Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Pelican Hideaway--Great Location! Great Condo!

Sleeps6
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms2
Property type condo
Minimum Stay 1 - 6 nights

Overview

About the property

2 Bedrooms, 2 Baths, Sleeps 6

Pelican L08

Convenient and Comfortable Lanai Condominium in the Pelican Building at Destin West Beach and Bay Resort-Bayside.

There are only a select few of these ground level floor plans with split level balconies allowing for a private gas barbeque grill and easy access to the lazy river.

With free high speed internet access, you’re only a few clicks away from enjoying all the Gulf Coast has to offer.

From the beautiful white sand beaches to fantastic restaurants, great night life, and all the activities in between, this condo is in a premium location for all your family fun. Pelican L08 at DestinWest-Bayside is located across from the pier and Gulfarium, next to Emerald Coast Convention Center. It is five miles West of Destin and fifteen minutes away from the Northwest Florida Regional Airport (formerly known as Okaloosa Regional Airport).

One of the most unique amenities about this property has to be the lazy river. The lazy river is 700 feet long, 4 feet deep, 10 feet wide, with a man-made current. Inner tubes are provided for you to float through this palm tree adventure. It’s like having a water park in your back yard. The lazy river also has a zero entry point, meaning it’s very easy to wade into, even with toddlers.

The many other amenities of DestinWest Bayside include a pool with a waterfall, two hot tubs (one for adults, the other for families), and six charcoal grills with picnic tables. if you prefer that over the gas grill provided on the patio.

A bridge provides safe walking access over highway 98 to the beautiful sugar white sand beach and the amenities associated with the Destin West Gulf property. These amenities include a state-of-the-art work out facility looking over the beach, the largest swimming pool on the island, a smaller partially covered pool that is heated in the cooler months, kiddy splash playground, a kiddy pool, beach access, and hot tub, are all included in your stay.

Pelican L08 is fully loaded for your enjoyment. The master bedroom has a deluxe king-size bed, television with a DVD player. The condo also has a bunk room and a second bath. The couch in the living room pulls out for addition guests to sleep, and a collapsible baby Pack-n-Play and high chair is available. The living room has a television with DVD player and a Sony Blue-Ray for listening to your favorite music.

The kitchen is fully equipped with a full-size fridge with ice maker and filtered water, microwave, dishwasher, garbage disposal, oven, dishes, glass ware, pots and pans, silver ware, etc. This condo unit also has a washer and dryer.

Whether you’re relaxing with one of the many books we have available, watching DVD's we furnish or just simply floating around the Lazy River, you will not want to leave this little slice of paradise.

From our marina you can fish on the translucent bay or watch the sailboats, boats, and jet-ski's motor by. Dolphins swim in the bay and you can see them throughout the year.

IF YOU HAVE FRIENDS OR FAMILY YOU WANT CLOSE BY, we also manage VRBO# 752689 it is right next door to this condo.

**All reservations require either a $49 property damage protection fee which covers up to $1500 in damages or a $500 refundable security deposit. Reservations made online will be billed the $49 automatically unless we hear otherwise from the guest.

****Booking dates must be agreed upon by management company and guests. Minimum dates listed are not guaranteed for rental. For any questions on rentals less than our usual 6 night minimum, please contact us for confirmation.

***** Effective 4/19/2017 any new reservations made using American Express will be added a 2.5% credit card fee automatically.

More Details

Property Manager
Julie Rawson
Premier Partner

This VRBO partner has demonstrated and is committed to fast response times, the best rates, and a great guest experience.

Speaks: english
Manager indicates their response time is:
Within an hour
Calendar last updated:
April 19, 2018

About Julie Rawson

My husband is a Gastroenterologist and I have spent the last 30 years managing his and his partner's office and surgery center. We are blessed with three wonderful children and three better than wonderful grandchildren. Our children and grandchildren help in the management of our condo rental business.

Why Julie Rawson chose Fort Walton Beach

My husband, children and I bought this condo December 2014. We love DestinWest and are so lucky to own this particular condo. It has been a great experience getting to talk to and meet the wonderful guest that we have had stay in our other condos and we look forward to the same with this one.

What makes this condo unique

Pelican L08 is uniquely and conveniently located right next to the entry to the lazy river. It has steps that lead out right to the lazy river and the other door opens right next the bridge to the lazy river. As a lanai or ground floor condo it is allowed to have it's own bar-b-que grill. We feel this condo will help to make our guest experience at DestinWest a favorable one.

Amenities

Fort Walton Beach Condo Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • condo
  • floor 2
Meals:
  • Catering available
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 10:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • Min. age of primary renter: 0
  • Children welcome
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets not allowed
  • Non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Resort
  • Water View
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Elevator
  • Fitness Room / Equipment
  • Garage
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Master Bath has a tub shower combination and the second bedroom has a large shower.
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • 1 King bed, 1 Sofa Bed, 1 Bunk bed
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Deck / Patio
  • Lanai / Gazebo
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
  • 2 beach chairs
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool
  • Heated Pool
  • Hot Tub
  • Private Pool
Attractions:
  • cinemas
  • library
  • marina
  • museums
  • restaurants
  • ruins
  • synagogues
  • water parks
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • eco tourism
  • outlet shopping
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • sound/bay fishing
  • spelunking
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
700 Foot Lazy Lagoon River Large Onsite Fitness Center Marina with boat dock slip available

Reviews

Excellent! 4.6/5 -
(23 traveler reviews)

69% Complete
21% Complete
4% Complete
4% Complete
0% Complete
Pelican Hideaway--Great Location! Great Condo!
average rating of 4.5652175 based on 23 reviews
Campbellsville, KY
5

Fall Break 2017

  • 5 of 5

Rating Details:

The property manager was very helpful.

The vacation rental was spotless.

I was very happy with the location.

I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.

Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:

We had an awesome time while staying at the Destin West resort. We have stayed here several times over the past years and they never disappoint. This time when we got into our room, the air had stopped working. We called Jennifer and she got in touch with the AC guy and he was there within the hour and fixed the AC. He said it was just routine maintenance and we shouldn't have any more trouble out of it and we didn't. Both the AC guy and Jennifer were very helpful and friendly. I would definitely recommend anyone who wants to stay in the Ft. Walton/Destin area to look at the Destin West resort! The dock behind the resort had some great fishing too!

  • Submitted: Oct 8, 2017
  • Stayed: September 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Mr. Woodcox, I'm so glad we were able to resolve the A/C issue quickly! Your comfort is our number ONE priority. Pelican L-08 is a wonderful unit, and I'm so glad you enjoyed it. We can't wait to help plan for your next arrival!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Lexington, KY
2

Spring Break

  • 2 of 5

Rating Details:

The property manager was somewhat unhelpful.

The vacation rental was clean.

I was happy with the location.

I was somewhat dissatisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.

Overall, I do not recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:

The vacation rental was satisfactory. Not exemplary. We rented the unit advertised as a two bedroom lanianunitnwoth a grill and private hot tub. Three weeks before arrival we were notified that the hot tub was broken. I inquired whether or would be fixed by our arrival. I was told the parts were difficult to find, then I was told the hot tub was being removed. No accommodation was made towards our rental when thenuit was not as advertised. We were not charged the $50 use fee for cleaning and refilling but I believe that was inadequate. The grill propane tank was empty. I called and requested more propane and was told - we provide the tanks but. It the propane. A follow up call from management advised they would bring over a full tank and that was delivered. It turns out the gas grill didn’t work anyway. It was dirty, and greasy and the grill wouldn’t light or cook. The unit was clean but a little worn. Overall I’d rate the experience a ,- or D

  • Submitted: Apr 10, 2018
  • Stayed: March 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Brandon, Mississippi
5

We ❤️ the beach!

  • 5 of 5

Rating Details:

The property manager was very helpful.

The vacation rental was very clean.

I was very happy with the location.

I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.

Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:

Nothing is more important to me than family! This is a wonderful place to make fun-filled memories with those special people in your life!

  • Submitted: Jun 19, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
St Petersburg
5

First Time Destin Visit

  • 5 of 5

Rating Details:

The property manager was very helpful.

The vacation rental was spotless.

I was very happy with the location.

I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.

Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:

Great location, great amenities fantastic staff

  • Submitted: May 2, 2017
  • Stayed: April 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Jess you were a fantastic guest. We are so happy that you found the condo to your liking and hope you will remember us for your next vacation.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Cosby, TN
5

Vacation

  • 5 of 5

Rating Details:

The property manager was very helpful.

The vacation rental was spotless.

I was very happy with the location.

I was more than satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.

Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:

Great

  • Submitted: Apr 15, 2017
  • Stayed: April 2017
  • Source: DestinWestCondos
Owner's Response: Glenda, thank you for the great review.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Godfrey, IL. 62035
5

Destin March 2017

  • 5 of 5

Rating Details:

The vacation rental was spotless.

I was very happy with the location.

I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.

Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:

It was a fabulous even with the weather on the chilly side. The TV sound would not adjust so someone needs look at that other than that it was great!

  • Submitted: Apr 3, 2017
  • Stayed: March 2017
  • Source: DestinWestCondos
Owner's Response: I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay. Sorry about the tv. We unplugged it and re-plugged it and it worked great. I think the storm must have reset something in it. If we had known during your stay we would have addressed sooner. Please never hesitate to call when something is not working correctly. We hope you will visit with us again next year.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Gulfarium Marine Adventure Park
You and your children will enjoy the Gulfaraium. It is educational as well as entertaining.
Old Bay Steamer
If you want good steamed seafood for your family then this is the place to go. About 1 mile...
Okaloosa Island Fishing Pier
The Okaloosa fishing pier is within walking distance to DestinWest. It is great for fishing...
Helen Back Cafe
Pizz and a beer anyone? Helen Back can not be beat when it comes to good pizza.
Emerald Coast Convention Center
We are proud and lucky to have the Convention Center in our backyard. It is within walking ...
Indian Temple Mound Museum
See a little history while in town. It is a pleasant tour for a few hours away from the water.
High Tide Lounge
If you want raw oysters then this is the place to go.
Baskin-Robbins
Ice cream anyone? As always one of my favorite places to go for a dessert.
Ali's Bistro
We always try to have at least one meal here while visiting DestinWest. The eggplant Parmes...
Destin West Beach and Bay Resort
You will be hard pressed to find a resort to match all that DestinWest has to offer. It is ...

700 foot lazy lagoon river on site rafts provided. Located within two blocks of the new Recreation Center and the Convention Center.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Notes

  • Rates shown above do not include taxes and fees