Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

'Dolphin Lookout™' at Villamare - Ocean Front Fantastic Views - Abelson

Bedrooms 2
Space 1,232 sq. ft.
Property type villa
Minimum Stay 1 - 7 nights


About the property

Villa, 2 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 2 Baths, (Sleeps 6-8)

Welcome to “Dolphin Lookout™,' where you can actually see the dolphins as they swim by in the ocean. We were very lucky and were untouched by Hurricane Mathew! The villa is in top shape and ready for your arrival. CONTACT US directly BEFORE BOOKING on VRBO with us and we will give you a SPECIAL DISCOUNT.

The view from this villa is even more spectacular than the picture shows. It's even closer than it looks because the above picture is a panoramic view, which makes things look further away. Enjoy the view of the ocean, beach, and pool that you will see from both of your bedrooms, your living room, and your two balconies as a guest in this fantastic villa. This villa is so spectacular that since 2007 we have booked it over 300 days each year. Each year we freshen it up and add several new features. Last year we finished totally remodeling the kitchen with all new cabinets, stainless appliances, large island, and new washer and dryer. All three televisions (living room, master bedroom, second bedroom) are large screen HD TVs. In recent years we have replaced the master bedroom king bed, second bedroom full bed and queen bed. At the same time we updated the living room with a Lazy-Boy queen sofa bed and two swivel chairs to make enjoying the incredible views that much easier. Many families return each year because of the villa's view, its inside décor, its cleanliness and the detail and care for which we treat our guests. Each year our returning guests and their referrals account for a larger percentage of our guests.

Please contact us if you are interested in being our guest for a week or longer. We do not rent for periods of time less then one week. For more information about this villa please read below OR for more information on any of our two pool, beach and ocean view villas in Palmetto Dunes, contact us directly.

More On 3324 Villamare

This villa has direct access to the beach, which is less than a 3-minute walk away. This 2 bedroom, 2 bath, almost 1250 square foot villa also includes a living room, dining area and kitchen (with full sized washer and dryer). Since purchasing this villa is 2003 we have enhanced it with all new flooring, new living room sofa bed and chairs, new balcony furniture (bar stool height to allow for easy enjoyment of the incredible view), new blinds throughout, new painting, newly installed stainless steel kitchen appliances, 3 large screen HDTVs, and many other touches. Both bedroom suites have privacy with closet, shower and a terrace/balcony so you can enjoy the magnificent views. The master bedroom also has a Jacuzzi tub. The living room has a very comfortable queen sized sleeper sofa. For in-villa relaxation, each bedroom and the living room have an HDTV with 90+channels. There is free high speed wireless Internet throughout and free long distance calling in the United States and Canada. Villamare even has its own fitness center, FREE to guests, with indoor pool, whirlpool, sauna, 7 cardio machines with TVs, universal gym and free-weights. Book early to assure availability.

Five things separate our villas from most other villas on Hilton Head Island:

1) We have contracted with a company that inspects your villa between visits to insure the villa is in top notch shape for your visit.

2) You automatically become a member of our Frequent Guest Club™. This entitles you to the previous year’s rates on ANY of our two Hilton Head properties on your return visits, year after year. Membership starts immediately after your visit, so come back later this year or later years and get the previous year’s rates.

3) We have arrangements with bike and boat rental locations to give our guests discounts. All you need do is call them and give them the password we supply you.

4) A Welcome Packet that includes directions to the villa, numbers to call if you need anything during your stay, and more.

5) In addition to us being involved owners and available for your needs, we have a local company that will be available 24/7, just in case of emergencies during your visit. If something doesn’t work properly during your stay, you call them, and they are there.

We pride ourselves in service to you. If you ever have any problems or questions, just call me on my personal cell phone, call our offices, or call our 24/7 number. You will get information on this and more with the welcome packet you receive from us as soon as we receive your final payment for your stay.

IMPORTANT NOTICE: If you are pricing other Villamare villas, we advise you to ask ALL Villamare owners, if the pictures on their website are actually the view from their villa and pictures of their villa. Some owners who own villas with limited views may show “canned” pictures as if they are the actual views from their villa. OUR views and pictures within the villa are the actual view and interior.

Palmetto Dunes, where your villa is located, has won several awards:

* # 1 Family Resort in North America, by Travel & Leisure Magazine

* # 3 Tennis Center in the World, by Tennis Resort Online

* Golf Course of the Year, The Robert Trent Jones Course, by the South Carolina Golf Course Owners Association (one of 3 golf courses in Palmetto Dunes and within 2 miles of your villa)

* # 1 Golf Course on Hilton Head Island, The Arthur Hills Course, by Fodor's Golf Digest (one of 3 golf courses in Palmetto Dunes and within 2 miles of your villa)

The material regarding this property in this listing, including the unique name we have given this property, 'Dolphin Lookout' and any like derivative, is the intellectual property and copyright of Michael Abelson, 2010.

Keywords: Villa/Condo

More Details

Michael Abelson
Member since: 2005
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
January 18, 2018

About Michael Abelson

I prefer to not include a picture at this time.

Michael Abelson purchased this villa in 2003

Why Michael Abelson chose Hilton Head Island

I chose to buy this property for numerous reasons. First, Villamare and this villa especially, have incredible views. Second, Villamare takes pride in the upkeep of the grounds and facilities. It is also the only villa complex on the Island, to our knowledge, that has an indoor pool, sauna, hot tub and cardio equipment / weights in an indoor building on its grounds. Third, Hilton Head, and especially Palmetto Dunes, has an incredible beach. Fourth, Hilton Head is one of the most beautiful family spots and beaches on the east coast.

What makes this villa unique

It has an incredible view of the pool, beach and ocean. It is only a few minute walk from the front door of the villa to the beach.


Hilton Head Island Villa Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • villa
  • Guests provide their own meals
  • Housekeeper Included
Floor Area:
  • 1232 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 8
  • Min. age of primary renter: 21
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets not allowed ...
  • Non smoking only ...
Location Type:
  • Beach
  • Beach View
  • Beachfront ...
  • Near The Ocean
  • Ocean View
  • Oceanfront ...
  • Resort
  • Water View
  • Waterfront
  • Waterfront
  • Family
  • Sports & Activities
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Alarm Clock
  • Broadband Access ...
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Covered Parking ...
  • Elevator ...
  • Fitness Room / Equipment ...
  • Free Long Distance ...
  • Garage ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Sofa Bed
  • Telephone ...
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet ...
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Blender
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 5 people
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 2 - 1 queen , 1 double
    Bedroom 1 - 1 king , Mattresses in both bedrooms were newly replaced in 2013.
  • King size bed (1) in the master bedroom, queen and full size beds in bedroom 2. One queen sofa bed in the living room. The sofa in the living room converts to an additional queen sized bed.
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television ...
  • Balcony ...
  • Barbecue
  • Bicycles ...
  • Boat ...
  • Child's Swing
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Gated Community
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Porch / Veranda
  • Tennis ...
  • Tennis Court
  • Terrace
  • Unscreened Porch / Veranda
  • Walkway to Water
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
  • wheelchair accessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
  • Heated Pool
  • Hot Tub
  • Indoor Hot Tub
  • Indoor Pool
  • Outdoor Hot Tub
  • Outdoor Pool
  • Sauna ...
  • Shared Hot Tub ...
  • Spa Whirlpool
  • jetted tub ...
  • bay/sound
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • health/beauty spa
  • live theater
  • marina
  • playground
  • pond
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • horseshoes
  • miniature golf
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hot air ballooning
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • paragliding
  • parasailing
  • sailing
  • snorkeling/diving
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing
Cable TV with over 90 channels, stainless steel kitchen appliances including refrigerator with ice maker. There is also in villa clothes washer and dryer. There is also a fitness center on the property with one indoor heated pool, numerous cardio machines with individual TVs, universal gym, free weights, whirlpool and sauna. NO Smoking and NO Pets.


Excellent! 4.6/5 -
(17 traveler reviews)

88% Complete
0% Complete
5% Complete
0% Complete
5% Complete
'Dolphin Lookout™' at Villamare - Ocean Front Fantastic Views - Abelson
average rating of 4.647059 based on 17 reviews

Great Place!

  • 5 of 5

We always really enjoy our stay at 3324 Villamare. The place is very clean, the kitchen is the best, and Dr. Abelson always meets all our condo needs.

  • Submitted: Nov 25, 2017
  • Stayed: November 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks so much for your comments. We always enjoy your stays with us and greatly appreciate you sharing your experience with others. We look forward to your next visit with us. Michael
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Beautiful Views

  • 5 of 5

We just returned from a great week in Hilton Head. The condo is beautiful and waking up to the sound of the waves and ocean views was just what the doctor ordered :-)

The owner could not have been nicer. The condo came equipped with everything we needed.Located right on the beach, indoor and outdoor pools, bike trials, shopping and dinning near by. Already looking forward to going back!

  • Submitted: Nov 16, 2016
  • Stayed: November 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Dissatisfied Customer but Nice Place

  • 1 of 5

My family stayed at this property for part of our planned trip and it was very nice. We have no complaints about the property; however, the owner refused to refund the unused days. Like many, my family was forced to evacuate Hilton Head Island early from our vacation the first week of October 2016 as a result of the Governor's evacuation order effective 3 PM October 5th .

We contacted the property owner, via email on Tuesday October 4th and notified him we would vacate his condo on the morning of October 5th. The owner said “Please keep in mind that governments take as cautious an approach as possible. I know they are saying evacuation starts at 3pm tomorrow, Wednesday. Of course, you can leave whenever you wish. You always have that alternative. It is my understanding they will not be FORCING you to leave at that time. If you would like to stay and enjoy the villa all of Wednesday and leave on Thursday or Friday, please do… the villa is yours and there is no need to panic and leave too early.” The owner also asked that we contact him and his cleaning crew when we left; and, that we take all the furniture off the balcony before we left. We complied with his requests.

We were in contact with the property owner before and after we left and he refused to refund the unused days according to the contract; however, the contract is generic and does not address a natural disaster nor Governor's evacuation order.

The property owners contract reads, "Refund, if cancellation occurs within the 60-day period prior to your arrival date, will occur ONLY if we are able to re-rent the Property for the full period of your lease term at the rate agreed upon in this agreement or greater. If not, all monies will be forfeited…Unless you receive written notice from us in advance, Guests will not receive compensation for unused nights."

Since we were ordered to evacuate, I have requested the property owner refund our money for each night (3) we couldn't stay at the rental property. He has refused to refund the unused days even though it was beyond any of our control.

  • Submitted: Oct 26, 2016
  • Stayed: September 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: The comment from this guest relates to Hurricane Mathew, a natural disaster no one can anticipate or control (the last hurricane to hit Hilton Head was over 100 years ago) and a very sad experience for all of us who have an attachment to Hilton Head. Please also note, 1) the guest liked the property (which is what the contract guarantees and the only thing we can control), 2) the guest left before they even needed to leave (I invited them to stay as long as they could), 3) we do NOT offer travel insurance and some people purchase that just in case, 4) our contract explicitly states NO REFUNDS unless the guest receives in writing that there will be a refund (no refund was even discussed and none was promised), and 5) we have over a dozen testimonials, all rating our condo and our service a 5 out of a possible 5. This is a very popular condo and we had bookings the weeks before, the week of and several weeks after Mathew. Our response to all of these guests (including this guest) was 1) we were in constant email contact and spoke with many of them over the phone repeatedly, during the development of the hurricane, and after the hurricane hit, talking about options for them, 2) offered them to come at another time if they chose at NO additional COST, 3) and had lengthy conversations with some to answer any of their questions. All of the other guests had an appreciation for the situation and appreciated how we worked with them. As an owner of a condo, we do everything we can to satisfy our guests and make the rental experience as positive as possible. It is unfortunate we were not able to satisfy this particular guest.
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Wonderful Family Vacation

  • 5 of 5

We had a fun and relaxing vacation in your beautiful villa with our three children. It was so nice to have ocean views and just a short walk to the pool and beach...getting chairs by the pool was never a problem. The pool was a perfect temperature to be refreshing during our 90 degree week. We rented bikes for the week and Hilton Head outfitters had them there when we arrived. The owners provide two hours of tennis so we played pickle ball three times...we are hooked. We ventured to Savannah for an evening dinner at Huey's, only 45 minutes away, and strolled through the squares...charming. We enjoyed an exceptional birthday dinner at Michael Angelo's...great Italian. The villa's new kitchen is tastefully done, and the bedrooms are very spacious. Thank you for checking in with us during our visit to make sure the washer was repaired...all went fine. This was our first vacation to Hilton Head, and it has become a family favorite. Thank you for sharing your villa with us!!

  • Submitted: Aug 23, 2016
  • Stayed: August 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Perfect vacation villa

  • 5 of 5

Perfect vacation villa

Immaculate, beautifully decorated villa with all the amenities you could possibly need including a washer and dryer and wifi, amazing views, awesome location and only a 2 minute walk to the beach and pool. The parking garage is under the building so your car always stays cool. The third floor was perfect - high enough for privacy and gorgeous views and low enough for ease of climbing stairs if you chose not to take the elevator.

Also, The General Store is a 5 minute walk and they have just about everything you need or forgot to pack, souvenirs, food, drinks, medicine, sunscreen etc. Also, you can buy a delicious hot breakfast or lunch.

The owner is extremely nice and trustworthy. We would definitely stay here again and would recommend this place to friends and family.

Thanks for an awesome vacation!

  • Submitted: Aug 4, 2016
  • Stayed: July 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Laurie, You are very welcome. Thank you for your very kind words. We look forward to your return to the villa. Michael
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Wonderful Property!

  • 5 of 5

Thanks very much for your attention to detail! The property was exactly as described in the VRBO description. What they do not mention is how amazingly comfortable it feels to be there. The views and facility are primo. What makes Dolphin Lookout the best is that I could have family over (including small children and seniors) and everyone was comfortable and safe! The kitchen was amazingly well equipped and it was a pleasure for all of us to work at the island together! We really appreciated the extra information provided (restaurant and rental lists!). It was just a great week made stress free by all of the extra effort on the part of the owner! Thank you!

  • Submitted: Aug 2, 2016
  • Stayed: July 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Sherri, thanks so much for your very nice review. Glad you enjoyed the condo and HHI. We look forward to you returning in the future. Michael
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0


Nearest Airport
8 Miles
Hilton Head Airport
Nearest Barpub
0.2 Miles
Nearest Motorway
1 Miles
HWY 278
Nearest Restaurant
0.2 Miles
Nearest Beach
0.05 Miles
Palmetto Dunes
Car: recommended

Biking on the beach or bike trails, fitness center / gym


Rates & Availability

Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $250
Tax Rate 10.0%

Our rates do not include the 10% sales tax we are required to collect. Guest will pay for a car pass fee of $15.00 for the week of the stay upon check in.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.

You might like these similar properties