Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Waterfront Cabin with Great Sunsets & Super Location Near Roche Harbor

Sleeps6
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms1
Space 1,100 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Overview

About the property

3 Bedrooms, 1 Bath, Sleeps 6

CLASSIC WATERFRONT CABIN WITH GREAT SUNSETS, AND A SUPER LOCATION NEAR ROCHE HARBOR

This classic waterfront vacation cabin on San Juan Island reminds many visitors of blissful childhood vacations, when things were not expected to be fussy or complicated. Our guests who have stayed in this home return year after year to enjoy the laid back atmosphere and island lifestyle (one even puts up his own mailbox)! Sunset Vista is a great choice for a couple or family seeking a casual island getaway.

The home is located down a wooded driveway on a quiet neighborhood street in the desirable Roche Harbor area. The neighboring streets are great for biking and walking while the dining, shopping, and marina activities at Roche Harbor are within a 5 minute drive or easy 20 minute walk.

From the deck there are marvelous views of Spieden Island and you will also have a front row observation post to watch the boating activity heading to and from Roche Harbor and Sydney, BC. On long summer evenings you are positioned to catch those spectacular sunsets over the western sky.

On the main floor, there is a bath with a shower as well as a private bedroom with a queen bed. Other beds are located on an open loft upstairs. This area provides two separate sleeping areas divided by a wall, one with two twin beds and the other with a full size bed. _Please note that the open loft does not provide total privacy for either of the upstairs sleeping areas._ The living room features a wood burning fireplace (wood not supplied) and a built-in daybed.

Sunset Vista is on medium bank waterfront with no direct shoreline access, however it is only a two minute walk to the beautiful neighborhood beach known as The Isthmus. The neighbor may be finishing building his home next door, and has been cooperative and workable with minimizing any excessive noise.

• Travel Insurance – Unexpected Things Can Happen, We Highly Recommend You Purchase Travel Insurance.

LIMITED AVAILABILITY OF SERVICES (IMPORTANT NOTICE, PLEASE READ)

Vacation Doorways makes every effort to provide, and provide timely maintenance and service for, all the amenities listed in this property description. However, at times, due to events out of our control, these services may not be as fast or reliable as our guests are used to on the mainland. Please Read your contract for important additional information about the availability of these services.

More Details

Property Manager
Vacation Doorways
Speaks: english
Manager indicates their response time is:
Within an hour
Calendar last updated:
December 16, 2017

About Vacation Doorways

Vacation Doorways is the largest LOCAL vacation rental company in the San Juan Islands. We represent more than 70 wonderful vacation homes located on San Juan, Orcas, & Lopez Islands.

When you rent a Vacation Doorway home:

• Our reservation staff will help you find the perfect home.

• The booking process is quick, easy, & secure.

• You’re protected by a Rental Agreement that spells out rates, terms, & conditions.

• Your reservation and payment are rapidly confirmed.

• The home you rent is professionally cleaned before you check-in.

• A property manager is on call 24/7.

• You’re dealing with a highly experienced, reputable company.

• You can be confident that you’ll have a wonderful vacation rental experience!

Amenities

Friday Harbor House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1100 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 10:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • Min. age of primary renter: 0
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets not allowed
  • Non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Waterfront
General:
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace
  • Internet ...
  • Linens Provided
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • 1 Queen bed, 2 Twin beds, 1 Other bed, 1 Full bed
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio
  • Outdoor Grill ...
Notes:
To start your stay with no hassle, we provide a courtesy supply of coffee, some dry spices, shampoo, conditioner, bath and kitchen soaps, paper products, foil & plastic wrap, trash bags.

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(42 traveler reviews)

80% Complete
14% Complete
4% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Waterfront Cabin with Great Sunsets & Super Location Near Roche Harbor
average rating of 4.7619047 based on 42 reviews
Veradale, WA
5

Wonderful waterfront retreat for our whole family

  • 5 of 5

Rating Details:

The property manager was very helpful.

The vacation rental was spotless.

I was very happy with the location.

I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.

Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:

My parents, 2 young boys, and I stayed in Roche Harbor as little reunion. We were delighted with our stay! The boys loved the little nook with the skylight and porthole, and the adults practically lived out on the deck with coffee in the morning and wine in the evening. The home was well cared for and well appointed. We had seals, porpoises, and a variety of birds visit daily. Roche Harbor itself is, of course, a gem with a fantastic little market. We hope to come back every year, next time with husband in tow!

  • Submitted: Sep 28, 2017
  • Stayed: September 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
lakewood, CO
4

Good Vacation Accommodations, with a Caveat

  • 4 of 5

Rating Details:

The property manager was very helpful.

The vacation rental was spotless.

I was more than happy with the location.

I was satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.

Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:

Windermere communicated well and was readily responsive to our pre-trip questions. Unit located in a pleasant secluded spot on the shore, about 1.2 miles from Roche Harbor and near a boating route frequented by pleasure craft. Unit spacious and well suppled. Overall, we were pleased. However, to our disappointment, unit was significantly older than its photos indicated, which appear to have been digitally enhanced. Although clean and fully serviceable, unit likely dates from the 60s or 70s and could use a refurbishing, including replacement of furniture and fixtures.

  • Submitted: Aug 31, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Don, Thank you for your generally complimentary review. We are concerned that you felt Sunset Vista did not live up to your expectation. We strive for 100% guest satisfaction continuously and are disappointed when that has not been the case. As you will see from the many posted reviews of this home, it normally receives very complimentary reviews. To address a couple of the items you mentioned, this home was built in 1977, but has only been rented for the last ten or so years and has been continuously upgraded as maintenance was needed. We'd like to provide just a few examples such as the bathroom, which was updated several years ago, exterior paint was done about five years ago, the television is new two years ago, and bedroom décor was redone within the last couple of years. We do not digitally enhance any photography and in this case hired a professional photographer to prepare detailed high-resolution photographs so our guests can accurately evaluate this home before they rent it. Finally, I would point out that as you mentioned, Sunset Vista offers an excellent location with an interesting waterfront view of passing ferries and boats galore. It is also very reasonably priced for the number of folks accommodated. We do, however, apologize that you were even a bit disappointed with Sunset Vista.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
West Chester , Pa
5

Fantastic!!

  • 5 of 5

Rating Details:

The property manager was very helpful.

The vacation rental was very clean.

I was very happy with the location.

I was more than satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.

Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:

Location was great. The views incredible. We definitely would stay again. Thanks for allowing us to stay in your home!

  • Submitted: Jun 19, 2017
  • Stayed: June 2017
  • Source: Vacation Doorways
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Memphis, TN
5

Amazing house

  • 5 of 5

Rating Details:

The property manager was very helpful.

The vacation rental was spotless.

I was very happy with the location.

I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.

Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:

We could not have chosen a better place to stay for my wife and I along with our 22 month old daughter and 10 year old niece. The house was everything we could have asked for and more. Pictures sometimes give a distorted view, but with this place pictures can't even do it justice. It was very comfortable and clean, had all the amenities one needs (a great grill!) and above all else...that view. We spent most of our time on the deck and in the yard. There was plenty of space for the kids to play and plenty of deck for mom and dad to relax and have a drink. Words can't express how amazing the view is here, especially the sunsets. They don't call it Sunset Vista for nothing. On top of all that, we saw harbor seals, deer (nearly walked right up to us), a red fox, a bald eagle ORCA. One lone orca swam past the house our second to last night! It was the highlight of our trip even though we had already seen pods from a boat, Lime Kiln and San Juan Park. To see one come right by while you're having a drink on the deck was magical. The check in/out procedure was also a breeze. We would love to come back. If we lived closer I think we'd make this house an annual trip if not more often. Let me know if it ever goes on the market!

  • Submitted: Jun 13, 2017
  • Stayed: June 2017
  • Source: Vacation Doorways
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
DeSoto, MO
5

Beautiful Sunsets

  • 5 of 5

Rating Details:

The property manager was very helpful.

The vacation rental was spotless.

I was very happy with the location.

I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.

Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:

The home has a wonderful get-away cottage feel. The views from the living area and dining room of the ocean and islands of Davison Head are breathtaking. The deck also overlooks this spectacular view. We had seals visit us daily as well as many birds and deer. The neighborhood is lovely and quiet. You are close to the charming Roche Harbor where you can access activities, enjoy the beautiful gardens or have a delicious meal and cocktails at McMillans or Madrona. I have nothing but good things to say about this rental home and the location. It was simply perfect.

  • Submitted: Jun 6, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: Vacation Doorways
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
naches, WA
5

shrimp trip

  • 5 of 5

Rating Details:

The property manager was very helpful.

The vacation rental was spotless.

I was very happy with the location.

I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.

Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:

very nice and relaxing

  • Submitted: May 25, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Map

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Notes

  • Rates shown above do not include taxes and fees

You might like these similar properties