check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit

Vacation by the Seaside

Sleeps9
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 5 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the VRBO checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview


Details
Property
house
Sleeps
9
Bedrooms
3
Bathrooms
2
Minimum Stay
2 - 5 nights

About the property

House, 3 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 2 Baths, (Sleeps 7-9)

Great family home within walking distance to Seacliff Beach. Seacliff beach is the home of the Cement ship The Palo Alto. This beach is great for walking, playing in the surf, sunning and watching wild life. Home is all on one level and handicap accessible.

Very large living room with wood burning fireplace. There is a dining room plus there is eating area in large well equipped kitchen. The kitchen will be remolded by summer 2006. Home is built around an inner court yard where there is an outdoor eating area and gas barbecue.

Parking pass for the state beaches and parks provided. Two bedrooms have a queen size beds and one bedroom has three single beds. In the second living room there is a futon couch/bed. There are two hidabeds in the living room. There is also a second small kitchen area.

This smoke-free home is great for a family

Home is close to Capitola village and six miles from Santa Cruz. Santa Cruz has an old fashioned boardwalk with a world famous wooden roller coaster. Also in the area are several wineries. Carmel, Monterey, and Pebble Beach are just an hour away.

San Francisco approximately two hours away. Great hiking areas close by.

Keywords: House

More Details

Owner
Richard and Kathleen Harrison
Member since: 2005
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few days
Response rate:
80%
Calendar last updated:
January 15, 2017

Guestbook comments from the owner

Ashley and his friends state they enjoyed their stay and found the home comfortable. Also enjoyed the lighthouse motif.
Feb 2005
  • 1 of 1

Reviews

Excellent! 4.6/5 -
(8 traveler reviews)

Vacation by the Seaside
average rating of 4.625 based on 9 reviews
Fresno, CA
5

Christmas at the Beach

  • 5 of 5

We had a great family get-together at the beach for Christmas. We appreciated the seasonal decorations at the house. Even though it was cold outside we were snug inside with the wood burning stove. Loved the huge kitchen kitchen to prepare Christmas dinner and the nice big table to sit down to dinner. The separate apartment was great for those few who wanted to watch sports or get off by themselves. We spent a lot of time in town at "The Med," as we called it, playing pool, darts and Jenga and ate at the local restaurants. Everyone we met was very welcoming and friendly. We appreciated the pass to park at the state beach and enjoyed long walks along the shore. Hope to pass this way again in the summer.

  • Submitted: Jan 6, 2017
  • Stayed: Dec 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
San Jose CA
3

Plenty of Room For Everyone

  • 3 of 5

We wanted a place at the last minute that would be comfortable for our extended family, would allow a dog, and didnt cost a bundle. This place fit the bill. There is lots of room and wonderful big table for all to sit at. The kitchen is very nice for meal prep. It's a relatively easy 10 minute walk to the beach with a nice staircase down to the beach about 2 blocks away.

The disappointment - this place does not live up to its multi 5 star rating. It seems many 5 stars come from family and friends who have wonderful memories staying at this place. There is nothing wrong with those sweet memories. The reviews are for the memories. There were ants and when we went to wipe them away, the wall was rather dirty. There were a lot of dust bunnies, wrappers and other things under the couch and chair. The curtains in one bedroom don't close very well. It seemed advantageous to not have a cleaning fee but it took 5 adults one hour to do all of the things expected.

  • Submitted: Dec 12, 2015
  • Stayed: Dec 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Renee, We do not understand if you had issues with our home that you did not let us know sooner. Why post this review a year later. We are sorry that our house was not up to standard but this was over a holiday season and our service did not get in the house to check to make sure all was in good order. We would appreciate it if you with drew this review. Thank you, Dick and Kay Harrison
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
Los Angeles
5

Wedding Weekend

  • 5 of 5

Myself and the group of bridesmaids and their others stayed here for an Aptos wedding, and we couldn't have asked for a better place! Plenty of room and beds for everyone, and a great location for getting around town. The hosts were very accommodating, even when we kept changing our dates of arrival and departure. My only negative is that I l wouldn't recommend this property for people visiting by plane, since you need to bring your own sheets and towels. But we loved it and will definitely be back!

  • Submitted: Jun 5, 2015
  • Stayed: May 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
4

Centrally located, comfortable home

  • 4 of 5

House is very roomy and great for a large party (and well equiped). The owners are a pleasure to work with. Very centrally located and it was a great plus to have the pass for the state parks (especially if you want to go further south to Big Sur - it was also wonderful to have it to park at the beach and to explore the state parks closer by).

  • Submitted: Aug 12, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Spacious house, great location, wonderful owners!

  • 5 of 5

I rented this house this last weekend to celebrate my 30th birthday with some some close friends and it was PERFECT. It's very spacious and very homey, and within walking distance of the beach. Kay was wonderful to work with ahead of time, and unlike many of the other places I looked at on Homeaway and AirBNB, there were not hundreds of dollars worth of hidden fees. I hope to rent it again, and some local friends of mine who visited while we were there are already thinking of it for out-of-town family who visit. Highly recommended!

  • Submitted: Aug 12, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 1
Brentwood
5

Friendly and comfortable with a great location and reasonable price

  • 5 of 5

Kay is a very sweet person to work with and her home is friendly and comfortable, we had a very relaxing time and the most amazing beach is so close by! The house is alot bigger inside than the pictures showed there is ample space with 3 bedrooms 2 bathrooms 2 kitchens and a family room and large open living room with a remodeled kitchen with granite counters. There is also a wonderful atrium for alfresco dining area with BBQ. Thanks again Kay :)

  • Submitted: Jun 25, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
4 0

Map

Nearest Airport
40 Miles
San Jose, CA
Nearest Motorway
1 Miles
Highway 1

University of California at Santa Cruz and Cabrillo College close by, Cabrillo World Reknow Music Festival in summer

Photos

Rates & Availability

Aptos House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
Summer Rental
Jul 1 2017 - Sep 2 2017
5 night minimum stay
$300
$1,800
 
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$250
From
$300
Thu,Fri,Sat,Sun
$1,700
$6,000
 

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning $150
Pet Fee $50

During summer months rent is on a weekly basis only, no weekends only

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Contact Me Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Aptos House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1800 sq. ft.
General:
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
  • Telephone
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • Wood Fireplace
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 9
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen , 1 baby crib
    Bedroom 3 - 3 twin/ single
    Convertible bed(s) - 1 double
  • Queen size Beds (2), Double Beds (1), Twin or Single Beds (3), Baby Cribs 1
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Music Library
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
  • VCR
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Outdoor Grill
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • wheelchair accessible
Attractions:
  • cinemas
  • live theater
  • museums
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • wildlife viewing
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • sailing
  • snorkeling/diving
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
DVD Stereo, Beach chairs, No Smoking indoors

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties