Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Family Friendly, Five star quality cottage, private 2 acres, fruit orchard.

Bedrooms Studio
Space 800 sq. ft.
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 3 nights


About the property

Very comfortable living conditions where you can sit back and relax.

Two acres of beautifully landscaped property. Remote controlled air conditioned cottage, with all the amenities necessary to make your stay unforgettable. . You will want to come back again and again. If you are looking for the best in Paradise our property is the place. We have over 50 fruit trees you may freely pick from, There is nothing like fresh squeezed lemonade or sweet banana's in the morning.

The finest of the Big Island is here and we will make sure your visit is the trip of a lifetime.

Activities ( nearby) :

15 min: Makuu Swap Meet, Pahoa food and shops, zoo, macadamia nut factory shop and tours.

20 min: Airport, movies, Starbucks, Macy’s, Sears, Waiopae Protected Tide Pools (snorkeling heaven)

30 min: Hilo Port, Hilo town shopping, Rainbow Falls, Huge Banyan Tree Park on Hilo Bay, the Japanese gardens on Hilo Bay, Hilo municipal golf course , Volcano Golf Course.40 min: Volcano National Park, Tropical Botanical Gardens, Akaka Falls, scenic drive on Hamakua Coast.Kalapana market every Wednesday night from 4pm till 10pm, live music and many different types of food, this event is a local tradition.and is a MUST visit.

More Details

Michael Bighaus
Member since: 2014
Speaks: english, spanish, portuguese
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
May 26, 2017

About Michael Bighaus

My wife and I really love making our property as beautiful as possible. My wife Rute is from Brazil and speaks three languages, English, Spanish and Portuguese. I on the other hand speak English and a little Spanish and a little Portuguese, when I say little I mean very little however, I am learning.

We bought the property about 10 years ago. We planted all the trees even before we built. After having the property cleared we put down hundreds of yards of cinder soil over the entire two acres. All the trees you now see, were planted just as starts only a couple feet tall, now the Royal palms are from 25 feet to 30 feet tall. Most of the fruit trees were planted at the same time and are producing delicious fruit. At least once a year we plant a couple more different kinds of fruit trees. Because my wife is from Brazil, we have even found a few varieties from Brazil, one is called Brazilian cherry. A couple years ago we added several different varieties of Banana's, some are cooking banana's.

We really hope you enjoy our place as much as we do and will make it like your own when you are here.

Why Michael Bighaus chose Puna District

I am a Vietnam Veteran and years ago I came from Vietnam for a break from the war, we called it R&R, at that time, I fell in love with the weather and the beauty of the tropics. I decided that if I ever had the chance to live in Hawaii I would do it. I have been blessed to find a wife who loves the same things as myself, the beauty of the ocean and a warm tropical breeze. We both love long walks and the ocean is not but a perfect evening stroll. All our neighbors are wonderful who never seem to be in a hurry and find it easy to talk story. These are just a few of the reasons why we chose this property.


Keaau Cottage Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cottage
Building Type:
  • cottage
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 800 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 5
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • Events Allowed
  • children welcome ...
Location Type:
  • Near The Ocean ...
  • Rural ...
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower , outdoor shower , Bath sink and cabinet
    1 Bathroom - outdoor shower , The outside shower is not heated, But really refreshing.
    Bathroom 2 - shower
  • There is a 4 foot inside shower, the bathroom has a toilet, sink and mirror. We furnish all the paper products and clean towels. The outside shower is not heated however is very refreshing on a hot day. The outside shower is located through the laundry room and behind the locked wooden door. Some have stated that they enjoy the outside shower even more then the one inside.
  • Studio, Sleeps 5
  • Studio - 1 queen , 1 sleep sofa /futon
    1 Bedroom - 1 queen , 1 sleep sofa /futon
  • The cottage is a studio, it has one Queen size bed and a futon that folds out to make another queen size bed
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Music Library ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television ...
  • Video Library ...
  • Deck / Patio
  • Lanai / Gazebo ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Water Sports Gear ...
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • wheelchair accessible
  • arboretum
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • luaus
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • shuffleboard
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • kayaking
  • mountain climbing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • sound/bay fishing
  • swimming
  • tennis
We have streamlined our checkout process to make it easier for guests so they can get back on the road. We have hired a new housekeeping company who will be responsible for making the bed, washing,drying folding and putting away all linen and towels. There will only be a few requirements for our guests. #1 Wash all dishes and put away. #2 Put inside garbage in outside container. #3 Make sure everything is removed from the fridge. Turn off AC and inside lights.#4 Lock all doors and put the key back in the lock box and turn dial. Our cleaning company will come and do a complete inside and outside cleaning to get everything ready for the next guests. Mahalo for checking out before 11:00 am..


Excellent! 4.6/5 -
(40 traveler reviews)

Family Friendly, Five star quality cottage, private 2 acres, fruit orchard.
average rating of 4.6 based on 40 reviews

This cottage is one of the most beautiful I've stayed at!!! Gorgeous, quiet piece of paradise

  • 5 of 5

I absolutely love my stay at Paradise Palm! Everything was well organized, the owner was helpful with the clear instructions to get there. It is quiet, peaceful and tranquil. The landscaping is very nicely maintained. I enjoyed picking fresh lemons every morning to make a drink. There's even a blender there to make smoothies. It has everything one needs for a pleasant and private getaway. It is minutes away from the Wednesday Makuu farmers market. I would definitely go back! Thanks again for such a great experience. Highly recommended!

  • Submitted: Mar 6, 2017
  • Stayed: Feb 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Aloha, my wife Rute and I are really happy you had a good time while visiting Hawaii glad you took advantage of the lemons. Please come back whenever you decide to take a trip to Hawaii. Mahalo Mike and Rute
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

What an amazing property!

  • 5 of 5

Very well located for Hilo activities and all the privacy you need.

The outside shower is a romantic treat or relax in the hammock to take in the sun.

Something people don't realize is that the frogs are very loud at night and the double insulated cottage eliminates the noise for a great night's sleep.

Would definitely book it again if we return to Big Island.

  • Submitted: May 25, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Aloha Reggie, thanks so much for the nice review. Rute and I are happy you had a good time at our place. When you plan your next vacation please know that you are welcome at our place anytime. Thanks for taking good care of our place while you were here. Mahalo Mike and Rute.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Oxnard California

Your in the jungle baby !

  • 5 of 5

Awesome little cottage in the jungle 🌴�🌸�🌋� Perfect secluded retreat , my husband and I really enjoyed our stay we normally bring the kids and stay on the Kona side and it was really neat staying on the Hilo side this time and being in the jungle we will definitely be back

  • Submitted: May 6, 2017
  • Stayed: Apr 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Aloha Tesha, Glad you enjoyed our property, it always makes us feel good when someone likes staying at our place. Our doors are always open for you. Thanks for taking such good care of our cottage.You were wonderful guests. Mahalo and Aloha Mike and Rute
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Very relaxing

  • 5 of 5

This was a wonderful, relaxing place for us to stay at and be a jumping off place to do things all the way to the north of Pepekeo and to the South including Kilauea Volcano and south point area. We loved the relax feel of living like the locals. We had fun watching the wildlife and cracking coconuts, and foraging for fruit. This is not a resort, so everything is not perfect but I would come back in a heart beat, and I hope I can.

  • Submitted: May 2, 2017
  • Stayed: Apr 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks Jill for the 5 star rating. We have tried to decorate our place that will give you that Hawaiian style feeling, a place where you can sit back and relax. Glad you had a good time. When you plan your next Hawaii vacation, know you are welcome at our place.. You were exceptional guests. Mahalo and Aloha Mike and Rute
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Cold water showers and hard beds....

  • 1 of 5

My family and I reserved a short stay (2 nights) at the Royal Palms and did NOT enjoy our stay. Water in shower was icy cold after 2 minutes, beds were hard and very uncomfortable, badly stained rug in the kitchen, stained curtains over the bed. In addition to the interior problems, we search high and low for the light switch to turn off the flood light on the outside shed that shown onto our bed, after 45 minutes, we gave up and just put a pillow over our heads. To top off the night, the Coqui frogs were sooooo loud, it felt like they were in our room. Hate to nitpick but we experienced so many little issues that we did not stay the second night. I did request a refund from the owner, but he declined.

  • Submitted: Mar 28, 2017
  • Stayed: Mar 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Aloha Shelly, Sorry for the problems you found at our place. We would have been willing to give a full refund if you would have let us know upon arrival that our place was unacceptable, however we were not contacted until after your stay. Our cleaning lady was there the day before your arrival and has always done a superb job making sure everything is clean and ready for guests. We installed a new quick recovery hot water system a couple months ago which will allow a person to take a 20 minute shower without running out of hot water, I am not sure why you were unable to take a longer shower then 2 minutes no other guests have ever complained about the shower. Our bed is what you will find in most hotels, not to soft or to hard.. We installed a flood light on the garage which is about 150 feet away from the house at the request of many guests who arrive late and want more light which makes it easier to see. {closing the curtains will keep out most of the light) The rugs and curtains are almost new and cleaned regularly..Sorry about the frog noise, perhaps the windows and curtains were open, when we are there we hardly hear any noise with the windows closed. When I built the cottage, I installed double pained windows and insulated the wall to help keep the cottage cooler and quieter. We always try hard to make a persons stay something they will remember and want to come back.We are happy for all the reviews and any positive suggestion on how we can make your stay even better. Mahalo and Aloha to all the people who have stayed at our property. Mike and Rute
Did you find this review helpful?
2 3

The property was very big and beautiful awesome fruit trees the house is very nice nice set up insid

  • 5 of 5

I would definitely stay there again very nice oweners. Very nice property nice privacy amazing fruit trees awesome sleeping at night with the window open nice fresh air sleep like a baby. Washer and dryer they have a blenders to make smoothies which is a huge plus unlimited amounts of bananas at your finger tips. Stores not that far away that was nice too. Snorkeling gear and other thing to do in the water. Heated pools not that far away from property. Overall definitely a beautiful place to stay lots of privacy another plus no one to bother you. So if you are thinking about stay here well worth it trust me aloho from Jesse peace :)

  • Submitted: Mar 27, 2017
  • Stayed: Mar 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks Jesse for the kind words. Glad everything worked out for you at our place, Sounds like you enjoyed having the windows open at night, glad the frogs singing didn't keep you awake and the flood light on the garage wasn't to bright.You can come back any time. Glad your first time to Hawaii was a good one. Mahalo and Aloha, Mike and Rute
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0


Nearest Airport
18.6 Miles
Hilo Airport
Nearest Motorway
3 Miles
Highway 130
Nearest Restaurant
5 Miles
Pahoa Mexican Restaurant
Nearest Beach
14 Miles
Kalapana Black sand beach

Wednesday nights at Kalapana market is a must see from 4pm to 10pm. lots of different foods and local music.

Sunday Makuu market is a great place to get anything you may need such as fresh fruits and veggies or just want to listen to interesting local music.


Rates & Availability

Keaau Cottage Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add $10 per night, per additional guest

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $200
House cleaning $85 + Tax
Tax Rate 13.41%

The property is to be left in the same condition as when you arrived. This a a non smoking unit. Pets are not allowed. Check in time is after 4 pm and check out time is before 11 am this will enable the cleaning staff to get the cottage ready for the next guests.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.

Enter dates for accurate pricing


You might like these similar properties