75% Complete
6% Complete
6% Complete
0% Complete
12% Complete
A lovely one bedroom in the village!
average rating of 4.3125 based on 16 reviews
5

Great property in Hammondsport

  • 5 of 5

Great property

  • Submitted: Oct 10, 2017
  • Stayed: October 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

House is beautiful and very well kept.

  • 5 of 5

When arriving to house, Bob was very accommodating and gave us the history of the old Victorian. He even greeted us with a nice bottle of wine. The stay was perfect. I would recommend this to anyone.

  • Submitted: Jul 13, 2017
  • Stayed: June 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great Location!

  • 5 of 5

We loved the apt. We walked into town to eat dinner and then walked to the public swimming dock to take a dip every night. Great little kitchen to eat breakfast every morning before heading out on our adventures! Lovely people.

  • Submitted: Jul 25, 2016
  • Stayed: July 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Perfect Vacation Spot

  • 5 of 5

The Stone Victorian is a lovely place to vacation! The apartment was clean and spacious, Bob is very friendly, and there is plenty to do in and around the town.

  • Submitted: Jul 20, 2016
  • Stayed: July 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Had a wonderful time!

  • 5 of 5

We had a wonderful time there! Bob and Millie were very nice, and we liked the apartment a great deal!

  • Submitted: Jun 13, 2016
  • Stayed: June 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
1

dirty and poor customer service

  • 1 of 5

My boyfriend and I got to the stone house at 11:30 Friday evening. The place was dirty from the fridge to the bed and we could not stay there that evening. We were not refunded are money and we had to find somewhere else for the weekend. We emailed our issues with pictures to the daughter of the owners and she called my boyfriend the issue and said he was beligerant for saying the place was dirty. I believe at one time the couple probably had a great place but now the daughters have taken over and clearly do not know how to clean or talk to customers. I strongly suggest staying elsewhere. We found 2 very nice places for the rest of our.

  • Submitted: May 4, 2016
  • Stayed: April 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: First, you are leaving a review for a Suite you did not even stay in. You were given a free upgrade to the Rose Suite as you told us in advance that you had a special weekend planned. The Stone Victorian has been in business since 2012 (under the same management from the beginning) and have hosted nearly 300 guests and not one of them has ever remarked that our Suites are dirty and that is because they are not. We use a professional linen service and take great care to provide our guests with exceptional care and comfort. You arrived 4 hours after you were expected and did not inform us of your lateness. You also ignored the emails sent by VRBO prior to checking in to pay your bill. Nor did you bother to pay your security deposit. And when you did arrive you sent, yes, rude and belligerent, text messages well into the night. And while we do care very much what are guests think and do take great care for their comfort we will not take abuse from them. In fact, we have never had an issue like this until now. Frankly, it seems that you had other plans well before you arrived.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Car: recommended

The proximity to both lake and the village makes this a very special vacation rental. Activities available include boating, jet skiing, wine tasting and family fishing!

NOTE: Youngsters under the age of 16 do not need a license. Licenses are issued right here at the Town offices.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Manager's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.

You might like these similar properties